The Legend (Box Set)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

The Legend (Box Set)

Rating By Muze: (what is this?)

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $20.10 (40%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 4)

1. Listen Keep On The Sunny Side
2. Listen Diamonds In The Rough
3. Listen (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley
4. Listen Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)
5. Another Man Done Gone - Johnny Cash & Anita Carter
6. Listen Pick The Wildwood Flower
7. Jackson
8. Listen If I Were A Carpenter
9. Listen Girl From The North Country
10. Listen One More Ride
11. Listen You Can't Beat Jesus Christ
12. Listen There Ain't No Good Chain Gang - Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings
13. Listen We Ought To Be Ashamed
14. Listen Crazy Old Soldier - Featuring Ray Charles
15. Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine
16. Listen Who's Gene Autry?
17. The Night Hank Williams Came To Town
18. Listen I Walk The Line (Revisted)
19. Listen Highwayman - Featuring Kris Kristofferson
20. Listen The Wanderer
21. Listen September When It Comes
22. Listen Tears In The Holston River
23. Listen Far Side Banks Of Jordan
24. Listen It Takes One To Know Me

Disc 2 (of 4)

1. Listen I Walk The Line
2. Listen There You Go
3. Listen Home Of The Blues
4. Listen Ballad Of A Teenage Queen
5. Listen Guess Things Happen That Way
6. Listen The Ways Of A Woman In Love
7. Don't Take Your Guns To Town
8. Listen Ring Of Fire
9. Listen The Matador
10. Listen Understand Your Man
11. Listen The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
12. Listen Orange Blossom Special
13. Listen The One On The Right Is On The Left
14. Listen Rosanna's Going Wild
15. Listen Folsom Prison Blues
16. Listen Daddy Sang Bass
17. A Boy Named Sue
18. Listen What Is Truth
19. Listen Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down
20. Listen Flesh And Blood
21. Listen Man In Black
22. Listen A Thing Called Love
23. Listen Kate
24. Listen Oney
25. Listen Any Old Wind That Blows
26. Listen One Piece At A Time
27. (Ghost) Riders In The Sky

Disc 3 (of 4)

1. Listen The Wreck Of The Old 97
2. Listen Rock Island Line
3. Listen Goodnight Irene
4. Listen Goodby, Little Darlin'
5. Listen Born To Lose
6. Listen Walking The Blues
7. Frankie's Man, Johnny
8. Listen Delia's Gone
9. Listen In The Jailhouse Now
10. Listen Waiting For A Train
11. Listen Casey Jones
12. Listen The Legend Of John Henry's Hammer
13. Listen I've Been Working On The Railroad
14. Listen Sweet Betsy From Pike
15. Listen The Streets Of Laredo
16. Listen Bury Me Not On The Lone Prairie
17. Down In The Valley
18. Listen Wabash Cannonball
19. Listen The Great Speckle Bird
20. Listen Wildwood Flower
21. Listen Cotton Fields
22. Listen Pick A Bale O' Cotton
23. Listen Old Shep
24. Listen I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
25. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
26. Listen Time Changes Everything

Disc 4 (of 4)

1. Listen Hey Porter
2. Listen Cry, Cry, Cry
3. Listen Luther Played The Boggie
4. Listen Get Rhythm
5. Listen Give My Love To Rose
6. Listen I Was There When It Happened
7. Big River
8. Listen I Still Miss Someone
9. Listen Pickin' Time
10. Listen The Man On The Hill
11. Listen Five Feet High And Rising
12. Listen Tennessee Flat-Top Box
13. Listen I Got Stripes
14. Listen Troublesome Waters
15. Listen The Long Black Veil
16. Listen Dark As A Dungeon
17. The Wall
18. Listen 25 Minutes To Go
19. Listen Cocaine Blues
20. Listen Doin' My Time
21. Listen I Will Rock And Roll WIth You
22. Listen Without Love
23. Listen The Big Light
24. Listen Highway Patrolman
25. Listen I'm Never Gonna Roam Again
26. Listen When I'm Gray
27. Forever Young

About the Album

Johnny Cash, more than any other singer/songwriter that has ever lived, deserves the tag legend. Cash, an original in a world of imitators, garnered respect from musicians of all stripes and had an influence on nearly every genre of music. The soul rattling baritone, the canyon deep stare, the dog sly grin, the wicked sense of humor, all these things made the 'Man in Black' a giant in Nashville and beyond. The Legend collects 104 of Cash's recordings on four CDs.

Whether he was cutting traditional folk songs ("The Wreck Of The Old 97," "The Streets Of Laredo") or numbers by Hank Williams and Bob Dylan ("I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry," "Forever Young"), Cash sounded like no other. Bruce Springsteen's "Highway Patrolman" becomes a haunting tale of regret and surrender when sifted through Cash's husky voice. Tracks like "Goodnight Irene" and the controversial "Cocaine Blues" may have come from the blues world, but Cash turned them into country songs. The latter track, recorded live at Folsom Prison in 1968, rings with the raw emotion of a man who knew all too well about addiction.

From the boom-chicka-boom of such Cash classics as "Big River" and "Cry, Cry, Cry," to witty hits "A Boy Named Sue" and "One Piece At Time," The Legend exposes all sides of the 'Man in Black.' The Christian side of Cash shows up on "Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)," performed here with the Carter Family, and "If I Were A Carpenter," a duet with wife June Carter Cash. The flesh side of Cash is present on the tormented "Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down" and "Folsom Prison Blues," on which Cash sings the famous line: "I shot a man in Reno just to watch him die."

Producer Gregg Geller searched through hundreds of tapes to come up with seven unreleased tracks, including the rollicking "Doin' My Time " and a dusty-throated version of "I've Been Working On The Railroad." Rodney Crowell's "I'm Never Gonna Roam Again" and Billy Joe Shaver's "You Can't Beat Jesus Christ" are standout cuts among the unreleased tracks. "Ring Of Fire," "Highwayman," "Man In Black," "I Still Miss Someone," along with later recordings "Tears In The Holston River" and "September When It Comes," are just a few highlights on a collection with far too many to mention.

The set includes a nicely designed booklet with dozens of photos, a lengthy essay from Patrick Carr and extensive song credits. The Legend is arguably the best Johnny Cash retrospective ever assembled.

By Todd Sterling

Artist: Johnny Cash
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 4
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.95
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.7 x 0.8 x 10.0
Walmart No.: 000847362
UPC: 0082796928022

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5★ by 3reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Johnny Cash CD's This was a gift for F-i-L and he loves it. He could not get over all the songs on the CD's and how long they each play. He is very pleased 06/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5★ by a great gift I bought this cd set for my boyfriend and was very pleased with it's content. It had everything I wanted from it. 01/21/2008
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

The Legend (Box Set)
The Legend (Box Set) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)