The Prayer Box

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

The Prayer Box

Format:  Hardcover,

386 pages

Publisher: Tyndale House Pub

Publish Date: Aug 2013

ISBN-13: 9781414388250

ISBN-10: 141438825X

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$12.83

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

From the Manufacturer

TO INJECT VIDEO

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.
When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out Iola's rambling Victorian house.Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola's walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, spanning from Iola's youth to her last days. Hidden in the boxes is the story of a lifetime, written on random bits of paper--the hopes and wishes, fears and thoughts of an unassuming but complex woman passing through the seasons of an extraordinary, unsung life filled with journeys of faith, observations on love, and one final lesson that could change everything for Tandi.

Specifications

Author:
Publisher: Tyndale House Pub
Publish Date: Aug 2013
ISBN-13: 9781414388250
ISBN-10: 141438825X
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 386
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.95
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.69 x 1.27 x 8.5

About the author

Biography of Wingate, Lisa

Lisa Wingate is an award-winning journalist, magazine columnist, popular inspirational speaker and a national bestselling author. Recently, Lisa's Blue Sky Hill Series received national attention with back-to-back nominations for American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year Award for A Month of Summer (2009) and The Summer Kitchen (2010). In 2011, Lisa's Novel, Never Say Never, won the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year Award. Lisa is also the author of The Tending Roses, Daily Texas, Moses Lake, and the Texas Hill Country Series.

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2013-08-01)

Running away from her past, single mother Tandi Jo Reese rents a cottage on Hatteras Island, but when her elderly landlady dies in her sleep, the task of cleaning out Iola Anne Poole's big house falls to Tandi Jo. Tandi comes across 81 decorated prayer boxes containing notes: pieces of a life well lived. In them, Tandi finds not only redemption but peace with her past.

Verdict: Two-time Carol Award winner Wingate (Blue Moon Bay) has written a moving and inspiring story with interesting female characters and a colorful Southern backdrop. A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe.

(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out Iola’s rambling Victorian house.

Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola’s walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, spanning from Iola’s youth to her last days.

Hidden in the boxes is the story of a lifetime, written on random bits of paper--the hopes and wishes, fears and thoughts of an unassuming but complex woman passing through the seasons of an extraordinary, unsung life filled with journeys of faith, observations on love, and one final lesson that could change everything for Tandi.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms