See All Reviews
Spencer's Mountain (Widescreen)
Spencer's Mountain (Widescreen)
$4.85
List Price: $5.97
You Save: $1.12 (19%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 33 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by An American Classic Spencer's Mountian is a picture of all that is best about America. The story of a family struggling to provide a better life for the next generation. A snapshot of a family whose story gives us glimpses of four generations, from the first settlers in a sod hut fo modern times striving to gain the gift of an education for the first generation to graduate high school and reach for college. This story was the inspiration for the television series The Walton's, and in my opinion a much better story for being closer to the truth. Henry Fonda and Maureen O'Hara provide the backbone of a family that is truly All American. 03/20/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great movie for the entire family The movie is like watching the waltons. The scenary is breath taking and the characters are real and down to earth. A rare thing in a movie to see a family dealing with situations together. Something we could all learn from for todays families. Perserverance, commitment, and loyalty. Sticky together no matter what comes their way. Family, faith, and good old fashion work. A pleasure to watch would have liked to see the seguel. I give it a 5 star plus. 02/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is a great reminder on how we baby-boomers were raised. Todays social services would have had a field day with this family and living arrangements. Parents might want to screen this before showing younger family members. 11/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good clean movie with a happy ending. Good for the soul. 02/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Similar to the Waltons If you like the 70s TV show "The Waltons," you'll like this. It predates that show and has a similar country family with similar themes. 12/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the Best! I am an old movie buff and Spencer's Mountain has always been one of my favorites. My Mom and I would sit up late sometimes and watch old musicals and movies together and I guess her passion spilled over to me. Movies like this intrigue me because there was an actual movie plot without a bunch of swearing and killing. It was about a family working hard together, survival and loving each other. What could be better than that? It also has some great stars in it as well. 01/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great classic! While the concept for the television series The Waltons was based on this movie you should not allow your younger children to enjoy it! Lots of sexual innuendo for a movie of it's period and strong religious beliefs are debated. For the adults however it is an excellent movie that addresses many values that are pertinent to today! 07/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good movie I love Walton's Mountain, and this is the movie that Walton's Mountain originated from and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It will have you laughing and crying and watching over and over. 02/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Movie Spencer's Mountain This movie made me cry when I was a teenager and now as a grandmother I am still crying Very good movie that depicts values and morals, respect for our parents and ourselves. Good Sunday afternoon movie. 03/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This movie was great for the entire family. It brings me back to times when life was simple and sweet and people valued their families above all. 03/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by DIFFERENT Values I purchased this movie simlpy because it was the basis of the Waltons. However there really is no comparison to them. The parents in Spencer's Mountain are total oppisites of the Waltons. The father drinks and cusses and the Mother does little to encourage her children to try for a better life. Clay boy seems to be the only one that has emotions like John boy in the Waltons. this movie is a great take off for the origanal Waltons. I don't think my collection would be complete without it. 11/09/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by good family movie Fonda does a good job! great scenery! 02/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a very wonderful movie. I bought three. I bought three of these movies. gave one to my sister, one to a friend and one to myself. I highly recommend this great family movie. One of the best of the best. 01/27/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Movie The DVD is very good, but delivery time to store is slower than than any place else. 06/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Movie For anyone who loved the Waltons TV show would love this movie. Henry Fonda is great as the father. Maureen Ohara plays the mother and is great in her roll. 04/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spencer's Mountain This a great movie. It had a lot of action and a few tender moments in it. I would recommend this movie to anyone. 05/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Classic Movie This movie was the idea for the "Waltons". It is a great movie about a family struggling to make it in the depression. If you like Henry Fonda, then this is a movie to see and own. It is a great classic. 04/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good movie. $5.oo cost was really good.A movie you can watch over and over. 03/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Funny yet sad!! Saw this in the theater as a teenager and loved it. Been trying to find it for years. Glad to finally get it. I watched it as soon as it arrived and plan to watch again this weekend. Very good movie. Sad when the grandfather dies though. All in all a great show for all ages. 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A True Family Classic Spencer's Mountain is a true family classic movie. Henry Fonda and Maureen O'Hara do a wonderful job as mother and father to a growing brood. A god fearing Babtist and a heathen....lol. This is something the whole family can watch 02/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good family movie very good family strongly encourage all to see. 08/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good family movie I have loved this movie ever since it came out. One of the best family movies EVER. 04/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Movie Love this movie...great service and it was a great price 12/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great movie for the family I believe this movie was the basis of the TV series The Waltons. The cast is great and the plot is wonderful. I recommend this movie for the entire family to watch together. 10/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great movie for the entire family. 09/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A.nother great family movie 09/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent A very good family film. 02/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spencer's Mountain This was a wonderful Family movie with my favorite actress, Maureen O'hara. 06/06/2008
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw230
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp