Seagate Retail ST310005N1A1AS-RK 1TB 3.5 SATA 32MB

4.5 stars
35 reviews ratings
Q&A
By: Seagate
Reduced Price
$74.99
Was: $104.99  (You save $30.00)
$4.37 shipping
 
Showing options for 20146
Type
Standard
Data unavailable
$4.37
Expedited
Data unavailable
$9.38
 
This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
 
2 more sellers from $86.74
Showing 3 sellers
Seagate Retail ST310005N1A1AS-RK 1TB 3.5" SATA 32MB

About this item

Seagate Retail ST310005N1A1AS-RK 1TB 3.5 SATA 32MB

Specifications

Model No.: ST310005N1A1AS-
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 2.0
Origin of Components: USA or Imported
Show
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excelent SATA drive
7/31/2009

Customer review by ssinec

5.0 stars by ssinec

This drive is extremely quiet and has a very quick data access time. The transfer speeds are significantly faster than the old IDE drive which was originally included in my eMachine. For a 1TB drive for about $100 this is an excellent purchase for the price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ssinec
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every few days
5/8/2010

Customer review by gabesrlebanonnj

5.0 stars by gabesrlebanonnj

This HD is one of two installed in my PC. It is quieeeet. Its value made me buy it because I know Seagate's quality, albeit being made in Thailand. This may be the reason for the low price. So far it is working fine and, if you need space to store your priced files -photos, music, etc -you found one of the best HD in the market

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gabesrlebanonnj
Lebanon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Usage:Every day
For the $ its worth it.
8/2/2013

Customer review by BennehNY

5.0 stars by BennehNY

My laptop finally packed up on me and for the longest time I have been wanting to build my own PC again (It's been years since I built my last one) I wanted to cash out on performance to handle business elements and for gaming. I chose this hard drive for the price and the size, I am always apprehensive purchasing from "Seagate" as I have had a bad experience with one of their harddrives in the past, however so far so good. The only down fall, as to be expected, is it brings my new computers "Windows Experience" down to 5.9 (psht) All in all, great buy for my uses. For anyone curious, this is what I used to build my new rig: THIS ASUS MOTHERBOARD: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=20920998 SEAGATE 1TB SATA3 HDD: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=9208059 EVGA GEFORCE GT640 4GB DDR3 GRAPHICS CARD: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=22254919 INTEL i3 dual processor 3220-3.3ghz: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=23454516 Thermaltake case: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=21907380 Kingston 8gb DDR3 RAM: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=15747221 I also purchased a new CPU fan from NEWEGG, on maximum processor it has my Motherboard down to 24 and my cpu temperature down to 25 degrees.: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103065 currently it's $19.99 with a $10.00 rebate card. (GREAT FAN!) As far as the case goes, I attached 4 additional fans using 4 pin connectors so I can monitor them in the system bios. Everything is working great. Bottom line: For the $ amount, I made a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BennehNY
Lake Grove, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
1-3 of 28 total reviews See all

Customer Q&A

Have questions? Get answers from experts and customers who own this product.

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

by an anonymous customer 7/26/2010
  • jump on it ! All you must have is a serial connection.
    by soundsmith8/8/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
  • yes it is backward compatible
    by thatroolz12/17/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
  • Short answer is: Probably. It depends on if you have SATA ports or an add-in card for SATA drives. I do not know every brand's naming and numbering system. But, if the old drive was SATA, and this one is, then yes. And it won't matter if the old drive was SATA 1.5 or 300, all SATA drives are backwards compatible, though you won't get any extra speed out of it, other than if the RPM's of new drive are significantly faster. (Quite possible) In the real world, older SATA (1.5) and newer SATA 300 are hard to tell apart when working. Even the newest SATA 600 (Same is true of the soon to come SATA 1200) The number's I'm using, by the way, refer to the theoretical throughput, 1.5 being 150 MB/sec, barely faster than the best PATA, [better known as IDE] drives it replaced, which ran at 133 MB/sec. It is almost impossible to tell them apart (when used as a replacement drive), while running applications. You might see some improvement due to other factors. Such as spindle speed, (RPM's) and the amount of on board cache. RPM will have more impact on speed than any other single factor. Period. The throughput of data has much less to do with the SATA revision number (150 aka 1.5, vs 300, 600, etc) than other things, like the chipset on motherboard, amount of RAM, and other considerations, such as the OS. (64 bit vs 32 bit, etc) In short, if one replaces an older SATA drive with a newer one, it WILL work, just don't expect to see any boost in speed, regardless of what the box says. If you do, it will be modest at best. SOME older chip-sets wouldn't take a drive of 1TB unless the drive was partitioned. This was often due more to the OS, though, than the chipset. If in has a built in SATA port, you should be fine. Some add-in cards on older computers could give you a headache, though. However, you stated your computer will take a 1tb drive, so that only leaves the OS. ANY version of WIN XP onwards, (and ANY NT operating system from Win 2000 with the latest service packs onwards) all will. I know nothing of Mac's or their OS, so I'll leave that to someone else. When in doubt, check the manufacturer's website. (Or maker of your motherboard/chipset. Some older BIOSes may need flashed) Hope that settles it for you. Personally, I'd use it without hesitation. The included SEAGATE software for setting up the disk has two parts: One part is an ISO for making a DOS-like boot disk. USE THIS!! (Or one of the dedicated software suites, like Paragon... the one I use is version 8.0) Forget the Windows setup, it does NOT work! This is a (well) known issue. Might be fixed under Win 7, but don't bet on it. Just make the boot disk, label it, use it, then put it away for later use. I've found a lot of these disk drives for CHEAP lately, no need to burn a new CD disk for each one. I like Seagate drives more than any other brand now. Western Digital used to be my top pick, and Maxstor close behind just because of price to size. (But more failures, the infamous Maxstor click!, see Utube) Seagate bought out Maxstor. I used to have a lot of those too. BTW, Seagate software will also work on(and with) a Maxstor drive. Once in a while, the software will complain it must see at least ONE Seagate drive to work, (like cloning) A Maxstor drive usually will do in a pinch. (Even an old one you do not plan to actually use)
    by Junkman12/16/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
  • According to this document: http://downloads.emachines.com/userguides/8511279_eM_NG3_chassis_HW_ref_en.pdf page 171 of 214 There is a graphic that shows a Serial ATA drive, so that would mean this drive WOULD work. The interface matches, so you are in good shape. Happy to help!
    by SeagateAlan7/30/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
1-3 of 24 questions See all

Policies & Plans

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase . Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty: 90 Days or longer See details

Supplier Warranty: All products come with a 90 Day, or longer, manufacturer warranty
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list