Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 552 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased with my new Eureka Boss Smartvac. With 2 cats it really gets up all of their fur. My carpet looks almost new when I am finished. The pile is pulled up and stays that way for quit a while. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The PERFECT vacuum This vacuum is as wonderful as most of the other reviews say. I did my comparison of vacuums through consumersearch.com and they rated this one of the top four. It has not disappointed. The suction power is so strong that areas of my carpet that are not high traffic appear new again and the attachments have great power to them as well. Its easy enough to maneuver, gets really close to the edge (I don't have to use an attachment around baseboards- yeah), and makes for easy all over cleaning. I did have a Bissell, but it was a joke of a vacuum. I would have to push it over an area four or five times to suction up visible dirt and the attachments were worthless because the suction wasn't strong enough to make them usable. This Eureka is the exact opposite. I did see a few complaints about weight and noise. It is not a light-weight vacuum and the suction almost creates a resistance but it is not cumbersome and glides easily so you really don't feel it is that heavy while vacuuming. To me, the noise seems normal for a vacuum. My only tiny complaint would be that the cord doesn't stay tight around the winding mounts so it does tend to all be on the floor eventually when I'm vacuuming. Other than that, this is the vacuum I've been waiting for! I never knew a vacuum could bring such joy! 06/03/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by great-but HEAVY it did absolutely everything it had claimed to do BUT the wife said it was too HEAVY even to push. Even on low, tight carpet it seemed to be too tiring to push around. 05/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best sweepers I've ever used!! I read the reviews on the Eureka Boss Smartvac and decided to purchase one to replace our old sweeper. I'm not at all disappointed that I did. The sweeper is quiet compared to previous sweepers I have owned. The Power Paw attachment works great on furniture. The sweeper is so powerful that the suction pulls it along the carpet. I had no idea how poorly our old sweeper was functioning until I swept the rugs with this one!! The reason for the 4 star rating on features is because the Power Paw falls off the retainer clip sometimes while sweeping. Overall, it's a great sweeper. 03/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've had mine for 3 years I have had mine for 3 years and it still running well. The only thing was I did have to replace the hose because it cracked. However it gets very heavy use so that was not a problem. 02/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of Power!!! This vacuum is excellent as most of the reviews and consumer report has stated. I did a lot of research for my wife before our purchase, we are newly weds and don't have alot of cash. So, we wanted the best we could get for less than $250; and I feel like we got a great deal. We have a full grown labrador retreiver in the house with a mixture of carpet and laminate flooring and this vacuum is great at getting all the hair up on both with just one pass. The only negative thing is it is a little heavey, but we don't have stairs so that wasn't really an issue. From a design standpoint I don't really see how a company could build a powerful sturdy vacuum without it being heavier than the weaker cheeply made competitors. But, my wife who is only 5'-2" has had no problems with it and loves it. Hope that helps anyone in making a decision. Happy Vacuuming! 12/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow!!! I purchased this vacuum to replace mine. I read lots of reviews and consumer reports and this vacuum got good ratings and is really reasonably priced. So I bought it with hopes that it would be half as good as the claims and was I ever pleasantly surprised when I used it. It is alittle heavy to lift as others have said but I don't mind. I do love the power it has. When I turned it on it actually jerked alittle. Then I used the hose and it was so nice to not have all the dust flying back into the air. So far I am more than impressed with this thing. 12/01/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good vacuum cleaner. The Eureka Smartvac is fairly quiet ( for a vacuum) and cleans carpets well. The hose for the attachments is not very long , OK for objects where the vacuum can be positioned nearby. To clean stairs with the entire unit you will need decent back and arm strength. The Power Paw is a clever design with the spinning brush, seemed to work. 11/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacuum I have ever bought! Bought this in July after my daughter was diagnosed with severe allergies. We have a dog that sheds lots of hair each week. I had been looking at the Bissel Pet Vac, but the price was a bit more than I was willing to pay. When I read the reviews on this one, I decided to take a chance. I have not been disappointed at all with this vacuum. While it is heavy, especially for cleaning stairs, it has cut my vacuuming time in half because of the great suction power. I have not had any trouble with belts, etc., and I am pretty tough on vacuums. I would definitely (and have) recommend this vacuum, especially if you have pets. 11/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT VACUUM! I am very truthful in reviews and never buy a product without reading the good and the bad, so please believe me when I tell you that you will not be disappointed in this vacuum. It is not quiet, but it is not extremely loud. The suction is amazing. It gets every spec of dirt. Don't be scared about it being a bag vacuum. I have always used bagless but never liked that when you empty the canister all the dirt you just vacuumed would go everywhere but the trash can. This vacuum does have a bag, but it is super easy to change and get this; I was just vacuuming and the vacuum shut off and I couldn't figure out why. I decided to clean out the tube on the R side and empty the bag and try again; it worked! This vacuum seems to know when it is time to change the bag and will shut off when it loses suction! We spent 139 on this at the store (even though it said available online only); online price seems high, but if it isn't available at the store it is TOTALLY worth the extra money. Be sure to keep your receipt and turn it in with your warranty info to Eureka via mail or internet!! Happy cleaning! 10/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it It is really heavy, so if you can not lift, this is probably not for you. It cleans the floors really great. The hose is long and you can stretch it so you can get the corners of the cieling and walls. The cord is long so you dont have to keep unplugging to get to another room. I have 2 long hair cats and it just picks up the hair without having to run over that same spot again. .My last vac was bagless, I will never get another bagless again. 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value I am very satisfied with this vacuum. The price plus quality of cleaning makes it good value. It was easy to assemble and it's easy to use. It's everything the Consumer Reports review promised it would be. My carpets look new again. Works great on hard to remove cat hair. 08/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! Had a GE vacuum which was no good, even brand new. Saw in CR magazine that this one rated better than the Dyson. I am real happy with the purchase. The Power Paw is excellent in my truck, getting most of the silt from the two floods in NH. IF YOU NEED A VACUUM BUY THIS ONE! 08/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Good Vacuum I bought this vacuum because I have a multi pet home. This is a very strong vacuum and picks up the cat hair and litter very well off of the carpet and the bare floors. It is a bit heavy but self propells(although it doesn't claim to be self propelled) itself forward without too much difficulty. If you are looking for a very light-weight vacuum this is not the vacuum for you. But if you are looking for a good, reasonably priced pet vacuum...I would highly recommend this one. 08/19/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK OK but very loud. I tried to contact Eureka about this but they never got back to me. It works fine but is super loud. Not sure if normal or not. Very heavy. 02/11/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Vacuum! I love my new Eureka Boss vacuum! It's even better than the one I had before! I originally bought one because of Consumer Reports rating it so highly for carpet and hardwood floors. I used it for about 4 years and then it started smoking. So I went back to CR and found that they still rank it highly, so I bought another one. However, this one has an attachment for stairs, which I think is key. The hose is actually longer, as is the cord. This vacuum was cheaper than the one I bought 4 years ago, but even better. Downsides - it's very, very heavy. I look at it as exercising as I clean. Also, why did my old Eureka Boss SmartVac die at 4 years old? To me, a vacuum should last 8-10 years (of course, it could have been the rug I was vacuuming at the time; it never did like it). However, considering how inexpensive the new Boss was and how much I did love my old vacuum, I decided to buy another one. And I am very happy! 08/25/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was excited to get this vacuum because all of the ratings were so good. I used this vacuum three times. It worked great until the third time I turned it on. It smells like dust filling the air. I can't stand it. My husband says he thinks it's the seal on the HEPA filter. It's made cheap and doesn't seal all of the way so you can smell all of the dust before it goes through the HEPA. I'm taking it back this weekend. 08/15/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too heavy! I am returning this vacuum. It cleans great but it is too heavy! 08/11/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 disappointed with Consumer Reports Best Buy I bought this vacuum cleaner because of it's excellent reviews from Consumer Reports but now I am regretting my purchase. First of all, this vacuum is VERY heavy - a lot heavier than our previous Eureka vacuum. The Smart Boss supposably has brush control - Ours arrived either broken or it's just a gimmick. Even when you change the brush position to "bare floors" and push up the brush control to "bare floors" the brush still turns a million miles per hour... Resulting in the vacuum shooting the dirt pieces at your legs and feet (fast enough to sting!) before it has time to suck it up. When I want to clean my bare floors, I now use the hose and tubes instead of trying to push the vacuum over the dirt. At least I save time not having to go back over the area I just vacuumed. I do like the hose and the attachments. I like how you can be vacuuming the rug and then quickly switch over to the hose if you want to get underneath the couch. It is the loudest vacuum cleaner I have ever heard. I told my husband that I was going to have to get sound silencing earphones like pilots wear... The roar is deafening! I can no longer vacuum while my daughter naps. I am surprised that this vacuum got such high reviews from Consumer Reports... I had the chance to use my mother-in-law's Dyson and that machine was amazing. Unfortunately, I couldn't justify spending $500 on a vacuum... However, this vacuum makes me regret amount of money I spent on it... I wish I could have had a chance to test it in the store... Hope you find a better machine! 07/19/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-So Suction not as good as I had read. Handle release takes quite a bit of force to engage. 04/01/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleased With Vacuum I am pleased with the ability of the vacuum to pick up dog hair from the carpet. Great suction power, the vacuums easily moves forward. In addition to the standard tools, it comes with a power paw which is nice for smaller areas where the vacuum is to wide to reach. I like that the brush turns off when using on bare floors. The only thing I do not like about the vacuum is that the release handle button is difficult to press. Otherwise I am very happy with the purchase. 03/22/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great! I have the same vacuum purchased from a warehouse store. It's great. The only drawback is that it's kind of heavy. But, it is quiet and it really gets the job done on my apartment with wall to wall carpeting. My last vacuum was bagless and it was a bit of a pain to empty. I love this one. 03/15/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for Allergies We bought this vacuum about 4 years ago after a Consumer Reports review and may now buy another. Vacuum roller and attachment tubes now need replacing-and it's not worth the cost. We are a family of allergy7-sufferers and saw an instant improvement in air quality in our home. Good suction, good attachments. The belt is quite thin and needs to be replaced too often. Bags are not carried at many stores-we usually have to go to a vacuum repair shop. 02/27/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by HEAVY No problem with suction, very good. But...this vacuum does not always go forward. We run into furniture and walls and pulling it back is hard work. Did half of a room and was worn out. Much too heavy. On/off switch is unhandy. Takes two hands to shut it off, one to hold vac and one to work switch. Would recommend it to weightlifters only. 02/17/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very good... BUT I love it in general. It's quieter than many and the pick up is great! However I can't find the bags for it. The local stores and this site do not sell them! 10/05/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by best one yet! Works great, best one I have ever had. No more smell when I clean. I was surprised to see all the dirt that my old one was leaving behind. Very happy with this one. A little heavy, but worth it, to get the cleaning power it has. 08/17/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by HEAVY This vacuum has so much suction it is very difficult to use on area carpets-unless you have someone standing on the end to keep it from being pulled back. It is also very heavy and I found it difficult to release the handle to use the cleaner. The handle is also awkward compared to my old cleaner. Purchased it 1 week ago and returning it today. 05/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of the best OK, we can now leave an informed and intelligent review after using this product for a couple of months. We read ALL of the reviews prior to buying this vacuum in early December. We were encouraged by these reviews, but were waiting to try this out in our home to see if it would live up to all of the positive things people were saying. Like most reviewers, we were wanting to move away from the near-worthless bagless vacuums that may be a lot cheaper in price but have such a low performance history. We saw this bagged vacuum and the reviews, and gave it a shot. The first time we used it, it became clear to us that the positive reviews that people have been leaving for this vacuum were spot-on. It does a fantastic job in all regards. The difference between what this vacuum picks up and our year-old bagless picked up is night and day. The house smells fresh (we have a dog, 2 teenages, and a toddler), and the carpet does indeed look new again after vacuuming. We do not have one negative thing to say about this product. For what it does, the price is ridiculously low. The costs of the bags is pretty minimal. All around a fantastic product that we would reccommend to everyone to try. 01/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow Can not say enough good things about this unit. It is very powerful. We had a Dirt Devil before we bought this Hoover and the differance is amazing. This unit is not "self propelled" like one reviewer states, but is so powerful that is pulls itself along well. I am a big fan of "Consumer Reports" and this particular model was very well rated. They were on the money with the report. This model is absolutely the best bang for your buck you will find. A friend has a $1200.00 Kirby and says the Hoover is every bit as powerful and half the weight. 11/21/2007
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth it I bought this vacuum from WalMart -- online about four years ago. It is heavy. The lever controlling the change from carpet to bare floor is very difficult to use --- requires a lot of power to make the change and it is down low. And today was the last straw --- it has ceased to have any suction. I expected a vacuum to last longer than this.... I know it's not the top of the line, but with its recommendation from Consumer Reports I expected better...... Don't buy this vacuum if you prefer that your vacuums last longer than four years! 09/27/2007
61-90 of 486 total reviews
Previous 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw215
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp