Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 50 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased with this product. Fast Shipping. Before ordering I did call Customer Service to check if it was Genetically Modified. The folks at Augason Farms take great pride in their response that "None of their products are GMO !!" 03/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by very clean I grind my own wheat to make breads and pretzels. it's very clean so it can be used right out of the bucket. Hard white wheat is, I think, much more palatable than hard red. I can't stand whole wheat breads that they sell in stores because they use hard red wheat, but hard white wheat has a milder flavor and the breads look just like white bread as opposed to the darker whole wheat breads they sell in stores. This wheat is stored in tightly covered buckets with an o2 absorber so it should last a long time if you don't open it. Price wise.. I think it's good. I've seen cheaper wheat for sale but never in NY where I am and delivery costs alone would negate any savings, and the less expensive wheat came in bags which would mean I'd have to buy food grade storage buckets anyway. Auguson Farms wheat from Walmart is perfect for my needs. Shippiing was very fast too. 12/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stuff Nice clean wheat. You might be able to get wheat cheaper if you drive up to the elevator with a pickup and let them dump it in the bed, but you can't beat this price for clean, packaged wheat, especially with free delivery. Can't get it this price even at the coop anymore. 01/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Product To what others have said I can add that if you divide the stated protein content per serving by the stated serving size you get about 13%. A wheat farmer of my acquaintance tells me that that's good. (By "hard" is meant in particular a type of high-protein wheat that's good for bread.) And I've also tried the hard red type from Walmart, this very brand, and it too is terrific, and for a very good price. Here's a tip to get off the top which is a killer: take a claw hammer and with the claw under one of the corners tap up, forcefully, on the head of the claw hammer with a rubber mallet. Othewise you could hurt your hands getting the top off. I should also relate that I didn't used to get very good results with whole-wheat flour and my old bread machine, which doesn't have a special cycle for whole wheat. I theorized that the bran on the whole wheat was preventing the kneading from having the proper effect. So I got the idea of first running the bread machine on the knead-only cycle but WITHOUT yeast. That takes 50 minutes on my machine. Then I take the dough out and roll it out with my hands and sprinkle some of the yeast on top and then fold the dough over, flatten it again, and repeat several times until the packet of yeast is in many layers throughout the dough. I then plop it back in the bread machine and restart to machine, with the standard bake setting, as though I had not performed the 50-minute kneading step. I get a perfect loaf every time with my double-kneading approach (with the yeast being added after the first kneading). 03/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by bucket white wheat I was happy with the speed it took to arrive. I like the square buckets-easier to store them. 11/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comforting to have in my posetion. I do not know what this hard white wheat tastes like, but I do plan on trying to cook some of the many recipes that use hard white wheat, even if it is just as a cereal. But for me, the greatest satisfaction with this purchase is seeing the words 'Best by 2043'. It is very comforting for me to know I have something healthy to eat in case of an emergency. The storage container is square and is probably smaller than a five gallon bucket and easily stacks and transports. Don't forget to prepare a clean water source. 01/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Packing Excellent Product. Would be better if it was packaged in a Nylar bag with 02 packet inside. I repacked mine cuz I just did not trust the way it came packed to last 30 yr. Otherwise this product is Awesome & Priced Right ! Fast Delivery As Well ! 03/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the container! It was hard to rate the value of this product because the price jumped WAY up after I bought it and I am not sure if its going to stay up or go back down. In any case, the quality of wheat seems to be good. No complaints. I am mostly in love with the container though because it is just a great space saver compared to round buckets and the because it is smaller than most bulk buckets of wheat, it is a much more manageable weight. I have every intention of ordering a variety of products from Augason Farms now. 03/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent product for easy, longterm keeping Only thing that could make it better is to make it organic 12/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Wanted to try my hand at grinding my own wheat for bread. The local store carries the bags, but rarely. This was the best deal I've found for home delivery. Looked at amazon and others, but the shipping is outrageous. Shipping over $50 was free for this, and even lesser amounts was only $4-5. So far I've had 3 grinding sessions, making enough for 2 loaves each time with a little left over. Absolutely no regrets!!! 03/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Sprouting! Excellent quality product in easy to store container. I use it primarily to make fodder for my chickens. The wheat sprouts easily and uniformly. 02/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great source for southern wheat buyers Shipping was extremely fast for this order. Price per pound was even cheaper than the Sams larger bucket prices from Augasons. Will be orderering this on a regular basis for my bread making . Would love for them to carry the soft white wheat as well! 03/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for survial or everyday What an incredible value. The square container comes in a sturdy cardboard box both of which are reusable and add value to the product. The company this product ships from is reliable and quick. We also bought the powdered honey in a #10 can and will be reordering both soon. We plan on storing both the wheat and honey for a survival stash and using it on a daily bases for our pantry needs. 03/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prepping made easy This is one of the lowest per pound prices I have located on hard white wheat. My sister was thrilled to receive it as her Christmas gift and I have been very happy with my purchases 01/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good product for a fair price. Excellent quality wheat seeds for a fair price but......It took a pair of pliers, a hammer and a crow bar to get the top of the bucket off! 02/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This wheat is an excellent value and makes great bread. I love the bucket it's packed in, and as long as it's not opened it has a shelf life of 30 years. It's very clean, and ready to use right out of the bucket. I'd recommend Augason Farms wheat to anyone. 04/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT VALUE This is one of the BEST prices that I have found. I Highly recommend this wheat. It makes wonderful bread !, and with a shelf life of 30 years, you can't go wrong buying it. 02/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed I bought this product because I want to have fresh ground flour for baking bread. This wheat grinds well, is clean and makes a great whole wheat bread. I scoured the internet and even called the local LDS cannery to find the best price and this is it. It came out to be about the same price as buying bread flour in the store, but is more nutritious and it makes a better bread. 04/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price for the wheat. Very clean and fast shipping. I wish I had bought more, will watch for another sale. 03/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value/ Great Wheat! This is wonderful for those of us that live in the South. We have very few options for buying wheat. It's a great price, comes in a bucket and is delivered right to your door very quickly. What more could you ask for? And the wheat is a very good quality. I hope this is available for a long time. 01/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good deal~ good deal because the berries come in a food storage bucket that can be re used~we love that & free to home shipping w/orders over $50~works for our household~ 07/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Hard White Wheat for Bread Loved the quick service and the size of these buckets of wheat. The wheat is as expected: clean and ready to use. The price was reasonable and the free shipping was appreciated. 05/27/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Bad Just a heads up. Wheat is packaged in bucket & gasketed lid, without mylar. Research found that the plastic is not impervious to oxygen, and most folks repackage in bucket with mylar liner and 2000cc oxygen absorber. I have a few buckets that had wheat kernels in the gasket areaalso (bad seal). Found the wheat was a bit dirty when repackaging. Not a deal breaker though. Good price. (posted in Red Wheat area also) 05/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice package Received this about a week ago. Great price. It's ready to be stored. No need to vacuum seal or place in another container. Here's hoping the shelf life really is 30 years. 12/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable This wheat is a fantastic deal, but hard to catch in stock. When I finally found it in stock, I bought 4. Really enjoying fresh bread with fresh flour. If you see this in stock, do not hesitate to get it. 02/13/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Allergy info Processed in a facility that contains nuts, eggs,dairy, etc. Missed this in the description. Gave mine to a friend. Great value if I could have used it... 01/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product - Pricey This is an excellent product but on fhe pricy side. The advantage is that it is already sealed and in a bucket. Both add value. Great for long term since it is clearly marked on the bucket with a 30 year shelf life. For use in the short term, I will purchase elsewhere. 02/15/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what you think you're getting. First of all, I could not get the lid off the bucket, it takes a special tool to do that. Nice if it was 10 years from now or 5 and in an emergency you can't get the lid off. I also thought it was flour ready to use, its not. You would need a mill to grind it up and not a cheap mill, it takes an expensive one to do the job well enough to use for bread making. I am sending it back. They should be more informative about the products with these lids and about the Hard Wheat. I had planned to buy other items in buckets but glad I found out now, that you would need a jackhammer etc. to get it off. I understand they sell the special tool but they sure don't make that known either. Augason Farms should realize not everyone knows about this. LdynGln 06/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good I like it so much I am going to buy more 07/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by REAL Wheat You can't beat grinding your own flour for bread. Love this stuff, the container and the price. 07/05/2014
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew471
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp