Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 682 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very cool phone This Nokia Lumia 521 is the coolest no gimmick Windows 8 Phone in the market. It has solid performance and Nokia's signature apps for an unbeatable bargain price of less than $130. Pros: Quality camera for price; Compact and solid design; Intuitive and customizable interface; Loud audio, expandable memory and USB port. The OS is flawless and work very smoothly even with 512 RAM, I guess the OS is much more RAM efficient than Android. Cons: Average display; No LTE support; Lacks front camera, I don't like the white back, The Lumia 521 gives an affordable, easy-to-use and attractive Windows 8 Phone without a contract on T-Mobile's network. 07/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like it better than my HTC Rezound! This is an awesome phone! It comes at a great price and is easier to use than the android phone I was used to, and I've never used a windows phone before in my life! It's so easy! I was wanting to make the switch from contract to prepaid and this totally fit the bill! The only thing I wish my phone had was a flash, and not for pics, but for a flashlight app. otherwise everything is so much better and easier to use! It gives my high-end Android phone a run for the money! I have no regrets! 07/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Phone! A must have for all users! Although after hearing that Halo will be coming out for Window Phone, I will likely be upgrading to the Lumia 925 coming out on T-Mobile. I believe it will require 1 gb of RAM but who knows. Skulls of the Shogun runs on the Lumia 521. Awesome game by the way, you can play users playing on an Xbox 360 or Windows 8 pc/laptop/tablet from your Windows Phone! I think thats amazing. So exceptional phone! Love the office compatibility! I keep my budget on my Windows Phone in Excel. Its a tile on my Start Screen. And since I work with SharePoint, I can collaborate from my Windows Phone as well. I can submit last minute status reports to project sites via my phone! Office, Xbox, and so much more. A leader in productivity and gaming pairs them both together into one device. Love, love, love Windows Phone. With the assistance of a Skype plan, get unlimited calling, text, and data up to 5gb 4g for 33 dollars a month! Now thats awesome! 06/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Phone! This phone blows Android out of the water. Smoother operation, Customization to what you want . outstanding screen, fast, intuitive. Add on memory up to 64 gb! Excellent connectivity to all email, social websites, search, youtube, and many more. Auto upload to Skydrive is a life saver. I messed up when I first got it and hit something wrong. So it thought I was a child using an adults phone. would not let me download without stringent vitrification. They said just reset the phone to new and restart. I thought I would lose all my stuff I had put in.Phone numbers, pictures, emails,and such. But to my surprise when i went to reset it , The phone automatically uploaded all my stuff to the cloud. And then when i restarted it went and brought it all back. I didn't have to do anything.SWEET! Hands down this is the best phone iv,e ever owned! 03/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great buy! I never do reviews but I was completely surprised at just how nice this phone is. I ordered it online unseen. I do not need a new phone but I am always looking for a good buy. When I saw I could buy a Windows 8 phone with decent specs for $130 I ordered it to test and play with. I set it up on the tmobile 30/month 5 gig 4g plan and carry it now as well as my nexus 4. Is it the fastest? Is it the best screen? hec no! But it is a darn good phone with clean clear phone calls. It is a nice entry/mid level smart phone that will do what 90% of most users will ever want or need and do it well. Scrolling is smooth, response is good.The Nokia Music allows offline playing. The new system update a couple days ago added some nice features to the phone and windows including FM radio. I added a 16 gig memory card for 10 dollars although it has 8 gig included. In my area the 4g speeds are about 10/11 meg and that matches most home networks locally. My son needed a new phone and also bought one and is very pleased with his It works great and the wifi calling feature sounds as clear as using the phone network. Clearly the nexus is faster and has a better screen and far more apps at this point and at $350 unlocked it was also a great buy but it is a high end phone. Buy this phone if you want a great phone that does 80/90% of what the top tier phones do for almost 20% of the cost of an Iphone/S4. 130 vs 350-800 for some phones that while superior, just may be more than what many need or want. Excellent value BTW I am also liking Windows phone. It is simple to use easy screen scrooling and pretty fast. It does need work and apps to grow to the level of android 4.3 etc but it works well with my Windows 8 desktop and having real WORD and EXEL is a bonus. 08/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good phone for $130-$150 I was trying to get hold on this phone for some time, Tried Walmart store, HNS but no luck. Finally Walmart.com worked and got the phone this week(06/10/13). I have tried all the brands like Apple, LG, Motorola, Samsung and Nokia and found Nokia to be the best in voice quality. I still own Iphone but the voice quality is really bad. It is worth much more than the price I paid. It is comparable to Iphone features at a fraction of the cost. 06/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME My very first windows phone and it is just awesome. 07/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good phone This is a great little light phone. The technology is state of the art and the windows Platform is the best on the market, in my opinion.i go with t mobile monthly plan for 30 A month, while I enjoy the technology mostly with wifi. With windows the phone interfaces with Your PC easily to exchange files although android has come a long way in this direction. I just like the phone and PC with the same platform. As far as the phone itself goes the windows tiles are fast and almost intuitive I find. Good phone adequate camera and a good value. 08/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smartphone to own I just got for one day and have not activated a TMobile yet. So far I tested the following features: 1. Camera is great. I took a picture in my living room with pretty dim light. It actually took a few photos for me to choose the best one to save. The quality is great. It beats photos from iphone 3GS, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, Acer 10' tablet, and HP touchpad. It even beats my Canon G12 in auto mode (I'm not a photography expert). 2. here map is great. It really fast. I even downloaded map of NJ and CA to get ready for off-line use. 3. Nokia music is great and free. 4. Sync to my contacts through microsoft account is easy. But I had to do search to get the answer. 5. Windows 8 is really fast. I installed a few app like evernote, Bank of America and Fidelity. It seems that APP functions need some improvement. I will get $30 Tmobile plan through walmart. My only concern is the coverage at my home. Hope that I could use my home wifi to improve calling. My office has very good TMobile coverage. As to the phone, it is definitely worth every penny that I spent. Actually I would like to get higher model of Nokia lumia but I don't like more expensive data plans. 06/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best entry level smartphone i purchased the lumia 521 several weeks ago using the find it in store feature on the website since it seemed to be sold out almost instantly. i had been living abroad for several years and upon returning to the US had to pick up a phone for use during grad school. this nokia when combined with tmobile's $30 per month unlimited data, texting, and 100 minutes plan representa a great value. Like all nokia phones i've used it has great build quality and is very durable. The camera is surprisingly capable given that it's only 5mp and features like panorama and smart shoot make it more than enough of a point and shoot for most situations, especially given how handy it is. The OS is smooth and functional with very little learning curve. I have been able to find all of the apps i need on the device, though i'm sure some specific ones that people use in other platforms would require finding an analogue on the marketplace. The battery seems to last me through the day just fine, even with some heavy internet use and reception seems good in most places. i'm told that tmobile is currently in the process of upgrading their 4g network so i expect it to improve as time goes on. At the end of the day i'm very happy with the phone and my decision to purchase it came down to a simple calculation that i think would resonate with most people. it has moost of the features and functionality of a high end phone at a price that is less an 1/4th of what those phones cost. Over the life of a two year contract this phone with service will cost me $129 dollars plus $30 per month, a net total of $850. In constrast something like an iphone or S4 would be at least $150 up front plus $70+ per month, a net total of $1830. At a discount of $1000 dollars over the life of the phone it was an easy decision for me. i hope it comes back in stock soon so others can have the same opportunity. 05/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Nokia Lumia 521 This is a good smartphone for a great price that offers more than iOS and Android it has a very solid 5 megapixel camera, all of the excellent Nokia apps and services (HERE Maps, Nokia Music, and more), removable battery and a miro SD card slot. 05/28/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by very fast responce to comands. for the money its good at most. Two weeks and the camera button already having problems feels cheaply constuccted.camra is simple to simple the apps take time to get use to if your a android owner and switch. id give 3 out of 4 stars 06/15/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not all that great I bought this phone to use with the Walmart Family plan. I bought it before Christmas when it was on sale for about $70. I thought I was getting a good deal on a great phone - boy was I wrong. I hate 80% of the apps available for this phone. It doesn't even compare to whats available for iPhones, and I think Microsoft needs to work on that. However, its not just the apps because I can deal with the awful quality. The phone freezes all of the time to where I have to open the back (which is not easy to do at all) and take out the battery and put it back in and turn the phone back on. Then on top of that, the phone shuts off randomly multiple times a week. It is very frustrating. I wish I would've put the money towards a down payment on an iPhone or bought a completely different phone rather than wasting the money on this phone. 02/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone period! For the price there is nothing to complain about or compare it with even in the $200-300 price range. This is one purchase that I have made that I feel the product is actually worth more than the price I paid for. I bought this for my mother who has bad eyes and can't see well without her glasses. She had a old flip/slider phone but she has a hard time dialing those small keypads. I had thought about iOS and Android, but with her bad eye sight she could not really make out the small icons, which is even worse when outdoors. The Windows tiles are perfect, I took the largest size tile possible for contacts with pictures and added them to the home screen. Now she just looks at the picture and press the contact she wants and hello, hello :-). I also like the fact that it has a dedicated hardware camera button which is another plus for her as she can now take lots of pictures of her grand kids. Overall with the hardware and software the phone is an exceptional value. Just an overall great phone for those who are not app dependent and new to smart phones. 06/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not Sure? Well I'm telling you this is the one. This phone is awesome, just like all the other reviews are saying. i have been using it a few weeks now and it is totally amazing. only one thing i can find that bothers me and that is the notification sound is not customizable, it only can be one of the like 10 stock sounds, but for the value and quality for $130. i haven't thought twice about my choice. 06/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by unbeatable for the price Was able to get it online from Wal-Mart. Not easy, but worth it. Have a Lumia 710, this easily beats it, except for the lack of a flash, which I rarely used anyway. Windows 8 is better than 7.5 in many ways. Price is crazy for what you get. Grab it if you can. See no reason to spend any more for a phone, Windows or not. 05/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great phone, it is fast, easy to use and has most of the apps that I want. The best thing about this phone is the price. All of the other smart phones that I looked at with similar features were at least $100 more if not four or five hundred more. I have an android pad and would have rather had an android phone but for the money I am thrilled that I bought this phone. One of the keys to enjoying this phone is to take the time the time to setup your home screen tiles properly. If you hold your finger on a tile it will allow you to modify the tile, you can change the size, the location and add and delete tiles from your home page. I like to have all of my tiles display on one page so I removed everything I don't use and shrunk most of them to fit on one page. The tiles I left large are those that can display information in the tile like the weather channel and my photographs. I have added a screen protector and a protective case to the phone. It looks and feels great. Thanks Nokia and T-mobile for making smart phones affordable. 07/29/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does The Job I was hesitant to buy a Windows Phone, but I have had it nearly a year now and I am overall pretty pleased with it. The thing I am most impressed with is its durability. I have dropped it many many times and it has never cracked or broken even though I have deserved it. It took some getting used to, but I have now mastered it and enjoy using it. I also like the size and weight and look of the phone - I think it is big enough to use easily, looks sharp and is very easy to carry. The things I don't like: Limited apps - I am a Realtor and my Realtor key will not work with it - uggggggh! Notification Sounds are not customizable & the ones they give you to choose from are boring and hard to hear. Battery Life is AWFUL unless you dim the screen so you can hardly see it at all which is really tough if you are outside! Camera is less than stellar - not great resolution but what do you expect from a $150 phone? Hope this is helpful! 07/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PHONE! I bought my daughter an iphone last month (13 Yrs old) and I also needed a new phone. I am not that tech savvy and didn't want a fancy or expensive phone I bought a basic phone for $60. and hated it. It was hard to operate and the type was so small even on the large settings. I returned it and bought this Nokia Lumia 521. I was a little intimidated and knew it had more than I wanted in a phone, only had it 3 days and I LOVE IT. With a little time spent and playing around with it, it is a great phone my daughter is even impressed. (She didn't help me with it at all). I will be buying a second one for my husband. I feel like I have an iphone I even listen to itunes on it and go on Facebook with it. 06/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works Great ... Usually I was very impressed with my lumia 521 but within days I noticed that my phone would randomly crash, restart, or refuse to turn on. Updating to Amber did not solve the issue. The Amber update added fm radio, data sense (monitoring data use), and several other minor improvements. I am working with Tmobile to get a replacement for my phone. As far as I can tell, nobody else seems to have the same issue. The phone is very fast and fluid with no noticeable lag. Battery life is pretty good, unless you are playing games or roaming a lot, which results in only 4-5 hour battery life. Be aware that (as far as I can tell) you will either have 4g (Hspa+ 21) which I have observed 6-16 mbps download speeds or 2g ( 50 kbps download speeds). I have never seen any form of 3g other than the "4g" Hspa+. If you are prepaid and travelling out west, expect voice and text but no data except in major cities. If you plan on travelling, make sure you turn on roaming (mine was disabled by default). Charge time is usually 2-3 hours depending on how low the battery is. Nokia's storage manager allows you to clear up storage space, including unnecessary files stored in the Other Storage category (Issue many Win Phone 8 users complain about). I found that even with 8gb of space, it was a good idea to install a microsd card if you are planning on keeping a lot of photos or music on your phone. I currently use the $30 walmart plan and to tell the truth 5gb of data is more than enough for any average user. (Note that you can unlock your phone after about 3 months on this plan. If you get your phone unlocked, it will work with sims from att, or net10, and possibly straight talk (using tmo network) ) Also note that with T-mobile if you can refer a friend (new customer) to get a free $25 promotional card (up to 10 per year). I think the referee can get a free $25 promo card as well but I am not positive. If you liked my review, and would be willing to help me out please use my referral link (https://mbsy.co/h3PZ). I will update my review when I get my phone replaced. 08/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect! This is an excellent value, everything that they say it can do, it does. I haven't had any problems with the tmobile network either however, I haven't used cellular data, I just use wifi since my plan requires extra money to include data for now, but this phone still works beautifully. My only issue is that my old excel files can't be edited in this version of office, they can be viewed, but not edited. So I have to do some copying and pasting to a new file to get them to work the way I want. I also hoped that the mobile version of office could support more features. If you plan to use it for anything even remotely complicated, save your money and get a more powerful windows device that runs office rt rather than the mobile phone version. This is more of a Microsoft issue but still applies since office is the number 1 reason that I selected this phone. Using excel to budget on the go is awesome! Connect it to skydrive and you are golden! 06/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing phone at this price It works like a charm. It has a decent 5 MP Camera and I love the new Windows Phone 8 OS. It provides a lot of flexibility over placement of apps with new tile sizes. Its been 2 weeks and it has worked flawlessly. Only thing is to keep the brightness level at high with battery saver on. The screen brightness is not so good at medium and low. But it may be an issue with OS(lack of multiple points of brightness) and not hardware. I was a galaxy S2 user earlier which is still a great phone. I moved because I got bored of Android UI. And also a great price to Enter into Windows Phone. Nokia and Microsoft guys you rock. I will suggest everyone to go for a nokia if you want to get a great experience of Windows Phone OS. I am loving it for now... :) 06/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Windows 8 phone I have used this phone over a week. It's awesome. Far better than I expected for a budget phone. You have free offline navigation. You can download the entire usa map in one shot. Lots more features than I ever want. Some people commented the screen resolution is not good. To me, the screen is sharp and bright. Again, for the price I paid at Walmart, it's more than enough. 06/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow Great phone. Best phone purchase I have ever made. Love the savings and phone and now I prefer the window phones. My next upgrade will be windows. The T-Mobile savings is nice as well. By sprint I don't miss you. 06/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Greatest Phone at This Price This phone works fluently thanks to the WP8, and the eye-catching UI makes everything come up intuitively. Different from iphone and android phones, Nokia Lumia series with WP8 have its own characteristic. It is a good choice for you. 05/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never got to use I was asked to enter my address before ordering to see if coverage was available in my area. I was told yes the service was available at my address so I went ahead and ordered the phone online as a birthday gift for my daughter. Shipping was fast and activation was simple but sadly after activating the phone and powering it on a no service signal popped up. Called customer service and they were absolutely terrible to deal with! No help at all. I had to return it. Very disappointing experience for both myself and my daughter. 11/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smartphone for beginer and experienced one. Needless to compliment about this Nokia Lumia 521 again because a lot of people already covered it. Only state of the art HERE Map, HERE Drive, and HERE Transit are already worth more than $129.88 USD. Remember that they are using GPS and user does not pay for wireless data connection and/or $9.99/month for using the Navigator as in the case of Verizon and ATT if I remember correctly. Beside that HERE Map and HERE Drive provides the user a whole list of options those really impress me. The screen is very sensitive that you can touch by finger nail or glove. After messing around few hours to setup for my wife and get use to it I decided to buy another Nokia Lumia Window Phone in the close future. I hope that T-Mobile will have Nokia Lumia 620 and I believe it will be a huge hit like Lumia 521. 05/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best. Phone. Ever. & A Great Buy! So, I am a 13 year-old and I recently bought this phone. I might not know what parents think of it but I'm sure teens will love it. I bought this phone about a week ago and I am very satisfied. To the nice 7.24 display all the way down to the 8gb hard-drive. It's fantastic. When you start-up the phone you always get the Windows 8 tiles, which are cool I should say) there is no problem. Other people that have rated this one star have problems with it such as it will turn off randomly, well, it won't. Some of the bad things are such as- you need a micro sim card to make phone calls, etc. and the minor problem of the bottom home screen, back, and quick search buttons don't light up. Everything else is fine though. Everyday I use this phone with no trouble. The battery life is decent I get a good 24-hour use of it and charge it while I sleep. There's not that many apps on this though. You can get facebook, instagram (6tag), and games but there's a wide variaty of things. You can get a Micro SD card for more memory. The camera on the phone, I'd have to say it's perfect. Nokia and T-Mobile did a decent job this time and I hope you liked the review I kept it simple and to the point. I recommend this to anyone/everyone. :) have a nice day. 12/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great replacement for iPhone3Gs I bought this when my trusty iPhone 3GS started giving me problems. Instead of buying an iPhone 5, I researched what else is available and after looking at the problems the iPhone 5 has with maps, weather reports, and blue-tooth, I decided to try something else. After looking at the Android platform, I saw a review of the Nokia Lumia 925 and look at Nokia. I saw the 510 and spec'ed it out. While it's not a high end phone, it's got features some high-end phones (iPhone) don't have, like a SD card slot. I like the button positioning and the camera, while only 5Mg. is outstanding. The software offerings are excellent. 08/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great phone Very pleased with this, my first, smart phone. The price for this seemed too good to be true compared to comparable smart phones, so read reviews/ info to learn more. It took a while to purchase it as they sold out as quickly as they became available online (they aren't carried in my home town Walmart). Used the T-Mobile online activation at the bottom of the home page https://www.t-mobile.com/shop/plans/ActivateCodes.aspx as advised in the 'Walmart Customer Q&A Exchange' to get the $30 / month 100 minutes, unlimited text/ data plan. I was a bit confused as this was not advertised as an option in the materials packaged with the phone. Thank you for posting helpful reviews and tips Walmart!! There are a variety of apps available on the Nokia http://www.nokia.com/us-en/apps/lumia/ and Windows Phone http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/featured-apps websites and expect will be more selection in the future. I already referred this to someone shopping for reasonably priced phones and plans for their family and will let others know. Now if T-Mobile can expand their (4G) coverage a bit more... 08/07/2013
61-90 of 659 total reviews
Previous 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw463
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp