See All Reviews
Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by very nice light The headlight is very bright for a light in this price range. (I compared it to a Planet Bike Beamer 5 from Aaamaaazon and a Zefal 5620 set from Waal Maart. The Planet Bike headlight was noticeably dimmer. The Zefal headlight was beautifully made but so dim that it was useless. I returned those lights and kept the Bell.) Of course, the Bell will be dim compared to more expensive headlights. But price is the key here. The headlight mount is very good. It is nice that the headlight takes 3xAA batteries. That is more capacity than most lights in this price range. My only gripe about the headlight is that the battery cover is impossible to remove if one follows the instructions. Instead, I simply put my fingernails in the gap at the front of the cover and pulled backwards. (Also, I'm not sure how "waterproof" the headlight is: there are no rubber seals on the cover. But I'm guessing that there won't be a problem and that if there is a problem, I can just put a piece of Scotch Tape over the joint.) The taillight is very good. My only gripe about it is that the hinged mount has notches inside that are meant to help keep the light pointed at a certain angle once it is tightened. Fine idea, but when the light is mounted to my seatpost, one notch aims the light too high and the next one aims the light too low. This is dumb and I will have to figure out a way to override the notches. They should figure out a better way to keep the taillight angle. Overall, I really like this light set. 10/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible - Won't stay mounted - It WILL fall off The bracket that the front light (the big, bright white one) slides into has a tiny little 1mm catch that is supposed to keep the light fastened. It does not work at all. Even just riding on the sidewalk, the vibration caused the light to fall off twice in a 40-minute ride. Returning this junk. 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very useful. This set works wonders when I'm riding at night. The headlight is so bright that it just shoots the beam straight down the road when active. The taillight, on the other hand, is very nice. I would recommend this set to other people. I fell in love with the set when I first installed it on my bicycle. 01/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Headlite lense clouds over within 2 months and the lense is easily scratched. The light does not provide adequate illumination if you travel more than 15 MPH. The switch failed on all 3 of the headlite units after approximately 3 months of summer night time use. I usually traveled approximately 15 to 20 miles every night. I was forced to insert a jumper wire across the switch in order to control the unit. I am no longer using them. I am now using a different headlamp. 10/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes a licken' and keeps on ticken' I don't see why there would be any negative reviews for this set. I have so desperately abused these and though they are cracked, missing pieces of plastic, scratched, dinged and very ugly at this point they still work just like the day I bought them... Highly recomended!!! 08/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Headlight, bad tail light. I go for my daily rides around sunset so my lights are important to me. I also always turn on my rear flashing light even in daytime I purchased this light set to go with my new Schwinn Aluminum Comp Mountain Bike. The light set and bike just turned over 200 miles today ... except the light set is no longer a set. First, the headlight is perfectly bright enough to let me go down unpaved roads at about 14 miles an hour at night. It is impressively bright. I love it. This light cannot be left out in the rain. I have ridden with it in the rain but after the ride, the battery cover needs to be removed and the water blotted up from the inside. Left outside in a 24 hour rain, enough water could leak in to wet the batteries. My older Bell headlight is just as bright but has o-ring seals. The tail light is as bad as the headlight is good. Battery covers for most devices do not need to be held on with anything too substantial. Small grooves for the cover, lightweight locking tabs to make the cover come off easy. This is what the tail light has for a battery cover. The mount for the light to the frame needs to be heavy duty with generous use of plastic to make the mount resistant to road shock. The mount should be attached solidly to the main body of the light. The nice heavily built mount is actually attached to the weakly built battery compartment door. When removing the light to replace the batteries, the battery compartment door lets loose before the light ever fully slides off the mount. So when I arrived home after my evening ride, I found that my rear light had departed my bicycle. All I have left is a very substantial mount attached to the battery compartment door which was weakly attached to the light that is now lying along the roadside somewhere. 07/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great on a "beach cruiser" type bike I was hesistant at first after reading mixed reviews but I decided to gamble on it. I works great for my use. Wife and I go biking in the evenings around the neighborhood on our cruiser style bikes. It illuminates about 90% spot light spectrum and about 10% of perifery broadcast light. I had no problems mounting it and I can't vouche for how long it will hold up as I tend to take care of my bikes. 09/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Has some shortcomings First of all, if you have larger diameter handlebars (31.8 mm), keep looking. The headlight bracket is not big enough to wrap around such handlebars. Then, there are other issues. Neither light has a rubber gasket to protect it from rain. The battery access cover on the headlight is difficult to remove, in my opinion. The taillight cover is easy to remove, but you must be sure to snap it all the way back in place or it will easily fall off on your next ride. The nut on the headlight bracket does not come with a lock washer. I was afraid that it would work itself loose eventually. I found a small star washer in my toolbox. The bracket itself does come with two rubber grommet inserts, which might create sufficient pressure on the nut to keep it from loosening. I didn't want to take the chance. If you have to remove either or both of the grommets to make room to wrap around your handlebar, you will need some sort of lock washer. The nut, if it loosens far enough, will fall off on the trail (there is nothing limiting how far it can back out). On the plus side, both lights are bright. I liked the fact that the headlight uses 3 AAA batteries instead of just 2. 09/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I wouldn't buy this item. This is a poorly designed light set. I wouldn't buy it again. It fell apart and destroyed itself from light road vibration. Save yourself the trouble and buy a better made light set. 09/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tail light switch failed after four rides. The TAIL LIGHT worked fine initially. After four rides, the four modes of the light became radom. You didn't know which light mode was coming on. Then it stopped working for a while. Then it started working fine for one ride. Now it will not go in some of the modes, and it will not shut off (You have to remove the batteries to turn it off.). The HEAD LIGHT is working fine--so far. This is one of the more expensive lights that Walmart sells, and it is poor quality and not worth the money. I need it for commuting and it is completely unreliable. 08/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worked great...until it rained The optics were bright and worked well. The first time it rained the head lamp shorted out...VERY disappointing. If you buy this unit keep your recept. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Both lights are very bright which makes me very visible while on the road. The blinking options are great, especially at dusk. Once full dark settles in, I switch the headlight to steady on and leave the tail light blinking. So far both have worked as described and have been reliable. 04/17/2012
1-13 of 13 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw135
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp