Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 140 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern sewing machine I just purchased this machine 3 days ago. I had a 1940's Bernina sewing machine that I loved, but we had a fire & had to replace it. I was heartbroken and just knew I could never find a machine that measured up to my old Bernina. I was so overwhelmed by the 50 extra stitches on this Brother machine I was afraid to use it. Boy I was so amazed at the ease of this machine. Welcome to the modern world! I just love it! It is so light weight & easy to carry. I always thought they had to be 50-60lbs to be a good machine. I can't imagine why I didn't buy it sooner. I just sewed a faux fur cloak for my 3 year old for Halloween in about 8 hours, Did I say I Loved this machine? Fabulous machine great price, now I just have to find the carry case. 10/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sew Wonderful! This sewing machine is soo wonderful! I had a few problems at the start but they were all user error! The pin on that holds the spool didn't seem long enough, but it lifts up so once I figured that out there was no problem at all, the other problem I had at first was that the bobbin kept catching, but that was because I wasn't lifting the needle all the way up when I was done with the seam. It has been so wonderful to sew on it especially after figuring out that I was the one doing it wrong! The different stiches are so great and I would highly recommend this to anyone! It's a wonderful wonderful machine! 10/31/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice machine, but not for a beginner I really liked this machine. It's very high tech, but too high tech for a beginner who has never sewn before. I spent 2 hours and never got past the bobbin!! It ended up there was a defect, no slit at the bottom of the bobbin thingy to run the thread through. Returned it and decided it'd be better to start with a simpler machine, still shopping at this point. 10/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by sews fine This machine works fine. I made 2 jumpers on it and I love the button hole maker feature! I would like the spool for thread to be taller as my spool jumps around and the thread caught twice around it, causing 2 broken needles. There isn't much tolerance for the needle to move so moving fabric around corners and over pins can be tricky compared to my old clunker. 10/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good to Go! We have only had this product for about 2 weeks. So far, so good!! The directions are clear. This is our first sewing machine and it had us sewing in an evening. I hope it serves our needs and lasts us for many years. 10/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine This is an excellent machine to use. I haven't sewn in about 30 years, so there was some breaking in time on my part. Very helpful manual. The automatic bobbin drop is so simple. Had a bit of a problem getting the needle threaded but doable and expect will be easier with time. This is a very lightweight but powerful little machine. Looking forward to using some of the advanced features on it. 10/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by a fun sewing machine sewing machings have come a long way and i was so happy that this machine did so many different stitches. could not believe i was so excited over a sewing machine. 10/01/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brothers... At first i thought the machine wasnt working... But my problem was the bobbin i had to rejust it... after that everythiing has been goin great. it runs smoothly....easy to use... i knew how to use it in one day. really simple to use..=D 09/20/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for beginners! I've only had it a couple of weeks, but so far I've found it incredibly easy to use. So easy in fact, that I'm getting ready to start multiple projects - a diaper bag and a quilt! Haven't had any trouble with threading or tension, and the couple of things I've made so far turned out great. I would definitely recommend this machine to beginners... I didn't even know how to do anything but turn it on when I bought it! 09/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by My new love!! Long story short, I bought a singer 3 days ago. Tried it today and it had 3 major issues and had to be returned. I decided to go with this brother based on the reviews on this site. I am thrilled with my choice. I had no tension issues, no loops on either side, no knots, no machine jams, nothing!! I was shocked and ecstatic! It took off right out of the box and made BEAUTIFUL stitches. WONDERFUL!! If you've struggled with tension and knotting issues or with bringing home a lemon like the singer I just took back, go for this one. You won't be disappointed!! 09/15/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!! I upgraded from a beginner's straight stitch machine to the Project Runway Limited Edition machine. I love this machine. It's simple to use. The instructions are clear and easy to understand. I love the features and the 50 stitch options. The value was great compared to my research on other machines. I recommend this machine to beginners and intermediate who likes to mend and alter clothes or likes making simple decorative styles. 08/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This is a great product, did the site pick-up and Wal-Mart ended up delaying the shipment for over a week, was for my daughter-in-laws birthday and so way late, but she loved it, normally wal-mart has had good delivery, but not this time. 08/27/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good for the price Bought it for a present for my fiance, she loves it and kept finding more and more little features. Very good for the price. 08/14/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for beginners I have yet to find anything to say bad about the machine. I have sewn several projects with it in the past 4 weeks and I am glad I chose this model. It has all that I will need and I won't have to upgrade for quite a while. 08/11/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by very nice, worth the money I got this as a gift, and have used it every day. The only thing I dont like about it is the fact that the needles are very sensative. If you get this buy extra needles. 07/24/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by This sewing machine I was worried that i was paying for more than i needed. Yet when i started using it it was great. All the different stitches happened to be what I needed. I love this for the fact that it comes with a booklet for beginner sewers to know which stitch to use on different fabric. I would recommend thou that you do buy the different needles. but this is a great sewing machine. 07/20/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to use I had never sewed before, but took this machine to a sewing class and found it very easy to use and understand. It has many many different stitches and is incredably light. For the price, I would say it's a perfect machine for those just learning to sew. 07/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by You can buy with confidence I love this machine! I have sewn on a Kenmore for years and wasn't sure I would be able to sew on a computerized machine. This is so easy. Choose your stitch, press the number in with the use of buttons. Width and length as well It even tells you which presser foot to use. The stitches are BEAUTIFUL stitches. Someone who has never sewn could learn easily on this machine. It comes with a number of presser feet. I wanted a 1/4 quilt seam foot. Ordered it online and received it within two days at a nominal prize. I look forward to sewing. Don't have to wrestle with my bobbins. The bobbin is see through so you know when it is running out. An excellent buy! 07/18/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT MACHINE! WOW! I am impressed! I absolutly LOVE sewing with this machine. So simple to use with many many features. The drop in bobbin and needle threader are a hugh plus. 07/17/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is my first sewing machine. It has a lot of features for the price. BUT it doesn't handle thick material well and jams up in corners where fabric is folded and layered. 07/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use I am definitely what you would call a novice to sewing much more than a button, but I was up and running on this sewing machine in no time. It's so easy to use, and it has tons of really neat stitch features that can make your learning projects look like you've been sewing forever. I sewed a dress for my 3 yr old the first time I used it and it turned out so cute! (I just cut around a jumper she had) It comes with all the different feet, a seam ripper, and a great instructional guide. I have also called the customer service number on the waranty sheet included (save that), and they were very helpful with some questions I had. I really have enjoyed this sewing machine! 07/11/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great machine This is the first sewing machine I have had for myself. It works great and is very easy to use. The thread cutter is very handy and the bobbin is so easy. This is a wonderful machine. 07/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by very nice sewing machine This is my first sewing machine. I love it. Don't know the durability yet, but the features are excellent. 07/07/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed! I wanted to upgrade my current machine which is 28 years old. I read the customer reviews and was sold on this machine. When I got it, I was very excited to try it out. I wanted to make some appliqué TShirts for my granddaughter. I used the decorative stitiching for that and I knew I was in trouble when the stitch skipped, so I bought new thread, this didn't help at all. Then the thread tangled underneath, so I bought new bobbins, that didn't help either. I had so much trouble and got so frustrated that I called their product support and they wanted me to take it in for repair. WHY WOULD I DO THAT WITH A NEW MACHINE THAT WAS USED FOR ABOUT 1 HOUR???? So needless to say, I returned the machine! 07/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely happy I just bought a different brand, and had to bring it back because it was so bad. So I thought I would try a Brother since the reviews were good. What a difference. This little machine will sew through anything. I never jams on me. Everything works. And it's so easy to use. I love it!!! I loved the price too especially since it came with so many attachments and needles etc. I just wish it was a little bit heavier. The fact that I can carry it with one hand is nice, but I'm afraid with time this may not be such a good thing. We'll have to wait and see, but for now, it's great! 06/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sewing machine I just love this sewing machine! It really sews beautifully. Much better than any other machine I have ever owned! 06/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by I never thought sewing could be this easy! I just bought the Brother CE-5000PRW and I'm in shock! I never thought sewing could be this simple :) . I've owned an ancient sewing machine and a beginner Brother before, but I never managed to get them going well enough for me to learn to sew. My patience is minimal with electronics and I'm one of those people who needs a good manual to help me. This new Brother has it all! I had it up and sewing in less than 30 minutes ~ truly amazing! The stitches are terrific and the manual is superb. Brother got it right when they designed this machine. It is truly user friendly and for under $150 it can't be beat. 06/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by good I do not know how to sew and the book that comes with it has been very helpful. 06/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this product for my mother for Mother's Day. She loved it and was very pleased with all the features and the performance of the product. 06/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine I was so excited when I picked my machine up from the store. I've only had it a couple of weeks, but I love how light it is. I love that I can see when my bobbin is about to run out. I love how quiet it is and how easy it is to thread. The different stitches are fun to play with. I am a quilter but I'm also beginning to get interested in making clothes. I think I bought the perfect machine! 06/14/2008
91-120 of 123 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw89
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp