With The Lights Out (4 Disc Box Set) (3 CDs and 1 DVD)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

With The Lights Out (4 Disc Box Set) (3 CDs and 1 DVD)

Release date: 11/23/2004

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $21.10 (35%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 3)

1. Listen Heartbreaker
2. Listen Anorexorcist
3. Listen White Lace And Strange
4. Listen Help Me I'm Hungry
5. Listen Mrs. Butterworth
6. Listen If You Must
7. Listen Pen Cap Chew
8. Listen Downer
9. Listen Floyd The Barber
10. Listen Raunchola/Moby Dick
11. Listen Beans
12. Listen Don't Want It All
13. Listen Clean Up Before She Comes
14. Listen Polly
15. Listen About A Girl
16. Listen Blandest
17. Listen Dive
18. Listen They Hung Him On A Cross
19. Listen Grey Goose
20. Listen Ain't It A Shame
21. Listen Token Eastern Song
22. Listen Even In His Youth
23. Listen Polly

Disc 2 (of 3)

1. Listen Rape Me (Acoustic)
2. Listen Rape Me (Demo)
3. Listen Scentless Apprentice
4. Listen Heart Shaped Box
5. Listen I Hate Myself And I Want To Die
6. Listen Milk It
7. Listen M. V.
8. Listen Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip
9. Listen The Other Improv
10. Listen Serve The Servants
11. Listen Very Ape
12. Listen Pennyroyal Tea
13. Listen Marigold
14. Listen Sappy (AKA Verse Chorus Verse)
15. Listen Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
16. Listen Do Re Me
17. Listen You Know You're Right
18. Listen All Apologies

Disc 3 (of 3)

1. Listen Opinion
2. Listen Lithium
3. Listen Been A Son
4. Listen Silver
5. Listen Where Did You Sleep Last Night
6. Listen Pay To Play
7. Listen Here She Comes Now
8. Listen Drain You
9. Listen Aneurysm
10. Listen Smells Like Teen Spirit
11. Listen Breed
12. Listen Verse Chorus Verse
13. Listen Old Age
14. Listen Endless Nameless
15. Listen Dumb
16. Listen D-7
17. Listen Oh The Guilt
18. Listen Curmudgeon
19. Listen Return Of The Rat
20. Listen Smells Like Teen Spirit (Butch Vig Mix)

About the Album

(This box set includes a DVD with previously unreleased video of nine songs performed in 1988; the rare "In Bloom" Sub Pop music video; and 10 never-before-seen live performances.)

More than a decade after the music exploded out of Seattle, Washington, the time is right for this exclusive box set featuring unreleased demos, b-sides and live tracks spanning the career of grunge's superstar shaggy-dog mascots, Nirvana.

The set opens with the three-man band performing a screeching rendition of Led Zeppelin's "Heartbreaker," with the muddy, Seattle touch. These earliest of recordings, dating back to 1987, feature early drummers, Aaron Burkhard and Chad Channing, sitting in until Dave Grohl joins in '90.

"Anorexorcist" has Nirvana sounding more like Metallica than the great grunge hope from the Northwest. As they proceed through rehearsal and radio recordings from that year through 1988, solo acoustic renditions of "Polly" and "About A Girl " start to surface, revealing that singer and guitarist Kurt Cobain was something of a songwriter too(!).

Disc two opens with more solo acoustic performances, beginning with the frenzied pop song, "Opinion," and a more subdued, abbreviated version of "Lithium," just one of the songs that eventually became a big hit for the band from their mega-selling album, Nevermind. A fully evolved solo take of "Sliver," ("grandma take me home") highlights why it too became a live high watermark for the band and was featured as the single from the Incesticide release.

Cobain experimented with old folk and blues songs with his grunge peer Mark Lanegan and the pair worked out some old Leadbelly tunes during rehearsals together. Cobain moans his way through a solo acoustic version of "Where Did You Sleep Last Night" that is as chilling as any old found folk recording from the hills of Appalachia and rivals the band's definitive take of the song from its MTV Unplugged in New York disc.

Sandwiched between "Where Did You Sleep Last Night" and the Velvet Underground tribute song, "Here She Comes Now," is the grungy demo for the pile-driving "Pay to Play."

"Aneurysm" has the pop/punk velocity of an old Cheap Trick song (which just might be intentional; inside the CD booklet is a Cobain drawing, portraying himself as Robin Zander of Cheap Trick).

Of course, the early rehearsal demo of "Smells Like Teen Spirit" from 1991 (before it was committed to the Nevermind album) is a piece of must-hear grunge-rock history.

By the time disc three rolls around, we enter 1993-94, the period coinciding with worldwide Nirvanamania. The side opens with two previously unreleased versions of "Rape Me" from In Utero. The album's first single, "Heart Shaped Box," shows up as a loose band demo, as does "All Apologies," which was preserved in stark, solo acoustic form and culled from an undated source; it's simply amazing.

The third disc's other highlight is a mellow band rehearsal tape of "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam," a song by Cobain favorites, the Vaselines. Pat Smear sits in on guitar along with Melora Creagor on cello.

Disc four is filled with previously unreleased DVD material, most of it taken from a 1988 rehearsal at Krist Novoselic's mother's house, including a run-through of "Love Buzz," the Beatles-inspired "About a Girl," and Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song." The dramatic performances of "Pennyroyal Tea," "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and "Territorial Pissings" were captured at a live show at the OK Hotel in Seattle in 1991.

Nirvana's rock and roll legacy is huge though their official catalog is very small. It's about time grunge fans received a gift as substantial as With the Lights Out to sink our teeth into: "Here we are now, entertain us."

Artist: Nirvana
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 4
Release Date:
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.3
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 10.2 x 1.9 x 5.7
Walmart No.: 000823082
UPC: 0060249864664

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5★ by 3reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 i love this box set hello i bot this box set because there my favort band in the world. i like disc four it shows there child hood. i like the book it shows there calender and other stuff l like there music a lot. kurt cobain is th best guitar player in the world. 03/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5★ by IT ROCKS My 13 year old daughter loves it.WOW 06/07/2014
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms

With The Lights Out (4 Disc Box Set) (3 CDs and 1 DVD)
With The Lights Out (4 Disc Box Set) (3 CDs and 1 DVD) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)