Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by In a single word this bike is COOL! If you're looking for a laid back bike this really fits the bill. Great value and more than adequate quality. Bike easily fits a large person. Very comfortable bike for a relaxed riding style. Real fun if you're not in a hurry. With the low gearing you can crawl up any normal road grade. Love the unpainted aluminum finish, fenders chain guard etc. I did buy a longer seat post to accommodate my 32in inseam. This allowed getting the seat up to a slight bend knee condition and keep the seat post in the safe range. Word to the wise this bike needs to be properly assembled. For me that meant a complete disassemble of all bearing surfaces and reassemble with enough grease and proper bearing tension. The alloy stem needed to be sanded for ease of insertion and allow future removal and adjustment. 06/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bicycle Value In America. Period. This 29 inch 7 speed beach cruiser towers above the ground and cruises effortlessly while rolling on huge 29 X 2.125 balloon tires. It has a very nice light aluminum frame saving weight. Shifting is smooth with gears that will get you up the biggest hills and flying down the other side. Very quiet, almost completely silent going down the road. This is a well built solid bike...one I cannot wait to ride on long biking adventures in New Orleans and along Florida's 30A trails. It looks terrible with all the stickers from the factory...take those off as soon as you get it home. Ditch the fenders for a muscle bike look. You will love this bike. Get it tuned up at your local professional bike shop before you ride for maximum enjoyment. 06/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike with a couple quality control issues The weak packaging was damaged from rough handling. One spoke was bent due to the way it was packaged. Adjustments to brakes had to be completely redone. The shifting mech. worked ok except for the top and bottom gear. I prefer 3rd 4th and 5th, jumped out of high, so its not a real problem. I have yet to find a way to purchase a spoke on the web site or any parts for that matter. If I wasen't a long time biker with tools I would have been very disappointed. Now that it is pretty well adjusted, I will keep and ride it. It is pleasantly comfortable to ride. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is a monster of a bike I had the Onyx originally and really needed the extra gears that this offered. I returned the Onyx and pick this one up. It is a big cruiser, I am 5' 11" and can barely clear the cross bar. I need to tune it before it is perfect, but right now it is a good bike for around town if you don't have the need for more than the 7 gears. It is heavier than the Onyx, but that was to be expected with the additional weight for the gears and brakes. I haven't been on a bike in well over 20 years, and this one is easy to ride and very comfortable. I only did about 1 mile last night to test with a couple of hills along the route. A few of the components could be upgraded like the pedals, they seem a bit on the cheap side. Possibly a better tire that can hold more than 40psi (for heavier riders). 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It took a little to get used to the handlebars. I had a racing bike and since I can no longer get into that position without paying for it the next day (I am getting up in age). Once I got used to the handlebars it is great. Sitting upright is the way to go. Bike is very "meaty". Tires are huge. I am 5'11" and I ride it with the seat almost at the lowest point. I love this bike. 07/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good fit for a big and tall guy. This bike is fun to ride and fits me great. I am 6' 4" tall and weigh 235 lbs. and I don't look like I dwarf the bike. It shifts a little rough, but once I get it tuned in it will be just fine. It is comfortable and welll balanced. I ordered it on line and when it was delivered to my local store they put it together and called me when it was ready, which was the next day. It is a good looking bike that will work just fine for me for years to come. 07/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adequate , not for the experienced rider I am 300 lbs so I had my concerns about this bike holding my weight which it does no problem, My issue with this bike is for 179.00, that is what you get, It is not a quality item, poorly built, but it does perform, I give this bike a 6.5 to 7 rating. Seat is ok, so no need to purchase a comfortable seat, this one works fine, breaks are cheap, wheels are cheap, gears ok 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bike is a great value. Having ridden bikes thousands of miles, I find the Genesis Astra the best value of the 12 bikes I've owned so far. Most of my 12 were expensive road bikes or mountain bikes with suspension. I was not familiar with this brand but I trusted the 4 1/2 star rating the bike had, 2 weeks before I bought it. The brakes and shifter needed only slight adjustments but worked well on the very first ride. Great assembly, Walmart ! I've ridden it 30 miles so far and it is so smooth and quiet. The 29" wheels really soak up the bumps. I am an avid rider, riding 3 to 4 days a week, 12 to 15 miles per day. The sitting position is very up-right and the seat and handle bar position is superb. What a great combination of features. The shifter is as precise as my Specialized Stumpjumber but the Genesis is much more comfortable. I'm a beach cruiser and get the looks on this bike (-: That makes it even more fun. This bike LOOKS expensive. 07/21/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Bike But Needs Quality Brake Pads. After reading the reviews, I purchase this bike at their Lynnwood, WA Store. Since my local Bremerton store did not have one in stock that was assembled. Then I had it taken to a Bike Shop that I have used to Tune-Up the bike that was poorly assembled, and just as poorly adjusted from brakes to gears. The one thing that stood out, was the really cheap and unsafe Brake Pads that came with it. They wore down to the shoe within 30 minutes of use. So I spent an extra $30.00 to have two pair of "Promax V-Brake Shoes" installed. After the tune-up, and having the proper brake Brake Pads installed. It worked properly as it should. However, if plan on buying this bicycle. I strongly suggest that you take it in to have it Tuned-Up by a professional, and replace the cheap Brake Pads. Plan on spending an extra $80.00 just to have a safe product to use. 07/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Its a nice bike. I bought this bike because I planned on doing alot of riding for exercise reasons. The bike looked heavy duty and very nice looking to . I bought the bike already put together , I took it home and started riding the next day after a few adjustments . After a few weeks the bike started making a very bad grinding noise some where in the drive train. I took it back hoping to get it fixed , but had know luck . Three bikes later , I had the same problem again. This time I took it to my local bike shop and $60.00 later I found out that there was no grease in any of the bearings . Now the bike is great and I love it. So if planning on buying a bike first thing , take to local bike shop or go threw it yourself and make sure everything is greased properly. Happy riding 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice aluminum 29er beach cruiser Love my new bike, great ride for the price! 06/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome bike!~ My husband loves this bike! He is 6'8" and this is one bike that fits him! Only one complaint is that the shifter was damaged in the box, we called Kent and they said they will ship out a new one....hasn't arrived yet (4 weeks later). We went to a local bike shop and bought a new shifter (a better one) and when/if the replacement arrives, we'll keep it as backup. 09/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike! I bought my bike right off the store floor, it was aready assembled, it wouldn't fit in my car so I rode it home, and came back for the car. This bike is big and sturdy I'm 6' 215 lbs and it fits me perfectly, the ride is great. I did have to tune it up when I got home, you will have to check it over if you get it assembled at the store, I had to spend a little time making adjustments to the seat, tire pressure, brakes etc to get it perfect for me. It had a scratch and dent from being on display so I also got 10% off the purchase :) It even passed the kids test, I got a "Wow that's a cool bike" nuf said. I could go on all day about how much I like it, but you get one and see for yourself. 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 29" Bike Comfortable, durable and stylish too. I used to have alot of back pain after riding my mountain bike. This 29" beach cruiser allows the rider to sit upright. Much more comfortable! 09/18/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor quality Bicycle functions fine but rear wheel hub makes an internal clicking sound. Handlebars feel very brittle. I use this bike at work to get from building to building so it's not worth my time to return it. I wouldn't recommend it for recreational use. 07/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, once it's been PROPERLY adjusted. Seems like a real solid bike. Can't complain about the product, but I can complain about the way it was put together. Don't the Assemblers test them, before placing them on the floor?!? Bought one in Fredricksberg, Texas. Put it on the back of my RV and took it to Rockport, Texas. Went to ride it: It shifted poorly - It would not go into 1st gear and dropped off the sprocket when I tried to put it in 7th. Took it back and, as they were unable to fix the problem, they exchanged it for another - which had a similar problem. Difference being the it stayed on the sprocket, but still would not shift into 1st or 7th gear. The "Master" Bike builder will be in tomorrow and I am hoping he can properly adjust the de-railer so that it will properly shift. Otherwise, with a few modifications (changed angle of handle bars, shifter and brake levers, re adjusted the poorly installed fenders) it rides really nice. Looks much better stripped of all the cheesey decals, too! Of course, if this one can't be fixed, then it will br time to just return it and look elsewhere for another! 10/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cadilac of Bikes I bought my husband this bike for his b-day after looking for a while for a bicycle that would be comfortable and good fit for a good size man. When I saw this bike at Wal-Mart I knew this was it. I got the bike already assemblemed and we went for a ride to test it out once I got it home. He loaned it to me to try it out too and I instantly fell in love with it. It was very smooth and quiet. The gears shifted nicely and brakes worked great. I was able to get on and off without any problems and I am 5'6. We immediately went to Wal-Mart to get myself one too since I was also looking for a bicycle for me and had not been able to find one that I really liked. They were out of stock and we had to go to a different wal-mart which had it in stock. We brought it home and went riding again. The only thing I noticed is that the first bike needed no adjustments, while the second one did. I guess some store have people that are better at putting the bikes together than others do. No big deal though, my husband adjusted it and it has been smooth riding ever since. This is not a speed bike, it is one to enjoy cruising in comfort. I bought a basket for mine and will probably buy some girly accesories to make it a little more feminine. 10/21/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I like this bicycle. There is room for improvement. More options.color. equipment. But overall a good bicycle 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by STOP LOOKING AND BUY IT If you are wanting a cruiser type bicycle, this is the one to buy. Very light weight. I am 5'11" and 180lb. and this bike fits me. the seat is all the way down and i can touch the ground from siting on the seat. It's smooth ride with big handle bars make it easy and fun to ride. Tires are 29x2.25 and big and comfortable. 7 speeds is all you need. Had to make some little adjustments, but not many. I ordered online and received in a double box. It was very well packaged. My only complaint was the seat was a little hard, so i ordered the Vitesse Deluxe Cruiser Seat. Seams that it should come with a little more comfortable seat. Can't wait to get it in. 09/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice bike for the $$$ I bought the onyx 29er it is a single speed, not good for hills, so I sold it and bought this 7 speed 29er I would rather it be black instead of silver/chrome look. It came with out a water bottle holder, so after a few days I went and bought the holder to find out that the screws are stripped in the frame that would /should hold the water bottle holder, I cant even take them out. So I might exchange this or just buy a nutsert and fix myself. But very happy with the bike otherwise. better than paying 600 and up for a 29 inch bike. I ride this everyday since I have bought it, I am a big guy 6'1 300 pounds and this is great, I did change the stock seat to a schwinn no-stress seat which is a noseless seat too. 09/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good quality for the price I am 6' 1" and weigh 270 lbs so it is difficult to find a bike to fit my size and still have the desired functionality. This bike with its 29" wheels is sturdy and comfortable. The seven speeds allow a smooth transition between different riding surfaces and terrain. It was assembled by Walmart at no cost but I took it to a bike shop and had everything re-adjusted for only $25. This bike is just what I need for recreational pursuits and exercise. 09/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Arrived with badly dented front fender First off, I think this bike is a great value. I bought it to customize, and for the most part, I think you're getting a lot of bike here, both literally and figuratively. But I was disappointed to find that the front fender was dented and damaged. Given this bike's relatively low price, I didn't figure that it was worth my time to try to complain somewhere. I might contact Kent International, the company that has these manufactured. And anyway, the problem most likely occurred in shipping. For now I've just left the fenders off altogether. 09/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very nice bike great bike! I'm 6'0" and its just right to maybe a little big, which is perfect for me. Definitely for bigger men and even bigger than I as the seat and handle bars adjust much further up than I need. Other comments suggest sending to a bike shop to tune up, I think if you check out you tube like I did you'll find all the tune up info you need. Would give top scores across the board but there were some small problems that needed attention. The brakes needed to be adjusted which is simple to do but should have been done since the wheel came attached. The rear that is, the front was not. The rear fender is a little off, does not touch or rub but looks crooked. Adjusted the arms and now its alnmost prefect. May end up buying a new seat, its comfortable but I know there are even bigger and better seats out there for not a lot of money. The few small issues do not deter me from giving this bike high ratings as it is well built and more than needed for your average rider. 09/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bike came with 2 broken spokes on front wheel (poor packaging) after a call to Kent customer service was shipped a new wheel No problem. Great bike for the money, Very comfrotable and rides great. 07/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never get this bike-defective The first one was defective and I never left Walmart with it. The second had new kinds of defects and I took it back 9 hours later. Never buy this product. 10/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I purchased this bike after seeing a friend with the same one. I ordered it online, as the local store reps didn't seem to know whether it was in stock at my store or not. I had to assemble it, which took about an hour of tweaking, etc. I removed all the stickers (luckily they come off without leaving behind a bunch of adhesive) and it looks much better. The riding position is comfortable, and having multiple gears is great. The brakes squeal like crazy, but that's mainly because they're new. Taking it to a bike shop for adjustment and tuning might be a good idea after assembly. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this for my husband and he loves it. He is tall and it fits him well. 10/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Ride for the Money I'm 6-2 and 250. Finding a bike that "fits" is a woderful surprise. I've had the Genesis Onyx 29er #single speed# for about a year and I only rode it a few times because of the hills on my road. The 7 speeds of the Astra make a huge difference. I love riding this bike and plan to do so daily. It has some rough edges: the rear brake cable was kinked and split open out of the box. A quick email to Kent with a scanned receipt and a new cable is on the way. The brake pads are grabby and if that doesn't calm down, I'll replace them. I'm also willing to upgrade other components as needed because the I consider the basic bike a great value. The assembly manual is a typical multi-model guessing game. If you are not well versed in bicycle mechanics, I'd suggest either buying it assembled from the store or taking it to a pro for assembly. Be careful out there. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS IS ONE BIG BIKE!!! The picture alone doesn't portray the beast of a bicycle this is. Bought it already assembled at Walmart, had to take the front wheel off to fit it in my SUV. I originally wanted the all black 29er but it didn't come with different gears. Big and flashy, received three compliments between the register and the exit! If your a big guy, this will definitely take you back to your "smaller" days. I'm 6' 2", 280 and with the seat up about halfway I had to balance on my tip toes. The ride is really smooth and the 7 speed gears work great. I'm going to take off the fenders to see if it makes it more sporty. 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice product Very sturdy bicycle. Nice item, great price! 07/25/2012
1-30 of 37 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew110
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp