Between Sisters

Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
Advertisement

Between Sisters

Format:  Compact Disc,

0 pages

Publisher: Brilliance Corporation

Publish Date: Oct 2010

ISBN-13: 9781441840813

ISBN-10: 1441840818

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$17.99
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $12.00 (40%)
Not Available at this time

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.
Meghann Dontess is a woman haunted by heartbreak. Twenty-seven years ago she was forced to make a terrible choice, one that cost her everything, including the love of her sister, Claire. Now, Meghann is a hotshot divorce attorney who doesn't believe in intimacy - until she meets the one man who can change her mind. Claire Cavenaugh has fallen in love for the first time in her life. As her wedding day approaches, she prepares to face her harsh, judgmental older sister. It is the first time they have been together in more than two decades. Over the course of a hot Pacific Northwest summer, these two women who believe they have nothing in common will try to become what they never were: a family. Tender, funny, bittersweet, and wonderfully moving, Between Sisters celebrates the joys and heartaches that can be shared only by sisters, the mistakes made in the name of love, and the healing power of new beginnings - all beautifully told by acclaimed author Kristin Hannah.

Specifications

Author:
Performed by:
Publisher: Brilliance Corporation
Publish Date: Oct 2010
ISBN-13: 9781441840813
ISBN-10: 1441840818
Format: Compact Disc
Number of Pages: 0
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.48
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.2 x 1.5 x 7.0
Walmart No.: 9781441840813

About the author

Biography of Hannah, Kristin

Kristin Hannah was born in Southern California in September 1960. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in an advertising agency and practiced law in Seattle. Hannah and her mom began writing a novel together when her mother was suffering from cancer. When her mother died, she put the draft away and continued to practice law. While pregnant with her son, and on bed rest, she took out the draft that she and her mother had written and began to write in earnest.

Her draft was done by the time she gave birth. In 1990, she became a published writer and has been writing ever since. She has won numerous awards including the Golden Heart, the Maggie and 1996 National Reader's Choice award. In 2004 she won the Rita Award for Best Novel: Between Sisters. Her title Winter Garden made the New York Times Best Seller List for 2011. In 2012 Kristin Hannah made The New York Times Best Seller List with her titles Night Road, Home Again and Home Front. Also, in 2013 her title Fly Away made The New York Times Best Seller List.

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2003-04-15)

Sisters Claire and Meghann, once close as children, are now in their mid-thirties and have a distant and strained relationship. Meghann is a successful divorce attorney, Claire is managing a somewhat run-down combination resort motel, and neither can understand or appreciate the choices the other has made. When Meghann is violently threatened by the husband of a client, she is forced by her law partner to take a long-overdue vacation.

At a loss for what to do, she reluctantly decides to visit Claire and discovers that her sister is headed for the altar with a man she feels is not a good marriage prospect. The two sisters want to be close again, but every word and gesture seems only to drive them further apart. Eventually, the two women must face a life-threatening crisis together, testing their resolve as sisters. While loaded with improbable coincidences and a melodramatic story line, Hannah's latest work (like her other books, e.g., Distant Shores) is rich in the details and nuances of family relationships. Readers who enjoy Luanne Rice or Susan Wilson will certainly be pleased to discover Hannah. Essential for most popular fiction collections.

[Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 2/1/03.] - Margaret Hanes, Sterling Heights P.L., MI

(c). Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Library Journal (2003-10-15)

As different as two people can be, Meghann Dontess and her half-sister, Claire, have become estranged as adults. Meghann works as a high-powered Seattle divorce attorney, while Claire, a single mother with a five-year-old daughter, helps her father run his resort/campground. During their childhood, their mother, self-centered and neglectful, left Claire mostly in Meghann's care in order to pursue men and fame. When Claire was nine, Meghann at 16 sought out Sam Cavenaugh, Claire's biological father, thus uniting father and daughter.

Meghann, feeling abandoned, left to pour her energies into school, her job, and a promiscuous lifestyle. Now, 25 years later, Claire has fallen in love with Bobby, a country singer, horrifying her sister who cannot trust any man. As the story progresses, the absentee mother returns, flaky as ever but now a famous TV star, and sets up a recording contract for Bobby. Hannah (On Mystic Lake) focuses on the positive, wrapping everything up with a feel-good ending. Laural Merlington reads with a mellow, flexible voice that adds to the novel's realism. Predictable and melodramatic, this book will disappoint those who like less-contrived, more artful literature.

-Nancy R. Ives, SUNY at Geneseo

(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Meghann Dontess is a woman haunted by heartbreak. Twenty-seven years ago she was forced to make a terrible choice, one that cost her everything, including the love of her sister, Claire. Now, Meghann is a hotshot divorce attorney who doesn’t believe in intimacy - until she meets the one man who can change her mind. Claire Cavenaugh has fallen in love for the first time in her life. As her wedding day approaches, she prepares to face her harsh, judgmental older sister.

It is the first time they have been together in more than two decades. Over the course of a hot Pacific Northwest summer, these two women who believe they have nothing in common will try to become what they never were: a family. Tender, funny, bittersweet, and wonderfully moving, Between Sisters celebrates the joys and heartaches that can be shared only by sisters, the mistakes made in the name of love, and the healing power of new beginnings - all beautifully told by acclaimed author Kristin Hannah.

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now