See All Reviews
Cloverfield (Widescreen)
Cloverfield (Widescreen)
$7.50
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $7.49 (50%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 24 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Some Thing Has Found Us When the film opens you learn that the footage you are about to see is the property of the United States Department of Defense and the name assigned to the event is "Cloverfield". The first eighteen minutes of the film is set at a going-away party for one of the characters who's about to leave for Japan to start a new job. Things progress in typical party fashion, with the typical party drama, when suddenly their building shakes and the power flickers off and on for a few seconds. From that point on the film becomes something else entirely! From news footage and then through their own eyes, they learn that New York City is being attacked by a colossal (over 30 stories tall) creature of unknown origins. Then you follow a small group of characters as they try to escape the city alive. The entire film is shot from the vantage point of a hand-held camcorder. I know most people don't like that style of film making, but I personally think it's a great way to tell this story. You see exactly what the characters see and have to deal with, like the parasitic creatures that fall of the main creature. The extras on the DVD are definitely worth the time. In fact, you learn that the creature is actually a frightened newborn! That adds a whole new twist to the story if you ask me. I think the movie is smart and definitely worth a viewing or two. I would caution people that easily get motion sickness to be prepared because the footage is quick and jerky through most of the film. I highly recommend this film! 02/28/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Headache When I saw this movie I figured that I was going to be somewhat like Godzilla but with a different monster and the first night I owned this film I didn't even watch it all. I had just got off of work and was looking foward to watching it but I didn't know the whole movie was first person filmed. I just got a headache from the bad filming and turned the movie off. My wife liked this movie but I wasn't a big fan. 10/24/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by I saw it! It's Alive! It's Huge This is not your common Monster attacking a city movie. This is viewed through a first person, handheld video camera fright fest. IF YOU CANNOT STAND CAMERA MOVEMENT OR SHAKING DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM. This movie is a mix of Godzilla/Blair Witch Project. I won't HIGHLY RECOMMEND this movie, because this is the type of movie you either like it very much or you'll be dissapointed in. It leaves you with alot of questions. But you journey with a group of people in this intense situation that would be something terrible to go through. VERY SAD ENDING. 05/10/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cloverfield This movie is the best monster movie that has come out in a long time. I recommend this for any fan of monster movies. THE CAMERA DOES SHAKE SOME SO IF YOU GET MOTION SICKNESS I DON'T KNOW IF YOU WANT TO WATCH THIS MOVIE! My friend said he didn't like it because of that but it didn't bother me. 12/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by a excellent movie!!!! its one of those keepers for the whole family. Most people hated it for the fact of the shake cam, but it makes the suspense of the story creep up on you. i liked it. its buy far the best movie of the year. so go out a buy this movie. you'll regret not watching it. 05/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great movie Having enjoyed "The Blair Witch Project", with its "first person" point of view from hand-held camera, I also enjoyed this technique in "Cloverfield". This is fun, thrill ride (once you get past the first 15 minutes whick looks like a watered down 90210 episode). The "first person" point of view may not be for everyone, but it gave the Cloverfield monster its "larger-than-life" persona. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys monster movies. Extras in the DVD are worth the purchase, and Walmart offered a great price on this (less than $20). Also movie is shipped really quickly, so you only have to wait a few days to get your purchase sent to you. 05/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet movie!! I really liked this movie. You might get dizzy from watchin the camera but other than that it was cool. ps. play close attention to the end (When they're in the ferris wheel) 05/14/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cloverfield this movie was one of the best movies i've ever seen it puts you right there in the middle of it all and it's very suspenseful and thrilling i loved it it may not be the best if you get mtion sickness though the camera moves alot but this film is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! thats all you can say! 05/01/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen!! I would not recommend this movie to anyone and If I could get my money back for this DVD, I would. It was advertised much differently than what was actually shown. DONOT BUY THIS MOVIE unless you like watching someone running around with a video camera and seeing the movie through the camera. 04/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome I waited for this movie to hit dvd since i never got the chance to go to the theater to see this and i watched it on surround sound with dolby pro logic and it was amazing. By far one of the best monster movies ever made. Although it was only 74 minutes it kept me feeling like i was in the movie. Great special f/x and sound. Deffinatley some good acting for new actors. I really enjoyed the vision of bothe jj abrams and mike reeves with the home movie style and camera shooting, some really great stuff. overall this movie is one of the best and will be for quite some time. see it asap! 04/25/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch It This film tackles the monster genre from a whole new angle. It's only 1 hour and 25 mins - short and sweet. 04/25/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cloverfield Rocks! Just like Blair Witch, this is an AMERICAN ICONIC monster movie...& just like Blair Witch this was filmed from a amature point of view & it seems unscripted, & a good job at that...it also leaves a lot of questions unanswered, that should be answered in the sequal! To which I can't wait to see the sequal... On a side note, the first 17 mins of the movie you can skip, the rest of the film though is CAN'T MISS! 04/24/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Movie This movie is very intense, fast, and amazing. It's constantly keeping you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The effects are amazing. Best if watched on a big screen. CAUTION: MAY FRIGHTEN LITTLE KIDS. SOME LANGUAGE. PERVASIVE VIOLENCE 04/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT MOVIE.. BEST OF 2008 I LOVE THIS MOVIE.. ME AND MY FRIEND WENT AND SEEN THIS OPENING DAY.. AND I DIDNT NO WHAT TO EXPECT... BUT THIS MOVIE SCARED ME AND IT WAS AWESOME LOL LOL.. I LEFT WTH A HEADACHE SCREAMING SO MUCH AND WITH CLAW MARKS ON MY HAND FROM MY FRIEND... THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME.. PLZ BUY IT ITS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF 2008 04/17/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disapointed I picked the movie up at the store, it did not say on the box that THE WHOLE MOVIE, was filmed from someones shoulder. I personally find this very distracting, and could not even watch the whole thing. My Husband watched it, and said it was ok, but made him dizzy a lot when the person filming was doing all the climbing and running with the camera. If you liked the way Blair Witch was filmed, then I guess you will like this one. 05/05/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by DON'T BUY!!!!! this had to be the worst movie i have ever seen. it was a toss up between cloverfield and open water......lol. don't buy this movie....you will regret it!!!! it has no begining and no ending.....it just didn't make sense!!!! 05/10/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 Not a good movie I was very disappointed in the movie. The way the movie was filmed was very annoying and hard to watch and relax. The story was boring. I would not recommend this movie and would never watch it again. 08/11/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst movie ever! Well if you watched the previews on this movie it looks so interesting to watch but if you see the movie it was just horrendous. The entire movie was just a shaky camera by one of the characters which will give you a vertigo and the storyline was so poorly done and and not to mention the ending. Matt reeves probably created this movie on a very tight budget because it was just horrible. Save your money it's not worth it. 07/07/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Huh? OK! It's a science fiction movie, well, maybe a wierd thriller movie, maybe all the above, but for sure different!! 05/29/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth it This was the worse movie I have seen in a long time. The story line was interesting enough but the way it was filmed was a big disapointment. This is the first time I have watched a movie that left me with a headache. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone. 04/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by movieman1o1 This is a great movie. You feel like your there. Makes it look like it is filmed from a home video camera. That may sound not good but its great. 04/13/2008
1-22 of 22 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew112
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp