Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by An American Classic This is a great pnumatic multi pump air rifle and Wal-Mart has the best price I've seen for it. It has a really nice hardwood stock, good factory sights and it is a pleasure to shoot. (no recoil) It is suitable for small game hunting, pest control or just target shooting. It is made in the USA with quality materials and is just a darn good deal. If you only own one air gun this should be it. 07/08/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great air rifle Bought one for my son just after he was born so like me he could grow up shooting such a great air rifle. He has been shooting his for 3 years now(and no he isn't only 3 years old) One of the great things about these air rifles is if you take care of them they will last for a long time, mine is 30 years old. If the air cylinder goes out you can have them rebuilt for about $40. 01/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by First-class pellet rifle! The Benjamin 392 .22-calibre rifle is well-made, lightweight, and accurate out of the box. Its iron sights, often criticised, are perfectly all right, but my old eyes need help down-range...: buy a 4X32 Leapers scope with an Air Venturi Intermount and you're in business. 08/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 22 pellet ive owned this item for 20 years and paid more than this way back then. it's a excellent gun for target shooting or hunting. quality made built to last. 10/19/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by the Cat's Meow Wow, this is one of my favorite air guns. Well built, simple, and rustic. Made of metal and wood just like a quality arm is supposed to be. And only $140.00. I love mine. And with proper care these little beauties will last 50+ years. And as far as accuracy goes, a 392 will get the job done! Now these are not intended for small children nor weak adults. You will work after about 6 pumps and 8 being max. And if you decide this is for you, always remember, if you plan on shooting it within an hour or a year from now, always put one pump of air in it. It will keep the valve seals clean and foreign matter out. It will store like this for a very long time. Highly recommended. 05/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pellet Rifle I picked this up from local Walmart. Everything arrived in good shape, as expected. I ordered the scope mount and a centerpoint red dot scope. I had to install a 3/8 inch 3-7x scope because the red dot was a Weaver mount. I have a converter from 3/8 to 7/8 Weaver on order. I began sighting in the pellet rifle. It shoots pretty consistently. I will have to practice for my groups to be tighter. Right now I am getting 2" groups at about 33 - 40 feet. The quality of the rifle is good. The rifle is a little lowder than I thought it would be. But, not a loud crack. The rifle is more powerful than I thought it would be. With 5 pumps, the 22 cal pellet goes clean through 3 inches of stacked corrugated (cardboard) sheets. I would choose this model again. 12/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality Build. Attractive Wood Stock. Walmart's Price for the Benjamin 392 is reasonable. Home shipping is wonderful! Packaging is good. The wood grain on mine is beautiful. It has a solid, well built feeling to it. No recoil and relatively quiet. Powerful gun. However, I found mine heavy and hard to pump. 4 Stars. 10/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice pellet rifle This is a nice multi-pump pellet rifle.. This is an older design, well proven and there is good information about it on the web. It is solid and well built. The force needed to get those last couple of pumps is fairly high. You can get a workout while target shooting. The sights are adjustable and the rifle is accurate when adjusted. If you have trouble adjusting the rear sight left or right, loosen both screws and make sure the rear sight is not bound in the sight mount. I got the 22 model and the recommended hollow points hit hard. The accuracy is very good once adjusted. It seems to me that the cheek is a little too high, because I have a little difficulty getting down on the sights. Having shot it for a while, I plan to get the mounts and put one of my 4X scopes on it. It is quiet to shoot. The pumping noise if louder than the shot. I would not hesitate to use this rifle on small game or vermin out to 30 or 40 yards. 10/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good gun. Shoots great Bought Benjamin after reading good reviews at several other sites. Purchased peep sights and installed as soon as gun arrived. Tested against my son's new piston type .17 cal.. The .22 has quite a bit more tin can knock down power. With peep sight is very accruate at 30 yards. Fun gun. Solid feel. 02/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rifle !!! Brought this Rifle for keeping pest from bird feeders, Out of the box, it appeared to be a well made piece of American History. Had one of these rifles 40 years ago. Shoots straight need to aduust sights left to right, now can shoot Quater size groupping at 40 feet. Thanks again for fast shipping and a fair price 10/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic This 392 has put my expensive German springers to shame. I use jbs jumbo heavy and can put pellet after pellet in quarter size target at 15 yrds. The trigger pull will smooth out with use , the open sights are fine you just take both screws out both sides set your windage with a few taps left or right put the screws back in and snug them down. The elevation screw is a breeze. The only thing i have done is open the rear sight up a little with a file, that is it. For me, this is my go to rifle, made here in the States. Save your money my friends , get a 392 or 397 and good pellets , the pros are so much greater. This is old timer, will be 71 next birthday, God willing. 04/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still going strong Remembered shooting a Benjamin when I was a youth, this product brings back great memories. Wood finish was clean and smooth, pump linkage was solid. The bolt action was tight. A good shooter. 03/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great air rifle Classic air rifle that is powerful and accurate. Clean the barrel free of the overspray at the muzzle before you shoot it and you will be happy with the shot groups. 01/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tried and true design I've been running the 392 throught the ringer for the last two years an it's held up splendidly. The construction is solid and easy to maintain. An occasional oiling is all that's required to keep it in working order. The only modification I've made was to add a peep sight which is a massive upgrade over the stock iron sights and makes it much easier to shoot accurately. 07/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and accurate Air Rifle Extremely accurate gun! Fun to target practice with and eliminate rodents. 09/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great buy Has great power, a little on the heavy side for a pellet rife but i guess that goes towards the quality. 04/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by benjamin 392 22 cal. air carbine adequate accuracy,nice wood stock without roughness or imperfections. very easy to handle and well balanced. accuracy good to very good . all round good gun. would recopmmend to friend. 01/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice gun but way to hard to pump up for average adult. Better if you could put in 10 pumps easy than 8 hard pumps. Other than that. Product was fine. Returned for something easier. 03/18/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality just not there. The gun had lots of power with only three pumps ( 3-8 recommended). But the front sight noticeably leaned to the left. This caused the gun to shoot left. There was no way to adjust the rear sight to compensate. 08/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by After shooting the Gamo Big Cat 1250 and the Benjamin Trail NP. this gun shoots like a dream. Very little recoil and hits the target every time. The .22 has the power to bring down small game. 09/21/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shipping was the worst The gun may be good , I dont know. It was shiped in original box with out any protection. The rear site was broken off and the front site was banged up . The stock had scratches on it and the end of the barrel was dinged up so bad I was afraid to even shoot it . I will never order any thing from Wal*Mart like this again . 12/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality control. My Benjamin 392 came with a crooked front sight & scratches on the stock! 05/03/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Much to difficult to pump up for seniors Rifle is probably ok for kids and young folks but too difficult to pump for us seniors - will return and probably buy a gas piston break barrel Gamo 08/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice 8 pumps holds center 30yrds Does an excellent job..squirrel and such, eliminates the destruction of fascia, roofs..infestation of fleas and then the birds moving in with what ever they got..squirrel..taste just fine if properly prepared. That's it all I know about it. 06/10/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not shoot straight. Even after adjusting the sight to the max, this rifle shoots about an inch to the left at 30 feet. 07/19/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I don't like it. I am returning it it is to hard to pump. I don't like the bolt action. The sights are poor and it is noisy when fired. 07/16/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very hard to pump I am an adult. I could not pump this pellet gun. I am not strong enough. 04/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pellet Gun I bought a Benjamin 397 about 18 years ago and it has been working up until a few weeks ago. There were several parts that needed to be replaced so I decided to purchase this .22 Benjamin pellet gun in the same model. This is a great gun. It is well built and very durable. I keep the sight open and it is extremely accurate. Only a few minor turns on the iron site are needed after pulling the gun out of the box, and then you are ready to shoot. 08/20/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly packaged Upon delivery it was noticed that loading bolt had worn through the box. As a result the bolt was badly scuffed and the stock was very loose from shipping. The only protection was a little foam on each end of the rifle. The bolt seemed undamaged however and the rear sight had to be moved to the far left to even get close to the target center (bent front sight?). At 20 yards the rifle had pie plate accuracy so back to Walmart it went. I then ordered a XS25S from Flying Dragon, what a pleasant surprise. Crosman would do well to see how they package a rifle to make it UPS proof. 08/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 PUMPS OK FOR CLOSE SMALL GAME 5-6 PUMPS WILL STRETCH.... 7 OR 8 WILL BE ABOUT THE SAME AS A .22 SHORT. SIGHTS ARE FAIR BUT ADEQUATE. WOOD STOCK AND MOSTLY METAL ELSEWHERE IS DECENT OLD SCHOOL BUT NO WALL HANGER. OVERALL QUIETER THAN MOST SINGLE STROKES (WHEN KEPT UNDER 5 PUMPS). THE ADVANTAGE IS YOU CAN ADJUST THE POWER LEVEL. I WOULD MUCH MORE HAVE A QUIET PLASTIC SINGLE STROKE @ 800-1200 FPS THAN THE BENJI IF HUNTING....... BUT THEIRS NOTHING BETTER THAN AN OLD SCHOOL GUN YOU CAN HAND DOWN TO THE KIDS (THIS IS IT). ITS BETTER FOR THE BACK YARD BUT CAN ALSO BE A GOOD GUN FOR PEST CONTROL IN THS CITY. . ONE OTHER THING.... PUMPS AFTER 5 BECOME TEDIOUS ON MULTIPLE SHOTS..MAKE SURE THE KIDS ARE OLD ENOUGH....A COUPLE OF STROKES WOULD BE FINE FOR TARGET..... 08/05/2014
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew291
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp