See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 336 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for dorm room! I scoured the internet, looking for an affordable trunk to buy for my dorm room, that I could also lock up to keep all of my stuff safe. If I found a trunk that locked, it was ridiculously expensive, and the ones that I could afford didn't lock. Bottom line, this was the only trunk I found that didn't bite into my very small budget and is sturdy and lockable. The molded handles on the side make it easy to carry and prevent it from being extremely unweildy. The wheels also make it so easy to slide up under the bed, no matter how much junk you cram into it. One tip: never lose the keys or combination you keep for the lock that you use on the trunk, because I swear, you CANNOT BREAK INTO THIS THING! I love it! I would recommend it for storing just about anything! 02/02/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great value! These are much better priced than most footlockers of similar size. The only caution I might add is that the plastic is a bit more flexible/thin than it should be, resulting in a bit of awkwardness when lining up the edge to latch it shut. The rear hinge is merely protruding plastic pieces that snap together, rather than a true hinge with metal pin. The price at my local store was under $20, so check your local store first. The local Walmart also had the similar sized Sterilite footlockers for about $16, and I bought some of them as well. They seem a bit more solid, but they come in light colors that I didn't like. (I may do some spray painting). Both Contico and Sterilite footlockers are great values, but you trade durability for color with the Contico. 01/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by better!! A few years ago we used a (fiberboard) trunk for a trip. It was good for the short term, but we punished it more than it could bear and the hinge began to give way. It had a small toy-like lock and key. We needed a replacement. This item is stronger, seems more durable. At your option, you add a padlock of your choice. Travels well (with a 40-50 lb. load) and is good-looking! 07/24/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Quality Product I purchased this to keep disaster emergency items together and dry. Good size, sturdy, easily manuevers, (wheeled on one end, built in handle), inexpensive and light-weight. THis product would also be good for travel...win win any way you look at it. 03/16/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as it looks I bought my first Contico to carry all my personal stuff over seas. It did not make the flight over, so I bought another one. It did not last a year. I have bought at least 6 of these in the past 5 years and they all have cracked at the corners and were unusable within a few months. But if you are going to keep it in one location and not let any one sit or stack heavy things on it, go for it. 05/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong & Locks Perfect for Kids at Camp This is the product recommended by all the Scout leaders for Scout summer camp. They swear they last for years. I did go crazy trying to find this at Wal Mart as I was looking in the wrong department. This is in AUTOMOTIVE DEPT not sold with all the plastic home storage where the zillion other bins of every shape and size are sold. It has built in holes to add a padlock to. This makes this product different than some others on the market including other models made by CONTICO. These are strong. The kids sit on them as seats, and use them as a step up to the top bunk bed. They are thick and resist rain. The black dark color is a bonus for use outdoors, putting on dirt ground temporarily etc. Other brands sell light colored plastic which would look horrible after one use at camp and could stain. The price for this product is up to half of what some similar plastic boxes with locking ability sells for, a bonus. 07/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job Use this to lock away things we don't want our little daughter finding in our closet : ) Large capacity and fits a standard size combination lock. 12/18/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by locker Purchased three and one of them had to be returned due to the wheels were broken off. 02/08/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Contico Storage Locker We purchased this "locker" to send to college with my daughter so she could lock up valuables when desired. It is made of a heavy duty plastic, and very durable. However, there are two problems with it. 1. When closing it, it is difficult to get the buckles to line up, and fasten shut. 2. A standard pad lock does not work with this trunk. It needs a longer "necked" lock. This bit of info would have been greatly appreciated. All in all, it's a pretty good deal if you need something sturdy instead of the press board lockers. 08/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for an overseas move! We have 4 of these and are planning on buying 3 more to move house hold goods overseas. They are the max dimensions allowed to check by the airlines. They are sturdy and are prefect to transport things that need extra protection. My sewing machine fit perfectly in the middle of one of these. The only thing you have to consider is they weigh about 10 lbs empty, so you can only pack them to about 40 lbs. But it's a trade off. Also, consider buying some tie wraps (you know those plastic zip ties) to run through the lock portion for transport. 06/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's the right one! We've purchased 14 of these storage trunks and have taken them on 3 trips to the other side of the world as our luggage. I highly recommend them! They've held up great! Now, there's 2 different kinds. One, they are making now, have these cheapo plastic snap-on hinges in the back. Bad idea, Contico! There's another style with a metal rod through the hinge. They're great! - and now even better when they added wheels. We'll see how the wheels hold up. But, when I ordered 3 more online, I was stoked to get the right kind - with the metal rod! Of course, the plastic hinge kind is <$18 in a store, but $35 was still a decent price for the metal hinge model. 07/08/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good storage locker. So, I bought this storage locker for my dorm room because it had the feature of attaching your own lock, but I was unhappy to see that the hole for the lock is...particular. The lock has to be JUST right. I have bought two locks already for this unit and neither has worked so far. I suggest a lock that has a very skinny hook, in which case it's probably going to be one with a key, because no combination lock I've seen has a skinny enough hook for the hole in this storage locker. If anybody's found one, good on you. However, despite this peculiar issue, the actual storage locker is great. Good capacity, easy closures, has wheels for easy moving. Great locker for the price, since I couldn't find one that was lock-able until this. Good product, I'd recommend. 10/12/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for air travel This locker is sized to travel as checked baggage. It is rugged enough to survive baggage handling. If you fill this locker with 50 pounds of stuff (the limit for checked baggage without surcharge), it becomes quite a chore to roll, because the molded-in handle is placed awkwardly. The hinge sticks out a little and you can easily get a thigh bruise from bumping it, so beware. 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best foot locker We have used the Contico lockers for 8 years. This is something I know I am an authority on b/c we took 21 Contico trunks when we moved oversees 8 years ago. We buy more when we are back and try to use them exclusively b/c they are so sturdy and are great for stroage. Rarely does one crack or break. If they are stored in a humid place, the metal may rust. Last year Walmart had replaced them with another brand that broke the first time we used them. The Contico are SOOOO much sturdier than the sterlite and one other plastic brand I believe Walmart has replaced them with in the stores. The hinge on the Contico goes along the whole back as opposed to an intermitten hinge. ALso, the latches work a lot better. If you can find them, I wouldn't waste your money on any other brand. I also ususally pay under $20, but I would pay the price listed if I had to. 08/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for Boy Scout Summer camp. Fits under most cots and can accomodate nearly any lock. 05/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great for traveling! We took three of this one to Africa last year and one of the blue ones (little more expensive but more fragile specially the wheels). This was great, held up well the 4 flights and over 32 hours of traveling. We could see that the air company didnt have so much care with. It was banged around but is did super well. We had alot of breakable stuff inside and everything made fine. We are going back by the end of this month and we ae ordering another two of those. Don't rely on the handle too much. It does serve us as storage and keeps all that is inside clean and safe. It is a place for a locker that after goes through the x-ray at the airport, gets locked and done. the wheels helps alot, with some weight inside, the wheels just keep rolling. Stacking is easy and they dot use muck space in that way. it is a great buy!!! 02/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works pretty well... I bought two of these and one of them worked very well...it closed freely, the lid easily matched the contours of the bottom, nice heavy-duty construction, and it worked as I had expected. The other had been shut incorrectly when shipped and one hasp had been slightly bent. The lid had developed a slight bow which made it difficult to shut. You had to shift things and adjust the lid each time you tried to close it....that memory thing that plastics/resins do...the lid had taken a bad set. Anyway, I took the second one back to the local Wal-Mart and they said they had some similar product by the same manufacturer on the shelf. I also checked those out and while they were about half the price of these, they had to be assembled and they were much much worse, the lids were all off by nearly an inch in the set they had taken, they actually flared away from the bottoms...lol. So be sure to test the closure of your particular storage tlocker - it should close easily, no wrestling involved. I understand you might be able to set it in the sun to soften the set and try to readjust things but I wasn't sure how effective that might be. 09/21/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT accepted by airlines These trunks are wonderful - except for air travel. I have used these trunks many times on many airlines but things seem to have changed. American Airlines - and possibly other carriers have decided these trunks are "plastic boxes" and will not check them for trips to many locations in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Mexico during certain times called "embargo periods". American Airlines defines excluded "boxes" as ..... "A "box" is defined as a six-sided container of any size, constructed of cardboard, wood, plastic or metal, which is either square, rectangular or cylindrically shaped and is not normally used for the transportation of items associated with air travel. Plastic tubs/containers and/or coolers are considered to be boxes." A vague description at best. Apparently these fine trunks are not considered " normally used for the transportation of items associated with air travel". Walmart should reconsider claiming that these containers meet airline regulations - - or, better yet, complain to air carriers starting with American Airlines. Thank you 12/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bargain Since Hurricane Katrina I had been looking for a storage container both protective, durable and easy to handle in the event of a future evacuation. In it I have placed all of my treasured snapshots and photographs. This storage trunk meets all of my expectations. Pricewise it was much cheaper than others I have checked at other stores and websites. It is attractive and has hidden wheels which make make it very easy to move. ThanksWalmart. 09/05/2007
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way too small for price Thought because of price this item would be much larger than it was. It was for my sons college dorm room and definitly was a dissapointment. Too late to return so we had to keep... Better off buying one at the store that is larger for 1/3 of the price! 08/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough Enough for a Teenage Boy I bought two of these storage lockers for my son. He is in Boy Scouts and they use these lockers to storage their clothes and other things. This year he worked at the camp for five weeks. So he needed a lot more stuff, he even brought his 19" old style TV which sat on one of the lockers. While it bent due to the weight, it held up for the whole five weeks. I would recommend these lockers to carry clothes and light things, I don't think it would hold up to the weight of something heavy. 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT STORAGE LOCKER FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS THIS IS GREAT STORAGE FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS..CAN HAVE SAFETY LOCK FOR SECURITY.ROLLERS FOR EASY TRANSPORTING...WOULD BE GREAT TO HAVE HANDLE FOR EASY ROLLING..BUT OVER ALL THIS IS A GREAT BUY... 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard to Lock up This is a great footlocker for summer camp. It is lightweight and strong. My only issue is that the place to put the lock through is so think that you have to use an extra long looped lock and then the lid of the footlocker can be pried open a couple of inches while locked. 02/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by travels well I bought several of these trunks to bring things to Africa with me. Two have made it without incident, still looking new, to Switzerland. I have several more I'm bringing to africa. 09/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy The trunks were just what I needed to get some of my items shipped from overseas back to the states. 08/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This item was perfect for my needs. It arrived a lot earlier than what was stated... this is a plus. I bought two of these for $48... what a deal! most other sites wanted $40-50 for one. I wish it had a pull handle, but i'm only using them to ship stuff. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by foot locker Great product right price and super delivery to summer camp. Our Boy Scout Troop has purchased over 50 of these in the past 3 years! on the web www.bsatroop356.com 07/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by a good foot locker for the price. keeps honest people honest. havent put it thru the test yet 05/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by INTERNATIONAL USER STATES BETTER THEN LUGGAGE If any of you have bought luggage lately you know the price. Now think of this I PAID A VERY expensive price for that luggage the airline broke apart and of course they do not pay all that they broke. But this time I bought these for our international trip. No problem with checking them in and they did not break them! So for all of you travelers if you are tired of luggage breakage and tired of spending so much money this is indeed the way to go! Safe, easy transport. Roomy and has more then enough space for the heaviest packer! Anna 10/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by foot locker Works out great for storing laptop, cash, and personal items for a college student. Would be nice if it came in different colors. Daughters dorm room colors are pink and brown. They had a tan and pinkish color last year, but it was not offered this year. 08/30/2009
1-30 of 282 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew268
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp