Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Lot of Grill for the Money! I was little hesitant to buy this grill from Wal-Mart, especially since there was not a model on display. Judging by the box, it seemed almost too good to be true. It had about every bell and whistle for less than half the price of a comparable Weber. I called my wife to search for some reviews, but she found very little on-line. I picked it up (just in case) and totally expected I would be bringing it back later once I had shopped a couple more stores. I'm pleased to say that I assembled the grill and was very happy with the quality and construction. Allow at least two hours for assembly (don’t start when you’re hungry#. It comes with the rotisserie kit #$80 extra on the Weber#, and one of the burners is an infrared sear burner. It also has back burner for the rotisserie and typical side burner. I'm not a grilling expert, but am looking forward to trying some new recipes and the rotisserie. Wal-Mart also has a really nice 65" cover for less than $20 #compared to Weber’s $40-$50). If this grill lasts half as long as a Weber, I will be a happy camper. 03/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT GRILL Easy to assemble. Took me 2 1/2 hours from start to finish, going slowly to make sure I did not miss anything. Comes with a phillips and wrench, which is all you need. I cheated with an electric phillips driver. Nice xtras, like the 4 cooking tool hooks. Came with rotisserie motor and all. Has nice sturdy cooking grills, nice drip pan. 2 baskets on sliders on lower left side. Very nice color and came with a years subscription to Better Homes and Gardens. Had checked all the local places, Lowes, Home Depot, Costco, Kmart, Sears, Shopko and compared BTU's, prices, looks and this is a very good price for this grill. 72,000 BTU's are excetional if you like to charbroil which I do. Very sturdy, happy with new grill. 03/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rust, Rust, and more RUST We bought this grill thinking that it was a great deal for the money and that the Better Homes and Gardens branding would give us a supurb product. We bought the grill liking that there were so many options and liked the room for cooking big quantaties of food when our entire family was home. The grill works well over all and the options are good. The biggest complaint is that the grill began rusting within 2 weeks of having it. By the end of the summer last year 75% of the chrome had rusted. The grill looks terrible and the rust is now starting to rust through the chrome. We have tried different things to help or stop the grill from rusting more but have not had any luck. So much for the Better Homes and Gardens name. We will never buy another Better Homes and Gardens product. Very disappointed that we will have to buy a new grill probably next summer because the grill won't be safe to use with everything rusting through. If you buy one of these grills you should keep it indoors and only bring it out when you are going to use it. Grill cover or no cover you will find rust areas. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Grill.... Heats up fast and hot, love the high BTU's .. Would give a Weber a run for the Money at half the price... 04/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great grill, Lousy Shipping This is an excellent grill as long as you don't use the site to store delivery. The packaging did not survive the unneccesary abuse that they put it through. Have it shipped to your house!!!!!!! 04/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Packaging problem!! Lovely grill, assembling was tedious.. EVERY PANEL INCLUDING SIDES AND BACK WERE DAMAGED, unbelievable! Too worrysome to have it returned because the damaged parts would not affect the grilling, I'm sure. This grill was delivered to my home, I believe it is too heavy for the delivery man, and of course he may have dropped it. The packaging is very flimsy, Walmart need to use durable boxes, and that will solve the damages.. All in all, I did received a discount after complaining.. 04/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice grill with many options Probably more grill than I will ever need, but I got tired of buying cheap grills and having them rust out in a couple of years. Love the searing option, and will probably use the rotisserie a time or two during the summer. Good even heating, nice storage. Love the stainless. 04/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY - Didn't last two years My wife bought me this grill for Fathers Day two years ago, it began to rust within a couple of months. Don't be fooled by all the features, we may have gotten one good year out of this grill. The entire inside of the grill rusted away. See photo and yes I kept it covered all the time. I tried to change out the gas pipes but could not get them out because the tops of the screws literally fell off when trying to unscrew them. I tried called BHG regarding the warranty and was simply left on hold. I am going to approach Walmart to see what if anything they will do. My guess nothing. Don't trust the Better Homes & Garden brand it is not what you think it is. Total waste of money. 05/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It Cooks Well! The grill cooks very nicely! We have used the sear burner and the steaks have been perfect. The rotisserie did an awesome job on a chicken - crispy and delicious!. The regular burners cook well without burning the food. I haven't used the side burner yet - I standardly use it when I don't want to heat up the house. The price is very good. I looked at grills in other stores that were more money without as many features. The body is a bit flimsy, however. I have read the other reviews regarding rust. I gave the entire grill a coating of oil and cool it with the lid up before covering it to reduce condensation. 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well made and just what I wanted. Easy to assemble. Well made and exactly as advertised. As good as those for sale locally but much less expensive. Very pleased. 04/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ru$t Bucket!!!!Junk!! Do NOT Wa$te your money !!!! The BETTER ? Homes & Garden Grill is just a ru$t bucket. It was Bent out of the box . Then RU$TED within year One . The doors rusted . The grease tray , the grease catch pot , the bottom of the cabinet , the bottom of the grill, the sides of the cabinet , the screws on the lid , THE STAINLESS STEEL burners , the covers for the burners , burners support A L L RUSTED !!!!!!!! rusted RUSTED RUSTED JUNK !!!!!!! THE STAINLESS ? STEEL burners = RUSTED ! ? ! This amount of rust takes planning & effort on better homes & gardens ! DO NOT BUY THIS GRILL ! ! 05/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Grill - Little Money With the exception of having to assemble it, for the price, this is a great grill! I was tired of spending big bucks on "top of the line" grills only to have them fall apart just as fast as any other. So, I started looking around. I saw this one and read the reviews. I ordered it in the brown for a change and did the 'ship to store.' I will warn you, it weighs a ton in the box! It took about 2-2-1/2 hrs to assemble by myself. It has plenty of cooking space, 3 burners, 1 sear burner, side burner and a rotisserie. It comes with two wire baskets and side hooks to hang your utensils. You get a lot for the money! 05/22/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value, appearance, and Manufacturer Well, just got this beautiful grill and think the following about it.... (#1) lots of really good options included (i.e. Double panel doors are very sturdy, heavy gauge stainless grill, a nice deep and wide sized stainless upper grill, infra-red back burner for rotisserie and infra-red side burner aside of the three burners for normal cooking, an exterior side burner for frying or boiling additional foods, and a very nice rotisserie unit). (#2) nice color, a flat copper color (in some of the photo's the color almost looks red or burnt orange# and other than the stainless steel trim and shelves the finish is black enamel coating on the base of the grill burner supports. Now to number #3 the manufacturer, Blu-Rhino/Uniflame.....Fire your product packaging Manager! #LOL) This 80-100 lb. grill has just enough styrofoam packaging to keep it from looking like it was placed in a car crusher during shipment. Very insufficient for the pounding during shipment, so I suggest you have this item sent to the store and check it for dents prior to leaving the store! I prefer to put my own dents in what I buy, especially when it is in the hundreds of dollars. The Reviews previously written about this product had several notations about this dent issue and like myself they felt the dents were not going to affect the performance of the grill. But REALLY? this is like putting a bowling ball in a Dixie Cup....Get a clue Uniflame. 06/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You won't find a better grill, for the money We were on a budget when buying this grill, as we just built a new deck and want a new grill to go with it, but we didn't have a ton of cash. Our range was the $250-350 range. This one sold for $357, so, on the high end of our range. But looking at the size, the features, the fit and finish.....even though it was the high end of my range, i just couldn't pass it up. It has tons of stainless steel on it. The assembly was a snap, maybe took an hour or hour and a half at the most, and i wasn't really rushing. I would have sprung for the $10 assembly by Wal-Mart, but i was concerned about putting an 'assembled' grill in the back of the suv, and figured to just leave it in the box to make the transport easier. The grill preheats in no time, which is great./ Literally like 5 minutes, if that, and you're cooking. The temperature range is even. There doesn't seem to be the hot and cold spots. I have not used the 'searing' burner, or, the rotisserie yet. So I can't comment on those, but i'm excited to use them at some point. The pull out drawers are simple, but effective. The grab handles are sturdy and useful. I like that the caster wheels have a 'lock' and 'unlocked' setting. This grill really isn't going to be moved around, so we just set it in place, and locked the wheels down, and there you go. We also purchased Wal Mart's matching grill cover, which was like $17. It fits perfectly, and am glad we got it. I would have to say, so far, I am impressed and pleased with this buy. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best in this $ range I did a lot of online and physcial research on this grill. Lowes, Home Depot, Sears and a lot of Walmarts grills were sub par. This model is easy to put together if take your time. 2 people-1hr. Amazing when one follows the instructions. Testing it out was the fun part. The searing burner and back rotisiere burner do their job well. The three grill burners are give out an even heat and are easy to control. I have cooked for 5 days in a row and have used many facets of the grill from hotdogs and burgers to steak and Chataubriand. A leg of lamb on the rotisiere was fantastic. No grills or reflectors damaged by heat It is Kababs tonight. This unit is not as light as the Webers I looked at in Home Depot. Not at all happy with Brinkmanns or Char-Broiler at all. The Cons. I had it shipped to the house. Shipping damage on a back panel, a minor dent by a burner I called Walmart with my complaint and was helped by " Kaylia " in customer service. I recieved a discount for the damage without a arguement. I hope that they keep making this model so others will enjoy its grilling assets. This unit is made for Better Home & Gardens by Rhino Corp. I don't know what Walmarts long term conection is, but I hope other models follow. A Five Star rating here 06/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is a very nice grill, bought in on line as it would not fit in my car. when I received it 6 parts of the grill were damaged, both side panels, back panel, bottom panel, side burner and control knob cover. Blue rhino said they would replace the parts but the back panel was on b/o and no parts would ship untill it came in, they have no eta when the parts would ship........still waiting for parts....... 04/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Grill Fantastic product, easy to follow instructions. Well worth the money, especially with all the added extras. Really nice looking and very durable grill, this is a must buy for the grilling enthusiast. Only problem is the rotisserie has to be plugged into an outlet. 04/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great features but cheaply built Looks great. Has all the bells and whistles. But when you get your hands on it you realize it does not have that solid feel to it. Very flimsy feel. I hope it holds up. Really worried it's a Rust bucket. Time will tell. On a positive note. The grill heats up quickly and and perfectly. No hot spots and easy to control temp. The sear burner does a nice job. Took a little longer than I expected it to sear properly, but once it got going it worked well. So it is a cheaply made grill w/ All the bells and whistles. Should this grill last 5 or more years it will be a great bargain. Im not so sure it will but I willl take good care of it along the way. 03/30/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by plenty of features,hope it has longevity Easy to put together nice options such as rotissiere, side burner, slide out basket shelves, tank holder, searing burners, easy start feature thin grade stainess where it counts such as on side shelf and side burner cover non-porcelain cooking grates warming rack very thin bending easily nice bronze color which unfortunately matches the rust which already is showing on the stainless 05/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by rotted within a year purchased 4/12, worked great that summer, ( came packaed with 2 left doors wich only took a 50 mile round trip back to walmart to get a right handed door. Its now 3/13 . over the winter the searer rotted through, after several failed attempts to contact B.H.G. I contacted walmart for costomer service for bhg. come to find out Blue Rhino makes this grill for B.H.G. They agreed to replace the part because it has been within the year, but said I would have to pay to replace this part in the future ( after the manufacturers 1 year warrenty ) assuming that I would have to replace it every year, I requested a refund, They refused. I was pleasantly srprised to find that walmart would come to my rescue and back a product they sell, when better homes and garden would not even return a call and the manufactuere of he grill failed to back their product. THANKS WALMART....................................... 03/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this grill today-took it home and started to assemble. First thing I found that one set of screws was missing in my kit. I looked through containers of screws and bolts and found the ones I needed. The instructions could have been a little clearer in a few areas but it took me about two hours to assemble when instruction said it would take one hour. O-well I made it through and then went to fire up grill for first 15 minute burn off and all went well. Haven't used it yet to make food but overall was satisfied with purchase and overall outcome of assembly. 03/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the $.. Beware, looks are deceiving..The grill it'self is very cheaply made, you can literally dent it just by looking at it! We bought this from the store, put it together & noticed parts missing (including the entire backing# and damaged parts #including the lid, which wouldn't shut right due to damage) Called the 1-800 # to have them ship us what we needed, they didn't want to deal with it and said to bring the grill back to Walmart as is .. We did, now we are getting a Weber, this grill wasn't with our time or our money.. 04/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got grill for the back porch My husband researched grills online-checked prices and options that he wanted in a grill. When we went online it said there were none online nor on our local Walmart-wrong! So we went back to the store and purchased the store model that was already put together-with no parts missing and the cover for it-all with Walmart gift cards we got from cashing in points from other credit cards! Yeah we love it and now for lots of pot-lucks with friends and family!!! 05/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by cooks great but poor quality Was rusting within three weeks of purchase. The stainless looking grates are actually plated and in less than a year they split wide open. New grates are $169.95 plus shipping. This grill is a "GOTCHA". 12/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product was damaged. It would not work. Product was damaged. The flames were very low. BBQ did not reach 300 degrees 08/20/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice, but really cheap screws R rusting everything The guy at Walmart put the grill together, after only a few days I noticed rust on the screws. Attempting to remove one, the head stripped out. The cheap machine screws are causing the stainless pieces to rust, which is up against the powder coated, and now that's beginning to rust. Also, the spring loaded hinge pin came loose on the left door. That door is welded, and pop riveted together, so to reach the broken pin pieces is a monumental task. I would replace all the machine screws, but I don't think that will stop the rust. It's just designed to fail, like everything else these days. I'm gonna bring it back for a full refund. 07/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Skip it and buy something elese This grill look great and looks much more expensive than it is. It assembles easily and the instructions are clear and easy to read. But don't be fooled. You get what you pay for. After only one use the warming racks and other inferior parts warped from the heat of the grill. I'm returning this to the store and spending double to get a Weber. 06/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Spent too much to not review I purchased this grill because of the sear burner option. To date, (3 months after purchase) we have called the company twice because of things breaking on this grill. Each time they sent us the wrong part that we specified was broken. The sear burner is broken after using 3 times. Our prior grill lasted 5 years with not one issue. Will buy another brinkman next time. Very disappointed considering this grill cost more than twice as much as my brinkman. 09/30/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Grill is very nice The grill itself is nice and had it not been for the condition It was delivered I would have recommended it to all friends. The cardboard box flaps that it was shipped in were all missing except for one so a flattened box was used as a makeshift cover and pretty much an entire roll of tape was used to hold the box together. All the panels for the grill were all bent up pretty good as well. Disappointed in the price for the service I was given. And yes it was time consuming to put together but I managed to put everything together by myself except for needing help to put the grill box on because it was way to heavy and awkward to attempt alone. 04/17/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great grill for the money! Mine was delivered by FedX day before yesterday. The first thing I noticed was two corners of the box badly damaged. When I unpacked it, the back panel was badly bent up, one side panel had a slight bend, the cooktop has one corner bent, and the hardware package had come open and the bolts, nuts and washers were all over the inside of the box. Rather than replace, I straightened out the panels myself, and where the black enamel had popped off the cooktop base, I touched it up with black high heat paint, and assembled it. The instructions estimated a one hour assembly time. I am a mechanical engineer - MAYBE I could do it in an hour if I had everything laid out on a long bench and had experience assembling dozens of these. In reality it took four hours, but to be fair a lot of that time was spent straightening the panels out and digging through my shop to find matching bolts and washers to replace the ones that were short. Assembled now, I am very pleased; this is a great looking grill. I tested all the burners and the rotisserie, and everything works fine. Heat output is BODACIOUS! I am replacing a Brinkman with this one, and I must say this BHG grill is sturdier and has a LOT more features than the Brinkman. I noticed all the complaints about rust, so when I finished assembling I put a coat of polymer car polish on all exterior surfaces except the hood where it would be burned off. I also read the instructions that said after each use to clean it, then lightly coat the burners and grates with cooking oil. Again, due to the complaints about rust, I lightly sprayed the burners, burner covers, cooking grates and warming rack with Pam. I will update this rating after I have some experience with this great looking product. 02/20/2014
1-30 of 116 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew463
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp