See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great if you want an iPhone off contract. Okay I own this phone and received it 1/14. I could not be any happier with Verizon's CDMA network that this phone runs off of. The 3G is full speed and not throttled like some prepaid services. When you make a phone call to someone with this device and if they have caller ID it will ring Verizon wireless. When unboxing the phone you will find it is boxed in the OEM apple box with a straight talk sticker on the box regarding activation. The phone itself is completely not branded in any physical way with straight talk logos etc. Also there is no straight talk bloat ware installed in the phone either. So physically and software wise this is identical to any other iPhone 5 that would be black and 16gb on Verizon or AT&T. Once again this a CDMA model that uses Verizon's 3G network. It has an lte radio but there is no lte service for this phone. Now regarding straight talks TOS they prohibit streaming music and videos. I've found that streaming music hardly uses any data and used in moderation with pandora etc you should be fine. They leave you alone if you stay under 100MB a day and also 2GB a month. Streaming videos is a bandwidth hog and you should do it under a wifi connection. With this said tethering this device is a poor choice and will easily flag you in their system as using far to much data so I would steer away from considering that. Now the reason I gave the phone 4 stars and not 5 was simply because I don't like the fact they say unlimited for 45 a month when it really is 2gb a month. For value I paid for the phone without financing because financing a cellphone is really a silly thing to do. And owning a 650$ is crazy without insurance so I signed up for apples 100$ a year apple care. Now for expectations I did a lot of research before buying the phone and got exactly what I expected and then some. I honestly did not think the 3G would have been this fast. 01/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds my expectations! I purchased this phone about 2 weeks ago at my local Wal-Mart. It comes in the original iPhone box just as you would get from the Apple store with no Straight Talk branding on the phone or box whatsoever. There is activation information attached to the outside of the box. Essentially this is the unlocked Verizon iPhone 5. It doesn't have a sim card in it so it runs off of Verizon's 3G network, which for me, was surprisingly fast. I get a great signal everywhere I go and the call quality is crystal clear. The iPhone 5 is a really great phone. Using it with Straight Talk is the same as any other carrier as long as you follow Straight Talks Terms of Service. I give the iPhone 5 along with Straight Talks service 5 stars as I am extremely pleased with it and only pay $45/month! The upfront cost ($650) for the phone is a little pricey but with the no interest finance plan Wal-Mart currently offers this is a great deal! 01/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's on Verizon Towers If you have never used an iPhone on Straight Talk, go ahead and download iTunes on your home computer and get the full benefit of itunes with your new iPhone. You can activate the phone over the pc or over wifi. Do not update to iOs 6.1 until you fully activate the phone, your data is working and you can send/receive mms. After you are sure everything works as it should, go ahead and do a backup, then install the upgrade to iOs 6.1 If you are already on Straight Talk with an iPhone, do not restore from your old backup. You will mess up the APN and will lose data and mms capability. Activate the phone as a NEW PHONE over wifi. Do not use iCloud during setup. After the phone is fully activated and you can use your browser to access the internet (with wifi turned off), your mms works, and everything works as it should, turn on iCloud and do a backup. THEN you can install iOs 6.1 Everything should still work when it is complete. Install your apps from the Appstore. Once you have all stuff as it should be, do another backup to icloud. If you want to use your iTunes on the pc, you will have to overwrite the old backup before you do anything else. Load all your music and stuff and you will be good to go. This is a great phone. It uses Verizon network. You will only get 3G on it. NO LTE. But Verizon 3G is everywhere. Beats AT&T, especially in buildings. Verizon works where other services will not. Your 3G speeds will be from 1 to 2.5Mbps, which is plenty fast enough. Webpages load fast. Siri works great, but I prefer Google. Download Google maps. The Applemaps are messed up. The first few days of use, let the battery get down below 50percent before you recharge. I can get two days without charging easily. I highly recommend this phone if you are in a good Verizon footprint. 02/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great phone. Bad service. They shut the Internet off after 100mb a day 02/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straight Talk iPhone 5 First I love the iPhone 5. It is a major upgrade from my AT&T iPhone 4. At first I had issues with the data working. I called straight talk and they helped me thru it. I can tell anyone who buys this if your Internet isn't working go into settings, general, and reset network settings and that will fix your problem. It was expensive but it will pay for itself in less than a year since straight talk is so cheap per month. 02/13/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Buyer beware... this is NOT an unlocked phone! I purchased this phone online from Walmart and received it on 2/5/13. After an exhausting 2+ hours on the phone with Straight Talk to get the phone activated, I thought we were "all set." The service is good, even in rural areas; however, after finding out that Straight Talk considers free text messages such as credit card alerts, etc., to be premium messages, I elected to take my "unlocked' phone to another service. Imagine my surprise when I found out this phone cannot be used by any other service -- only Straight Talk! I am returning the phone to Walmart for a refund. I will say that the online representative from Walmart could not have been more helpful. Straight Talk's customer service is horrible! 02/26/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by you get what you pay for, but good value got the phone on thursday 1/31 faster than expected. ported my number instantly (was also faster than expected). no problems at all. the iphone 5 is exactly what you expect, faster, lighter, and nicer screen than the iphone 4. so far the service has been good, we've placed and received calls and texts and everything is working as expected. we aren't heavy users so we'll be on the lighter side but I was frustrated paying much more for minutes and data we'll never use and to have unlimited everything for much less money is nice. that said, paying for the phone will make the full price for the first two years pretty close to the price i was paying on contract (excluding the "upfront fee") so it won't pay off for about two years - so we'll have to keep the same phone and same plan price well beyond the two years for this to make money sense. that said, straight talk customer service has been a big disappointment. my phone had a problem with the data connection after i applied apple's os 6.1 update - it just killed the data connection completely. i spent about 2 hours figuring it out (you need to wipe all data and settings from the iphone -- make sure you do a complete backup on itunes first! -- then restart the phone and restore the backup and everything SHOULD work after that. no promises but it worked for me. i tried calling and emailing straight talk customer service but they said they were too busy to answer the phone so they hung up, and they still haven't answered my email. http://www.straighttalkwirelessforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6792&t=77873&start=10 so three stars - four for the phone itself combined with three for the value and three for the plan working mostly as expected plus two for a poor customer service experience at straight talk. 02/03/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very unclear terms of service Purchased two iPhone 5's from Walmart and signed up for Straight Talk Unlimited plan. After reading the terms of service it is evident that they are very unclear and confusing. There is no mention of how much data is "acceptable". The phone is great and so far the service has been too but we need clarification on these terms as they seem too one-sided as they state that Straight Talk can turn you off at their whim. 01/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by BE AWARE!!!! OK i bought two of these the other day and payed cash in full and when i got them home to activate them the calling and texting works but the cellular data doesnt work at all when i talk to customer service they try everything to get it to work and still nothing the account is active and they say everything should work fine but once im away from my home wifi i cannot connect to the internet at all just a warning to everyone thinking about buying this i spent about 1500 dollars on basically an ipod that can make calls :/ highly dissapointed im going to try and resolve the issue ill post back here if it gets solved. 02/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No Internet Through 3G Warning! Please Read The Iphone 5 is a nice phone, but as soon as I activated it, it had no internet through 3G, you can use it through a wifi like a Ipod touch. I can call and text with it only, but I got this to use with Itunes and surf the web, if I just wanted to text, and call only I would have saved my 650.00 and got a cheap tracfone. I cannot find a fix anywhere on the internet, I called customer service for hours and hours, their English is very poor and hard to understand, so I have to keep asking them to repeat and they are rude, one asked me to take out the battery, you can't on this phone, and what they do tell you to do does not work, I tried it all over and over and over again. I'm am not the only one with this problem, if you search on google this is a big issue not being addressed by Straight Talk. If you really want an Iphone go to a big carrier, and it will cost you but at least you 'll have 3G/ 4G LTE guaranteed data!, I'm paying 45 dollars just to call and text with no data, and I don't know if I will get this solved or not, I'm gonna keep trying but it looks like a hopeless cause, 03/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for $45 but... Well the iPhone 5 is just a great phone. It is one of the best, but not the best phone out there. I like the phone a lot though, and it feels great in the hand and works very well. The 3G, according to the speed tests I did, is full speed on Straight Talk. However, it appears there is some blocking going on with certain services. I cannot access Facebook or Twitter on the 3G connection. I can access YouTube but can not stream a video even at low quality. I couldn't post any status updates on Facebook while I was out, or update my feed. Not that it's a big deal to me, but if you like doing that stuff, you might run into the same problem and be upset about it especially since no where did I read anything about certain services being blocked. I haven't found anyone saying they have the same issue, so maybe it is just me. It's just odd that only 3 things won't load but my internet browser loads google, my searches, and other websites very fast while I'm on 3G...siri even works fine. So who knows. 02/13/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not with straight talk The phone is great I just wouldnt getit through straight talk. They tell you that you can get att service but u end up with verizon. Which is still cool but the internet doesnt work at all. I been trying to get through to customer support for at least 4-5 hours and have yet to connect. I got through once and the told me to call them back from a different phone other than my cell ok. So not the wait game begins again. I get through again only because i said something other than what the problem was and they bounce you around cause none of them no how to work the iphone service. So I get a guy he tells me to cut the phone off and turn it back on. Then to connect to the internet. I tell him it didnt connect and he says ok now your connected. No i'm not connected ok sir he says and i'm going to connect you to a different department. We all know all these people siting in one room amongst each other cause you can hear the other agents in the background. Besides for the internet issue i like the phone but to pay 742 for the phone and monthly mintues is it really worth it. 02/08/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Internet service has not worked since I purchased the phone. I have been on the phone for hours three times, emailed and still no data service. I was told to give them 72 hours to resolve the problem. Will be returning. 01/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great to have for straight talk but ... Overall, satisfied. Make sure it is activated correctly for the Internet it should be 13.1 not 14. I did not have Internet when I left the house. It is kind of slow 3G but Siri works and so far I am getting what I need once I had the phone reactivated. First time IPhone owner so I am excited. It is thru Verizon towers, no SIM card. If you want AT&T you need to buy unlocked phone from apple and buy SIM card online at Walmart and call straight talk to activate. 02/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Phone beware of upgrading iOS Purchased this phone with Walmart's special financing deal ($25.00 / month no interest# and bought a $45 service card. The phone was working great: good call quality, good web/data speeds, mms, and texting were great. Then I updated the phone to iOS 6.1.2, that is when I had problems. I was no longer able to send or recieve MMS texts, and I had no web capabilities. So after many attempts to reset, reboot, clear all data and settings, erase all data and setting, fresh installs and *22890's nothing worked EXCEPT stayin on the line with customer service I talked to the first operator who then elevated me to technical support. After a few minutes he had me tell him the version of the phone and PRL of the phone #go to settings>general>about>then you will see the line that says Carrier. well you have to physically tap on the word Carrier to show your PRL, as soon as you take your finger and press the word Carrier it will turn to PRL). After about five minutes they had me restart the phone The version changed and the phone was working again. It took a while but there is a solution. Other than the problem of 6.1.2 the phone and the service have been great. 03/05/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Straight Talk Data Service is what I'm rating. The phone was terrific and coverage seemed pretty good at least in regards to voice/text. It did not work right out of the box but eventually after hours on the phone with Straight Talk they were able to activate the data portion of the service. However the speeds of the data service were very slow. I wasn't expecting 4g speeds but hoped for something closer to 3G. Actual speeds were argue-ably less than 2G. With the Speedtest app, I averaged 0.25 Mbps for both upload and download in densely populated parts of Chicago. I called Straight Talk to see if I could expect better and they said no. I've returned the phone and canceled the rest of my service. If data speeds are not important then Straight Talk is a good bargain. However with the Iphone 5, it felt like driving a Ferrari on a dirt road. 04/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome phone! Love it! I was on a Verizon contract paying $90 a month for minimal minutes, minimal texts, but grandfathered into unlimited data. Then Straight Talk came out with the iPhone, my choices were 4 or 5 and I really wanted Siri. I blew most of my tax return on it and haven't looked back since. I've had it since Feb 2013 and the first month the data was sketchy at best but they worked their bugs out and now it works great! The phone operates on Verizon cell towers, but it's locked down to 3G speeds which is all I've ever used so I guess I don't know what I'm missing. but even with 3G speeds, it's still pretty fast. I use my phone all the time and would be lost without it! I got mine at $649.00, buying an iPhone from verizon would have been $700 (only way to keep my data as unlimited would be to buy it at full price) but I would still be paying $90 a month. I've already saved so much money with straight talk... It takes stunning pictures and videos 16 GB of space is not a whole lot but it's enough for me to put about 500 songs, a full movie, about 30 apps, and I have about 200 pictures on there right now. I only gave it 4 out of 5 for Value because it is a VERY expensive phone I only gave it 4 out of 5 for Meets Expectations because it is a 4G phone locked to 3G speeds. 10/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 Good phone but very bad customer service! Got the phone and got it hooked up and everything worked great. The next day I could not get the Internet to work so I had to call support. Three days later and after them telling me to just reset the phone and turn it on and off for hours on end I gave up. The customer service tech even hung the phone up on me after being on the phone for over 2 hours trying to resolve the problem! Went back to me old carrier and returned the phone. Goes to show you get what you pay for. It's not worth the hassle dealing with these people. 03/18/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone some issues with Straight Talk however The Apple iPhone 5 is an excellent phone with a great screen and solid build. The only issues I have, which are minor, are the fact that Straight Talk through Tracfone has their iPhone 5's on the Verizon network which limits all third party carriers to 3G speeds. This is like having a Ferrari that is limited to going 25 mph. Yeah it gets you there, but not as fast as 4G LTE. The other issue is that Straight Talk disables the ability to make three way calls or conference calls on this phone. It has call waiting, but wont allow you to talk to two people at the same time. I thought it was a bug and after an hour on the phone with Straight Talk tech support they finally informed me that three way calling/conference calling is against Straight Talk TOS and is disabled. In this day in age that's just odd for an unlimited talk/data plan. Other then those issues, the phone works flawlessly and is fast to load apps. The phone call quality on the Verizon network is excellent and I haven't found a dead spot yet. The unlimited data is limited to 2GB, which isn't unlimited except in the eyes of any cellular carrier. Which is fine as I have not come even close to the limit. I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants inexpensive reliable phone service with the best phone out there. 02/13/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Think of it this way Your buying a Cadillac (IPhone 5) and placing a Model T engine (StraightTalk) in it. you will not be able to use all of the features the phone offers because of the service providers limits. If you are going to spend that much money (over 705.00USD) then you may want to look at a 4g LTE provider. OR buy another phone that is not so expensive. Apple has slowed I5 production line to a crawl and as of October 2012 the I5s production has started. the I5s will be out in May to compete with the galaxy 3 mini. The korean company is kicking apples core to the core. if you know what I mean. You will also see apple reduce the costs of some of their products very soon. not the phones. i suggest you do a side by side comparison, not only phones but with cellular providers and then look at the 5. hope this helps. steve 02/21/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by phone is fine, however stait talk not nothing wrong with phone, customer service can't get celular data working 02/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What can I say Its an Iphone and Apple has to do it better. I had no idea that Siri does a ton for you! Sends texts, emails, makes reminders and calendar entries!! Love this phone lol 01/27/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great phone, huge pain getting data set up on ST Phone arrived promptly. Set up seemed to go smoothly....until I left the house and tried to use the data. I kept getting a message: 'could not activate cellular data, you are not subscribed to a cellular data service.' And this is where my troubles began. I tried calling ST, and got a message that they were experiencing higher call volumes than normal but if I left my number they would call me back. So I left my number and about 30 minutes later I got a call back. I explained my problem and the woman told me she would connect me to the right department. Instead I got transferred to some automated message which informed me, yet again, that they were experiencing higher than normal call volume.... but this time, instead of offering to call me back, I got hung up on. So I decided to email customer service. Within an hour I received an automated message that customer service would get back to me within 5 business days. 5 business days? Seems like a long time to be without one third of the service I'm paying for! Fortunately, they didn't take the full five business days. When they did reach me, 3 days later, they told me they would need to talk to me on another line, so we arranged that they would call me back 8pm that evening on my husband's phone. 8pm that evening came and went without a call. So I called them. Took 15 mins to get through. The woman on the line had me go through all sorts of steps, most of which I had already tried after researching the problem online, until finally she agreed to contact US technical support. But then it turned out that office was closed because it was after 9pm.....so I would have to call back the following day. The next day I called and tried to explain to the woman in the call center that I needed to be connected to the US support office. She insisted we go through all the steps I'd been through the previous day...finally, after being on the phone with this woman for almost two hours and being very persistent that this was a problem that had a technical solution....she contacted the US technical support team and they were able to reset the settings that needed to be reset for the data to work. Problem solved. But it shouldn't have taken so much time and effort on my end..... 03/04/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great savings I just recieved the straight talk iphone5. I have been a straight talk cutomer for about 4 years, with a regular phone. I have never had a problem with them or the service, and I live in a small rural area. I had been buying the $30 service plan, but now I'm enrolled with the 45$ unlimited plan for the smartphone. So far with this phone and service, all is great. I did my research and read many reviews, the pro's and con's, of this offer and plan, and decided to go for it after learning my monthly bill from verizon 2 yr. contract would easily be 110$, with only 2GB a month of data service. Now, having said that, I am aware of the terms of service with straight talk, and read complaints they throttle you down after 2GB's, but according to them, it's for abusive data users, IE...constant uninterupted online , webcaming etc.. Even if I go over the 2 GB's, it wont be by much, I try to use wi-fi spots as often as possible . I love the phone AND the service...you dont need to pay 100's$ for smart phone service a month anymore...I only gave it 4 stars because apparently it is not 4g LTE compatable, which is still ok because it's not in my area anyway, but would be nice for 650$ phone. 04/26/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Phone, but Straight Talk's service is awful We bought the iPhone 5 so we could switch from an expensive monthly bill with another carrier to Straight Talk's $45/month service. The old adage "you get what you pay for" is absolutely true here. We spent over 10 hours on the phone (most of it on hold) to get 3G data working. Talk, text and wifi worked out of the box, but we had no 3G data. Their online support forums are awful and their service representatives over the phone were no help. Our data finally started working unexplainably. Just be prepared if you buy this phone to jump through a bunch of hoops to get the data working. The iPhone itself is great - we love it. We just hope that with next iOS update from Apple our 3G data doesn't stop working. 03/12/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a mistake I had an unlocked iPhone 4S with straighttalk that ran on AT&T network. Loved it. Decided to upgrade to iphone5. Spent hours on the phone trying to get cellular data to work. Could not access Internet without wifi. ST rep said "we'll, you can use wifi". I told him I had not spent 649$ to have TO USE WIFI. So I decided to reactivate my 4s. Well, the SIM card had been deactivated and was not usable so I had to buy a new sim. But you could no longer buy the SIM card for the AT&T network. Now you had to use tmobile. After much discussion, ST sent me a replacement AT&T sim for my 4s., and I returned the iphone5. What a three day nightmare... 04/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Phone Great, Service Horrible Love the iPhone and the coverage is as advertised so far...BUT, setting the phone up with straight talk and importing my number from my previous carrier was a nightmare! The process of setting up the phone took 6 days and many many phone calls and literally HOURS on hold. Not once did I speak to a service rep who didn't have trouble with English or who really knew what they were doing. I was constantly transferred and placed on hold and given contradictory information as I was passed from rep to rep. It is far and away the worst customer service of any company I have ever dealt with. The phone and coverage are great on the CMDA network (which you only get when you buy the phone from walmart) just know what is in store for you in order to get it up and working. 03/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by in order to get the internet work, you need to change the APN setting. 02/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my iPhone 5! And, I love the fact that I can get it without a contract and for about half the money per month. It's also nice to pay it off gradually with my Walmart credit card. 01/25/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Happy Teenager I purchased this phone for my 16 year old and she is extremely happy. She loves the phone and all the apps unfortunately she used up the data in two weeks. She was very unhappy to learn that the unlimited data did have a limit. 03/18/2013
1-30 of 126 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw477
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp