See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 142 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good over all I got the instyler about a year ago and have been using it enough to review it. I have long medium hair, straight but with lots of volume, process with highlights and have been doing it for +10. It has is prons and cons, here is an honest and very real review, this is what you will get. PROS: - It's very fast to heat-up. - Fast to do your hair with usually takes me 15 min with long hair. -It gives your hair an expensive look like a blow dry from a salon and lives the hair shinny. -Does not pull your hair. CONS: - Material is not very high quality for the price, it makes a funky noise when the brush is rolling like a icky sound. - It lives my hair frizzy on the roods (maybe its just my hair, I'll just very tinny hairspray on the roods and it's all good. - If you are looking for a flat look like the chi the instyler is not for you!! it will more give you the look of a blow dry , than a flat iron, and the ends will not look good if you try to make them straight with the instyler, only looks good if you turn them in or out. GOOD LUCK deciding on your purchase. 04/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am a black woman with long natural hair and at first I was skeptic about using the Instyler. However, I used my cousins one day and I was so amazed at how glossy and straight my hair looked. I am online at this moment purchasing one of my own. It sure beats getting it blown straight at the salon. I highly recommend it. 08/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Hair is STRAIGHT!!!!! My hair is thick and curly. I have spent countless hours trying to tame it. So far the only straightener that works for me is the pricey T3. The InStyler works in half the time and at half the cost. I was sure it was a gimmick and that it would get caught in my hair but it does not. It seriously works. My daughter has very long, curly hair. I can straighten her hair easily. I don't even blow dry it straight first. If you have wild, curly hair you will LOVE this product! 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yes it works on Ethnic Hair I am the mother of 2 African American girls with challenging natural hair or more accurately my hair skills may be a bit challenged. Anyway I usually spend a good portion of my weekend washing, blow drying and straightening their long thick coarse hair. Actually one has hair that is curly and comb-able after washing and the other has hair which is coarse and tangled after washing. I always looked at this product but was afraid to buy because like most infomercial products they are too good to be true. Well not this one, I can truly say the Instyler really straightens and made their hair shiny and more manageable. I was busy this weekend and didn’t get to wash their hair until Sunday so I knew I would need help getting through both their heads in one day. I washed both of their hair, combed it through with detangler and let them air dry. I purchased the Instyler the same day and it wasn’t until Sunday evening before I started the straightening process. With school the next day I rushed through both of their heads but surprisingly with pretty good results. I can tell for sure if I took my time their hair would be bone straight (the sistas know what I'm talking about.) I realized the con reviews are probably people using the product on themselves which I can imagine may be a little harder, also I think better results probably happen for people with longer hair than short. My hair is relaxed and shorter than my daughters so I'm going to give it a whirl and will let you know stay tuned! 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it!!! I absolutely love the instyler. I'm a mom of two so therefore i dont really have that much time on my hands. It usually takes me about 30 minutes to straighten my hair but with the instyler it takes about 15. I recommend trying it. I've heard it doesn't work for everyone's hairtype though. 07/08/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's okay. I was so excited when I ordered my InStyler, I could not wait for it to arrive (I felt like a child waiting for Christmas morning). I had always wanted one, so when my curling iron broke I jumped on the opportunity to get an InStyler. I COULDN'T wait to use it once I received it. I washed and blow dried my hair as normal and used my new InStyler. I was pleased and disappointed with the InStyler. It worked wonderful as a flat iron, but due to the flat that I already had a CHI I didn't need another flat iron. My hair was straight and silky after using the InStyler. My hair is long and thick. It was beautiful after a few struggles. The power button is in the wrong place. It is on the handle in the area where you hold the InStyler. I kept hitting the power button while using the InStyler. If you do not place your hair exactly right between the roller and the plate the hair will crinkle. It does not curl the hair very well. The ends of the hair fly away. The InStyler is not well crafted and it is a bit noisy when it rotates. If you are looking for a good flat iron this is a great product, but if you are looking for a wonderful curling iron keep looking. 08/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just What I Needed This product is great!!! In minutes I was able to straighten hair and even curl it. On top of that it is so easy to use. I've always had problems doing my own hair with a regular iron but this one was so simple. I can now get up in the morning and do a great style in minutes. The only problem I had was the price. It is cheaper online and more expensive in the store. I told the associate about it and she said they couldn't match the price. I was disappointed with that but after getting home and trying it out the price of $100.00 was worth the investment. I recommend this product to everyone. It is great for African American hair and natural hair as well. I used it on my mother and it shined her hair and straightened it better than the other irons. If you watch the DVD and read the instructions you shouldn't have any problems with it. I really love this product and look forward to taking it with me everywhere I go. 12/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by so so the product is good but two things I did not like 1.in the first use the bristles of the brush were opened :( 2. the power button is badly placed, every time I brush my hair, accidentally and every moment I touch the button of heat levels and accidentally the heat level changes :( 09/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hair product I have used this product for two years and have had no problems with performance. I use it every day and could not imagine styling my hair without it. I have straight hair with wavey hair underneath and this is the equalizer. It also eliminates the friz. It takes me about 5 minutes to have a polished look. 11/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by no more nappy head purchased this for me and my two daughters, we have three different hair types. my youngest has very thick course tight knot nap hair and it works best on her. fact is i have had her hair professionally straightened and even the chems they use didn't work as well. my older daughter has shirley temple type curls and medium thickness, it worked for her just fine. now me i have thick hair but not as curly and it didnt work so well. it is also very quick 10/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The InStyler saves so much time and effort I LOVE this product!! It was a process learning how to use it, and I suspect some of the other reviewers haven't learned how yet. The best thing I can tell you- go slow to go fast (or YouTube girls using it like I did). The brush (which I love because it seperates and isolates the hair- which a traditional straightener cannot do) made me originally mimic the action of brushing my hair, which I do quickly. Going slower gives the barrel time to heat up the strands. It gives gorgeous, straight yet not flat hair. My box said the InStyler polishes your hair, which I laughed at. I take it back after using- it truly does. My hair looks sleek and shiny in around 6 minutes (I have wavy but not curly, fine hair). The same look takes at least 15 with other heating products. I always get compliments after I use it- I highly recommend. 11/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Salon styled hair at home I was absolutely amazed by this product. I have very thin fine hair that is hard to do anything with. I bought the Instyler to straighten my hair but also give it body. I am extremely happy. I get compliments every time I use the instyler and often get asked if I just came from the salon. I love that my hair is straight but not like when I use a flat iron, which straightens my hair with no volume. I also bought one for my sister who has thick curly hair. It took her a little longer to get the hang of it, but it is also harder for her to blow dry her hair because it is so thick. Now she uses it everyday and says she will never go back. This is truly a great product. I am very happy with my purchase. 11/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awkward at first, but worth learning how! I was going to send this Instyler back after the first couple of tries.. I even printed out a return receipt for it, but then decided to give it one more chance. This time, I wasn't in a big rush, and washed my hair, got it pretty much dry with a regular dryer, then started working on my somewhat frizzy, somewhat damaged (from flat irons!) hair. It's very fine, long & blonde, and can be difficult to keep smooth. After a short time, I finally learned to make sure the roller was going in the right direction, and a few other tricks the video teaches, plus I got the hang of doing the left side right handed, without it feeling awkward. It takes about 3 times to master this thing,,,, you have to be patient! Now, I wouldn't part with it, and it scares me how close I came to giving up on it! The Instyler caused no damage (I use the LOWEST setting) and it looks marvelous after I finish. I would recommend that the best way is to go in sections. Doing the underside layers of my hair first worked best, then the top layers. Smooth on some silicone shine spray with your hands, add a bit of hairspray, and you're done. I love this product, and would recommend it highly. Important: When you buy, Be REAL careful to make sure it's a GENUINE Instyler, there seem to be a lot of counterfit ones on eBay. I think that might be why some people aren't happy with theirs. Remember, be patient, work on technique, and also, go S-L-O-W-L-Y when you're using it, for best results. The noise it makes isn't bad at all, it's not loud either. I'm not sure why it bothers some of the reviewers, but then maybe they had a fake one....? I ordered mine online at Wal-mart, because their return policy is so convenient. But I won't be returning this item! They weren't kidding, it really does "polish" your hair and makes it shine. Buy one TODAY! 05/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product Use to take me 1.5 hrs to straighten my hair. It is very long and curly. Now it takes me 15 minutes. No continous going over each strand. It straightens the 1st time. I finally found the product I have been needing to save me time. 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing results! I requested and received this item as a Christmas gift, and I love it! My hair has changed over the years, and most recently my curling iron was leaving a crimp line at the top of my bangs. As well, the bangs were not curling well in general due to the fact that I was battling both a very bad haircut and new (baby hair) growth at my hairline above my forehead. This product has literally brought new life to my hair. My hair looks and feels so much more healthy. Also, the cut, although still not what it was supposed to be, is now much more manageable. I really like the ease of use, the lack of grabbing and pulling, and the elimination of burning my hair. I highly recommend this product. I had no specific expectations, so I was pleasantly surprised. 01/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by MODERN DAY MIRACLE FOR AFRICAN AMERICAN HAIR I NEVER review anything unless I'm really really ticked off and absolutely hated it. I had to break with tradition because this tool is worth sharing with others. Less than a year ago I bought a $130 Sedu flat iron in hopes of taming my thick, coarse, unruly, african amercian hair. While it straightened for the short term, it also left my hair looking dry and fly away. The InStyler is an absolute modern day miracle. I allow my hair to air dry, use a heat protectorant, a smoother, and aragon oil along with the InStyler. In less than an hour, I have shiny, beautiful straightened hair with great body and movement (a great hair cut helps too#. I give only four stars due to the burn risk #which I avoid by placing a headband around my head to protect my forehead, face, and ears) and the cost. 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad I bought it, my daughter is very happy. I was on the fence with buying this product. I have a daughter that has very curly, thick and frizzy red hair. She can do nothing with it. I read a lot of reviews, and as usual, they were mixed. I finally broke down and bought it from somewhere it could easily be returned if I didn't like it. I read all instructions before using it. I could not believe it. I did her hair in less than 20 minutes. It only took one swipe, sometimes two, but no more than that. I found out to go a little on the slow side but I had to go slow with the flat iron and run through it at least 5 - 6 times with that. Her hair was also a little on the damp side. I hope it continues to do the job it's been doing. So far so good. If your on the fence, just try it, you can always return it. Just purchase it from a store that will stand behind it. 06/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product I bought this product for my daughter for Christmas, she absoluley loves it! She says it is better than all of her other Flat Irons, and that is saying alot since she has about 12 other ones! From CHI's, Corlissis, Hot Tools and more she says this one is the Best and the Quickest! 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by INSTYLER I love this Curling Iron ! The rotating rod and brush makes it very easy to use and does not do the damage and crimping like the regular irons do, it gives my hair great body and the curl last all day, I am very happy with my purchase. 11/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product I was a bit hesitate when purchasing this product,I have very long and curly hair and when I first tried it on one piece I was in shock on how great it worked. Highly recommend 01/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Money I've Spent in a Long Time! I purchased this item at Ulta back in October after hesitating for nearly a year. I wasn't sure it would work on my thick coarse hair. But it was so easy and leaves my hair silky, smooth and beautiful. It has done everything that is advertised for me. I only wish this item was around when I was in HS! :o) I would and have recommended this product to everyone I know! 01/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Original Instyler Great for SuperFine Curly Hair!! I have long very curly super fine hair but a lot of it...Nothing works to straighten it...Chi does nothing...I must have 10 different straighteners and nothing works..My hair stylest used the Instyler on me on my last appointment and it WORKED !! I could not believe it but it worked...I ran out to Bed and Bath and bought the Original Hairstlyer...I used to wash my hair every morning cause of the hairspray and frizzys..now I only wash 3 times per week cause the Instyler straightens like a charm and I don't use but a little hair spray everyday and my hair looks like hair not dried rope anymore...just a touch up with Instyler in the morning and I'm off...This may not work on every texture of hair, but if you have a lot of superfine curly hair, it does the trick!!! Use the Original Hairstyler, the Professional Quick Heat Up did not work as well.. 08/23/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by instyler iron I have seen the infomercials this it and I have been wanting it for awhile. I saw it in the store and said that I would by it here. I got home, read all the material, saw the DVD, and proceeded to try it out. I had no "product" in my hair to begin with. I have bangs, didn't do the curl that it says that it does, it teases up your hair, puts knots in your hair where it was teased, didn't "polish" the hair. I am just totally disappointed in this product. I should have read the reviews before buying. Next time I will on any other "as seen on tv" product sold in Wal-Mart. 01/16/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by very hard to use and didn't do anything to hair this is soooo hard to figure out how to use without burning half your face off. It also made my hair look worse than if I just used a normal straightener. It is also virtually impossible to curl your hair with this thing like the DVD shows. Your hair just bunches up and becomes tangled. I do not recommend this to anyone! 08/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyone needs this! This super-unique item is like nothing else out on the market! I love the fact that it straightens my naturally curly hair in a fraction of the time it takes with a flat iron. I also love the fact that using this product gives your hair nice body, and doesn't leave it "pin straight". The same goes for gals with super straight hair, it gives your hair nice shine, gloss and body. I love the fact that it has 3 different heating levels, for EVERY hair type. 11/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money I waited five years to buy the InStyler and was very excited about it. I use a curling iron or flat iron every day (for the past 20+ years) so you could say I am somewhat skilled at it. The InStyler would not hang on to my hair. My hair texture is not too thick, it's not too thin, just very average. After fighting with the thing for half my head and not seeing any results, I then accidentally burned myself with it. Definitely not worth the money… not even worth having if I got to keep it for free. 08/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have very curly hair. This device works wonders with my hair. Leaves it smooth - however, it takes ALL the curl out - oh well you cant have everything.... 12/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It really is awesome! Even for fine, straight hair I've wanted this for awhile, so when my hot rollers just died I went out and bought it! I have super- fine,straight hair with long layers and I was't sure what this could do for me as all the reviews I read were for thick, curly hair. I can't operate a round brush and hair dryer like at the salon so I was hoping this would do the trick. It does. It gives me the look I want which is smooth and sleek. It is pricey and kind of loud- the only downfalls-but you can save a few trips to the salon! I am impressed with this product. 11/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Loved It!!!! Both of my parents have naturally curly hair and my grandmothers was so curly when she was young she looked like Shirley Temple. So needless to say I have really curly hair that is also very thick and long. Anyway one day I was at my friends house and had never straightend my hair in fear that it would get too frizzy or dryed out. So I tried this product and LOVED IT!!!! It made my hair super straight and silky. I would recomend this product to everyone and anyone with my type of hair or just thick hair. Short hair is the same as that is what my friend has. I am hoping to get my self one for a christmas present. 11/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't live without it I absolutely love it.. 05/19/2011
1-30 of 119 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw49
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp