See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 390 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Floormate!! I have owned my floor mate for 3 years now. we built our own house but hired out the dry wall, and the dry wallers did not clean up after themselves, and so when we laid the laminated wood floor, we tracked the dry wall dust everywhere. once we moved in, i tried everything to get rid of the dry wall dust, and i mean everything!! and nothing worked and i was so frustrated. i had seen the floor mate commercials and had seen it in the store but didnt want to spend that kind of money on something that i wasnt sure would work. luckly, i found out my friend had one, and so she let me borrow hers, and i fell in love with it!! i went out the next day to walmart and bought me one! it got rid of that dry wall dust for good! i love using it specially when i am expecting company. it is time consuming, and you really need to tear it completly apart after each use and rinse off all the parts or else it might start to smell. and you cannot rush it or else you will have streaks! but as long as you take your time, it cleans my floors to a perfect shine. other than that i love it! also i have used cleaning agents, both the ones that came with it, and others, and i found that it does just as good of a job with just plain water, and i have really hard water, so that is very impressive. although i had a kid get a bloody nose, and of course i took care of the kid first and then went to clean the blood, so the blood was really dried, i did have to use just a tiny amount of floor cleaner to help it, but other than that i only use regular hard tap water and it cleans my tile and laminated wood floors to a shine, and you can wipe a clean damp white cloth against it, and it will come back spottless! i wouldnt recommend this for everyday use on a large hard floor, i use a regular mop for that, but i use it when i really need the floor spottless and clean, but it is just really time consuming to use every day on 3400sqft of hard floor, it takes me about 2 hours to do. but nothing compares to how clean it gets it! 09/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I bought this today and being a dog breeder if I say this product works great then it works great. With dogs there is nothing dirtier then the floor. My floors have not been this clean since before the dogs came. I really am truly happy with this product. It was also easy to assemble. I had it put together in less then 5 minutes. 08/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by customer service issues! I clean houses for a living. We do vacation rentals at the beach. There are a lot of hardwood and tile floors to clean. We use this model since its easier than getting on your hands and knees in every house. This product will only last about a year. After that they will tell you that it would be cheaper to buy another one than to go to their "official repair shops" and have it fixed. I found that my scrubbers on the bottom stopped working on not only mine but all the (about 5) ones we used for my employer. I am still looking for a good floor cleaner that the manufactor will stand behind and will last. I think that if something costs over $100 it should not have to be replaced every year - especially when it only has a one year warranty! This is something that the manufactor is aware of and havent fixed! 06/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love This Product This is my second purchase of the Hoover Floor Mate Hard Floor Cleaner. The only reason I had to purchase a second one is because my son loved my first one so much that I gave it to him so I had to purchase another one for myself. This product is 100 times better than any mop. There is no back breaking work involved. Just hold the trigger to release fresh clean water onto your floors then when you are done with the area just turn the knob to suck the dirty water up into another holding tank. My floors are shiny clean and dry when I am finished without breaking a sweat or getting on my knees. 05/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and effective I thought it was impossible to have white tile with 4 dogs in the house but the Hoover FloorMate proved me wrong. It cleans the tile easily and with little effort. 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! This Hoover FloorMate is so easy to use. It vacuums beautifully (I live in Florida and I have 4 dogs in the house and it grabs ALL of the hair and sand), scrubs perfectly and dries in 2 minutes. The only changes I would make would be to make the clean water tank and dirty water tank a little bigger. I will never be without one again. I am totally spoiled now. :-) 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than I expected I bought this to clean the 12" tiles in our kitchen and main living area. We normally clean this area with a bucket and sponge mop or a disposable pad type mop. We had given the floor a good cleaning a few days before, which was what convinced us that we needed to find an easier way to do the job. The machine went together within a minute out of the box. I mixed a batch of solution with hot water and went to work. It works faster and is easier than I anticipated. A single batch of solution was plenty for our kitchen, which is a little over 100 square feet. The "dry" setting works very well, leaving the floor much drier than even a well-aqueezed sponge mop. Despite the cleaning the floor had received earler, the water in the collection tank was NASTY which is an indication of how much filth was being left behind. I wish the scrubbing action was a little more powerful to really get into the grout, but that's probably only possible with a big commercial floor scrubber. We plan on using the floor mate about once a month. It's quick enough that we'll do one pass with cleaning solution followed by a pass with clear water to get every last bit of dirt up. 06/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful machine After 10+ years my Floormate finally died. We live on a small ranch (lots of dirt) and I used it all the time and never once did I have a problem with it. I used it on pergo floors, tile floors, hardwood floors and linoleum (sp) and it did a great job. Grant it after 10+ years the past few months it was on it's last legs but still did a decent job. Thank you and good bye my friend! I just purchased a new one today on line. ;) 04/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for house with hard floors I bought the first-ever Floor-mate, and love how you are not using dirty water to clean. This is now my third Floor-mate--each lasted 5 years. This new model has a smaller head width. I think this probably slightly increases the cleaning time, but I like that it fits into tighter-spaces now. Hoover seems to have fixed the problem with the float in the uptake container, and there are a few more things that they did to make it easier to use. I cannot live without a Floor-mate. 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This floor cleaning machine is well worth the money . It is very easy to fill and clean and it does a wonderful job .We have a shop and get a lot of foot traffic and it cleans excellent. The last one we used for years and when it quit we replaced it with another. 03/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Home use hardsurface floor scrubber/cleaner Decent, not great. You will have to go over dirtier areas several times before you can get deep dirt and grim out...well most of it out. The detergent/cleaner dispenser needs to be larger, but is acceptable. Not only does this scrub it has a vaccum feature that pulls the liquid cleanser and dirt into a container for storage till you dispose of it. Both dispensers are easy to use and go in and out easily. The biggest issue that I have is the scrub brushes need to have more downward pressure on them to perform their intended use more efficiently and quickly. Of course that would add weight to the unit as a whole, in turn generating complaints from people that the unit is too heavy and cumbersome....no win either way. Generally speaking for a home use hardsurface cleaner - Good to better than Good. For large or involved projects...hire a floor cleaning service then use this unit for the regular cleaning....that if you did in the first place you would not need this unit...just like me. 03/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, love, love the hoover floormate spin scrub hard floor cleaner! Used it for the first time today. Very easy to use, lightweight. Threw out my mop, wet jet and Shark steam mop. My laminant floor had a film that I could not get off, the hoover floormate worked awesome, my floor looks as good as the day they were installed. 02/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the floormate. It is so much easier and better than mopping. It gets the floors clean. I would definitely rather use this every week than mop the floors by hand. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wish that you didn't have to go so slow, but it will get the floor clean. It would be nice if there was a machine that had a larger clean water tank, and dirty water tank. Also I think the filter will need to be replaced often. 01/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes Chores Easy I have two labs, a husband and 1100 square feet of tile floors. I have had this floor cleaner for over 6 months and use it at least a couple times a week. So far it has been durable for me. Forget about buying any kind of special floor cleaner to go in it, I use Pine Sol or Mr. Clean liquid cleaners and they work just fine and leave your house smelling fresh. This unit is not meant to replace the vacuum. I usually run the regular vacuum first and then run the FloorMate and it always scrubs and dries the floors clean so I am not sure where people are coming from saying that the brush needs to be stiffer. The vaccum feature is not meant to be a replacement to your regular vacuum. It does, however, fit under the edge of my kitchen cabinets where my regular vacuum cannot. The unit is also easy to clean and replacement parts are available from Hoover should the need arise. I would recommend the FloorMate to anyone. 12/30/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have been using this cleaner ever since they came out with the first one. The problem is I'm on my tenth one. I only use it once a week at my home but the plastic on the bottom breaks off as soon as the warranty is up. It's great for the first year but plan on buying another one after the year is up. PGA 11/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I have owned a Floormate for approximately 2 years. I not only use it at home, but it doubles as a cleaner for our rental property. While I admit that I do not use the "vacuum part", on a routine basis, it does an excellent job of washing/scrubbing and drying our hardwood, laminate and tile floors. 09/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Performance!! I can't believe I waited so long to purchase this machine. It actually does what it claims it will. That's something that doesn't happen much anymore. I do use a broom first, and vacuum around the edges of the room with my regular vac, but still spend less than half the time I used to spend scrubbing my tile kitchen floor. The scent of the cleaning solution is so fresh, and the floor is sparkling! 09/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Learn to love cleaning your floors! At my niece's recommendation, I purchased the Hoover FloorMate cleaner. I have been having difficulty getting my tiled kitchen floors really clean, and knew that steam cleaning would do the trick for me. My niece already has a Hoover and has raved about it, so I decided to try one for myself. It is the most awesome cleaner I've ever had....simple to put together, easy to use and incredibly effective on tile, wood, linoleum. I ordered from WalMart and received it in two days. It's a wonderful machine and you certainly get what you pay for. I totally give the FloorMate a 5-star rating. 08/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works GREAT I had one of these years ago and it did not last.. Decided to buy a new one.. and much improved. I have all laminate in my house as I have 6 dogs. This works great picking up the dog hair and then cleaning my floors. I wish the chambers could be bigger so I didnt have to refill and empty as often. But overall this is a very good machine. Makes my life so much easier... 06/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by INSPIRING! Wanted this for my B-Day (weird I know). Got it home, took 5 minutes to put all the pieces together. Started using it immediately and loved it. My hardwood floors were pretty neglected before. Three dogs, two cats and teenagers, my floors have LAYERS of dirt. This gets rid of all the layers, cleaning solution smells good, floors shine, very easy! Buy this and you won't regret it!! 03/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a keeper! I absolutely love this floor vac. i have ceramic tile floors on one level of my home and regular mopping could take me approximately an hour. Then I had to make sure no one walked on the floor until it dried. The mop water was dirty and gross but then I was trying to get the floors clean with the same dirty water..DAH! Doesn't make sense. With the floor mate, I can vacuum and wash the floors without switching appliances. I have to be honest in saying that the vacuum doesn't get in the "nooks and cranies" forcing me to use a traditional broom. But to know dirty water is not recycled is FABULOUS. And the floor dries super quick. i loved this so much, I bought my Mom one for Christmas. This product is a Keeper! 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by don't have to flop a mop anymore I especially like the fact that it sucks up the dirty water from the hardwood floor joints. 01/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value Everything was great except that the box appeared to have been handled roughly. Fast shipping, fair price and nice product. 12/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! The Hoover Floormate comes in very handy when you have mostly hardwood floors and tile in your house and 2 dogs (one for which is a puppy), a cat, and a child! I will say it takes longer to clean all of the floors with the Floormate compared to a mop and bucket, but it is so worth it when you see how much dirt it picks up off your floors and you realize that when using a mop and bucket all you are doing is pushing that dirt around! I would have to say our floors are literally cleaner than they have ever been. Also, the Floormate works great when it comes to spills or puppy accidents...It cleans them up pretty quickly and leaves no evidence of the incident behind. 08/07/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great on bamboo floors I purchased this floor cleaner on the recommendation of my adult daughter. I used it on my bamboo floors which I have in my kitchen and living room. The water is extracted easily and leaves the floor clean and dry. 07/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I have his this product in the past... flat wore it out. The new version is every bit as good if not better. I have been using the Shark Steam mop and was satisfied with it... till the first time I used the new Hoover Floor Mate.. the water was unbelievably dirty! The brushes scrub the floor then the vacuum picks up the dirty water. The water solution tank holds an adequate amount, even tho you do have to replace the cleaning solution often, you can't expect more out of a lightweight, yet very easy to use bare floor cleaning product. Very easy to assemble, not much requried there...The cord has ample length to it, very happy with that also. I would highly recommend this product and after searching all over the internet and where I live, Walmart.com by far has the best price. I opted to the home delivery for .99 and got it it 4 days, very prompt service. 04/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I was very excited to get this product, based on other reviews that I have read. However, when I used the Floormate, I had to go over obvious dirty spots over and over again. After further examination, the scrubbing brushes (which is why I purchased this product) didn't even touch the floor. The only part that was touching the floor was the squeegy. I returned it. It was too expensive to keep and not do the job I expected it to do. :( 11/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by leaves floor shinny and spotfree After moving in our home with the real wood floors, we started using this machine and were amazed at the results. It is so much easier than moping and it removes all the marks and leaves the floor really shinny. We use murphys oil soap mixed according to the suggestions on the soap bottle for the cleaner solution. The floors come out perfect and the house smells so very clean. I would highly recommend this machine for real wood floors! 10/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Back saver This floormate is wonderful.. I have had three back surgeries and this is so much easier on my back than a regular mop. I also thought I was doing a good job cleaning with a mop until I was the water that was coming out of the tank..yuk 10/12/2009
31-60 of 348 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew157
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp