Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent new edition! I've been a huge Betty Crocker fan my whole life. The Betty Crocker Cookbook was the the one cookbook in my home growing up and I loved to look through it and learn about all the delicious possibilities. As I grew older I started collecting vintage Betty Crocker cookbooks and I still refer back to them and their clear and accessible recipes for the home cook. So, I was very interested to see the new 11th edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today, with all the classic recipes mixed with new ones. This new Betty Crocker Cookbook edition has many extras that are a big help in perfecting your cooking and baking techniques. I loved the "Learn to Make" additions, which give detailed explanations for popular recipes and compare in photos more or less successful versions of a recipe, while teaching how to achieve the perfect result. Now I know why my chocolate chip cookies are always flat -- the butter was too soft and the cookie sheet too hot. Many of the recipes have been updated from the originals and are now labeled as Lower Calorie, Fast, New Twist, etc., for convenience. I was excited to see current recipes like No-Knead Artisan Bread, which has several variations. An interesting new chapter was "Do It Yourself" where they give information on eating local, canning, making your own spice mixes and more. I'm definitely making some Chai Mix (an Indian tea with milk and spices), to have on hand. I was glad to see sections on Slow Cooker Suppers and 20 Minutes or Less meals included in Betty Crocker Cookbook. There is also lots of variety from the old stand-bys, like the eleven types of deviled eggs or eight sweet and savory spreads for bread offer. One aspect of the Betty Crocker Cookbook that stood out to me was the frequent addition of recipes from cultures all around the world. I really appreciated having easy access to many of our family's ethnic favorites, while giving us the opportunity to try out new ones, like Cajun Chicken or Moroccan Chickpeas. There is even a full section on Vegetarian Cooking with beautiful photos and excellent information and recipes to assist in incorporating vegetarianism into your lifestyle (even if just occasionally). Betty Crocker sure is keeping up with the times! And it's not just a cookbook, but it's more like an excellent course on gaining greater cooking skills. 10/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ringbound not a hardcover This recipe book has AMAZING recipes, as I am sure everyone all ready knows. It is pretty much every girls first cookbook. I tried to buy this cookbook on Amazon.com and it mentioned that it was a ring bound edition. On Walmart site, it stated that the cookbook was in hardcover. This is false. It is ringbound as well. Ringbound recipes do not hold up well. The pages are flimsy and they always get mangled after only a few months use. I returned it, and will keep my eye out for another Betty Crocker Big Cookbook in the Hardcover format. It is usually more expensive, but a hardcover book will last much longer and is worth the money. 12/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love Betty Crocker Cookbook! My original cookbook was lost in a move and I was lost without this book. Walmart provided quick delivery service so I didn't have too go long without the cookbook. I picked it up in the store and was treated extremely well. The cashier was very helpful and friendly. Thank you Walmart. 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Cookbook My mother bought me my Betty Crocker Cookbook when I got married 31 years ago and use it all the time. Great cookbook. I'm buying one for my daughters now. 11/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price for great cookbook I bought this as a wedding gift, so I really didn't get to try any of the recipes or look at it, but it looked wonderful from the outside! 10/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by . A very nice cookbook and a good value for the price. 04/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent quality - layout great, durable pages We are looking forward to effective use of it and it's exciting, easy to use recipes. Our last edition of this same book lasted 57 years and got so dog-eared, it was in need of this wonderful upgrade. 01/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cookbook to have handy Love this cookbook more than anything else! I can find recipes quickly & it's so organized. 01/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT BOOK FOR BOTH BEGINNER AND PROFESIONAL. GREAT BOOK-- IT HAS ALOT OF THE RECIPES I USED WHEN I WAS HEAD CHEF AT TRAINER'S RESTAURANT--USE IT TO HELP JOG MY MEMORY WHEN COOKING FOR FRIENDS AND MYSELF. 01/06/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a hardcover book Well I can't say I was not warned by another reviewer. The cookbook does come in a binder format rather than a hardcover as the description calls for, but when you wait till the last minute to go Xmas shopping, beggars can't be choosy. The rating I gave it was based solely based on the product's poor description. There are advantages to both styles. I just like to know what I truly am getting before it arrives. 12/19/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice cook book I really have not had a chance to use this cook book yet but just from glancing through it I would say it has all that I need or want in a cook book. I used the have one just like it and it got lost in the move to another state... 12/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cook book for beginners or longtime cooks.. Great vauel for the price and wonderful recipes and great pictures all kinds of information...I love it. 11/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding shower gift for my beloved granddaughter I've been using a Betty Crocker cookbook for all my married life. I bought my first Betty Crocker Picture Cook book in 1956 for my Hope Chest. When 1975 rolled around, my original book was falling apart at the spine, so I bought a new hard-bound book - which is still in excellent condition. I like that it lays flat to any chosen page! This is a wonderful book for a beginner cook, as well as for a seasoned cook. If I could change anything, I would I have bought a hard-bound book, like the 1975 edition for my granddaughter, as it is stronger and easier to open. 09/29/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great selection of recipes This cookbook has many great selections. It has difficult for me to read the fine print and many of the pages stuck together where they were bound in the book. The pages were thin and many would tear when carefully tried to separate them. 08/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cookbook Once I found out where I was supposed to pick up my on line order, everything was great. good customer service. 06/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Growing up in the 60/70s I would always be in the kitchen with my mom helping her cook/bake. She would always pull out Betty to refer. Now today 2013 my mom(78) still has her original hardcover betty crocker book circa 1953. rubberbanded and duct taped together which my sistes are fighting over. As the youngest, I decied to get my own copy. This one is now the only cookbook in my kitchen. All the tried and true recipes are there and some new favorites from the breakfast/brunch section. I like all the pictures of the different veggies/cuts of meat etc. It is wonderful and I would have paid more than the $18 plus for this book. A must have for every cook new and old 05/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Satisfied I bought two, one for each son who now live outside the home. I have had my Betty Crocker Cookbook from when I got married in 1975 and wouldn't part with it but after seeing their's, I have decided to purchase one for myself as well. It is more modern and up to date with new recipe's in each catagory. The price is great and I know it will last me the rest of my lifetime. 12/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best cookbook available I had my Mother's old Betty Crocker cookbook. It must have been at least 75 years old, and really worn out. This new addition is really excellent. There is so much more detailed cooking information included as well. If you cook a lot, like I do, this well really help you, and you will not have to refer to other cookbooks. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Books for novice or experienced. I learned to cook with the Orginal copy of Betty Crocker. Therefore - I am starting my granddaughter out with a copy and also my grandson got a copy. If you can read you always succeed. 12/21/2011
1-20 of 20 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw379
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp