See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 414 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice But One Major Gripe I built this for my kids over the course of two days, with my 7-year-old 'helper'. I took my time and everything went smoothly. Everything fit together nicely and the playset seems sturdy. My gripe is: You need to pre-drill HUNDREDS of 1/8" holes for the wood screws. This added several hours to the build time. They really should pre-drill these holes at the factory where each board is already being cut & drilled. TIP: Use two screw guns, one for driving screws and another for the pre-drilling. 06/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Price My husband built it himself in 8 hours... also save your $ and have it sent to the store for pick up... it will fit in any standard truck because they compact it so well. 05/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than I expected Reading reviews of all the other swing sets on here is overwelming and almost made me not want to buy one. But, we bought this one and all the parts were there :) and my husband had no trouble putting the whole thing together by himself. My daughter absolutely loves it and as far as I can see, this thing is very sturdy and safe :) 03/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Kids Love It! Everything was there, even came with extra hardware. Took my husband and father about 9 hours to put together from the time the box was opened till time for the kids to play on it. 04/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not Great! When my wife and I decided to purchase this product we did lots of research. We kept coming back to this one because of the value (cost) and the looks. We have a 1 and 3 year old and figure this one should be one that last them at least 5 years if not longer. Well I was very excited to start work on it but that excitement turned to disappointment as I was putting it together. The wood is very cheap (which I understood when I bought it) but because of the way the directions were some places need one tool when not specified and other places needed bigger wood screws when not given. This caused me to have a few areas split even though I followed the directions to a T. Overall once the product was done I did get a feeling of accomplishment when I saw both my kids on it with very big smiles on their face but if I had it to do over I would probably pay an extra $200 to have someone build one just like it but with strong enough wood that my wife and I could also enjoy it with them, for 2 reasons. 1st I wouldn't have to put it together because the extra $200 included labor and deliver/setup 2nd the first thing my 3 year old asked my wife was "Mommy get on the other swing and swing with me" Heartbreaking when we could of had it where we could of joined him! Whats done is done. 3 1/2 stars -- Recommended but beware that it isn't the greatest quality (But good for little feet) and make sure you buy a box of 1 1/2" wood screws!!! 05/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Im gad its over ~ For the comedian Follow the directions step by step. It cant go wrong!! Seperate the boards out so they are easier to find. When you find the "hardware box" dont open it. Its best not to panic before starting. What I would reccomend, is sitting down with the hardware (with a scotch in hand) and sort them into bolts, screws, t- nuts, washers, nut locks, and those thingies. Make sure you have an adult or an assistant that is above the age of 10. I can not urge that one enough... no one under 10 yrs of age should be allowed within 5 miles radius of the working area. All in All... There were 5 adults working on it and 5 yr old tripplets who couldnt wait for it to be done. It took us 12 hours total. (Not including the hospital trip..oopsy) But, it was FUN! 1 day later the kids tore up the swing seats and the dog now hides under the fort. Im so glad our leaning tower is over! Looks good from the bedroom window!! 06/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great investment We just bought this for our daughters and it is wonderful. The price is great too. We didn't want a huge swingset that would take up too much space. This swing set is the perfect size for us. The only thing that wasn't so great, is the fact that it takes a long time to put together and definately requires 2 people. But once put together...it's well worth all the effort and time. 03/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I couldn't find anything like this at this price. This lasted longer then I was worried it would. Kind of hard to put together and you do need two people. We made a few mistakes but improvised to fix them. 3yr old loves it. We even had 10 & 12 yr olds play on it. It made it through winter and record rain. Wood is on the low grade. Can't beat the price and you do get what you pay for. 04/22/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very disappointed For the cost of this it should be better quality. Also as we were putting it together there were a lot of parts missing. We called and the company did ship them to us but it took a week or so to receive the replacement parts. Also a couple of times when we called with the part number that was missing the company sent us the wrong part and we had to go thru this process again. I don't believe that it is all that great. It will get us thru the next couple of years with our little guys and then we will have to get something of better quality. Also the canopy had holes in it when we took it out of the box. Over all I wish that I had shopped around more to find a better set. The boys like it and that is what matters. I just wouldn't recommend anyone to purchase this. Look somewhere else. 05/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Swing set Good quality product for reasonable price. Husband and Father assembled in a day and 1/2. Kids enjoy it and looks good. 03/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by get what you pay for my husband always tells me you get what you pay for and he is always so right. The reason you are only paying $400 is because they make the assembling a pain in the rear. You have to drill most the holes because cedar splits very easy. We were missing screws, some screws that were recommended were to short so we have to modify to make things work. During the assembling stages the instruction manuel changes the view of the swing set which is so confusing. we had to take boards down that we put up a couple different times because the book was very misleading...would i ever do this again....NO way. Also when we got everything together the ladder split. Not sure how long this playground will last, we will see. Like I said you get what you pay for. And also it takes more then 6-8 hours to put together, and for those people who do not have drills, and torque wrenches I feel sorry for you. It took us 9 hours and we had every tool needed to make this go fast. Good luck 04/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible- returned the following day as the main beam was warped drastically, paint still wet and the wrong hardware enclosed! Thanxs however to Wal-Mart for a full refund! 06/29/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is a good swingset fir the price it was a little smaller than i thought perfect for my 2yr old a little too small for my 7 yr old.. you do need help putting it together for sure but ordering and pickup were excellent no problems there..overal i thought i got a good deal.my boys love it! 04/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy I like looking at it in the yard, and I enjoy the kids playing on it. I have many little ones so more swings would have been nice for the price. I was amazed at how it was packaged in the box, 1 box thats it ( I was expecting more). The slide was the only major disapointment, it turned out looking really nice I was just expecting a much stronger one. Overall I would suggest this product, just price needs to be lowered, especialy for the economy. People don't really have the money to take all there kids out and need something at home they can have fun with. I hope this review helps. Enjoy we are. 03/24/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Backyard Discovery Swing Set I was very dissapointed in the quality of this swing set once my husband and I got this home for my daughter. VERY hard to assemble. Came in one box and in a million pieces. Not very heavy wood as we expected pieces to be "thicker" and doesnt seem very weather resistant. Very poor value for the money spent. Picture is very decieving to size and construction. Could have built this our self for $100. 05/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Value I recently finished putting together my swing set, and I have to admit that it went together easier than expected. 2 people are not required, but certainly helpful at a few stages. There are a lot of holes that need to be pre-drilled. The Torx tools they give you are worthless. mine twisted into uselessness on the third bolt set I did by hand. The hardware was generally strong. The holes lined up well. The directions were very easy to follow - definitely not made by the Ikea people. Overall, for the price, this is hard to beat. 09/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I bought this for my granddaughter's 3rd birthday. She absolutely LOVES it! She swings, climbs, and slides to her hearts' content. She loves the table as well. She brings her crayons and books out and sits and "writes" and colors. The quality is excellent and it looks great. It did take a while to put it together, but I think it was worth the effort. This has made her birthday one to remember. 04/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of work...but Lots of Fun I purchased this product for my son after seeing similar sets selling for close to $1,000. This set is very affordable and provides lots of play options...it also looks nice in the back yard. Set up was LOTS of work. The set ships in many pieces...lots of hardware. I definitely recommend an extra set of hand just for identifying the correct pieces. Other than the many pieces, I actually assembled mine alone and didn't need any help other than the slide assembly. NOTE: Once you are done, there are lots of extra screws, bolts, etc. left over. I'm not sure why, but don't be concerned. Once the set was together my son LOVES it! At 2 years of age, he is actually able to use more of the options now than I expected...and there is plenty of room for him to grow into it. As I haven't had the set long, I can't speak to the durability of the wood. The instructions recommend using a sealer which I will likely do to help protect the wood. Overall, my son is VERY HAPPY with his new play set, and his is the opinion that really matters. Prepare for an involved construction process, but then sit back and watch the kids enjoy! I would recommend this set. 04/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Playset - Especially When You Consider Price I looked for awhile before buying this set. I compared 'apples', 'oranges' and everything in-between just to be sure. I will say that this set is for younger/lighter kids #my son is 2 years old#. If I were to pick the ideal age group I'd say 2 to 7 or so. After that it may get a little tight as its not all that big. Also, it does use a few 1x's where some of the MUCH more expensive sets will use 2x's, but again.....you know that in advance, you get what you pay for AND it more than does the trick. All in all it took me 6 or 7 hours to put together with a little help from the wife now and again #you will need help from time to time holding things in position#. Id say a total of 10 to 11 'man hours'. A couple assembly suggestions: 1# Layout all the parts and material BEFORE starting. It will make everything much easier #this includes the hardware# 2# Have a fully charged Drill & Impact Driver #one of each# so you don't have to go back and forth changing drill bits. Ideally you'd even have 2 Impact Drivers #one with a Phillips Bit and the other using the Torx bit many of the bolts use#, but that will only save a few minutes.... The Impact Driver was key though as the Drill #24V Ryobi# was not able to drive the bolts nearly as good as the Impact Driver was. 3# Pre-Drill the holes! Don't try to cut corners as the wood #typical and basic cedar# WILL split if you try. Some of the screws are also required to be drilled close to the edges #especially on the ladder and table/bench#, so be gentle so you don't split the wood. In some cases - and you'll see them when its time - the 1/8th bit is too large and you won't get a good bite if you use it #again, I noticed this mostly on the table/bench#. Otherwise, I would buy this again if I were in the markets for another playset. Our son loves it, it looks great and really was a good value at $399. 04/08/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by a lot of issues first off I was missing 12 pieces. They gave me 12 of a different board that was too short. The screws for one of the parts was labeled wrong and I had to use my own screws. The wood is super soft which makes the product cheaper and easier to put everything together. The directions are easy to follow. I had a lot of extra pieces. Whoever puts the parts together does it too quickly. It all comes in one box which is nice and if you put the screws in order by the number on the bag it is much easier. If you are looking for a cheap swingset this is a good option. 05/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible product I have had this swing set several weeks and I am still trying to finish putting it together. So far they have shorted me a WHOLE package of a certain screw and some others also. I'm sure i'll find out theres more missing before i'm done. The quality is horrible. The wood has split on me several times. the pieces that hold up the picnic table cover have both split in half. Most of there predrilled whole dont match up. I wish I had paid $800 for another one than bought this one trying to save some money. 05/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Low Quality This item looks great, but the wood is very soft and cracks easily. Several boards cracked when the screws got tight when we were putting it together. The two vertical boards next to the slide will not stay in place. The screws just loosen up and the boards fall. We've already had to reattach them several times. The kids love the swing set, but it doesn't look like it's going to last very long. We have to go through about once a week and tighten screws everywhere. The picnic bench feels like it will break through if more than one kid sits on it. Overall, very very poor quality. Don't buy this one. 07/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 was missing a bunch of parts and it took 2 weeks to get swing set and then another 2 weeks to get the parts so my son sat there and just looked at it not happy and all i could get was sorry 05/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Went together easily, some minor hardware missing. (Let that be a lesson to me: always Ctrl+A, Ctrl+C long reviews before moving on in case the page crashes.) My father and I assembled this swing set in about 8 hours, working straight through on one day. We could have cut 1/2 hour or so off that time if the cordless drill we were using for the pilot holes hadn't died on us. It really is much faster to have one adult drilling and the other screwing, especially on the fort floor and wall boards. As you can see in the attached picture, we installed the slide going off the front of the fort, rather than the side. We did this to save space in a small back yard. The switch worked really well, but I recommend holding off on drilling into the slide surface (one of the very first steps) until you know where you want it mounted and what might interfere. (Note: I purchased a separate baby swing from Walmart, which is installed next to the slide in my picture - this swing set comes with two of the yellow swings.) We were missing bolts to hold the rocks onto the rock wall, but they will be easily replaced at our local hardware store. Beware, the box is heavy! Definitely "team lift" this one. I was able to fit the box easily into a minivan with the rear seats down and one middle seat removed. 05/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This playset is fantastic! I was very impressed when we opened the box and realized that every single piece of wood and every piece of hardware were clearly marked. The instructions were clear and easy to understand. My husband and I put this up and had it completed in 6 hours. It went very smoothly, and we didn't have any problems. I just wanted to say that this is even better than I expected it to be, and for this price, it is an exceptional value!!! My kids love it and it looks great in our yard!!! This set has everything...swings, trapeze bar, slide, rock wall, clubhouse, picnic table, and a place under the club house that we are going to make a sand box. I could not have found a better play set anywhere!!! We are very, very pleased with the quality and value.I would recommend this to anyone looking for a set for their kids. 02/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great set This has been a great set so far for our almost 3 yr old son for the money. He is very active and loves climbing the rock wall and hanging from the trapez bar. It did take a while to put together, but it was only my husband by himself and he took his time and made sure to organize all before starting. He had no problems on assembly and was even able to flip the rock wall and picnic table to accomadate our needs. He did not have any trouble with any boards splitting as other have mentioned. He did make sure to pre-drill the existing holes before assembly which may have helped out. This is a GREAT set for our very small backyard. We have even had 4 toddlers playing on it at the same time and having a ball. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great swing set! kids love it! Took my boyfriend about 8 hrs to put together himself.The direction were incorrect and a few screws were missing but anyone could figure it out. It looks great! You get what u pay for. Wood is expensive these days so for 400 you cant expect a top of the line item. I would seal the the wood so it holds color . Would definitely recommend ! 06/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for the price! This set looks like a much more expensive item. It took my husband a total of about 14 hours to put together and that included him organizing all the parts to be sure they were all there and easy to get to. The first 6 or so hours were done with a friend and then he was able to put together the finishing touches and attach all the parts alone. Could probably be done with one person. 06/15/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by expect full day assembly Took experienced handy man approx 8 hours to build. Directions/drawings not always clear. On positive note, all surfaces were sanded well, and all wood pieces clearly marked. Would advise keeping hardware in bags to use as needed- the sizes are similar, but not interchangeable. All in all, ok product, but not the quality we expected for the price. 06/13/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing Pieces and Non-user Friendly Directions I was missing 7 screws from my kit. I went down to the hardware store to buy the screws which cost myself under $2. I was not about to wait for the company to send me 7 screws. The directions were not user friendly. There were too many screws, bolts, and lag screws to decipher which ones were used where. 06/02/2011
1-30 of 382 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew379
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp