Rated 4 out of 5 by 24 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ready, have the set, GO! This canning system is great for old fashioned water-bath canning, especially if you don't have any supplies! Everything is included except the jars, lids and rings....Plenty big for a large batch. The big canning pot is not as thick metal as the one I remember Mama using, but it has an enamel type finish and cleans up nicely. The funnel, bubble remover and magnetized lid lifter are so convenient...sure make every step easier, faster, and more efficient. Wish I had purchased this item a long time ago. Get coupons on the internet for new jars, etc. My family enjoys the home grown canned things the most! 08/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Couldn't use due to my cooktop being smooth/glass I was very disappointed not to be able to use this canner. I had been looking for a canner for at least a month and this one seemed to fit my requirement that it could be used on a smooth/glass top stove. There was nothing in the description indicating that it was not recommended for this type of cook top so I ordered it. Only when I got it out of the box and turned it upside down that I saw the notice that it was not recommended for use on my stove. I really would have appreciated a notice in the description of the product regarding this recommendation - could have saved me and Walmart time and money. 09/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have for canners I saw this same exact product for sale on other sites - WalMart had the same product/brand/utensils for about $20 less. This canner and the included utensils make the whole preserving method much easier, holding quart jars just as easily as pints. It's a must for beginners or seasoned canners. Well worth the money. The Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving is also very helpful. 09/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a first time canner, and all went well. The instructions that came with the kit were great and the quality is good. I hope to use my kit for many years to come. 06/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems like a good set haven't actually used it yet Walmart keep on asking me to review my purchase ...but well I haven't used it yet...seems nice enough. My one complaint thus far is that the label says NOT to use on a glass top stove??? Not sure why but sure wish that was on the product info...cause guess what I have a glass top stove :/ LOL 06/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by wire strainer inside rusted on 1st use The wire rack that goes inside the large blue pot was left in the water overnight. Next morning, it had begun to rust. Only water alone was used to boil the canning jars. The pot and the cookbook were fine, but the wire rack, which appears to have been stainless steel, was evidently of a poorer quality stainless steel than is required. The rack should not have begun to rust after FIRST USE. Come on, guys. You can do better that that. 10/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the money This canning kit is everything you need to being canning. It comes with all the tools and the rack needed to hold about 7 qts. of canned fruits and vegetables. It does not come with the jars so you have to buy those separately but I found them in my local Walmart store for a great value on a 10 jar set. The kit arrived when it was promised and was packed so well that there was no way it could be damaged in shipping. It was a completely positive experience shopping on Walmart.com and I would definitely recommend it to family and friends. 08/18/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the type of material that it is and price, it holds up fairly well. My only problem is that once the paint starts to chip, your pot will rust. My rack started rusting months before the actual pot and had to be replaced. I'm looking for sturdier replacement since I can often 09/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted product I am new to canning and have used this twice now. It feels very sturdy comes with all the tools you need (aside from jars and what you want to fill them with). I do recommend investing a more sturdy funnel and a good ladle if you don't already have one. The pot itself is very good. It takes a while to get that much water to a full boil; but it has kept one just fine. I expect this canner to last many years! 08/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved by buying at Walmart I saved $$$ when buying from Walmart, as opposed to buying directly from Ball. The benefit of the free shipping added value and I received my product quickly. 12/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfrect start Just started canning, and this is great for a beginner. It has all the parts you need, with the exception of the jars and food, of course. 05/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This canning kit is a gift for my daughter, who just started the hobby of canning. When I unpacked the items, I thought they were a great value and would last many years. I,m very pleased with my purchase. 10/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product is exactly what I expected. Couldn't believe how expensive it was. Cheaper in North Florida and easier to get. Could not get one in my local Walmarts. Pot came with a big dent right in the bottom edge of the pot. Paint chipped inside and out. It will probably rust. 02/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use i bought this to make jam. i have a glass stove top and even though the package said not to use on glass top i tried it. i had no problems. i filled it with hot water before putting in my jars. covered and in about 15 min it came to boil. my jars sealed just fine. i made 2 batches of jam and did great. would recommend. 07/27/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Poor packaging Although I purchased this item last November, I never used it. The pot was not protected adequately, and it arrived chipped and dented. It was just too much of a hassle to return it. I have noticed haphazard packing on previous shipments from Walmart, and I will hesitate before buying something on line again. 07/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great beginners canning set Just what was needed to start canning. Had never done this before. Can store canning accessories inside. Easy to clean 02/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome pricing, super fast delivery. What more could you ask in a product? 08/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality product Arrived quickly. Nice quality. Have used this brand for years. Nicer, and heavier than other brands. Looking forward to using it for many years. 06/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New to Canning This was exactly what I was looking for and my first couple canning projects have been a success!! 06/07/2013
1-20 of 20 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw474
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp