See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well worth it! I've recently gotten hooked on the McDonalds mocha's, so I thought I would try my hand with this to save $$$. I'm still trying to get the hang of it but it's getting better, but overall it's going well. I can add as much chocolate syrup as I want. Walmart had the best price and I will have my return on investment within 10 cups and I've had 1 a day for the past 3 days. Definitely a good starter machine. I gave it a 4 star for meets expectations and features because I had a hard time finding the right cup to froth the milk in - which I still don't think is quite right. It would be nice if the milk pitcher would come with it, but that would probably hike the price up, so it's understandable that it wasn't included. 01/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT!!! Got this as a gift for x-mas and I love this product! Everything works as it should with no problems! Would highly recommend! It is very simple to use and it makes yummy lattes. 01/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made a great gift! I cannot review this product from personal knowledge, but I did get it for my husband as a Christmas gift and he LOVES it!! Has not had any complaints, or problems, and drinks fresh made espressos all the time now. 01/03/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little espresso maker! I just picked this up the other day,because of all the great reviews and price! Works great,for the price you cant beat it. 12/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cup of coffee Christmas present for my husband and he loves it. 12/27/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only complaints are that it needs a longer frothing nozzle. Longer and farther away from the coffee maker. I pre-warm the milk in the microwave before frothing. 12/23/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by good deal this is a very good price and the espresso maker works very good. 12/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still works after one year! I bought this machine for my brother last Christmas. He said it works fine and he uses it on average 3 times a day! I am only giving 4 stars on features, as I have not personally used it - so this is just a guess. 12/12/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by tasty coffee The expresso/ capuccino is great, easy to froth the milk, great value 12/07/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not reccomend - did not work This espresso maker did not work right out of the box - it would not steam! I returned it. Maybe I got a l lemon, but based on my experience I would not recommend it. I bought Krups instead and it works just fine. 11/30/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the Money Tips for use: Read the Directions! Buy espresso beans and grind yourself. The beans stay fresh longer and taste better when freshly ground. Buy a carafe or just use a tall mug to steam the milk. Microwave the milk if you don't want to wait for the steamer and aren't concerned with foam. Make sure you use the scoop or a flat bottomed item to lightly tamp the ground espresso. Do not over compress. Add a little milk or cream to the espresso pot after you add water the the resivoir to prevent bitterness. Don't just mix the milk and espresso 1/2 and 1/2, start with a small amount and add more to taste. Add your favorite flavor to conceal any remaining bitterness and enjoy. I'm a Barista at a local Tully's coffee shop. I normally make my own coffee at work, with an incredibly high quality espresso maker. I decided that I wanted a personal espresso maker to save money and to make espresso drinks during my days off. I didn't want to spend a huge amount of money for my first personal espresso maker so I looked around online and decided this model was the best option for my needs and price range. The direction are simple and easy to follow. I took other users advice and microwaved my milk to partly heat it. I finished the milk off with the steamer. I used my 16 ounce travel mug since I don't yet have a metal carafe. I'll have to try it later with cold milk to see if it will froth the milk well. After I had my milk ready, I made the 2 ounce amount of espresso. I ground my own espresso beans with a grinder I bought seperately. I used Sam's Choice Espresso Roast. It didnt take very long to brew and I dumped it into the milk as soon as it was done. The espresso was quite bitter, but next time I am going to add some of the warm milk to the glass pot to help preserve the crema and hopefully keep it from getting as bitter. It normally takes only 10 seconds for espresso to turn bitter so letting it sit in the little pot for a minute or so while it brewed was definitly a bad idea. i added some Swiss Miss cocoa powder for flavor and it hid the bitterness very well. I'll have to order a tamper, carafe, higher quality beans, and some of my favorite flavors from work later to really get the best effect. 11/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Value - Yes the steamer works I purchased this after much research, and some reluctance because it was only priced at $27.88. Surely, it can't be that good, right? Was I wrong. I would have been willing to pay closer to $55 for this, and you can buy 10 of them for the price of some high priced (yes high quality also) espresso makers. This does everything it is supposed to. Remember to follow the instructions exactly (i.e. you need water in the tank to make steam, the short cord is not that short if you unwind it from the base, etc.). Being able to wind the cord up under the appliance is a nice touch for hiding the cord. This works perfectly, and I would buy again and again. As for features, the only additional feature I would have liked is the ability to make the espresso stronger/weaker, but otherwise this is full featured. 11/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCT This product does everything that you would expect it to! No need for Expensive Starbucks Cappuccinos & Fraps, with this product, you now can do it yourself at home, for A LOT less! Easy to use and easy to care for! Fabulous product and makes a fabulous gift! 11/28/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad Just a couple of tips: 1. use a coarse coffee grind, or the water is not going to go through the filter after you pack it a little. 2. use light pressure only for packing it. 3. the glass carafe is very thin; be careful. 11/27/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 A great cup-o-jo Works just as well as the very expensive product it replaced. Looks great on the counter. The cord storage is a bit clunky. Very satisfied with the product. 11/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I use to work in a Starbucks style coffee shop and it makes wonderful cappuccinos, lattes, etc., as well as the store equipment. I just love it!!! Although, I use my steamer to clean my jewelry always use a tool to hold your pieces it gets very hot…lol. 11/21/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by you get what you pay for I've bought 2 of these in 6 months. The first one started falling apart within 2 weeks of purchase. The second lasted an entire 3 months before the handle on the caraf and coffee holder broke off. Very disappointed. 11/18/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 Good "try before you buy". This is the perfect espresso machine to purchase if you are not certain you will use one once you have it. It by no means will last you any time at all. But you will get you money's worth if you use it enough to upgrade. 11/18/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Value for the Price The machine works great and makes great cappucino. It took me 2 tries to realize that you need to have water in the reservoir in order to steam the milk. Once I figured that out, the machine worked like a charm. I didn't need to buy a frothing container as others said. I used a 22oz beer mug to steam the milk and that worked beautifully. I love being able to make caramel cappucino like starbucks. This product is 12 dollars cheaper here than at Target. 11/17/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by disapointed Mr coffee espresso machine only puts out lukewarm finished coffee. I emailed the Mr Coffee service and was told they would get back to me as soon as they can as they are overwhelmed with emails. Maybe from too many complaints? 11/14/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Home Cappucino Maker for the Price I believe this is my fourth or fifth home cappucino maker. I have had a Betty Crocker (about $40), two earlier Mr. Coffee cappucino makers and my latest attempt to find a longer lasting cappucino maker, a Krups, which cost $60. My experience has been that they all lasted about two to three years, except for one that my husband took out to his shop and worked on, which went for another a year or so! (Don't try that at home ... electricians only ... even then beware!) This cappucino maker is the best one for the price in my opinion. I do agree that the frothing spout should be made a little longer. I use a mug of a size that works for me. I'm not going to be trying any other brands but simply sticking with the Mr. Coffee cappucino maker until I've got lots more money. The next step up is about $100+ .... even then, I wonder if they would last longer? Maybe some day I'll find out. Until then, I'm happy. Thanks, Walmart! 11/14/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple but does job - can't beat price second mr coffee espresso maker. last one went nearly 5 years. used daily. more user friendly than previous machine but, not keen on styling. 11/10/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product at a great price! I originally bought this for the steamer. Despite some other reviews I have found the steamer to be more than adequate. Mine does heat the milk well enough and it makes more than enough foam. I did purchase a stainless steal steaming/frothing cup with is better than using a ceramic mug. It is perfect for my Chai Tea Lattes! I have only used the espresso making portion a couple of times and that has worked well also. So far, I think it is a great product! And, for $30! If you are looking for something that can whip up coffee beverages one after another then you should get something bigger and more expensive. This is great for one or two people. It does take some practice to get the right timing and technique down to make the perfect beverage. I do also wish that the steamer were longer and/or moveable. I love this little Mr. Coffee and recommend it to everyone! 11/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It!! I bought this a few years ago and used it on a daily basis. When my family and I lost our home due to an electrical fire, I went out and purchased the same one. I love it and if anything happens to this one I plan to buy it again!! 10/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased!!! I bought this espresso maker to save some cash from coffee shops, and I relied heavily upon these reviews. After using the machine for a couple of weeks, I am completely satisfied with this product. I have no complaints! I know many reviews have mentioned the fact that the frothing arm doesn't adjust. I haven't found this to be a problem. As long as you have a good pitcher to heat/froth the milk in, you should be fine! I absolutely recommend this machine to someone who wants to go the cheap route on espresso! 10/29/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 if it can break it will purchased this one year ago went to use it today and the on off knob come off in my hand 10/25/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice machine Overall good product. Same Hardware as its more expensive brothers. Different size of steam dispenser. Needs to be smaller to create more robust milk foam 10/23/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't be beat! I bought this unit after reading a whole lot of reviews. This little gem makes a great cup of espresso, or in my case a Latte'. My only very minor complaint would be for Mr. Coffee, to make the frothing wand about an inch longer. Unlike many people, I did read the instructions first, and ended up with a very nice frothy cup of latte' on my first try. I'm quite satisfied with this unit, and a great price as well... 10/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy for the price I bought this machine a few months ago and love it. It took a few tries to get the use of it down but now it only takes me about 5min to make a great latte. I agree with the other reviews that the frother could be longer, and I also heat my milk up (abt 30sec) before I froth. I didn't realize at first that you'll need to start frothing the coffee when it reaches the 1/4 mark rather than the halfway mark...otherwise this doesn't leave you with enough steam to froth. Overall a really great little machine. 10/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by cheap and fabulous Wow I was blown away by how simple and efficient this little appliance is. 10/01/2008
121-150 of 205 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw103
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp