Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 120 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy Not only is this a great buy, but Walmart delivered it in three days free of charge. Everything about this TV is beyond my expectations. Very happy with this purchase. 12/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product for the low price. I'm very pleased with my new tv,the only issue was setting up.I did what the manual said but tv would'nt turn on with the remote,you have to turn tv on at the buttons on the side of the tv, then the remote will work.That was the only issue I had. 12/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value for the money This product met all my expectations, especially for the price. We thought there was an issue with the sound for a few days -- that "coming through a tube" quality...until we took the tape off the front sides where the speakers are located! The picture quality is excellent, the stand works great, the remote features are great, and we use an antennae rather than cable/internet tv and are very pleased with the digital quality video and sound. All external hook-ups (wii, dvd and vhs consoles) work great. SUPER VALUE! Since the men in the family are sound experts and musicians, there's a bit of snobbery in the sound department...hence the lower rating on the sound quality. I find it works just great, but we don't have a surround sound system or anything to boost the sound or to share about that. A NOTE RE: OTHER REVIEWS WHERE THE CUSTOMER BOUGHT THIS SAME MODEL AT TARGET: It may be that the Walmart version is different, as manufacturers often build models specifically for Walmart and other big box stores. One of the reasons I don't buy from Target often is their terrible return policy -- Walmart still has the best customer return policy out there. I feel confident I'll be taken care of if there ever is a problem ... and while there are other things I don't like about several of our local Walmart stores, I am a consistent return customer for electronics for the return policy. 01/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST buy for the price! pros: picture quality, sound, easy set up, great amount of inputs. THE PRICE. cons: hard to find one but i would have to say theres a bit of a lag when changing channels with its remote however a small little sacrifice:)) i recently purchased this tv on cyber monday. i recieved it within a week and i am very, very satisfied with my purchased. i paid a total of $490.85 with this tv and a game. i had never used the site to store option but a, very happy i did. the tv is AMAZING. the size, the sound, all the inputs, picture quality is great. i was worried about the brand since its one i have never heard of but for the price i was more than willing to take the risk. if you're debating, buy this. you will not regret it. THANKS WALMART 12/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Picture I was very reluctant to purchase an off brand Tv that I never saw on display in any store, but I am shocked by the quality of the picture. i have analyzed a lot of the major brand LCD tv's like Samsung, LG, Sony, Phillips and panasonic and this 1080P LCD is very much neck and neck or maybe even better than other 1080p 60hz tv's in its same league. I am very surprised by the crisp quality of the movies. it has deep blacks and good quality whites. Why spend 200-300 dollars more for a major name LCD with the same specs. This TV is worth the purchase. Now I just hope it i have no technical issues with it being an off brand. the sound is pretty solid as well as long as you adjust the sound to your liking. only thing better would be an LED tv. 12/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVING IT WOW! ONLY $399 ONLINE FROM WALMART. PURCHASED FOR THE PRICE AND SIZE BUT PASSES ALL EXPECTATIONS. PICTURE IS EQUAL IF NOT BETTER THAN MY "NAME BRAND" TV AND THE SOUND IS BETTER. PLENTY OF OPTIONS. HAS A GREAT SIMULATED SURROUND SOUND AND GRAPHIC EQUILIZER. EVEN "ENERGY STAR RATED". SO FAR SO GOOD. THANKS WALMART FOR THE FAST SHIPPING EVEN IN THE SNOW AND THANKS APEX! 12/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont Waste your Time or energy! I have to start by telling you I did not purchase this TV from Walmart but from Target, however they did not have it listed on their site. After 3 TV's and 3 trips to the store we eneded up with a full refund! It may work fine if you want to hang it on the wall but if you want it on the stand it will not work. The "neck" piece was glued on sideways and the base will not fit on it straight. We ended up opening every TV they had in stock and every one of them was the same! They were going to send all of them back per the store rep. So if you dont mind the base sitting at an angle, some were worse than others, then maybe the TV itself is fine. Unfortunately we never got that far. Now we are shopping again and it will not be for an APEX, no matter how cheap! 12/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV I bought this tv a year ago on black friday... I love this tv. It was well worth the money. I paid around 400 for it from Target. Not sure if the tv swivels on this one but it does on mine... Very pleased. 12/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV If I could give this TV ten stars I would , for the $ it has the best picture out there for any amount of $ Apex is the last TV Mfg. still made in america did not know that did you . Yes they are built in Calf. Not Hong Kong, or somewhere else. I had Apex products that have lasted 20 years. It's just a little Know Brand that makes great products. 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this product as a Christmas gift for my daughter. Everything about this TV is beyond my expectations. Very happy with this purchase. My daughter and her family love's this TV. Had no problem's with the hook up. Picture and sound is wonderful ! Anyone looking for a LCD this one is a very good purchase and a great price ! 12/16/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by get what you pay for Item arrived at store quicker than expected. Was easy to hook up, however the picture quality is VERY poor. I'm not sure if there is anything wrong with it, or if the picture quality is supposed to be this bad for this particular brand of tv. It just always seems like the picture is foggy....I guess I just got suckered in by the price. It would have been nice if they had one in the store that I could actually see before i purchased this onlline. 01/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value. Purchased the item for our company party so all that can really be rated is the price. I thought that it was a great deal for what the item offered & the employee was very excited to win. 01/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Product I was a little worried about buying a name I had not heard of before. When i saw the awesome reviews I decided to give it a try. I'm SO happy I did! It is a great tv and that price was even better! 01/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great 40" LCD! Bought this TV based on other peoples recommendations. The TV has an absolute great picture (I have Directv w/ HD) and the sound is also great and even has an equalizer to tailor it to your liking. The frame of the TV is very pretty with a glossy black look. The stand is sturdy and the TV doesn't feel like if you moved or bumped it it would topple over. The only (minor) issue I have is when you change a channel and there's a brief delay the TV sees a loss of signal (even if only for a brief second or two!) and shows an annoying input splash box in the upper right of the screen for about 15 seconds. So if I have the TV set to HDMI1 it'll show that every time I switch to a different channel that uses a different satellite which causes a brief delay in signal output. Not the TV's fault mind you, but also no way to stop it from showing up, I tried! Overall this TV is a great deal at $399 and with Ship-to-Store for no additional charge you can't find a better deal on a 40". I would buy this TV again, no question, and even told a few friends about it... 01/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad Choice Although I gave this item good ratings, the TV had a flaw and the response for service was very poor. The picture was great, but the LCD had a blue dot. I was going to keep the TV with the blue in the screen, but after during some research I became uncomfortable. The articles I read regarding LCD dots were not very good and could be expensive to repair the LCD. The response for service from Apex was poor, 3 weeks for a technician to come out to evaluate the problem. They also requested that I take and send 6 photos of the blue dot and TV. I decided to return the TV because I felt I would be going back and forth with Apex for service and did not want to be in a position of not being able to return the TV within the 90 day store policy. Overall it was an excellent price, quality is questionable. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal Great product at a great price. I was looking for a nice 40" TV at a reasonable price. I found this Apex for under $400. I have Sony XBR for my main TV but just wanted something nice for my bedroom. I have to say, this Apex has an awesome picture. Very impressed. I have it hooked to to HD from Direct TV. I searched online and found the code 11531 works perfect for the Direct TV remote. 01/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by You get what you pay for. This TV seemed like a good value. It had good reveiws so I took a chance. I have an 8 year old Toshiba 57" that has a much better picture than this does. The picture is not at all clear. Its almost like watching everything in standard definition. Very dissatisified. 01/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a great deal!!! This TV totally meets every expectation I had and more. I was nervous purchasing a "not well known" name brand and at such an amazing low cost- but I am really glad we did. We are a family w/ 2 young kids and can't afford an extravagant purchase- but this TV has an excellent picture, great sound, absolutely nothing wrong w/ it what-so-ever and I have already recommended it to several family members. Very easy to set up and the Base fits perfect on our fireplace. I did read a previous review about someone having issues w/ Crooked bases- and it almost deterred me from purchasing the TV- but I am glad I went ahead w/ the purchase & we are completely 100% satisfied, the tv is perfect- and I am very satisfied. The Shipping was free at the time and arrived in mere days! Such a great deal for the price!!! Absolutely recommend this TV. 01/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent tv for the price! I bought this tv as an upgrade over our old console model and wasn't quite sure what to expect because of the price being so low for a 40" tv. We had shopped a bit in some local stores but this particular tv was only available online. I figured if we didn't like it I could take it back to the Walmart store to return it. When we first got it I wasn't impressed with the picture quality but after a couple days of playing around with the adjustments I am VERY pleased with it! It has far exceeded our expectations and after comparing it to some other brands in the store I would say it compares very favorably to tvs that are $100 to $200 over what we paid for this one. If you purchase this tv, work at adjusting the picture to your liking before giving up on it as it will probably exceed your expectations. 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by APEX 40" TV Great Value! TV Picture Quality and Value exceeded my expectations. TV Sound Quality is good but had a little concern when adjusting volume from remote, would sometimes lose sound for a few seconds. 01/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the money I bought this tv for my teenaged son on Christmas. It really has an excellent picture with great sound. Keep in mind that this is NOT a Sony or a Samsung but for the price, you can't beat it! There is a huge difference between the 720 and the 1080p HD pictures, if you're on the fence, go with the 1080, it REALLY IS worth the extra money! The 40 inch screen is perfect for any room. It's not too big that it will take up the entire room and not too small that you have to sit close to it to see everything. We have it hooked up to Verizon fios and an Xbox and it blows away everyone that looks at it, they can't believe it was only $400! We're really happy with this flat screen! 01/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value Ever I bought a second one after having this one a few weeks. You just know when you have made the right decision on a purchase as big as this TV. Safe/speedy arrival. Light enough it sits on top of the computer armoire. Beautiful picture & great quality sound. Remote easy to use. Changed a few factory pre sets & had great TV watching from the beginning. Picture is perfect in any lighting, many adjustment/menue features. Takes up very little space, yet is a big 40" screen. I left mine on 24/7 the first 3 weeks. If something went wrong I wanted it to be in the very beginng. Never had any problems. Did the same with the second one. Both a great value! 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Great Deal! This TV is a great buy for the price, considering a few months ago all you could buy for the $399 I paid for this unit, was a 32inch 720p. The sound is really good for watching movies, because with SRS TruSurround HD built in, it really makes you feel like its connected to a high quality surround sound system. The picture is super clear for this price range, although other bigger brands are a bit better in quality, it doesn't mean that you will find one of those for this price. You will likely not find a better 40inch 1080p that has this great of a picture and sound, at this price so if you have the chance grab it as soon as you see it. 12/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! This is a great TV for a great price! Very pleased with my purchase. I just wall-mounted it and it looks amazing. I hooked up my laptop to it with an HDMI cable and use a wireless keyboard and mouse to surf the web from my recliner on a 40" screen! Facebook never looked so good! If I HAD to say one thing bad about it, it would be that you have to aim the controller directly at the bottom left or it will not work. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent TV - AWESOME value! I have been looking for an HDTV for a while, and in all my searching, this is the best TV for the money. You get full HD 1080p, a large screen, plenty of connections, and excellent picture quality, all for an unbelievably low price. 3 or 4 years ago, this TV would have easily sold for ten times this price. Absolutely recommend. The only hesitation I had going into this was it's 60 Hz instead of 120 or 240, but now that I have seen the quality of the picture, it's really not an issue. 12/23/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by 40" is really 36"???? Everything is great about TV except, there leaves a 2" black gap on both sides of TV when viewing in "Zoom" mode. "Cinema" mode makes full screen, however cuts wording off top and bottom of screen. "Wide" mode stretches screen to make people are short & wide. Price was excellent, so really can't complain! 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great tv best tv on the market 01/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointing I bought this tv at another store on black friday this year. I was very happy with it for the month that it lasted, but then it died on me. It will not power on with remote or by using the button on the tv, and this happened on Christmas day, no less. I called the warranty dept, and they said it will be 3 weeks for a technician to even schedule an appointment to get it fixed. I find that unacceptable. I would return it to the store, but i discarded the box after we had it up and running, thinking it would definitely last longer than the store's 90 day return policy, and not wanting to keep a huge box laying around just in case. Lesson learned, I suppose. If you do buy this tv: 1. Make sure you keep the box to return it. 2. Make sure you have a back up television while you wait 3 weeks for a tech to call, and then however long it takes to fix it afterwards. Personally, I will not buy an Apex again. Even for the low price, it's just not worth it for a television that lasts a month. 12/26/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad Xmas Present So far I have just not been happy with my TV. This is my first HDTV and I don't know what the big deal is. The picture is not that great. The sound is bad. 01/14/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by letdown this is our first big screen and what a let down. the picture quality just looks like a magnified 12" TV screen, all pixelated and blotchy. the sound is terrible too. we will return it and try another. 01/22/2011
1-30 of 101 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew476
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp