These Days (4 Disc Box Set)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

These Days (4 Disc Box Set)

Release date: 10/17/2006

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $6.10 (20%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 4)

1. Listen All Prayed Up
2. Listen Cold Gray Light of Gone - Featuring The Del McCoury Band
3. Listen A River Like You - Featuring Jenny Gill
4. Listen Ace Up Your Pretty Sleeve
5. Listen Molly Brown
6. Listen Girl - Featuring Rebecca Lynn Howard
7. Listen Give Me the Highway - Featuring The Del McCoury Band
8. Listen Sweet Augusta Darlin'
9. Listen Little Brother
10. Listen Almost Home - Featuring Guy Clark

Disc 2 (of 4)

1. Listen Workin' on a Big Chill
2. Listen Love's Standin'
3. Listen Cowboy Up - Featuring Gretchen Wilson
4. Listen Sweet Thing
5. Listen Bet It All on You
6. Listen Nothin' for a Broken Heart - Featuring Rodney Crowell
7. Listen Son of a Ramblin' Man - Featuring Del McCoury
8. Listen Smilin' Song - Featuring Michael McDonald
9. Listen The Rhythm of the Pourin' Rain - Featuring Bekka Bramlett
10. Listen Nothin' Left to Say

Disc 3 (of 4)

1. Listen This New Heartache
2. Listen Only Love
3. Listen Out of My Mind - Featuring Patty Loveless
4. Listen Sight of Me Without You
5. Listen I Can't Let Go - Featuring Alison Krauss & Dan Tyminski
6. Listen Don't Pretend with Me
7. Listen Some Things Never Get Old - Featuring Emmylou Harris
8. Listen Sweet Little Corrina - Featuring Phil Everly
9. Listen If I Can Make Mississippi - Featuring Lee Ann Womack
10. Listen Take This Country Back - Featuring John Anderson

Disc 4 (of 4)

1. Listen What You Don't Say - Featuring LeAnn Rimes
2. Listen The Reason Why - Featuring Alison Krauss
3. Listen The Rock of Your Love - Featuring Bonnie Raitt
4. Listen What You Give Away - Featuring Sheryl Crow
5. Listen Faint of Heart - Featuring Diana Krall
6. Listen Time to Carry On - Featuring Jenny Gill
7. Listen No Easy Way
8. Listen This Memory of You - Featuring Trisha Yearwood
9. Listen How Lonely Looks
10. Listen Tell Me One More Time About Jesus - Featuring Amy Grant
11. Listen Everything and Nothing - Featuring Katrina Elam
12. Listen Which Way Will You Go
13. Listen These Days

About the Album

Vince Gill long ago cemented his place in the hallowed halls of country music history. Gill, a triple threat -- singer, songwriter, and musician -- has created a body of work rivaled by few artists in any genre. A new album from the Oklahoma native is like manna from heaven for his adoring fans.

With his latest release, These Days, Gill has written and recorded 43 new compositions and spread them out over four CDs. The first thought, of course, is that a set like this is going to be weighted down with filler. A valid concern: but one that is unfounded. Although some songs stand out more than others, none can be considered filler. Discs one and four offer the most diverse and effective material, but the middle two discs contain numerous gems as well.

Workin' On A Big Chill (The Rockin' Record), disc one, features Gill's trademark lead guitar licks and ace songwriting. Rollicking numbers like the bawdy "Cowboy Up" and the tongue-in-cheek "Nothin' For A Broken Heart" stand among the best compositions Gill has written in his lengthy career. Redneck Woman Gretchen Wilson joins Gill on the former, while onetime employer Rodney Crowell helps out on the latter. Both Wilson and Crowell shine, but it's Gill who steals the show.

The Reason Why (The Groovy Record), disc two, is the more laid-back of the four discs. Hearing Gill and jazz darling Diana Krall croon their way through the sweeping "Faint Of Heart" makes one long for a roaring fireplace and a glass of finely squeezed grapes. Krall nearly upstages Gill with her sultry purr. Gill's beautiful wife Amy Grant co-wrote and sings on the pretty piano spiritual, "Tell Me One More Time About Jesus." Grant and Gill are harmonious in life and in song. "What You Give Away" cuts to the bone with it's moral message.

Some Things Never Get Old (The Country & Western Record), disc three, finds Gill in a honky tonk state of consciousness. The shuffling "This New Heartache," with its steel guitar and twin fiddles, and the raucous "Take This Country Back," a duet with John Anderson, will have hardcore country fans salivating: on the latter, Gill and Anderson burn on pop posers masking as country artists. The mournful "The Sight Of Me Without You" is cut from the same traditional cloth as Lefty Frizzell's "I Never Go Around Mirrors." Gill's voice is bathed in sadness.

Disc four, Little Brother (The Acoustic Record), contains everything from folk to bluegrass. The Del McCoury band join Gill on the old-school grass number "Cold Gray Light Of Gone." Jangly acoustic guitars, fiddle, and flourishing mandolin licks swirl around Gill's high lonesome wail. McCoury and the boys are back for the rolling "Give Me The Highway." Robbie McCoury plucks out a cool groove on his banjo as Gill and papa McCoury tangle voices. Legendary songwriter Guy Clark guests on "Almost Home." The dusty tale stands out as box set highlight.

Gill has put together possibly one of the best collections to come out of Nashville in the last decade. This is the kind of music that wins Grammy Awards. Kudos go out to Universal Nashville head Luke Lewis for having the stones to let Gill release a project like this.

Artist: Vince Gill
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 4
Release Date:
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.74
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 1.41 x 4.25 x 5.25
UPC: 0060249888961

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5★ by 6reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5★ by MUST HAVE!!! If you even half way like Vince Gill you have to have this. It is great! Every song ( I do mean every song ) is good. This is an awesome collection of songs. He could have charged alot more for it. Go buy it now!!!! 01/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5★ by This Box Set of Vince Gill is really a great one. 12/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great music Great producy, received in very timely manner and overall very pleased. 10/13/2008
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms

These Days (4 Disc Box Set)
These Days (4 Disc Box Set) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)