Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 44 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal, great quality and super fun to ride I wanted to get a bike where I could put my blind father on the back and this was the perfect bike. I rated it "Good" instead of "Excellent" in the "Ease of Setup" rating because I have been raised with bikes and taking them apart and reassembling them and I thought that if someone were not raised with this, that they may not be able to put this together and may need to take it to a bike shop to finish the assembly. Even if that were the case, it would not cost much to do so, and the price of the bike and the quality is great. The seats are Super comfortable, and the tires are good for any road conditions. It is stable and fun to ride. The bike comes in a box and you need to: * put on the pedals - all four since there are two cranks * attach the two water bottle racks * put on the reflectors (optional) * put on the metal guard over the back gears * pump up the tires * attach the front tire to the bike * put in the front and rear handle bars - tightening them each properly) The front handle bar must be tightened properly as this also controls the front tire staying in line with the handlebars. * adjust the front brakes- I also adjusted the placement of the brake pads so that they hit directly onto the side of the rim. * put on the seats - put in the seat posts and tighten Then test it out and go for a ride. I added a back bike rack and attached a horn on the front handle bars - not included. 11/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the price The bike is nice, good quality, sturdy and loads of fun! There are a few features that would really take this bike to the next level, but for the price, it was an excellent buy! I generally ride a $3000 road bike. There is a huge difference in the bikes, but this bike allows me to ride with my girlfriend. We take leisure rides with the children and more aggressive rides together. 04/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price First off. I race bikes and own a Tarmac SWorks, The Northwoods Tandem is not a high end bike. It doesn't even cost as much as one wheel on a high quality bike. So to get a whole bike at $250.00 or so is quite amazing. I expected to have all sorts of problems but am quite happy with my purchase. I ride it with my daughter and I am easing her into the sport slowly. She loves to go riding with me. If you ride a high end bike now ($5000.00 plus) you will not like the seats (Too fat and heavy), the tires and wheels (too fat and heavy), or the frame (too fat and heavy) but would you rather spend the $5000.00? This bike is great for short rides with new riders who just want to peddle around and have a good time. 05/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun for 2 riders&only 1 if no passengers available We love the bike...it is lightweight and a breeze to ride whether there are two riders or if you just want to ride when no one else is available. Great fun....beautiful bike!! Wal-Mart assembled it so it was ready to go that night!! Takes a little practice for new riders to learn to synchronize the pedals as with all tandems and then you are on your way to tour your surroundings on the nearby bike paths. 11/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Tandem for the Price Ordered it for home delivery. Arrived a day before expected. It was mostly assembled so it only took me about an hour to complete the assembly. There was no shipping damage. We've taken several rides on it with no issues. The 21 speeds provide a very wide range of pedaling torque which makes it very easy to take hills and fast on the flat lands. The brakes work fine, seats are comfortable, easy to ride and it's fun! 04/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Bike for the price, fun to ride. I bought this Bike for my Wife and I, She is blind and this is the only option to ride for her. Overall I'm pleased with the bike, It's a good value for the price (some Tandems go for $2500), seems sturdy enough for local Road and paved trails. It was easily assembled. If you are "Husky" riders inflate the tires to 65 lbs or it will feel "wobbly" and if haven't ridden tandem it will take a little practice, the long wheelbase takes some getting used to, ride it a few times solo to get accustomed to it, all that being said it's fun to ride with a little practice. The only negative thing I can say is, you will probably want to replace the seats, my butt got sore long before my legs got tired. I bought 2 big comfortable Schwinn seats for it. 12/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Great bike the store built it for free for us. The bike over all is so much fun and easy to ride. 07/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Wonderful bike for serious exercise and fun At ages 68 & 70, my wife and I wanted more exercise than we were getting from our morning walk. We haven't done any bike riding in decades. It may not be a serious road bike, but we were up to 20 mile rides on the hills around Fredericksburg, Texas by our 7th ride. Our most common topic of conversation now is "When are we going on our next ride?" The store where we bought it did the assembly, and we have had no problems. We also have a trailer we tow behind the bike for shorter rides with our two dogs. The trailer was intended for kids, but the dogs love it! It's amazing how many friendly waves we get from serious bikers and passing motorists when they see two old people ride by on a bicycle built for two! 07/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! This is my first tandem bicycle. It came in a long box, partially assembled. It took me about an hour to assemble the bike. It was not hard at all considering this is my first time to assemble a bike. The most tricky part was the front brake. The riding was great, The riding is a bit different from riding a normal single bike. But the transition was easy. It took me a few minutes to get used to it to ride in a normal safe speed. The turning is a bit different, as well as the paddling. We love the bike! It is a nice and fun bike. 08/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great to enjoy with your partner Chinese to English instructions were not for this bicycle, but we worked it out. You need to have Allen keys to assemble. 06/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fun!! I was a little concerned about transporting this, but I remove the back row and one seat from the middle row of my Pontiac Montana van and the box fit with a couple inches to spare. Assembly was fairly straight forward and we were up and riding in no time. We were also little concerned as we heard that riding a tandem bike could be difficult, but we had no problems other then the wife starts laughing so hard that she forgets to peddle. She is now learning where to put her feet such that she quits being the stoker (person on the back) and becomes a slacker, so I'll be adding a mirror to keep her in check. We are a 'larger' couple so the seats could be more comfortable but given the low price of the bike we have lots of budget left over to get better seats. This bike has proven to be great fun and I would recommend it to anyone, especially for the outstanding price. Time to go for another ride..... 06/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun leisurely activity I loved riding this with my husband. It's nice to be together on the bike ride. We enjoyed peoples laughs and smiles as we rose by 04/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible value! exceeded my expectations.assembled quickly..although front brake a bit triky if u r not schooled a bit in bike mechanics.Great family fun which enables quality time together.no phones no gadgets..jyst the headwind and great endorpgin induced conversation.buy a bell metal basket for the front and get milk eggs etc while you are out.Quality and engineering which i would expect in a more exoensive bike.fill the tires to at least 50 Psi for best ride. 04/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bike for the price!!! Purchased this bike so my girlfriend and I could ride together. my kids love to ride on it with me also. my 6 year old rides on the back seat and puts his feet up on the bar. I'm hoping it will help him feel the balance point of bike riding so it would help him learn how to ride his bike faster. this is really a nice bike for the money. 06/08/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by So-So bike and poor Kent Bikes customer service Well, this bike did arrive promptly from Walmart. After that the comedy or errors began. 1. The assembly instructions included were for a completely different bike...not even a tandem. 2. There were missing parts (missing retaining washers for the front tire and a missing washer for the rear handlebar clamp. 3. The front brake adjustment was off. 4. The bike is heavy....just know that...it is a steel frame but heavy. 5. The front reflector cracked off easily. 6. After the first ride, the front tire tube deflated. 7. Emails to Kent Bike customer service netted me a phone number to a rep who I could never get on the phone or return my calls. I filled out their form, gave them my model number, and uploaded my Waltmart receipt/invoice. They did send out a new reflector (wrong style), two retaining washers (didn't fit - for wrong bike), a new head washer, and a new tube (wrong size and style with long stem for diff bike). 8. Using this bike, the default gear setting caused poor and stiff shifting. Not good at all. 9. With two people peddling hard and using gears, this bike is exhausting when climbing any sort of hill. Don't expect to put mom or grandma on the back and cruise around where there are any hills. You wont have fun. 10. After my first week, my new tube on the front wheel flattened AGAIN. Don't know why. Rim or tire issue? Unknown. We have several other regular one-seater bikes, have ridden them all over for years, and have never had a flat. This bike? Two flat front tubes in a week. While tandems are fun, you get what you pay for (a cheap and heavy tandem with poor customer service). If you want to have a good experience, don't buy this bike and spend a little more for something nicer. 03/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by economical fun! good bike Good value for the price. I was not ready to spend 1000's on a "brand" tandem, specially to "learn" to ride like that. My wife and I have individual bicycles, road & mountain, and we were wondering about tandem biking. well, I was expecting trouble, not with the bike, but with the synchronization between Her and I. If you are thinking in getting a tandem bike, research and read people's comments on the web. I did that and it make the riding experience very pleasant & fun! About the bike, well, not so easy to put together, the instructions are generic but it was not complicate. I do maintenance on all our bikes (we have 9 in our family of 5 people) so what is another bike to put together? nothing. People talk about flats, well, well & well; All happy after assembly, tires full of air (50PSI---recommended is 40-65psi) and just, by it self, the rear tire pop! the inner rim had sharp ends where the spokes are, cleaned, put some duct tape on each and then the jaket, and re-assemble. 8 trips to far & happy!!! 08/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for great price We bought the bike for our 13 year old twins after renting a tandem at the shore. They enjoy riding the bike more than their single bikes. The bike is easy to ride, handles and shifts well. The quality of the bike is excellent especially considering the low price. I was expecting to pay a lot more for a tandem. The one issue I had was the need for different sizes of Allen wrenches required to put it together. I don't think it would be difficult to make a bike that would require one tool for assembly. Overall great value. 08/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Double Bike This double bike took me back to when I was a kid. Me and my son are having a lot of fun with this. It came 90% assembled and the rest was really easy. This is the way to go if you want to have some fun bike riding. 06/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! The bike is so cute and practical! It is so much fun. My husband and I really like it. 09/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for the price! I was apprehensive to buy an inexpensive bike. This bike exceeded my expectations. This is not a light-weight road bike. Yet it performs well and provides lots of fun for casual riding. It is a great entry-level tandem. 08/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by missing pedals Unit came in partly, missing all four pedals still waiting for, not able to put together or ride, ruined our vacation plans. 05/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for "Just the Two of Us" I received this bike from my husband for my 53rd birthday. What a blast to ride around on. As he tells me, I'll never get lost! Nice color combo on the bike (we have the red and black combo). My husband is 6'1", I'm 5'5", and we easily fit on the bike. Friends of ours bought the same bike in Lake Tahoe over the summer, so now we can double date! Took my husband 45 minutes to put together. Comes mostly assembled in box. Had to put on handle bars, seats and front tire (rear tire was already installed). Needed some minor adjustments to the chain (very tight upon delivery); otherwise, easy, breezy. I like that it come with a kick stand too, don't have to lay on the ground or hope it doesn't fall resting on a tree or something. We also purchased the option three year warranty. Why not, it's fully covered for that time and it only cost $1/per month. Should anything be defective or break - no sweat. Now, all I need is a bell on the back handle bars (oh, my husband will love that - not). :) 09/22/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by more than expected. very happy to.have this bike We, my wife and.me are.very satisfy with this purchase, this bike is light and easy to.ride. the assembly was a.breeze. 06/18/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by need pedals to ride bike Great bike,hard to ride with no pedals.called warehouse and got answering to China and hung up on.would really like my pedals. 05/24/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Tandem for the price The box arrived fairly quickly via FedEx. Box was not damaged and contents were not damaged either. It took a couple hours to put bicycle together. It mainly involved attaching front tire, pedals, seats, water bottle holders and handlebars. I pumped up the tires and lubricated a few items. Have ridden a few times and seems stable. Shifting is fairly smooth. Probably need to adjust brakes a bit yet. 08/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected This is great! Exactly what my wife and I wanted. Put it together easily and is great together. Needs some gear adjustment after use. The only real problem: I forgot how hard it was to bike! 08/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great tandem bike for the money ! shipped right to the door and in about an hour we were riding along with ease .for the money well worth the experince of tandem riding. we are in our 60's and love it 08/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best as expected with Problem I received my Tandem via FedEx. Big box but not heavy. Easy to assemble and we really enjoy the ride. We use it everyday. The back feel weird because the handle is steady and have natural instinct to move it. The problem is the chain because not good quality. After 7 days I need to buy a new one. Buy this you will enjoy. "Why separate if you can go in same direction." 07/25/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Damaged in shipping This bike seems to be of good quality, however I didn't get the chance to experience it as it got damaged in shipping... the back wheel was not round anymore... one section of the wheel was flat. I returned it and I will buy another one. 12/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a Christmas gift for my daughter and she couldn't wait to take it out for a ride. The best Christmas gift ever, now just waiting for warmer weather. 12/29/2012
1-30 of 43 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw310
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp