26" Kent,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Grey/Silver

Q&A
By: Kent
Walmart #: 551594797
26" Kent,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Grey/Silver
Loading options...
Care plan (optional):
Sold by Walmart.com

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

FREE pickup available

 

Pickup

Location
Buy online for pickup
  • Feature-packed bicycle built for two
  • Low step-over frame
  • 21-speed Shimano drive train
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    About this item

    Bike riding is twice as much fun on this bicycle built for two on the DualDrive Tandem Bicycle. The DualDrive Bicycle is packed with useful features, including a low step-over frame, a 21-speed Shimano drive train, alloy wheels and precision components for a smoother ride. The Kent tandem bicycle has an easy step-through frame for easy mounting and dismounting. Additional features of this DualDrive Bicycle include alloy brakes, custom center ridge, precision components and comfortable spring gel saddles. This durable DualDrive Tandem Bicycle has a total weight capacity of 400 lbs.
    Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your DualDrive Bicycle(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.

    About this item

    Bike riding is twice as much fun on this bicycle built for two on the DualDrive Tandem Bicycle. The DualDrive Bicycle is packed with useful features, including a low step-over frame, a 21-speed Shimano drive train, alloy wheels and precision components for a smoother ride. The Kent tandem bicycle has an easy step-through frame for easy mounting and dismounting. Additional features of this DualDrive Bicycle include alloy brakes, custom center ridge, precision components and comfortable spring gel saddles. This durable DualDrive Tandem Bicycle has a total weight capacity of 400 lbs.
    Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your DualDrive Bicycle(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.


    DualDrive Tandem Bike:

    • Riding style:Dual bike built for two
    • Double Bike Frame: Low step-through frame; made of steel
    • Gearing: 21-speed Shimano drive-train with Revo twist shifters
    • Brakes: Alloy brakes
    • Tires: Custom center ridge
    • Other DualDrive Tandem Bike Features:Precision components
    • Seat: Comfortable spring gel saddles
    • Total weight capacity: 400 lbs


    See our entire assortment of bikes and ride on toys at Walmart.com.

    Specifications

    Speeds: 21-Speed
    Bike Type: Tandem Bikes
    Brake Type: Alloy brakes, Rear U-brake
    Age Start: 15 Years
    Age End: and up
    Primary Color: Black
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: 22678
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 61.0
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 78.5 x 7.75 x 26.75
    Walmart No.: 551594797
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 337 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    337 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    337 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    95%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    182
    4 stars
    118
    3 stars
    22
    2 stars
    4
    1 stars
    11
    1-5 of 298 total reviews
    95%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Great Fun--Excellent Value
    3/18/2008

    Customer review by FishfulThinking

    5.0 stars 3/18/2008 by FishfulThinking
    by FishfulThinking

    From the time the Kent Tandem Bicycle was ordered and received Site to Store was seven days. It was easy to check on the progress of the order and when it was received at the store. The bicycle was packed very carefully and was in outstanding condition when received. Keep in mind that if you use the Site to Store option to save the delivery charge, you need a big vehical to transport it home. The box took up my 6 1/2 foot pick-up truck and weighed upwards of 65 pounds. I have been tinkering with bikes for a number of years. I found it very easy to assemble--common sense (directions were poor). A couple of places where someone who never worked on a bicycle may have trouble would include hooking-up and adjusting the front brake and cable to the left lever, the gears were badly out of adjustment (front and back) but were relatively easy to adjust, and the wheels had a slight wobble but were also easily adjusted with a spoke wrench. My wife and I will be using the bike on a really nice bike trail network on Cape Cod, MA. We have taken the bike on two wonderful rides. The bicycle looks and rides very well. I am amazed at the quality, how well it shifts, and the complete absence of frame flex. The two of us have little or no tandem riding experience. Prior to this bike, we have been riding some excellent quality Mongoose alloy comfort bikes. Within five minutes, we felt comfortable. I am a stronger rider than my wife; the tandem bicycle allows her to have a really nice riding experience without always trying to keep up. If you are going to ride the bike around the neighborhood, or on nice bike trails for trips of 10 to 15 miles it is great fun. If you are a serious rider, you will want something lighter in weight that has higher quality parts. It is perfect for what we want--much better than I thought. On the second ride, the rear tire blew. When I took it apart, I found that the tube had been pinched when it was put together. I replaced the tires with 1.75" Kevlar Tires (Bell) and bought flat-proof tubes that had SLIME in them. I highly recommend the tire and tube up-grade. The bike looks much better without the mega white walls. I bought the replacment tubes and tires at Wal Mart. The bike rolls much better and has more road feel with the new tires. The OEM 2 1/4 tires were very thin and didn't look like they could withstand a sharp pebble. A hint for a good relationship with your significant other. Buy them their own bell/horn, mirror and bike computer. Be safe and enjoy the ride.

    Was this review helpful? (246) (22)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    FishfulThinking
    Cape Cod, MA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per week
    Great Value
    12/28/2007

    Customer review by BrooklynRiders

    4.0 stars 12/28/2007 by BrooklynRiders
    by BrooklynRiders

    We Bought this bike over 2.5 years ago, primarily to take our kids to school. We also own a Schwinn Twin from about 1973 and use that as a school bus too. We have ridden the Kent about 10 miles a day 5 days a week for 2 and a half years, and it has held up remarkably well. After about 6 month both bottom bracket bearings showed considerable wear, and we had the bike shop replace them, Only after I picked the bike up did I learn that the bearings had plastic parts (thus the wear) and they had used the same style bearings as replacements. Of course in less than 6 months we has worn these out, so the next replacements were all steel (about $75 installed) and those are still going strong. I have redone the brakes twice, and replaced the crank to crank chain once (it stretched). I put quick releases on the seats so different riders could quickly adjust the seat height, this was a great addition, but the best modification we made was the tires, Got tired of a flat every month or so riding New York City's object laden streets, my terrific bike shop recommended thin Kevlar tires and what a difference! The ride is twice as fast once the balloon tires are gone, and not one flat in 18 months or so. For the price I think you have to expect some cheap parts, but on the whole this bike has been great fun and we have no regrets.

    Was this review helpful? (115) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    BrooklynRiders
    Brooklyn, NY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Great for children with disabilities
    5/31/2009

    Customer review by 5speed56Belair

    5.0 stars 5/31/2009 by 5speed56Belair
    by 5speed56Belair

    I pondered whether not to buy a three wheeled trike for my daughter with Down Syndrome or this Kent tandem bicycle. I decided to go with this bike because we would be able to keep up with the rest of the family when she would get tired. Once the bike was delievered to store and I brought it home and put it together, it has been a hit with my daughter and her sister and cousins. I wish I had bought it months ago. Only two complaints about the whole experience. The bicycle didn't come to store in the time the website said it would. The directions to put it together were not very good. For someone not familiar with mechanical things, it would be hard to put together. I have a lot of experience with bikes and cars so it wasn't hard to figure out. Overall, this is a great product for my situation.

    Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    5speed56Belair
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    Good first tandem
    9/5/2007

    Customer review by SnowBirds

    4.0 stars 9/5/2007 by SnowBirds
    by SnowBirds

    My wife and I bought this tandem in December 2005 for approximately the same amount we had spent on renting a single speed, coaster brake type, tandem our previous winter in Florida. Took the bike back to Nova Scotia and drove it 4400km (approximately 2600miles) during 2006. Wore out many of the components and had it repaired. Bike shop owner informs us that the bike frame alone was worth what we paid. We use it frequently on both “rails to trails” and roadways. We have met many Canadians who would buy one based on our experience, if it were available through Wal-Mart Canada. It is not a high quality, light bicycle; however, an excellent value as a trial tandem. We had it out for a 260km ride last weekend and have driven over 7000km with this bike to date.

    Was this review helpful? (66) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    SnowBirds
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    great for cruising the neighborhoods
    8/22/2007

    Customer review by NewKentOwner

    4.0 stars 8/22/2007 by NewKentOwner
    by NewKentOwner

    I ordered the Kent Tandem and it took about 5 days to arrive. I expected this to be a "BICYCLE KIT" and it met my expectations 100%. I removed every component from the frame one by one and inspected/lubed/re-assembled back on the frame and adjusted. The ONLY thing that had even a trace of grease on it was one of the bolts for the stoker handlebar clamp(Seriously). Every bearing was dry. The rear wheel was missing 5 balls on the gear side.I mic'ed the balls on all the bearings and all were within .0001 in. or less difference. Both tires had maybe 10 pounds of air in them. I let what little air out and pulled the tires to inspect the wheels and spokes. The spoke strip on the rear wheel was pushed over and not covering the spokes in two spots so there was a sure flat if I would have just put air in it without checking. The front tire was OK. The front wheel was within .080 in. of true both horizontal and vertical. The rear wheel was out approx .600 in. horizontal and .080 in. vertical. It wouldn't even roll without the tire hitting the frame. I trued both wheels to +/- .020 in.("close enough" for a bicycle) along with setting a little backlash on the spokes in the process. As with everything else on the bike, The brakes and both derailers weren't even close to being adjusted correctly. The return springs on the rear brakes were in different holes. When adjusting the derailers I noticed the rear derailer was bent. I called the toll free # for Kent customer service and told the lady the problem. With no questions asked, she took my name and address and said she would get another derailer in the mail that day and I didn't need to send the bad one back. A close look at the frame and no cracks,bends or dents were found. The welds are not as pretty as they could be but they didn't look bad at all and showed signs of good penetration at the weld edges. While waiting for the new derailer I peeled off about 10 pounds of stickers and installed some aftermarket fenders,a rear cargo rack, two bells (The stoker has to have fun too),rear view mirrors and naturally some streamers on the handlebars. The replacement rear derailer arrived in three days. I'm VERY happy with their customer service. After assembling the tandem "KIT" and adjusting the seats and handlebars we took it out for a "Maiden Voyage" of 31 miles. The bike rode really well. The frame was MUCH STIFFER than our old Columbia tandem. Shifts were smooth, quick, precise and quiet. No "Auto shift" from frame flex on take off or climbs. The brakes worked nicely and took very little finger pressure to stop on the small hills we encountered. I think the supplied Velo seat will have to be replaced for me but my Wife seemed to like her seat OK so far. We managed to hit our fair share of bumps and pot holes along with going down some rough gravel roads so I was wondering how things were holding up. After we got home I looked everything over and all was as it should be. I didn't use the dial indicator again but "eyeballed" the wheels judging with the brake pads and spinning the wheels and they seemed to hold true. We really like the bike. It does just what it was designed for (cruising around the neighborhoods) and does it well. It's just what we hoped for and expected and we think it's well worth the $248.00 shipped. We had a BLAST riding "twogether" through the neighborhoods of three small towns Sunday. If someone is looking for a cruiser tandem and can assemble the "KIT" themselves then I would recommend the Kent. If you are not comfortable doing the work then I suggest talking with a local bike shop, Give them the list I posted here in this review of the things I HAD TO DO to assemble the bike for an example and get a estimate. It might cost more than it's worth if you have to go that route. Even with the missing ball bearings, I give it 4 stars for the style and price. Heck,you can't expect "top of the line" quality on a $248 tandem.

    Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    NewKentOwner
    Texas
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    1-5 of 298 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 298 reviews

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 85 questions
    1-3 of 85 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by Bee62 4/5/2009
    8 answers
    • A. No, both sets of cranks turn together. My son occasionally takes his feet off the pedals and rests them on the bar when he wants to let me do the work. He just warns me when he wants to put them back so I can coast as he adjusts.
      by JEStudyMom1/21/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Pedals will not still moving,but you can let front guy do most all the work...
      by cosworth211/21/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no
      by deloiter1/21/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Both sets of peddles move.
      by KentuckyTechi3/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes but the peddles will continue to rotate so they can let their feet rest on the peddle and have the look as if they are peddling.
      by ThethreeJays2/27/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. nop, rear driver may have to put their feet on the middle bar while front rider pedals
      by AggielandRider10/19/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes- as long as they keep their legs moving to keep up with the captain's cadence. My kids do this- they just pretend to pedal while doing nothing until we get to a hill and I bark "I need help".
      by mathemagician1/21/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Hi, No, the back rider can't coast and have the front person do all the work unless they find somewhere to put their feet. Both sets of pedals move in tandem; you can't move one without the other. This is important for balance and to make sure that the back person's feet don't ever get too close to the feet of the driver.
      by SpeakToWin7/21/2009
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    I know it doesnt have independent pedaling, but if both people stop pedaling... will the bike coast?
    by an anonymous customer 6/8/2010
    7 answers
    • A. yes, just like a normal 10 speed or mountain bike
      by JEStudyMom8/6/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes, you can stop pedalling and it will coast.
      by deloiter5/14/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes and coast quite well.
      by ThethreeJays2/27/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes
      by PlanoCarl2/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. simultaneous pedaling; yes, it will coast but both riders have to do so at the same time
      by AggielandRider10/19/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, if both people stop pedaling at the same time, the bike will smoothly coast. It works well down-hill like this. But if both people do not stop pedaling at the same time, we experienced swerving and a slight loss in balance. That's why my daughter and I recomend setting up a system. For example "three, two, one, coast." or "ready, set, now" or something like that so the timing is efficient. Happy biking!
      by NatureLover246/29/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes.
      by RaeRae9126/23/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by gmace 8/25/2010
    7 answers
    • A. The front handlebars can be adjusted 4 or so inches.
      by JEStudyMom8/6/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No...you can only adjust the angle up & down...
      by cosworth217/18/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes, both handlebars can be adjusted
      by deloiter5/14/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, just loosen the hex bolt and pull the handle bars up...then re-tighten....real easy.
      by KentuckyTechi3/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes it is but it is somehow limited; I am 6" and I got a little bit short on my perfect fit (I push it forward though and got what I wanted)
      by AggielandRider5/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It can be adjusted just a little bit (about 2-3 inches. Also, the handlebars rotate so you cna can the height some this ways too. It should take any after-market handlebar support; there are lots of options out there.
      by E9Driven9/28/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The stem is a standard quill stem, so the front handlebars can be adjusted up or down about 2.5 inches. You could swap out the stem with a different stem if you wanted to adjust it more than that.
      by mathemagician8/1/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 85 questions See all
    1-3 of 85 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.