Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1502 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value for the price For a $20 shelf, this is great. Of course, it's just laminated particle board - if you're looking for real wood, this is not for you - but it suits our needs just fine. We got 2 for our kids' rooms. used site-to-store, items arrived quickly and in great shape. BE ADVISED: the instructions are basic pictures, no step-by-step written directions. Also, the picture on the front of the instructions indicates that the TOP shelf is NOT load-bearing! The parts are not labeled, so it's hard to tell which part is which since all 4 shelves look exactly the same. The TOP shelf has 2 holes drilled in each short side to attach to the longer side boards. The BOTTOM shelf has 2 holes drilled in each short side AND 2 holes along the front edge on the unfinished bottom side to attach the lip that goes at the bottom. The 2 shelves without any holes are the adjustable shelves. They also provided more than enough hardware. If you nail the backing on with nails perfectly straight, the nails won't puncture the laminate on the shelves. EDIT: One of the shelves we bought did have labels on each piece, one did not. Labels are stamped on the unfinished edges of the shelves. 01/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the money! I bought two of these shelves to make myself a cutting table for my sewing room. They were the perfect height! I covered the back panels with fabric to dress them up a bit! Very easy to put together and pretty sturdy! Great product for the money, no doubt! Photos attached! 02/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Money This bookshelf was very easy to put together and the espresso color matches my cherry wood furniture well. The one thing I didn't like is that the back was not wood and came folded showing slight creases in the back. For the price it's worth it. Great color, easy to put together and pretty sturdy. 01/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Shelf for a GREAT price!! I needed something to organize a nursery closet. I bought one to see how it would work and now I am definitely going to buy another one. This shelf is fantastic and sturdy, I added damask fabric (nursery theme) to the back and presto a great looking shelf for a great price. 11/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall a good buy I was originally looking for a white bookshelf to put in my daughters room to house her books and stuffed animals. I was not looking for anything expensive or equisite, so I was happy when I found this one so cheap. It was basically what I was looking for. This way if it gets abused by children, I don't have to feel so bad about spending too much money on it. I was actually surprised at how nice it was for the money. It was also extremely easy to put together, as it only took me 30 minutes by myself. Be warned though, not both sides of the shelves are painted, as one side is particle board. Still, worth the buy as you can see from the pictures. 03/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for teachers I bought 6 of these bookcases for my classroom to create a reading area. The quality is better than I expected, but then again I didn't expect that much out of an $18 bookcase. They were easy to put together with a drill even though the directions say not to use one. My daughter and I covered the brown cardboard backing with scrapbooking paper and used the black side as the back of the bookcase. They turned out very cute! As of right now they seem stable, but I will definitely make my students aware that the bookcases should not be leaned on. 08/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bookcase for the money! Bought this for a my daughters bedroom as we are changing her room from dark wood to white. I didn't want to spend a bunch of money on a bookcase that was going to be in a kids room and get dinged up anyway. This went together very fast and easy and it was actually ALOT sturdier than I thought it was going to be, even when there was no shelves. I don't think it needs the "L" brackets as another reviewer wrote. I did, however, think that it was bland so I added my own flair! Material on the back board and added bun feet. This is the perfect bookcase for my daughters books:-) 10/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous looking units. Purchased four units, lined them all up- down one living room wall and they look fabulous. Very well priced, although the units were inexpensive they look great once they are assembled & positioned in their final location (these units look even better once they are filled w/your favorite books etc). Delivery was no problem & set up was quick & easy. Would recommend this product to others. I can see these units lasting a lifetime & they are so easy to care for, wipe off the dust & your finished. 04/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the money! I rated this 5 stars because for the price I paid for two of these and two of the five shelf to go with it (under a hundred and ten bucks for all four) for my family's humble little home library, I am a very happy customer. I built everything by myself and it took less than an hour for all four pieces. Stacking and arranging the books was a different story. For those who rated this low because of the "quality" of the faux wood, etc. (assuming their order arrived unbroken and complete), seriously how can you complain for the price you're paying. Purchase the more expensive stuff then, otherwise I very much appreciate that a family on a budget can still have a sweet little home library to call our own without breaking the bank. 07/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for the Price For the price I paid this is a great product. Looks good in the room and works well with all types of the books I have. 01/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great media center! I use this bookshelf as a sort of media tower to save space and it works well! I love that it's all black. If you look reallll close you can see places in the finish that look maybe scratched or something, like slightly gray squiggle lines, is the best I can describe it. But with the "wood grain" appearance, it just blends in and doesn't look bad. I didn't put the cardboard-like backing on it, so that all of my boyfriend's hard drives and gamer-type mess have a place for the wires to hang. I was concerned that it would't be sturdy without the backing, as I previously bought a dresser from Wal-Mart that had that issue before I nailed it on. This wasn't the case. It's pretty solid. I'm already pretty chubby, and 7 months pregnant on top of that, and used it to help me stand up a few times without so much as a wobble. The extra space gives me room to organize the wires so it doesn't look like a rat's nest back there, and it fits perfectly below my mounted tv. They look very nice together! Also bought the 5-shelf bookcase (for books and nicknacks, so I did use the backing) and it really completes the living room! 01/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for the classroom I purchased 10 of these shelves to put in my classroom. The price was awesome and after putting them together, my classroom looks great too!!! I use them in a classroom library, so they house books and other supplies. They were easy to put together (I could do it myself!) and they are sturdy enough to endure kid wear and tear. 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice shelf i bought this shelf for our daughter's room for all her books. it was very easy to put together. 15-20 minutes at the most. i also got adhesive liner from our local Dollar Tree and put it on the back board Before i nailed it to the back and it worked great. not too small or too tall. perfect for a kid's room. BUT always make sure you mount it to the wall if you use it in a kid room!!! 03/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible for the price!! I bought 3 of these for my daughter's play room and was expecting a lightweight, almost flimsy shelf. When I got them and put them together, I was amazed at how sturdy and nice looking they were! I did the site to store shipping which was quick and convenient and the shelves got to me in really great shape! I would definitely recommend this product and am actually going to order a couple more for myself! Really really happy with this product - and you canNOT beat the price!! 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for your dime! First off, I'm not really good with tools and this was easy (with the assistance of my mom) to put up. It looks great in my closet and holds all my stuff. I LOVE that I got 2 for $38 cuz I got to use one for books and the other for shoes/hats/bags. Well worth the money. Its holding up great and looks awesome in my closet! Great buy! 01/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I purchased this bookcase for my baby's nursery(due in Septmeber). It's a great price. Looks great. Love the color. Couldn't ask for anything better for the price!! 08/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK for the price It is OK for the price and sturdy enough. The only complicated bit is fixing up the back of this thing - you have to hammer in a bunch of small nails. I chose to leave the back out and just leave it against the wall. 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 best headboard ever! I was looking for bookcase headboard. When I see this, I got an idea. I bought 3 of them. Assembled and put them side by side. Now I have the best headboard. Why is it best? Because it looks great and cost less than $60! 08/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal The bookcase was a steal for only $20. It arrived at my house in only two days. The packaging was amazing and none of the pieces were broken, missing, or cracked. We brought the bookcase with the espresso finish to match our baby furniture and the finish looks amazing. It does scratch easily so be careful. Its was also bigger then i expected which i had no problem with cause we need all the storage space we can get. Overall it was a great/amazing buy and i would recommend it to anyone. 11/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bookcase looks great. Some people complain that you can see the particle board on the bottom ofthe shelves. WELL, you can't see it when it's all put together unless you are laying on the floor right in front of it. DON'T let their reviews scare you (haha). This is a great product, especially for 20 bucks. 11/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap I bought this at a walmart store hoping to find an inexpensive shelf for a few books. I wasn't expecting anything top quality or super durable, but this was not even worth $20. Instructions seemed pretty clear, but it turned out the holes were improperly placed on the boards making it impossible to put in, and the other holes would just split the wood. Good news is that I returned it no problem. 04/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bookcase for jewelry Very sturdy didn't use it for books and still came out great 07/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product for the price. I bought two of these for my almost 3 year old son's newly done room. One for his books and the other for toys. They work great and look great. Only thing is they wobble a little when u push on them, but for the price I can't complain. 07/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by More than expected for a $20 bookcase I bought 3 of these in the black oak finish on sale for $12.84 at my local store. As other reviewers have stated, the directions are simply drawings and it isn't exactly clear which is the bottom piece and which is the top piece. However, once I redid the first bookcase twice, the other two were a piece of cake. Even with the cardboard backing, the three bookcases lined up against my home office wall look pretty good. All in all, a great deal for $40 for 3. 06/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Bookshelf; But Needs Better Quality Control Overall, it is a good bookshelf for the price ($18), but it does need better quality control during manufacturing. The bookcase was very easy to put together (15 mins) and is quite sturdy for being so compact - I was very surprised. I actually had to lightly tap in the adjustable shelves with a rubber mallet because they were a little too big for the bookcase. This, of course, just stabilized the bookcase even more - adding to its overall durability. My one gripe is the lack of quality control with the veneer lamination. You can see where some saw dust got underneath the veneer and caused a "bubble". Thank goodness this blemish in the veneer is facing toward the inside of the bookcase, so I just set a book over it. The veneer is very dark brown, almost a black - so it matches my other furniture perfectly! I don't expect this bookcase to last forever - who can for $18??? - but it will last long enough until I find something I REALLY like later on down the road. To summarize, I give this bookcase an overall rating of 4 stars. 02/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Than I Expected. I purchased this bookcase from the store, not online, and it was only 15 bucks. I really wished the white color was available but for less than what I expected to pay, the black did the trick. The shelves are a decent size. Very strong and durable. Those canvas storage bins fit perfectly on the shelves. I will definitely purchase another. 03/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bookshelf for the price. This is a pretty good shelf for the price. Takes a little bit to put it together. The piece that you nail to the back seems to have permanent creasing in it. I'm not too fond of that, but if you do use the shelf for books, they will cover them up. 10/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good buy for the buck. I ordered mine in white and I'm happy with it. It arrived on time and in good shape. It wasn't damaged in anyway. It is real simple to put together. It can be done in less than 10 minutes. All the boards are all marked on the unfinished back edge and it comes with all the hardware you need. All the holes are predrilled and line up perfectly. On a difficulity scale of 1 to 10, this is a 2. I would only be easier if it was a snap together model. lol All you need is a phillips screw driver for the main frame, and a small hammer for the backing. 07/09/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some damage on mine I haven't assembled my shelf yet. Whenever I get anything that is DIY in some kind of kit, I always very carefully inspect everything before I put it together. When I was looking my parts over I found damage to board "B" which is the right side of the shelf. While only about a quarter inch of trim is missing, it is sadly at the top of the board and very noticeable, not something that I could expect the carpet to hide as it would at the bottom. I have submitted a request for a replacement part from the manufacturer and will update my review when (and if) I get the replacement part. Overall though, great buy for the money since it is really cheap. 10/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I need shoe shelfs I bought 2 of these a while back for my shoes. I wanted to wait and see how I like it first before doing my review. For this price it is a great value, I can fit 4 pairs in each shelf. It's light enough to move it around when I want to but also sturdy enough for 16 pairs of shoes. I'm getting 2 more! 04/02/2014
1-30 of 1,281 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew361
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp