Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Beginner Not thrilled - I am not an experienced seamstress, but thought I could learn to operate this machine by using the manual. But some of the machine parts are very tricky. The bobbin case fell out of the compartment as I removed the bobbin according to instructions. It is still not tightly in place. The needle broke during the first 3 seconds in which I used the machine. When I consulted the manual, it stated "loosen needle clamp", without telling you how to do so. It was so tight, I couldn't remove it. My boyfriend had to come over and turn the clamp so I could remove the broken needle. He didn't have an easy time of it, either. Have been a little too disgusted to try again so far. 04/22/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by not as described product description stated machine had drop-in bobbin, it doesn't. this was one of the primary reasons I purchased it. Machine works well but doesn't have the one feature I wanted. 04/18/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fairly simple. This is the first sewing machine I've ever bought. I grew up watching my mother use from manual to electric machines, so I got curious enough to buy my own. Never having sewn before, I was a little intimidated, but after reading the features, I decided to buy this machine, which turned out to be a great value for the buck. The one-step buttonhole is like magic and I recommend everyone to get familiar with the DVD and the manual before using it, to avoid the trouble I've read other people having. This is a great quality machine. 04/15/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by :( Disappointment I purchased for my 1 year old daughter. Just like most mentioned it jams up. I exchanged the first one and the second one worked for a while. I just spent $60 having it serviced... we'll see how long it works. I have an 25 yr old Singer that works perfect every time! Funny how plastic breaks and metal parts last. 04/11/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value I read ALL of the other reviews on this before I went out to purchase it and was unsure of how this would end up. I'm completely happy that I did buy this machine. I haven't sewn in at least 10 years, and could never thread a machine to save my life! After watching the DVD (the written directions are horrible), I had the machine threaded and was able to start sewing right away. The DVD also tells how to fix common problems, and gives you pointers on which stitches to use on different fabrics, and how to pick out needles. For a starter machine, I am very pleased that I went with this one and would absolutely recommend someone else to get it also. I'll be buying two more soon for my friend and for my mother. 04/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Machine I am very glad I purchased this machine, it is so simple and easy to use. Maybe that's why they named this model "Singer Simple." It is also helpful that it comes with an instructional DVD when you are getting started, especially if you are a first time sewer. The overall apperance it pleasing and there aren't to many buttons and controls all over the place. I use mine for mending and just little odd jobs and it always performs wonderfully. You can't beat the price when you compare the features this one has to other brands!! I would recomend this machine to begginers and intermediate sewers. 04/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful It replaces a 52 year old Singer. Should have bought a new one a long time ago. The features are terrific. 04/01/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this! I am a beginner when it comes to sewing. I had a few projects I wanted to do so I decided to buy my first machine. I looked at a couple places online and read all the reviews. I thought about spending more but I decided to keep it "simple" and go with this Singer....I am so glad I did! The dvd is wonderful, it literally taught me how to sew. I popped it into my computer and used the pause button so I could follow along on my machine. It was very specific and showed every step. Now all I have to do is practice my straight lines! I love all the features, nothing too fancy but just enough to accomplish everything I want to do and probably a little more. I am proud to have a Singer and I know it will last a long time!! Love it, love it! 03/08/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by It has great features I read all the bad reviews, but I bought it anyway and I'm glad I did. It has great features. I haven't mastered the automatic needle threader yet, but I will. It is very economical and it sews very smoothly. I am excited to own it. It is a great value. I like the turn dial for the stitch selection. It threads easily. It is truly a pleasure to use. 03/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised I read the bad reviews of this machine after I had already bought it, but before I had used it. I have finished 8 quilting squares and haven't had a single issue. The thread bunched on me one time, like others talked about, but I realized that my bobbin was threaded to turn counter-clockwise instead of clockwise. I watched the DVD, made sure everything was threaded exactly right, and haven't had any problems since. I am very happy with this machine!!! 03/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Beginner I bought this machine because I wanted to sew. I was VERY frusrated the first day because my thread kept breaking. When I fixed that problem by putting in different thread, the bobbin had to be adjusted because it was way too loose. After I fixed that problem, the tread kept getting jammed when I would try to pull the thread for the bobbin trough. I was about ready to take it back. I figured out how to get the bobbin thread through ( my error) and I haven't had any problems since. I have sewn SEVERAL!!! things since buying this machine and since the first day I haven't had a single problem. My nine year old niece spent a few nights with me and made a pillow herself. She had never sewn before. It is a VERY easy machine ONCE YOU figure it out. I had to break my machine in, and now it is wonderful and I LOVE IT!!!! 03/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by good beginner product Very good machine to learn on. There are lots of accessories available to buy. I love the fact that it's a self threading machine and has a variety of stitches to use plus the automatic button holer. 02/23/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by I bought this machine because i wanted to learn to sew i agree with the other person all it does is jam up i have tried all different ways and i cant get it to stop jamming 02/18/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Simple is Simply Awful The first few times I used it, I got great results. A few weeks went by before I used it again and this time, the material bunched, the bobbin freaked out, the needle wouldn't stay threaded and it got returned to WalMart. The online help sent a long explanation with things I'm possibly doing wrong. I tried all of that, plus the troubleshooting guide and it was fruitless. I probably won't get another Singer because of my level of frustration with the Simple, since it doesn't live up to its name. 02/18/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yes it looks good but I was very dissapointed with this machine. The one step button hole never did work and it would not stay threaded while sewing. I took it back and exchanged it for a different one. I wish I had read all the reviews before I purshed it, they are not good. The lady at the store said the usually didn't get these back, I don't know if it was a bad batch that was on line or what but if you want this machine I would suggest going to the store to buy it, maybe those were made better> I don't know. 02/17/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by not the best i bought this machine as a temp till i got my good one back. this machine i would like to throw it out a window. the thread breaks constantly and jams the whole thing up. you do get what you pay for and this is a very cheap machine. 02/14/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 Great for beginners I bought this machine for myself for Christmas and it sat in the box for over a month before I even got it out. I have never even turned on a sewing machine before and it looked overwhelming but once I got the basic gist of it, I love it!! It threads very easily and is very easy to use. I have only been sewing for 2 weeks but I have already done 2 pillows, 2 throw blankets, a pair of pajama bottoms and I have the fabric ready for 2 more pairs. The only complaint I have is that the thread kept coming out of the needle. I started leaving about 5 inches of thread behind the needle and the thread hasn't come out since. It's a waste I know, but worth it for less aggravation!! 02/13/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a bad machine If you are not used to sewing then this machine can be hard to use. The bobbin needed to be adjusted a few times prior to sewing but I managed to make two pillows. I hadn't sewn in five years and the last machine was one i got at 16. For simple sewing and starting it isn't bad. remember, the machine needs to be oiled and maintained especially if you use it a lot. 02/11/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by eh... i'm a first time sewer and thought this might be a good machine to use. overall it's good, but there are some things that is frustrating. The thread comes out of the needle and most of the time, the thread bunches up. It's an ok machine to learn on i guess. i would have preferred a better one. 02/07/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by IT STINKS!!! As a first time sewer I decided to buy this machine.seeing it was on Sale at Target for $99.00 I didn't want anything with any bells or whitsles ( I'll wait til I become a pro sewer) Seeing that it says SIMPLE SEWING MACHINE I wouldn't have any problems because I know how to read a manual and instructions booklets. Well long story short the thread kept bunching up needle kept getting stuck and when I took out the bobbin the metal pieces where the bobbin was to go, came out along with the bobbin. I decided this will be going back to Target tomorrow. I'm not about to play mechanic with this machine. I will be getting an even cheaper one that will be easier for a beginner like me to work on. Its a shame it's such a beautiful machine I just really thought it would be sturdy as it is beautiful.. Oh well :\ 01/27/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sewing machine Great value for a basic sewing machine. It does what I need. 01/18/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT WORTH THE HEADACHES!! My husband bought me this machine so I could learn how to sew. It has given me nothing but problems. Like others, my thread always comes out of the needle and goes up into the machine. My husband and I both tried to trouble shoot it as it says in the book. Nothing has work. We have changed the needle and I even tried using a higher end thread to sew. This machine is not worth a penny with all the headaches you will get with it. Especially if you are in the middle of making something and your machine is acting up. Nothing is more frustrating in the world. Finally, I bought myself a Pfaff and I couldn't be happier. 01/11/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by very difficult/bobbin thread is difficult I have a singer machine, thirty five yrs old. I wanted another singer for our winter home. This singer simple is not simple. I have had nothing but trouble trying to thread the bobbin and have not been able to use the machine. This experience has been enough to make me quit sewing. If I were just starting to sew, the machine wood be back on the Wal Mart shelf. It may end up there anyway. 01/08/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 First sewing machine Got this sewing machine as a gift from my parents for Christmas. I used it a few times already and love it! I plan on using it more on bigger projects! 01/04/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not recommend this product. Everytime I went to sew something the thread got caught almost immediately. I tryed re-threading it over and over and it still wouldn't work. I am definately returning this machine! 01/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine I got this sewing machine for Christmas and love it!!! After reading other reviews I can offer these solutions. If it tangles thread when sewing, check how it is threaded, correct threading fixes this. If thread breaks when sewing, change your needle. Sometimes even new needles can fray thread. I haven't had any problems other than these with mine and was easily corrected. This is great a sewing machine and I would highly recommend it!! 12/28/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible machine! I got this as an early Christmas gift from my husband. We watched the DVD that comes with the machine and went over the "cheat sheets". I cannot get this thing to thread properly. On the one occassion that the machine threaded, it locked up on the first stitch. My husband tried it on a different occassion and it locked up on him too. We are returning it this evening! 12/23/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic machine I got this about two years ago, thinking it would be a great starter sewing machine. It was, and I still have it and use it! It has all the features I need, whether I'm doing a simple or complex project. I would recommend this to anyone- especially at that price! 12/16/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and convenient This machine is very user friendly for anyone just beginning to sew. I just love it and all the features. I only wish that the instruction manual had been totally broken down in different languages by section. For each function there is an instruction page for each language. Just easier if its all together... 12/12/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, easy setup... great end result I haven't sewn since 8th grade Home Ec... and that was MANY years ago. However I needed to do some simple sewing and thought a simple machine would be best to try my hand at it again. I had the machine up and working within 30 min. of bringing it home from WalMart. The directions are very easy to follow and it basically threads itself. The end sewing results are great as well. Granted I'm doing just basic stitching and hemming, but it is very easy to handle and it gives very professional looking results. I would recommend this for anyone who hasn't touched a sewing machine in a while or is looking to learn. 12/10/2007
91-120 of 132 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew251
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp