Kind of Kin

Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

Kind of Kin

Format:  Hardcover,

627 pages

Publisher: Thorndike Pr

Publish Date: Aug 2013

ISBN-13: 9781410459817

ISBN-10: 1410459810

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
In stores only
Not Available at this time

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.

In Kind of Kin by award-winning author Rilla Askew, when a church-going, community-loved, family man is caught hiding a barn-full of illegal immigrant workers, he is arrested and sent to prison. This shocking development sends ripples through the town--dividing neighbors, causing riffs amongst his family, and spurring controversy across the state.

Using new laws in Oklahoma and Alabama as inspiration, Kind of Kin is a story of self-serving lawmakers and complicated lawbreakers, Christian principle and political scapegoating.

Rilla Askew's funny and poignant novel explores what happens when upstanding people are pushed too far--and how an ad-hoc family, and ultimately, an entire town, will unite to protect its own.

Specifications

Publisher: Thorndike Pr
Publish Date: Aug 2013
ISBN-13: 9781410459817
ISBN-10: 1410459810
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 627
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.5
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.0 x 9.0 x 1.5

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2012-11-15)

When Oklahoma passes a tough new law making harboring "illegals" a felony, Robert John Brown refuses to defend himself and is sent to prison for hiding a barn full of undocumented migrant workers. Brown's daughter Sweet is left to manage a family (including a troublesome son and an orphaned nephew) that is coming apart at the seams as her marriage collapses under the stress.

Verdict: A Pen/Faulkner Award and Dublin IMPAC Prize nominee, Askew (Strange Business; Harpsong; Fire in Beulah) has written a realistic and powerful narrative that follows the complex motives of Oklahoma's lawmakers and those citizens who choose to break a law they don't support. She populates her novel with boldly drawn characters from multiple ethnic and political backgrounds. Sure to appeal to readers of Adriana Trigiani and Barbara Kingsolver.

[See Prepub Alert, 7/30/12.] - Mara Dabrishus, Ursuline Coll. Lib., Pepper Pike, OH

(c). Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

In Kind of Kin by award-winning author Rilla Askew, when a church-going, community-loved, family man is caught hiding a barn-full of illegal immigrant workers, he is arrested and sent to prison. This shocking development sends ripples through the town--dividing neighbors, causing riffs amongst his family, and spurring controversy across the state.

Using new laws in Oklahoma and Alabama as inspiration, Kind of Kin is a story of self-serving lawmakers and complicated lawbreakers, Christian principle and political scapegoating.

Rilla Askew's funny and poignant novel explores what happens when upstanding people are pushed too far--and how an ad-hoc family, and ultimately, an entire town, will unite to protect its own.

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now