See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 44 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by I don't recommend I have purchased 2 of these and it's not worth having. This second one I bought broke after about 2 weeks of use. The first one didn't last much longer. The idea of being able to split your pills is a good idea, but don't use this one. There are better one out there. 01/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy With The Splitter I would ordinarily think no product is worth 5 stars in all categories, but I have used this splitter for years and it is still working well. Initially, I thought I'd have to at least replace it when the blade became dull, but that is not necessary yet. The sliding screen mentioned in another review is designed to protect the user from cutting themselves when the lid is up. The screen on my splitter did eventually become loose, but I simply removed it and I continue to use the splitter with no problem. I don't have children in the house, so I don't need the screen to protect me from the blade. The V design keeps the pill securely in place so the blade can cut it. I'm very happy with this product and I wish more expensive items I have pruchased in the past would have lasted as long as this. I'm writing this review now because my daughter needs a splitter and I recommended it to her. While viewing the item for her, I thought others might like to know my good experience with the product. 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Item I bought this to split my prescription pill, don't know why the could not give them to me in the right dosage. Hard to cut a pill with a sharp knife and not break it up or have it fly off to neverland. Put the pill in this little baby, push down on the top and presto you have two pieces evenly cut. It has a safety feature to keep from getting cut by the razor blade that it uses to cut the pill. It was half the price of the one available at the store, just had to wait for in-store delivery. It only took a few days to get it. Guess I hit the delivery cycle just right. If you need a pill cutter that does the job and at a very reasonable price, this is it. I have used this item every other day for a month and still works just fine. Don't buy the expensive ones at the store, it's worth the wait. 02/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like this alot I needed to buy a new pill splitter, and was very happy to find this one at Walmart. Last time I looked they had another brand and this was the one I wanted, since I owned this product before and was very happy with how well it worked. For me the design is sturdy, instructions complete and it works very well. It's also Made in the U.S. I consider that fact when shopping. Overall I like this product alot and would recommend it to others. 04/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless device This device does not split evenly. It is also fragile. There is an internal sliding screen to protect one from the blade. This breaks and the splitter becomes useless. You can remove the screen, but then you still have. a splitter that doesn't split evenly 12/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Buy This Pill Splitter I just bought this pill splitter yesterday the store in our town, it looked cheap, but it was the only one available at the time. So I get to work to try it out, I only used it TWICE and it BROKE! It is very poorly made for it to break upon using twice. I wish I'd spent my money elsewhere. 01/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the first 100 pills, it is the BEST! This pill splitter is probably one of the best you can get for the first 100 pills, but after that, it is ready for the trash basket. There is a plastic shield that covers the blade when the splitter is open, and slides out of the way when you close it and split the pill. The sliding action of this shield eventually cracks it and the splitter is then useless. The VERY reasonable price is the only reason I continue to buy this device, but if APEX ever raises the price, I will go back to another device. I checked that I WOULD recommend this to friends, but it would definitely be with a warning. A NOTE TO APEX: If you want to keep selling these splitters, tell your retailers to control their pricing!! 02/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product The rubberized pill holder holds the pill secure while cutting. There is a protective shield over the blade when the cutter is open to protect from getting cut. There is a tray to hold the pills after they have been cut. This is a very well thought out and practical tool. 03/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST I had a pill splitter with a plastic cutting edge that I believe cost me more than this one. The plastic blade crushes very small pills. I have an old dog who has a heart condition and needs 1/4 of an extremely small pill, and this pill splitter does it beautifully! The razor blade cutting edge combined with the pill holding area being rubber, makes this product impossible to beat! 01/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works very well Tried it on a very small pill. I cut it in half. And half agaihn. Made perfect cuts each time. Another good product from Walmart. 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean cut The pill cuts clean, without much waste. The case is easy to see through so you can judge exactly where you are making the cut. I had another model by Apex, but it resulted in cuts of 1/3 & 2/3 instead of 1/2 & 1/2. This was a little bit more, but definitely saves money since it doesn't waste prescription pills. 01/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect!!! I needed something reliable, easy and accurate to cute small tablets in half. This is absolutely perfect!!!! I can cut 30 tablets quickly...makes my life easier!! I am thankful to have found this. 08/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I only take a half of pill so when I get my pills I split them all in half. I get about 30 pills at a time. I use to use a knife. This works great because now I do cut them in half. It washes up nice too. I'm disabled so I just rinse it under water right away when I am done using it, let it set out to dry and the next day I will put it away until the next time. 08/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Years of use, buying a second one! I have been using this pill cutter for over 8 years and it still works! It even cuts large, hard pills like vitamins and Metformin. Avoid crushing small pills by closing the splitter in a swift motion so the blade can slice through efficiently. If you close the lid slowly small/softer pills sometimes split/crush unevenly. I purchased a second, more expensive model for my husband and it was junk. I'm buying another one of these! 01/23/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I thought the clear Plexiglas would let me see better while I am cutting the pill. It is clearer but the cutter does not work very well. I have to exert a lot of force to cut. My old pill cutter works better. (5 years old). 01/22/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works I read reviews that it easily broke. So I recommend do not pound it or force it. And do not try to modify it. Easy does it, and it works. My only concern is the razor blade...it is mounted in what seems to be a critical angle, and I do not believe it can be replaced (it is smaller than standard single-edged razor blades. ) Still and all, it cuts my oval med quite nicely. 08/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works like it's supposed to. Good, basic pill cutter. I have tiny prescription pills, scored, but too small to break with my fingers. I've been using a razor blade to cut them with really poor results. This little baby just cuts them right in half, doesn't even have to be on the score. Can't beat the price. Even if it breaks, as it seems to have done for some other reviewers, it is certainly affordable to replace. For now, I give it 5 stars in all categories. 01/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product this is a wonderful product! super easy to split any size pill very safely & efficiently!! 11/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Get This One I used to use spoons to crush pills. This is 100% easier. It is the one you want for reducing a dose or to get faster results. 08/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Used it for my small pillz n it splits them perfectly 08/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality & Value I'm very pleased with the quality of the Apex pill splitter. The rubber surface holds the pill securely and centered to get a precise equal cut. The Apex cuts much better than the old cutter I have. The rubber makes a huge difference. Also the plastic safety sleeve that covers the cutting blade is a great safety feature that other models don't have. 02/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great one. Cuts real well and has a safety guard that goes over the blade when opened. 08/12/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It suits my purpose It was the cheapest one I could find. It requires you toalign the pill correctly, but it is doable. Are there better ones out there? Sure, but you pay more for their bells and whistles. I am not sure how long this blade will last though; it isn't replaceable. If you plan on using a pill splitter for long term use, you may want a device that has a replaceable blade. 02/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable This pill cutter does everything you would expect. Cuts pills cleanly and quickly. Great value. 02/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by dependable & durable The plastic does not become brittle in just months. It outlasts the blade which eventually becomes too blunt for the more fragile of my pills. It is nice to go 18 to 24 months on an apex splitter. 01/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great easy to use does a pretty job 01/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's not cheap, it's affordable! This pill cutter is a great value and works great. Clean cuts. 12/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Splits pills effectively with little mess Works well for splitting pills in half. Well worth the price. 12/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great highly recommend 08/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does a very good job of splitting pills evenly. I bought two of these: one for me and one for my pregnant daughter-in-law who has to take multiple horse-sized vitamin pills. It does a better job of splitting large tablets than the pill splitter I have been using. Plus, this pill splitter has a sliding guard that covers the blade when it is open to protect the user's fingers. The guard withdraws when you lower the top to bring the blade in contact with the tablet. 01/31/2013
1-30 of 35 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew156
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp