Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 140 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by good buy I'm a beginner and this machine is very simple to use. It has enough features that I can learn with it for a while. I haven't had any problems with it so far. I kept my manual out and read along and practiced. It is lightweight and looks nice. I'm please with my purchase so far. 10/21/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke 3 Days After Purchase I have sewn for 30 years on basic machines. Had saved to buy this machine. Was excited about the features. But 3 days after I bought this machine, it broke in the middle of sewing. The whole bobbin assembly came off it's proper resting place, and there was no getting it back to stay in the right place after that. Because I have cleaned my machines for years, I took this one apart, and found that it was truly broken. I am returning it today to instead buy the Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256. I read these reviews, and it looks like the machine's quality assurance is low; I wouldn't buy it if I were you! 10/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love at first stitch This machine is amazing, within 5 minutes of turning it on i was making pillows, and quilts and shirts and everything. There are oodles of different stitches which are great, and there are different presser feet for w/e/ you need to do i am in love. 08/30/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Went Back to Singer I purchased this machine after having some difficulty with the singer I bought. This machine made singers difficulty look easy. I went back to the singer machine and worked out the kinks with it and now am happilily sewing on a singer.This machine is noisy and sounds like its about to fall apart.The stitches are not great either. I love project runway but if they used this machine they,d never get through a challange. 07/17/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bought it today, going back tomorrow I should have read the reviews before purchasing this machine and I could have saved myself some time. It seemed easy to use and then it threw an E6 error in the middle of a straight stich. The manual says to clear the thread; however there was nothing to clear. When I picked up my material all the bobbin thread was in a big clump. I re-threaded both upper and lower, used a scrap piece of material and it threw the same error. I think I will go back to my previous brand, at least it lasted 14 years. 07/07/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by electronic skip Gift to wife she like first time after used the digital skip and make bad sewing skip ,she clean every finish because those work properly and problem continue , My wife return the sewing to store .She plane buy one from Singer . Thanks Arnaiz 02/18/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed. I'm just disappointed in it. It was my Christmas present. I've been sewing since I was 13 and couldn't wait to get it. I'm 54 now. I wish I had my first sewing machine back. The only reason I'm going to keep it...is because I'm hoping I will get the hang of it...and love it...but I hate to say it...I seriously doubt it. 12/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Beginner Machine! I got this to learn sewing and it has been great. It does everything I need it to with no problems. I couldn't have asked for better for the price I paid. 06/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BUY IT!!!! This machine is great. I bought it having never sewn a stitch in my life and now I have made countless quilts and outfits. I love it!! It is great for many reasons, but the #1 reason is no matter what happens, this machine is so popular, I can google it and there are answers all over the internet of people explaining step by step how to fix it. I have had minor complications with the bobbin, but my husband fixes it everytime (and it could be the operator and not the machine, lol). I say BUY IT!!!! 11/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this machine I think that for the price, you just can not go wrong with this sewing machine. I was at a tug of war between the ce-5000prw and the cs-6000i and I decided to get this one, and I do not regret my purchase. I really wanted a machine for heavy duty sewing, especially sewing layers of denim, which I did with no problems. I have never sewn on an electronic machine before. The machines I had before this one were old industrial Juki and Singer. I have to say, this machine is really good, no problems, and even before you decide to turn it on, read the instructions manual (use your common sense), This will save you lots of frustrations. Really easy to use. And for those who haven't figured out the automatic threading, really look at the picture manual, and the thread has to be placed in front of the need hole, almost touching it, in order for it to latch on, and through the needle hole. I didnt give everything all stars because I only have had this machine for two weeks. 03/07/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by cheaply made I hate that the most important parts of this sewing machine are plastic the knobs and so on. Thats my only complaint but its enough of a problem that im taking it back. Its super easy to use. 02/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Learning "again" This machine is much more complex than my old one. Might take me awhile to figure out what is what, but I think I will enjoy doing it. At my age (73) it just takes awhile longer than it used to. The book could be a bit more clear with instructions. But it is nice machine and I am sure I will have a good time using it. It sews beautifully,, and it is so quiet! 02/19/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice machine I would first like to share how to use the needle threader! hook your thread on the threader and when you bring it across to the needle, put it near the top until you feel the tiny hook that went through the needle. It took a long time to figure this out. once you do it will works every time!! When reading reviews the threader was the number one problem when first using. I could never sew with my eye sight if I didnt have that threader. I use my machine for crafts daily. the only problem is that it doesnt sew plastic like my other machine or thick material. I wish it did! Like all products made nowaday its cheaper. The gears are all plastic and I know it will not last as long as my moms. But over all I like it and plan on using it a lot. So far making crafts the machine has paid for itself, 02/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine! I am so pleased with this machine! It is lightweight, quiet and loaded with features. I highly recommend it! 02/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine I purchased this machine to replace an old Singer model I have been using for a few years, and it is great! It is incredibly easy to use and I would recommend spending some time reading the manual and practicing on scrap fabric. It is really fun to use, and more than I expected. 01/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic machine! What a fantastic machine! Its easy to use, easy to wind the bobbin and load the bobbin. Threading the needle is a breeze with the needle threader. I needed a machine that could stand up to sewing through thick cotton webbing. This machine handled it easily! 01/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful variety of top stitches! I have owned 3 other Singer Machines and none have had as many features as this one. I have been sewing on and off for 30 years ... intermediate at best. This machine is very easy to operate and seems to handle different fabrics very well. In the past I have had many problems with the tension settings but this machine just sails along. It runs smoothly and quietly. This is great for beautiful top stitching, as it has many to choose from. The last machine I purchased was 17 years ago and the cost was 89.00. I cannot believe how much more this has to offer. I would even recommend this for a beginner. Presently I am sewing a very soft thin fabric and am having no problems with puckering, feeding etc. I have not taken the time to learn how the automatic threader works. I made one attempt and was unsuccessful, but the prior review helps. My needle may not be inserted exactly right. I can't wait to see how it works! No regrets. Great value. 01/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought for a gift Bought this as a Christmas gift for my granddaughter. She is still learning on it but is very happy with it. My daughter can't wait to get her turn as well. 01/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love it! This is a great little machine. I bought it to use for carrying to sewing class, but find I use it more at home than my bigger machine. It's so light weight and portable and sews great! I love all the built in stitches. I would sure recommend it as a good beginner machine or as an extra portable machine. 01/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product My 11 year old daughter received this item for Christmas. It was easy to follow the directions on threading and getting started. She was sewing and threading the needle and winding the bobbin on her own in no time at all. The number of stitches available on this machine is incredible. The motor is quiet and smooth. She has not had one problem. I would definitely recommend this sewing machine. 12/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it works really well. exactly what it looks like in the website. comes with a lot of pressure foot for executing different kind of stitches and other small parts that can be neatly stored in the built it compartment in the machine. manual is very helpful. has a light feature when sewing, making work more convenient. it's light weight. absolutely love it. 12/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this machine! my husband bought this machine for me for a birthday gift after i decided to learn to hem my own pants (rather than pay the dry cleaner $15 to hold them hostage for 2 weeks). i haven't used a sewing machine since 7th grade home ec, and in less than a month, i have done all kinds of stuff with this machine. i've hemmed pants, made flannel pajama pants with elasticized waistbands for my kids, applique'd shirts, made fleece hats and scarves, and hemmed jeans. the instruction manual can be a little vague to the complete newbie, but with careful reading is decipherable. i haven't yet tried the buttonhole or zipper features but like i said, i'm new at this! i think the amount of projects i've been able to take on without breaking the thing or running into problems in less than a month's time is true testament to the value of this machine. 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow I have an older brother that my mom had given me, but I don't have a user manual for it. I needed to make a new dog bed & when I pulled out the heavy old machine I couldn't remember how to thread it! So I put it away. My hub said just go buy a new one. So I went on line & started reading reviews. I found this one & liked what I was reading and the price was reasonable. So I called my local walmarts to find which one had it in stock & went and bought it. I opened the box set everything out, read the user guide to thread it & fill the bobbin and how to set the stitches & 2 hours later I had a finished dog bed on floor! This machine is really easy to use, it comes with all the feet you might need for any job. Oh and very quiet & light weight. It does bind up a little when I was using the reverse mode, but that could be user error. I really like the numbers embossed on the machine for threading & filling the bobbin. And the auto needle threader is SWEET!! I will need to get a portable storage case for it. Now I'm looking around the house for more sewing projects!! 09/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value, Perfect for Beginners This machine is my first and I couldn't be happier with this purchase. The instructions are clear and very simple to follow with visual aids. During my first project I bent a needle (my fault) and was happy to find several needles included as well as different foots for different projects. 08/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feature Rich for the Price A real bargain for the beginner or experienced. Easy to setup and use. 08/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine for Value I purchased this machine when I needed to finish up a quilt top I was working on. I decided on this machine mainly for the price. I was sewing with it in a matter of minutes. I was even able to quilt an entire twin size quilt with it without any problems! I have found it to be a very good machine. 08/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love This Machine I was sewing within 30 minutes of taking my new machine out of the box. I do a lot of sewing at night, and the only thing I wish it had was a backlight for the computer screen. Very easy to use. 08/01/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased I purchased this to replace my two antique singer machines that were skipping stitches at jamming constantly. I've been very pleased with this machine. While the automatic needle threader isn't perfect, quite often its issues are probably operator error. I'm still fiddling with tension, but I love the different stitch options compared to what I have before as well as the light-weight portability. I would definitely buy it again! 06/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have only used this so far for a few repair items, but so far it has been easy to use and works very well. 06/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super machine! I LOVE this machine, especially since it was so cheap!! I figured it would be a stand-by for garment making, but it quilts just fine too. Now if Brother would come out with a really big computer compatible embroidery machine, I'll be totally happy. 05/26/2009
31-60 of 123 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw204
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp