See All Reviews
Babycakes Cupcake Maker, Red
Babycakes Cupcake Maker, Red
$15.00
Was: $18.00
Clearance
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy! I love this cupcake maker. I have made brownie bites and muffins in it so far, and they have been perfect. I use the paper cups when I am using it, and there is little to no clean up! So simple! 12/20/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great idea - poor heating element I was given the cupcake maker as a Christmas gift this year. I was so excited when I opened it because I have a serious love for cupcakes. My husband thought it would give me some new and fun ideas for them. We started it up and followed the directions and the first batch came out beautiful! I was so happy! However, we added mix to the maker for the second batch and checked it after 5 minutes. The cake mix was still pure liquid. I set a timer for 5 more minutes, same thing. My husband felt around the edges and noticed that it didn't feel as hot. So we unplugged it and waited about an hour and plugged it back it. It never heated up at all. It's like the heating element went out after the first use. I will be taking it back and getting a new one because I love the idea so much. But I'm really hoping that it doesn't break again. 12/26/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only was able to use this produce a few times before the heating element went out. I was very disappointed that this produced only lasted less then a week. I will be taking this produce back. 01/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for kids. I purchased this item for my daughter's 8th birthday party. The girls helped make the cupcakes and then decorated them. They really enjoyed it. The cupcakes where the perfect size and the girls were able to decorate several a piece. They cook really quick and are easy to pick up and eat. My daughter really likes the cupcake maker and we have used it several times since we purchased it. The only thing wrong is that the latch broke the first time we used it. But, it seems that everything my teeage son touches breaks. Not sure if this was the machines fault or my sons. 05/24/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not terribly practical OK, here is my review after using my cupcake maker for the first time. I used a cake mix, and at the same time as I used the maker, I also baked cupcakes in a muffin tin in the oven. The cupcake maker heats up easily and is quicker than the oven by about half. It's a little tricky to fill the paper liners without spillage, but I managed. The ones from the maker came out lighter in color than the ones from the oven, but were done fine. If you are baking in the summer and don't want to turn on the oven, this would be great. Or for a motor home. But to be really honest, I can't see any other advantage over baking in the oven. It only makes 8 at a time, so would take a number of uses to use up a cake mix. You can buy a mini cupcake tin if that's the size you want, and the paper liners are available everywhere in many patterns and colors. You can only buy the paper liners for the baker from Babycakes, at $2.99 per 100 and a fortune to ship, and they only come in white. It seems to work fine and I have no complaint about it, other than it doesn't seem practical, given the difficulty of getting the paper cups and how many times you'd have to fill it to use up a cake mix. I'm thinking about returning it to the store. Sometimes the old fashioned way is better than the cute gadget. 05/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this little cupcake maker is awesome. It makes dessert in 8 minutes and there is no mess to clean up and you do not have to heat the kitchen up with the oven on. Perfect for taking treats in for your kids birthdays to school.. 05/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great little cooker It is wonderful. Have baked many different items with it. I do not have to heat up our 5th wheel or use up alot of propane by using our stove. I love it! 02/06/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I love mini cupcakes! It is my love for mini cupcakes that led me to purchase the Babycakes Cupcake Maker. However, it is not all what it cracked up to be . . . First, let me say, that is a nice looking machine. Very sturdy. Vibrant color. But it only makes 8 cupcakes at a time which I thought at first wouldn't be a problem but do you know how long it takes to use up cake batter when you can only do 8 at a time??? Second, so far I have not experienced the problems with the heating element that others are reporting. My other reason, aside from my mad love for mini cupcakes, to purchase this item was so I wouldn't have to heat up the whole house in order to whip up a batch. The machine, however, does get VERY hot . . . you will need a fork to remove your cupcakes and when putting in more batter be sure not to touch the hot metal. Simple sounding, I know but give it a try. Also, the plastic sides do get hot. Third, the cupcakes do not brown evenly. Now, since most folks using icing this would not be a problem. However, if you intend to leave them nekkid for a decorating party with a group of kids, the sickly pale ones may turn off many cupcake lovers. Or maybe you just love nekkid cupcakes. Whatever . . .some are very pale but are cooked throughout. So, I guess what I am saying is that I could have skipped this purchase and just bought another 12 cup mini cupcake pan. And that is what I will recommend to friends and family. It is a very neat concept but not a completely great reality. 07/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by lOVE IT! i PURCHASED THIS TO USE WITH MY SPECIAL EDUCATION STUDENTS AT SCHOOL, BUT FIND IT'S GREAT FOR PORTION CONTROL HERE AT HOME TOO! I AM DIABETIC AND CAN USE THE SUGAR FREE CAKE MIXES TO MAKE THESE LITTLE CUPCAKES. PERFECT SIZE! LOVE IT! 01/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cupcake Maker Not So Great I was given this cupcake maker as a gift for Christmas and when I opened the box, pieces of the plastic casing fell out of the box. It had been severely damaged, but the box looked perfect. I couldn't find one in a local WalMart so I did the Site to Store. That also had a perfect box, but when I opened it to use it, the top had a deep, long gouge in it and the whole back corner was shattered. I purchased one at a local department store and it is perfect. The cupcakes were at least excellent when I finally had a piece of equiptment that wasn't damaged. 02/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is perfect for snacks and appetizers I bought this because my stove had died and i wanted a way to bake. Its easy to use and my family loves the little cakes. Once the maker gets hot it bakes really fast so you have to watch later batches closer so they don't burn. I've made muffins, cupcakes, and corn bread so far and plan on trying several of the things in the little recipe book. I will continue to use it even after i get my stove. 08/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Versatile little machine Versatile little machine that makes hors d'oeuvres, cupcakes, little pies and more. This particular machine did not have the crimped-edges on the cupcake wells, as depicted on the recipe booklet, so if that's important to you, look for another model. Used the machine for mini pies, quiches, cornbread cupcakes and baked wontons, so nice for filling with various mixtures. If you want cupcake papers, you'll have to order them from www.thebabycakesshop.com, as they do not come with the machine and the mini cupcake liners you use with a conventional mini cupcake tin will not fit the machine. Wipe clean interior a bonus, although very juicy, sugary mixtures, such as pie fillings, will require a little more attention to get the surface clean. 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best if you are having small children help make cupcakes. It is very easy to use and quick. My older kids even love it to make breakfast muffins before school. 06/15/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up To Expectation I have used this item several times Must use little paper cupcake holders or batter sticks to the unit Cupcakes are really cute and it does bake them quickly 8-10 minutes I think using a silicone or stick free cupcake pan would do better. 05/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by kids love it works great the kids made like 32 cupcakes, used mini cupcake cups and made not mess, only i little thing i would change would be to put an on off switch on it had to unplug and let cool before we could take the cupcakes out 02/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not used every day, but handy I bought this for my husband a year ago (he likes kitchen gadgets) and I've definitely used it more than he has. It's not just for cupcakes, but we make mini muffins (apple, then raspberry today - snow day), mini johnny cakes (for tonight's dinner), and I have yet to use the mini pie crust or frosting tools. I enjoy it with the kids as something we can do, the non stick surface works great, I've never sprayed it with anything, and I use a wooden skewer to both remove and test my goodies. It works well with mixes, but also includes some recipes that work great and taste good too. My only suggestion is to watch what you're making like a hawk - Jiffy mix muffins are done in 5 mins, their blueberry muffins take 6.. but once you know, you can walk away and set the timer, and have fresh hot baked goods in minutes that won't stuff the children but are still a fun activity. 01/11/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Works but I recommend spraying with pam so they remove easier. Outside seems to cook quicker then inside, so test before removing. 01/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this This is another christmas gift i purchased for a friend's kid and she loved it so did I. The price was way cheaper than any other placed so that was a real bargain for me 12/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by for my daughter my daughter loves to bake. this is a gift for her. 02/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic after my one daughter received on of these babycake makers my other daughter wanted one, they both have young children at home and these are just great, not only quick and easy but just the right size for little fingers to hold. Will probably be buying another one for my other daughter. 01/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by given as a gift and she was happy w/ it. 11/14/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not too thrilled about this purchase. When I received my cupcake maker the locking mechanism was completely broken. This did not effect the way it functions, it's just annoying. I would rather have one or two of those silicone cupcake pans, so that I can make my cupcakes all at once than only eight at a time. It's not a total loss, I bought the Babycakes recipe book and found some interesting recipes I can't wait to try. 11/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy!!!! I have shopped around for this product and the price ranged from $24-$30 ... I was really surprised to see that Walmart had it for only $15 and it came with accessories!!! Works perfectly fine for me, no problems at all!!! I've used my cupcake maker 3 times already. Its so easy to clean and use. I also own the cake pop balls maker ... so I usually use both and make pop balls and mini cupcakes -- and they are always a hit!!!! A must have!!! And tons of fun to use!!!! 10/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to use. I like the small size of cakes it produces. You have to get used to the "ready" switch. The first time it comes on after batter is added indicates the appliance has come up to temperature to bake, not that it is time to check as indicated in instructions. The second time the "ready" light comes on indicates that some or all of the cakes are finished baking. It just gets getting used to. Overall, the appliance performs as advertised. Easy to clean. 10/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Babycakes cupcake maker makes baking cupcakes quick and easy. Since I purchased this product, I've made over 200 cupcakes and I just received the product 2 weeks ago. 10/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product! I was really skeptical of buying this product based on some of the prior reviews, however sometimes you just have to take a chance on a time saving product and see for yourself. I am absolutely thrilled with this Babycake maker. Some reviews said you HAD to have the cake cups and others said to just oil the cups and bake. I have done the latter. I oil the cups and go. I have made cupcakes, garlic cheese biscuits, cornbread, cinnamon rolls and more. It is awesome! Everything cooks fast, evenly and cleanup is a breeze! Just wipe with a paper towel or a soft cloth and it's ready to use again. I would definately recommend it to anyone who does home cooked meals daily like I do. You can fix your bread for the meal and them fix your dessert in less than 15 minutes! Absolutely LOVE it!!! 10/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ideal for baking with little kids My 4-yr-old daughter is obsessed with baking cupcakes so I ordered this to bake with her. She's still too young to handle this gadget but at least I can show her the process with more ease than heating up the big oven. It's simple to operate and the results is pretty good. Only used it once since last week. So far so good. It's worth the $$ if you catch it on sale. I wish they had it at a local Walmart so I could save the shipping fee. 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy classroom snacks and fundraiser cupcakes Since purchasing my Babycakes cupcake maker, I have had the opportunity to make surprise snacks for my granddaughters first grade class. The ease of using the cupcake maker, is a delight when unexpected company shows up. It is quick to use and clean-up is simple.No messy cupcake tins to prep or clean. I don't even have to use cupcake papers if I don't want to. The decorating tips included in the Babcakes makes decorating the cupcakes fun and easy. I have never decorated cupcakes before and the directions were very simple to follow. BEST PURCHASE I HAVE MADE ALL YEAR. 10/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better for chocolate batter than yellow or white. I love my little cupcake maker! I actually bought it by accident. I thought I was purchasing the cake pop maker but I didn't look closely enough. It turned out to be a good mistake, though, since I decided to keep it and give it a try. I've used it on two occasions and have learned that it is better at making chocolate cupcakes than white or yellow cake. The chocolate ones look neat, smooth and even as compared with ones baked in the oven in a mini cupcake pan. The white and yellow cupcakes look under-baked when I make them in the cupcake maker. So, if you prefer chocolate cupcakes, I think this gadget is worth it for under twenty bucks. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for college students! My roommate and I bought this cupcake maker last week and we absolutely love it! The surfaces are easy to clean, don't require any non-stick spray, and have a nice, polished look. I read some reviews about the product smoking or giving off a foul odor during its first use, but that did not happen with ours. Directions included in the box inform the consumer about this issue and how to avoid it. Always read your directions! The cupcakes themselves cook very quickly-usually no more than 5 minutes is required. The cakes come out a nice golden color and are surprisingly moist inside. The small cake liners you buy in the store work just fine for the machine, but technically, you don't really need them; the nonstick surface allowed us to take all the cupcakes out without damaging a single one. All in all, the cupcake maker was a great buy and I'm sure we'll be using it a lot in the future. 09/17/2011
1-30 of 44 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw124
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp