Haier Chest Freezer

Q&A
By: Haier
Walmart #: 001579728
Haier Chest Freezer
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Check out these related products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Invest in the Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest that can hold approximately 175 lbs of frozen food. This utilitarian Haier 5 Cu Ft freezer chest helps you stack up on frozen food items so that you can prepare your favorite dishes for holidays or for parties with ease. It has a removable basket that helps you to arrange the food items variety wise. It also has an adjustable thermostat control and manual defrost that helps to regulate the temperature. Cleaning up is easy as the freezer has an easy-access defrost drain. You can easily fit in this small freezer chest even into the tightest of spots as it has a space-saving flat back design. This Haier Chest freezer is simple to operate, reliable and a great addition to every home.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Invest in the Haier 5.0 cu. ft. Deep Freezer Chest that can hold approximately 175 lbs of frozen food. This utilitarian Haier 5 Cu Ft freezer chest helps you stack up on frozen food items so that you can prepare your favorite dishes for holidays or for parties with ease. It has a removable basket that helps you to arrange the food items variety wise. It also has an adjustable thermostat control and manual defrost that helps to regulate the temperature. Cleaning up is easy as the freezer has an easy-access defrost drain. You can easily fit in this small freezer chest even into the tightest of spots as it has a space-saving flat back design. This Haier Chest freezer is simple to operate, reliable and a great addition to every home.

HER1214
Features

  • Adjustable thermostat to change the internal temperature
  • Flat back design and recessed door handle to fit your space
  • Ideal to stock up on meat, cheese, fish, and other perishable items
  • Defrost using the easy access drain to remove melted ice
  • Product Type: Chest Freezer
  • Finish: White
  • Defrost Type: Manual
  • Capacity: 5 Cubic Feet
  • Locking: Yes
  • Number of Items Included: 1

  • Generic Specifications
  • Annual Energy Usage 240KW / Year
  • Electrical Requirements 115V/60HZ

  • Dimensions
  • Overall Height - Top to Bottom: 33.21 Inches
  • Overall Width - Side to Side: 28.34 Inches
  • Overall Depth - Front to Back: 22.03 Inches
  • Overall Product Weight: 77.2 Pounds
  • Specifications

    Volts: 120 V AC
    Color: Silver ,  White
    Recommended Use: Residential
    Capacity: 4.9 - 5.8 Cu. Ft.
    Material: Metal
    Manufacturer Part Number: HCM050EC
    Cooling System: Manual Defrost
    Primary Shelf ID: 90791
    Model: HER1214
    Brand: Haier
    Features: Locking
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 22.03 x 28.34 x 33.22 Inches
    Show

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    90%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    48
    4 stars
    22
    3 stars
    5
    2 stars
    3
    1 stars
    4
    1-10 of 68 total reviews
    90%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    13 years....
    8/27/2011

    Customer review by SugahMagnolia

    5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by SugahMagnolia
    by SugahMagnolia

    Yes, that is correct! This wonderful freezer finally gave out on me yesterday after 13 long years. This was one of the best investments made. It is tough & sturdy (my now teenage daughter would constantly slam the door when she was little and it never once damaged it), reliable and excellent cooling. It fit nicely in our attached pantry and was whisper quiet. Even though it was considered a "compact" freezer, it held a great amount of food (I buy meats, veggies, and other frozen items in bulk at Sam's on a weekly basis). I know right off hand, I have had 2 - 11 lb bags of boneless chicken breasts; 16 ct. box Boca veggie burgers; 3 - 1/2 gallon containers of ice cream; 2 loafs of bread; 6+ frozen kid meals and several bags of frozen fruits and vegetables. That is right off the top of my head. I also like the ease of cleaning. Due to its size, it was a breeze to fully clean without asking my hubby to help. For the money, it is definitely a best buy!

    Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    SugahMagnolia
    Augusta, GA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Great for a small space
    7/13/2010

    Customer review by DigiCameraLover

    5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by DigiCameraLover
    by DigiCameraLover

    After getting a Sams Club card I quickly learned I needed more space, so I purchased this back in 2004 or so. It fits into a little nook in my dining room between the wall and my table. I installed a cabinet light on a shelf that is above it to shine into the freezer since it can be hard to see what is at the bottom of the freezer. 5 cubic feet sounds small, but you can fit a LOT of stuff in this freezer - I can fit three gallons of milk on the shelf (but I wouldn't recommend it because since they expand when they freeze, you won't be able to get them out!). I have 8 packages of bacon, 4 packages of hot dogs and about a dozen packages of Kraft singles in the basket alone! It can be kind of hard to organize since it is basically a big ol box, but you learn what you can put where. I can stuff this thing super full and have never had an issue with loss of freezing. It is the best $200 you can spend if you are a bulk-shopper, couponer, or just someone who buys a lot of meat (or ice cream!) Do yourself a favor and also invest in a Food Saver (or similar). You can keep stuff in the freezer forever!

    Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    DigiCameraLover
    Gainesville, FL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    We'llseeinayear
    6/11/2010

    Customer review by USAFMSGT

    5.0 stars 6/11/2010 by USAFMSGT
    by USAFMSGT

    I only had this for a month. Ask me again this time next year to see if my opinion has changed. Make sure you read the directions BEFORE plugging this in. The store put it in my truck for me but there are no "arrows" to say "This side up". They layed it on it's side, the directions say that if it was not upright for any period of time then don't plug it in for 24 hours. This is so the "freon" can settle in the condenser. It works great, so far. Also, the instructions say to put a layer of Vaseline on the seal. I did this to my fridge as well and it really makes a great seal.

    Was this review helpful? (107) (15)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    USAFMSGT
    Alpena, MI
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Wonderful Product
    11/6/2007

    Customer review by Qbreezy

    5.0 stars 11/6/2007 by Qbreezy
    by Qbreezy

    We received exactly the product that we expected and it works wonderfully. We have been able to stock up and buy bulk type of items to put in the freezer. The size of the freezer works excellent with the small space we had to put it in without taking away from the freezer space. The lid for the freezer also is nice in that we were able to put the freezer up to the wall and still use the freezer. We did have some surprises with shipping. Communication on when our freezer would arrive could have been better. We actually received the freezer before we expected it which was a nice surprise.This is an excellent freezer with great features. I would recommend this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? (69) (14)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Qbreezy
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    good freezer
    11/29/2009

    Customer review by cj000333

    5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by cj000333
    by cj000333

    Whisper Quiet!... when I first purchased it I thought it wasn't running! The freezer arrived damaged and had to be returned. CAUTION... save the box your freezer comes in, because you are responsible for boxing it up for return. you cannot return an item bought online to a physical walmart store. Walmart pays for the shipping, but good luck finding a freezer box.

    Was this review helpful? (63) (8)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    cj000333
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Great buy
    12/3/2010

    Customer review by echadrbox

    5.0 stars 12/3/2010 by echadrbox
    by echadrbox

    I ordered the freezer site to store and it was delivered earlier than promissed. I brought it home let it sit overnight, The next morning I plugged it in and everything works great. The freezer is actually real quiet, My kitchen fridge makes more noise than this freezer!

    Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    echadrbox
    Irvine, Kentucky
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    bad picture but good product
    6/7/2009

    Customer review by xman2099

    4.0 stars 6/7/2009 by xman2099
    by xman2099

    I ordered this product on line, the picture made it seem smaller. this is almost the size of a full size and I like it as it fits where I wanted it.

    Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    xman2099
    sidney, nebraska
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    This is a wonderful freezer
    4/18/2011

    Customer review by Krissy82

    5.0 stars 4/18/2011 by Krissy82
    by Krissy82

    I buy lots of frozen veggies because fresh is too expensive and canned has all that added sodium and preservatives. So I got this because I needed extra space. After upacking it I let it sit for 24 hours then plugged it in and you could hear the motor kick in right away. My model doesn't have a power on indicator light for some reason so I check on it every so often to make sure it's still running because it's VERY, VERY quiet. Only reason I didn't give it a rating for durabilty is because I've only had it for just a little over 2 weeks at the time of this review so I can't speak on it's durability yet. And it only gets a 4 for features because unfortunately it's a manual defrost but I can live with that.

    Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Krissy82
    Dahlgren, VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    THIS ROCKS!!
    10/8/2008

    Customer review by 314sp

    5.0 stars 10/8/2008 by 314sp
    by 314sp

    i bought one of these over a yearago and had a house fire six months ago. it was one of the few appliances that still worked and i had had no problems out of it ever. I was skkptical at first because it was so inexpensive. WELL WORTH MONEY!!! we keep it stocked up and i have never had to defrost it

    Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    314sp
    missouri
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    just what i needed
    8/12/2007

    Customer review by mommyof5

    5.0 stars 8/12/2007 by mommyof5
    by mommyof5

    i am a mother of 5 4 boys and 1 girl with dad and me that makes 7 i was looking for something compact and big enough so i could stock up for the month and it did just that with the freezer and my freezer on top of my fridge i can make one trip to the store and stock up for the month thanks i love u walmart

    Was this review helpful? (54) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    mommyof5
    galesburg il
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:7 - 8 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    1-10 of 68 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 68 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 40 questions
    1-3 of 40 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    1-3 of 40 questions See all
    1-3 of 40 questions
    Consider these popular products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  See item description for warranty information See details

    Warranty Information: See item description for warranty information
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.