Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Filtration System. I purchased this PUR Water system about 5 months ago. I have to Say it does a great job filtering the water out. I am on county water and you can smell the chlorine from the tap. However, with this water filtration system it takes care of that. Cons, I noticed now that when I am trying to take the unit system off my Faucet it giving me a struggle to take it off. As well to when you need to clean it within like the second month it reset the counting meter bar to tell you how much you used your filter. So you gotta remember were was last at. Also It took it some time to let the charcoal taste to dispense from the filter. I had to Run it over a good 20 Minutes or 30 minutes to get that Charcoal taste out of it. Don't worry It is normal for it to do that and it wont harm you if you drink it like that. Its like a tangy Taste. But, I ensure you that it does go away. Other Thoughts: I notice and researched around and I see other reviews instating that there PUR System has either Cracked or started to leak around the meter glass. I don't know what there talking about because mine has not done that. And I have owned this product for over half a year now. I bought it from the Store and it came with one filter and the system and special hook ups that made it easy to fit all types of Faucets. I Take good care of my products and specially when it comes to items like this. Never had no problems. Also it is important to know that Yes you must replace that filter in three months no matter what. Even though you do not fully use your filter were the meter bar detects. You need to replace it because Water is held in the chamber of the filter system and as well were the meter bar is. That is one suggestion I can recommend that will make your product last for a very long time. I drink Water a lot and its important for me this was the best investment I have made and I am quite happy with it. Thought the Filters might be a little expansive it is worth it for fresh clean Water. Buy the packs that come with three filters you will save money that way and plus that will last you 9 months of the time. Some even come with a bonus pack so can get 4 of the price of three. Look around your Wal Mart store for it. 05/24/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by PUR Quality Control is Gone I purchased a white PUR filtration system over 5 years ago. It was showing some wear, so I moved it to a sink in my basement. It still works well. I purchased a silver model a year ago. The lower chromed-plastic cover fell off after around 6 months. I sent PUR several emails - nobody ever bothered to respond. I then bought a replacement chromed unit - the plastic cover fell off after a month. After 5 months, it is now leaking from the usage-indicator window. Here's hoping that Wal-mart finds a way to put some pressure on PUR to provide some decent quality control at the factory. I won't be buying their products any more. 12/04/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Water but won't last I have this model for a few years and am on my 3rd unit. The water tastes great but I have only gotten a year out of them before they start leaking. I actually keep a spare handy for this reason. The filters last about 3-4 months. 09/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now we can drink the tap water We moved to a new city where the water from the tap tasted horrible, even drink mixes couldn't get rid of the taste. We purchased this unit and had it installed easily within 15 minutes of returning home. The difference was amazing! I defintely recommend this system. 04/13/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good product, but... The filter installs easily, and the water tastes good. But you can only use it with cold water, not hot; you have to use the bypass feature for hot water (it's easy to use). That isn't on any advertising or on the box, only on the instructions INSIDE the box. Each time you put in a new filter, you have to run the water for about 5 minutes. That seems a little wasteful to me. 09/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Deal at first I didn't think it was going to fit on my faucet. but after tinkering with it for only a few minutes, it fit perfectly, and has not leaked one drop! I LOVE it because I was spending so much on bottled water, and now I don't have to spend a dime! I would HIGHLY recommend this model of the PUR water filter!! 05/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Improvement I had the previous generation of this product and it did the job but this new version is WAY easier to install, easier to clean and spins out of the way of the faucet when you need more room. 06/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This product pays for itself the first week. We were buying bottled water constantly. Not to mention, you save the environment b/c there is no plastic to toss. The water is good, comes out good. No complaints what so ever. 03/25/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by This filtering system did improve the taste of the water. The only leak that I encountered was located where the unit attached to the faucet, and I was able to eliminate that leak by adding the rubber washer that was supplied with the alternative adaptor fittings to the one already in the fitting which attaches the unit to the faucet. In other words, I used two rubber washers instead of just one. Be careful to get it on straight and to not over-tighten the fitting to avoid stripping the threads. To give you an idea of the speed of water flow through the filter, it takes me 26 seconds to fill a one-quart bottle. The rate will vary, of course, depending on your water pressure. 05/22/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED I purchased the PUR Faucet Filter after purchasing a new faucet. Problems began after discovering none of the enclosed faucet adapters fit my faucet. I called customer service and was sent additional sizes which still did not fit. I went to a local hardware store and had to purchase 2-additional adapters to fit the PUR. Initially, this product worked very well but after using the PUR Filter for 8-months, it began to leak. Now that it is a year old, it has begun leaking badly around the indicator window, so much so, it will spray in my face until I lessen the water pressure. I have since purchased the revised filter system which clicks into place. But once again, the adapters do not fit my faucet and I do not want to spend additional money trying to find adapters again to fit the new model so I am planning to return the PUR product back to Wal-Mart. This product costs too much to have to purchase additional adapters for it to fit a faucet and yet it begins to leak only months after it is used. 07/27/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by bought this product after reviewing others first. First, the system leaked after installation..then after I fixed the leak, the water barely dribbles out of the filter with occassional leaks....not sure what I'm going to do at this point. This product is over rated! 03/16/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Came with missing hardware I bought this at Walmart.com, but when the product arrived, it came with missing hardware. I had to go to a store and return it and buy another one which had all the required hardware. I used faucet filters in the past and was very happy with the filter quality and the crisp taste. This unit tastes the same as tap water and I do not feel any different, and do not know if the filter is working properly or not. I'd rather buy another product that I can feel the purity of water by taste. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product Bought this water system over two years ago. We have had excellent service from it. We live in the county and recently the water utilities installed fire hydrants in our community. Our filter system went thru several replacement filters but never failed to give us clean water nor did it break under the load of extra sediments. We know this for a fact because of the mud we had in our water from other faucets in the house. If this one breaks I have no hesitation in buying another just like it. 11/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not like the one click system. The part that screws into the faucet is plastic and keeps falling off. I am in the process of returning my second one. The original one I had lasted 3 years because it had a metal piece that screwed onto the faucet. I think the quality has dropped off considerably with the one click system. 11/02/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by PUR 3-Stage Faucet Vertical Mount Filtration Sys. I know some of my friends that ordered a faucet mount filtration system. I read alot of reviews before purchasing. I purchased the silver one because I just assumed it was steel or stainless steel. I had no idea it was plastic. Guess I should have known due to the price. The PUR cost less then Britta, and the filters cost less too. I was thinking long term value but didn't realize the silver one was plastic also. I hope it doesn't crack & break with in the next year like the reviews of the white vertical faucet one. Very easy to attach & disconnect. And water tastes the same as the PUR picture I already own. 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pur Filter I have used Pur products for many years now, they are the best on the market, I have a pur filter in my Fridge and one on my faucet at kitchen sink. they do a wonderful job. 07/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I purchased this to replace a different brand of filter. We have had nothing but problems. The filter began to leak after about a week, so I used plumber's tape and that only held the leak back for about another week. Then it just fell off the faucet on its own. We replaced the faucet, and it hasn't fallen off, but still tends to leak if used for very long. I also have some difficulty finding a replacement cartridge locally, since the original one didn't last very long either. 06/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pur 3 -Stage Faucet Vertical Mount Filtration Syst I was skeptical when I first got this product, but as always it works find and I also have the PUR pitcher and they both work fine. I would recomend this product. The price was reasonable and easy to install. 05/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean Water You can have clean water from your home at a very reasonable cost! I have been using these water purifiers for around a decade. If you ever buy one run regular tap water in one sink and run the purified water in the other until you have enough water to compare the two. You will never turn back! 12/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Its Ok Well this is an ok product . The only thing I have a n issue with is when the little flip thing on the side accidently will go down it you make a mistake and hit it. Because sometimes I will have the hot water running and if I accidently hit it, it will go to the filter side. And hot water is not suppose to run through the filter side because you can damage it. So if I could change something about this particular item it would be that. (To have a better way to keep it from going down.) It flips upo and down way to easy. 12/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Falls apart Bought this unit a couple weeks ago, and the plastic adapter has already stripped out so it won't stay on faucet when you switch to the filtered water. 08/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great water but replace yearly As another reviewer mentioned, this produces great water but starts to leak after about a year. Since the unit isn't terribly expensive, for me, it's worth the yearly investment to get great tasting water. The minerals in the 3 stage filter make all the difference in the taste. I grew up 'back in the sticks' on spring & well water and now live in a larger area with city water. :P This filter comes closer than any of the several I have tried to the 'country water' that I had for so many years. 12/01/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really Terrible Product I rarely write a product review...the product has to knock my socks off or be so terrible that I want to save people the trouble of purchasing the product. Well...in this case it is definitely the latter. I've used several different PUR filters and I've never had any real issues. This filter has a "quick install" feature for a quick release to remove the filter from the faucet. This new feature has to be the reason for the leaking. From the first install, I thought maybe I had the wrong type of adapter attached, maybe I was doing something that wasn't attaching the filter correctly, maybe there was a problem with my sink because water leaked from around the connection. Not a little leak, like a spray of water. I tried to use the product anyway, since I had dropped $30 I thought if I could get 3-4 months of use, I wouldn't feel too bad about buying a new filter. Nope, less than 40 days after the first install, the "quick release" is working great, as in the filter WILL NOT stay on the faucet. Click it back on on the faucet, turn on the water, filter falls back off almost immediately. The first time it happened, I had a couple of champagne flutes in the sink after toasting the New Year, the filter broke them (and yes, they were special heirlooms only out for the holiday of course)... OH...and you can't buy replacement adapters when this happens. Don't waste your money on this one folks. 01/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Leaks I have owned two of these and both of them developed leaks only a few months after purchasing them. One leaked around the faucet, and yes I had the right connector, it was fine for about 3-4 months and then all the sudden began leaking no matter how tight it was connected. The second one lasted even shorter than the first I only had it for a couple months and it began, not just leaking, spraying through the window and around the bottom seam where the filter goes in. I couldn't use it without getting everything in and around the sink wet. 03/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by major leaks we have had 4 out of 4 of these leak around the viewing window, where cracks appear just after the warranty expires. this never happened before when PUR was taken over and the quality as well as warranty drastically dropped. 05/10/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by item shown on website is not what you get I have had this item in the past and really liked it. I had been trying to find the older model that flips up and down and I ordered it again based on the picture of the older model shown on the website. This is not what you get. You get the newer model. 12/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money Don't waste your money on this product!!! I have had 3 of these units. Each of them have started leaking after about 3-4 months from the indicator window. I take them back to Wal-Mart and get another one only to have the same exact thing happen again. (I bought a box of expensive filters when I bought my original unit and have been trying to use them up before I switch to another brand.) I thought PUR was a sure thing... guess I was wrong. I will be switching to another brand as soon as this last filter is gone!!! 03/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great sprinkler What a piece of junk. I have had two and both have leaked like a sprinkler after a couple of months. On the second one the plastic collar disincarnated and fell down into the garbage disposal. If you buy one expect to buy a replacement soon after. 06/01/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by PUR 3-Stage Faucet Vertical Mount filter I received the wrong model # FM-3700-B instead of # FM-3700, which had to be returned because it did not fit my faucet (I have a regular faucet). Very disappointed!!! AND the correct model was no longer online !!! 02/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by leaks Filter works great for three months and then they leak ! 06/07/2010
1-30 of 104 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew177
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp