See All Reviews
Andis 1 1/2" Ceramic Flat Iron
Andis 1 1/2" Ceramic Flat Iron
$17.62
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2.37 (12%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 197 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely for thick, coarse hair!!!WOW! In the last 6 weeks, I have bought four straighteners, ranging from really high end in price to this one at $17.14. On one high priced straightener...my coarse hair literally rubbed the finish off the plates. The company was willing to take it back as defective, because their comment was..."we've never seen someones hair be able to do that!" I had never seen my hair be able to do that either, but that gives you an idea of how coarse my hair really is. The next three straighteners couldn't even begin to pull the curl out of my hair. I figured based on price alone that this product wouldn't rate very high, plus with my hair thickness/coarseness that it would be lucky to earn 2 stars from me.... Boy, did it prove me wrong! It glides over my hair with no effort at all and straightened my hair just like the stylist's tools. The difference...my stylist paid $140 for hers, and mine was...$18.81 (TN tax incl.). It pulls your hair at random, but not often at all.....if your hair gets to the sides of the plates, but nothing like the other 4 that I had used. On the other straighteners I had to use them on HIGH to get hardly any results at all. I did find out rather quickly...do not assume you need to turn the dial up above 11 on this one, unless you experiment with the lower temps first. I went straight for the High 15 setting at first assuming it wouldn't work well like the others that I had tried...not a wise idea! (even though the dial goes up to 20!!!!) I found rather quickly, that I DO NOT need the temp. this high and it heats up whatever its sitting on also (my desk was blistering HOT!). I put my straightener on a trivet, as it was that warm on the 15 setting!!!! I quickly turned the setting back to an 8 and it straightened my hair, just perfect! You can slightly turn your wrist while holding the straightener when you get to the bottom of your hair and get a slight curve, avoiding having to do a follow up procedure with a curling iron to curl the bottom of your hair. The only thing I could recommend to the company on this product is: the numbers on the dial are rather small and I struggled to see the numbers, but other than that.....its earned an almost perfect rating! Don't let price fool you on this product.........its worth that and more! Now, I understand why there was only one left on the rack when I bought this one!!! 08/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price! Wow! This flatiron really works well! I was looking for a flatiron that would smooth out my extremely curly, long hair without breaking the budget. After seeing the other reviews, I decided to give it a shot. I was not disappointed. With all my long hair I was able to achieve super straight hair in roughly 40 minutes. It really got hot, and I had to be careful not to burn my hands when I touched my hair! Usually I go to my sister-in-law's salon, where she uses a 100 dollar flatiron on my hair. My 18 dollar flatiron is just as hot as her flatiron, plus my iron doesn't rip strands of hair out of my head like her's usually does (ouch!). I would definitely recommend this product to other Curly Girls who would like to save a few pennies and still get good quality results. 06/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Product Before I had a cheap straightener which I bought in a drugstore. It took a while to heat up and broke my hair off. With this straightener, my hair looks so smooth and it doesn't damage my hair that much. I have colored my hair alot and having a straightener that does not damage my hair is incredibly important. This is one of the best purchases I've made in a while and would recommend it to anyone. One note: I have medium thickness hair that is mostly straight in the front but the back seems to have some wave to it and I only have to put it on 5 or below and it straightens my hair perfectly. The only thing is that it gets EXTREMELY hot, to the point it could burn me if i touched it immediately after i straighten my hair. But the product is completely worth it. 03/31/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! I bought the 1" straightner about 3 years ago. I used it on a daily basis and it started building products, etc. on it so my husband bought me a new one for Christmas (1.5"). I love this product. It gets the job done and for such an affordable price. Most "cheap" hair straightners dont get hot enough to straighten, but this one gets so hot that my hair will burn my fingers once Im done. If you dont like that you can turn it down cooler. Great product! I recommend this product all the time! 12/20/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best flat iron that I have purchased so far!!! For starters, I just purchased this flat iron online Thursday of last week and I got it on Tuesday...and it was a little over $14.00!!! I am black and have natural hair that is thick and curly, and was told by friends to try this flat iron before making a huge purchase (since I only will be using it once a year), and so I bought it. Honestly Ladies, one time is all it took to make my hair bone straight and shiny. The results are STUNNING and I <3 it!!! 10/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by You want the Truth? Here it is. Okay, I figured there's people wondering which reviews to rely on, so I thought I should write an honest review. This review comes from someone who used a chi for two years until it broke, of course. I usually wear my hair curly nowadays, so all i needed was a straightener to use maybe once a week. I use it to straighten my bangs everyday. Is this straightener as good as a CHI and other top brands? Absolutely not. Of course it isn't, it's less than 20 bucks. Pros: 1. slightly exceeded my expectations for a $17. 80 straightener (thought my expectations were low). It gets hot. 2. Effective at getting hair straight within 3 strokes at a higher heat. 3. Good value. Cons: 1. Acquired stubborn but removable build-up on plates after just one use. 2. To get the look I wanted without weird looking ends, it took me about 45 minutes to straighten and touch up my whole head. My hair is moderately curly. 3. Does not glide as smoothly as higher end straighteners 4. Doesn't leave hair quite as shiny and soft as a higher end straightner. Leaves it smooth but lacks some luster. So overall, I'm happy with my purchase, and I'm glad I didn't spend 100 dollars on something I won't use that much. If you straighten your hair everyday and you want shiny, soft hair everytime...this probably isn't for you; but it's right for me. Some of the other reviews definitely overrated it but it's a good straightener. 07/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!! I've had this straightener for a few months now and it still works perfectly! The price was awesome beacuse I've used $80 straighteners that didn't work as good as this. I can use it on the lowest heat setting and its plenty hot. It used to take me a long time to straighten my hair but this makes it quick and easy ;] It dosn't leave a burning smell either 01/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 A great product. I am actually satisfied with this flat iron. I was talking to one of my friends and I asked them, 'how can i make my hair super straight' and she told me to get a flat iron. So i go to another store, not Wal-Mart. 50 dollars.. I go to Wal-Mart...16 bucks!! I thought 'It's cheap it probably won't work' Sure enough it did.Now my hair looks great. And not to mention I'm a teenager! And I'm very paticular about my hair. :) You should buy this. 02/19/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by it works I have very thick, course, frizzy hair. I looked around online a lot before I chose this one. I liked that it was 1 1/2". Not to big or to small. This worked well. Be careful how much you try to straighten at one time because mine got caught between the plate and the part the plate is attached too and pulled it. It does what it's suppose to do. 11/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product!! I am a black woman who went natural (stop perming my hair) about 1 year ago. I use to press and curl my hair but my curling iron recently died on me. My friend told me I should look into purchasing a flat iron because I would not have to worry about pressing my hair, just flat ironing it. I was a little skeptical because the roots of my hair are really (really) wavy and the rest is coarse. So after a ton of research (including other user reviews) and not wanting to spend an arm and leg for a flat iron, I settled on the Andis. I washed and put my hair back in a pony tail Sunday so it could air dry a little. I blow dried and used the Andis for the first time on Monday. I have to say, this product works great! I didn't even have to use the highest setting for my hair. It only took me about 20 min. to do my entire head and when I was done my hair had shine and bouncy. 02/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Definitely not for coarse, natural hair It took this iron a lot longer than 30 seconds to heat up. My hair texture is extremely coarse, and completely natural, with no relaxer or chemical straightening agent. I started using this on the recommended setting of 16. My hair wasn't straight enough, so I tried the 17-19 settings. Still didn't straighten my hair good enough. I finally tried the highest setting recommended for my hair type, which was 20 the highest setting=375°F. My hair still wasn't straight like I wanted it. This iron is not for you if you have extremely coarse hair like mine. I wanted sleek straight, smooth hair. This did NOT give me that, so I returned it to the store for a full refund. 01/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG, YES BUY THIS! I hate styling my hair. I'm kind of lazy. I'm a wash and wear kind of low maintenance chick. But my latest hairstyle looks really shaggy and not pretty if I don't style it so I thought I'd try and find a flat iron to buy that looked like the one my hairstylist used. This product is so good it's like using a professional one. It takes me under 3 minutes to flat iron my shoulder length layered hair and it looks gorgeous and styled. The product is hotter than you may think. I style mine set at 5 and that smokes and leaves a mark on the hair if left on a half second too long. The plates are so smooth, this will not snag your hair. I was so used to using very old flat irons from the 90's. I was so unkind to myself in doing that, but now I see the err of my ways. This Andi's flat iron is so amazing and the cost is unbeatable. Seriously, I don't talk like a commercial for nothing. It's true. So buy this, you'll love it. But one for a friend even. The many, many great reviews here convinced me to buy mine and I hope that mine convinces you to buy yours. 5 STARS!!!!! GORGEOUS HAIR IN NO TIME!!! 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 109 reviews couldn't be wrong I was looking for a great affortable flat iron and when I saw there were 109 reviews saying that this flat iron was awesome I tought 109 people can not be wrong so, I bought it and I love it!!! It works perfect and is very easy to use. And heats up very quick. 04/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazin!! I am Asian so i have very thick and course hair. At first i saw the 1 inch and wanted to get it but then i saw the 1 and a 1/2 and saw it was only a dollar more. When i use this it only takes 20 minutes! Normally it takes 40 minutes with all the hair i have. The handle of the straightener gets kinda hot and its uncomfortable to hold but its fine if i dont keep it on for too long. Truly a great product and can stand up to Chi products. Totally worth it! :) 08/12/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ceramic? Not mine. I bought a the same 'ceramic' flat iron, by Andis. After of having it for a long time, and using it on mine and others hair I soon discovered it was not ceramic. Paint had rubbed off of it and it was metal. I'm not exactly sure of what had been going on... but it was metal. It did a lot of damage to my hair, and was giving me horrible spit ends, and I mean split by three. Though this flat iron did straighten my hair, it didn't do a good job. 01/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing!!!! <3 I've gone through so many straighteners, and none of them seemed to work very well on my very THICK, wavy hair. I recently had 13 inches cut off and it's still past my shoulders, and that made it poof out and go all over the place, especially when I have it in a pony tail. There seemed to be a permanent crimp right across the middle. >.> I JUST bought this iron, and it left my hair PERFECTLY straight and smooth after the FIRST glide! And I only had it on 8 for the heat setting! It's best feature is it's ability to straighten through more than one layer, making it very FAST and simple to straighten your hair in the mornings. I cannot get enough of this Andis, I think I'm obsessed! I HIGHLY recommend this for anyone with thick and hard to straighten hair. :) Love it!!! 05/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a recommended product The heat setting on this flat iron is NOT good at all. The first time I used it I let it heat up for about 10 minutes on its highest setting and it barely warmed up at all. This product has already been returned to the store and a new product purchased. 02/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best flat irons ive ever bought This flat iron is definitely worth the buy because ive had this for over a year and works just as good as new. And the best thing about it is it heats up super fast and is hot enough to straighten my thick not easy to straighten hair. Also another good thing is about this flat iron is that its not only just good for straightening your hair but curling it! 06/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good product I absoultely loved this flat iron. It creates bouncy long lasting curls and bone trait hair 03/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tehe. WELL, this isn't my first Andis straightener. I've had the 2" one as well, and i LOVE it! :D My friend let me use hers about two years ago, and I figured, why not? So, I got one. My cousin had a CHI straightener, tried straightening my hair with it, and it was straight, but not as straight as it is with the Andis! :D 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product and Great Price I had purchased Andis ceramic flat iron before and was absolutely pleased with it. I'm just sorry that they carry it in the store anymore, but hope they continue to carry it online. I have recommended this flat iron to my friends and family for years! Heats fast and gets hot enough to straighten coarse hair. Great product!!! 01/31/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by overall,ok,not as good as expected. its a pretty decent straightner,gets your hair pin straight if you know how. problem is it takes 45 minutes on my moderately curly-wavy hair,medium thickness. good thing is it leaves it shiny and soft, it might dry out your hair after a lot of uses. cons are the plates coating starts wearing off at least after one and a half months of use.and sometmes it doesnt keep the desired temperature all thoruoughout styling. expected for the price though 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! What a bargain! I had the CHI flat iron for about 5-6 years and it barely stopped working so I had to buy a new flat iron but didnt want to spend another $100 for a new CHI. I decided to try the Andis flat iron based on the excellent reviews it had and for the very inexpensive cost! I have to agree...this is a great flat iron!!! It works the same or probably even better than my CHI flat iron! Cant believe how well the Andis flat iron works and for the price...i can't complain!! it's a total bargain! i love my new Andis!!! 11/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Valuable Product These are one of the greatest pair of flat irons I have ever owned. It heats quickly and I never have to go over my hair twice. For the price I paid I must admit I thought it wasn't going to work as well but I am very much satisfied and happy about my purchase. 03/22/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by burns your hair I have used other brands of straighteners from Wal-Mart and have never had a problem with my hair feeling dry or damaged. I have used this product for 2 weeks and can tell an enormous difference in the quality of my hair. It literally feels like my hair is dead. I have never used it at full heat and I have very naturally curly hair. I had to go and buy another brand of straightener to get my smooth healthy hair back. 10/25/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not that good... This flat iron didnt work good for my type of hair. I have thick course hair and i turned it up to the highest setting and it still didnt do any justice for my hair. I would not reccommend this product. 01/27/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product and name brand for less than comp truly enjoying using this product and it does great compared to the higher priced name brands. 07/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of the flat irons I've had many brands...this is the best you'll find. Don't waste your money on anything else. I come back to this one every time I stray. Its worth waiting a few days for this one to be delivered to your door than to buy another brand in the store just because you're there. 07/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It really works for my hair . I'm black with extra thick hair and it leaves it flowing way better than the flat iron I had before . 06/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to use This flat iron is very easy to use and it gets the job done in just a few minutes. 06/13/2013
1-30 of 180 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw280
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp