Bright Starts - 5-in-1 Baby's PlayPlace

85 reviews ratings
Q&A
Walmart #: 002680186
Bright Starts - 5-in-1 Baby's PlayPlace
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

A cheerful play space that adapts to your growing baby's needs and provides endless ways to play! The oversized quilted play mat quickly folds to create an engaging environment with soft, sturdy side walls. The walls easily reconfigure to customize the play experience for a variety of developmental phases - from newborn and tummy time to crawling and sitting. Featuring colorful, high contrast patterns and a whimsical garden theme, the Bright Starts Baby's PlayPlace comes with seven developmental toys and grows along with your blossoming baby.

About this item

A cheerful play space that adapts to your growing baby's needs and provides endless ways to play! The oversized quilted play mat quickly folds to create an engaging environment with soft, sturdy side walls. The walls easily reconfigure to customize the play experience for a variety of developmental phases - from newborn and tummy time to crawling and sitting. Featuring colorful, high contrast patterns and a whimsical garden theme, the Bright Starts Baby's PlayPlace comes with seven developmental toys and grows along with your blossoming baby.

  • Unique 8.5" walls easily reconfigure to customize play experience throughout multiple developmental phases
  • Quilted play mat measures: 46" x 38"
  • Newborn: Three walls up with an open mat end provides easy access for diaper changes. Electronic toy stimulates baby with parent-activated melodies
  • Active Discovery: Four walls up keeps baby focused on the fun as they begin to grasp, kick and roll
  • Tummy time: Three walls up provides 270 degrees of panoramic stimulation during tummy time. Two tactile mat activities and 10 toy loops allow mom to customize the play experience
  • Crawling: Two walls up with toy bars farther apart converts it to a long, soft tunnel for babies to go through
  • Active play: Removing bars expands it to an extra large mat where baby can actively play
  • Toy bars attach in a variety of ways and enable toys to adjust to baby's reach
  • Soft sturdy walls provide a barrier to pets and siblings
  • Play mat wipes clean and is machine washable
  • Slim-folding design is ideal for storage
  • Electronic Bee Toy features: 25 minutes of continuous or baby-activated play, eight long-play melodies and nature sounds, two levels of volume control, attaches to carriers for on-the-go fun
  • Ring rattle is easy for baby to grasp
  • Plush caterpillar develops fine motor skills
  • Extra large mirror promotes self discovery
  • Water-filled bee teether soothes baby's gums
  • Two large bug links attach or can be played with separately
  • Includes eight Fun Links for adding additional Bright Starts toys
  • Requires 2 "AA" batteries, not included
  • Recipient of Dr. Toy's 100 Best Children's Products Award 2007
  • Voted one of the Best Toys of The Year by Parents Magazine
  • One of Parenting Magazine's Top Toys for 2007

Specifications

Age: Birth - 12 Months
Age Start: 6 Months
Age End: and up
Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
Primary Color: Multi-Color
Multi Pack Indicator: Yes
Model No.: 8505-3
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 7.7
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 31.5 x 24.0 x 20.0
Assembled in Country of Origin: USA or Imported
Origin of Components: USA or Imported
Walmart No.: 2680186
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-5 of 67 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

I wasn't impressed
2/25/2009

Customer review by CraftyMommy

2.0 stars 2/25/2009 by CraftyMommy
by CraftyMommy

I researched playmats for hours trying to decide what to get for my newborn son. I'd had a pretty basic one for my daughter and wanted something snazzier for him. I kept coming back to this playmat although I was hesitant about it due to the price. Ultimately I was swayed by the rave reviews this playmat has on multiple sites. I loved that it was versatile and could grow with him. I was excited to get it and opened it up as soon as we got it home. To say that I was disappointed with it would be an understatement. The plastic walls that are put into the mat did not fit as snugly inside as I would have liked. It made lining up the Velcro impossible. The fabric in the mat is soft, colorful and I liked the crinkly leaves and flowers. But I wasn’t a fan of how fluffy the mat was. I worried that when my son was doing tummy time the fabric would come up over his face…especially when all 4 walls were up. The picture online makes it seem like the fabric is stitched taut, but it’s not. The toys were cute; boring, but cute. I liked how there were loops all over to add more links and toys. I didn’t like that when all 4 walls weren’t up that the Velcro was exposed to the carpet floor. I hate picking lint and such out of Velcro. Even with all of that, I would have probably kept the mat. I have been nit-picking the product but for the price my expectations are high. The deal breaker for me was that it does not easily fold up for storage. My daughter’s old mat would fold up in seconds and didn’t take up a lot of space. This one is HUGE and with 2 children, space is limited. The playmat does come with a bag that is used for storage, but you have to remove the walls, take down the toy bars and carefully fold it up. That’s too time consuming for me. The playmat will be returned this weekend.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraftyMommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Didn't meet expectations at all.
10/15/2008

Customer review by BabyMomma0515

1.0 stars 10/15/2008 by BabyMomma0515
by BabyMomma0515

This toy may work for some, but when in it, my daughter is uninterested, and cries more. The toys are not captivating at all to her. We just recently switched to the Rainforest play mat (the one with the giraffe on one side.) She loves it, she's playing and scooting. She is MUCH more engaged than before. One big difference between the two, is the 5 in 1 has a very poor quality mirror, she cant see her self in, she loves looking into the mirror on the rainforest play mat, because she gets to see herself. If you are going to spend the money, spend it on one that will engage your child, not one that will only collect dust.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyMomma0515
Harrisonburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Nice
9/25/2007

Customer review by KutePxnkstar

5.0 stars 9/25/2007 by KutePxnkstar
by KutePxnkstar

It is one of the nicer play gyms out there and it has a lot of features and grows with your child, my daughter loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KutePxnkstar
Garfield Hts, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keep them entertained!
12/26/2007

Customer review by ShoppingPapa

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by ShoppingPapa
by ShoppingPapa

I purchased this item for our 4 month old grandson. He loved it! Played for several hours throughout the day on Christmas. Loved the mirror, (of course), as well as the other hanging toys.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppingPapa
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great activity for my baby!
8/6/2008

Customer review by Kimber563

5.0 stars 8/6/2008 by Kimber563
by Kimber563

My 3 month old girl LOVES this gym. The colors are bright, the toys hanging from the bars hold her attention for a long time. The padding is great for hardwood floors (although I put a blanket underneath just to make it even more plush). I recommend to any new mom, so you can get things done while she/he plays.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimber563
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-5 of 67 total reviews See all
1-5 of 67 reviews

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 2 questions
1-2 of 2 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-2 of 2 questions See all

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty: 15 days See details

Supplier Warranty: 1. Kids II products are durable, quality-crafted items which, given reasonable care and used as described on their packages, will provide the purchaser with trouble-free performance during the normal term of usage. 2. Should any Kids II product purchased at retail be found by the consumer to contain defects in workmanship or material, the items may be returned to the store where purchased for replacement or refund. The retailer may return the item accompanied by a brief description of the defect, postage prepaid to Kids II, Inc. for replacement or credit. 3. Defective products should be returned for replacement or refund no later than fifteen (15) days after the date of purchase. 4. Damages due to normal wear and tear, and damages due to failure to follow instructions provided with each retail unit are specifically excluded from warranty.
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list