LeapFrog Fridge Phonics Magnetic Alphabet

Q&A
By: LeapFrog
Walmart #: 000753052
LeapFrog Fridge Phonics Magnetic Alphabet
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

How do you spell fridge fun? With the LeapFrog Fridge Phonics alphabet. This set of magnetic refrigerator letters brings traditional refrigerator play to life to teach letter names and sounds. Just place any letter into the letter reader of the LeapFrog Fridge Phonics alphabet and press it to hear its name, sound, and a phonics song.

About this item

How do you spell fridge fun? With the LeapFrog Fridge Phonics alphabet. This set of magnetic refrigerator letters brings traditional refrigerator play to life to teach letter names and sounds. Just place any letter into the letter reader of the LeapFrog Fridge Phonics alphabet and press it to hear its name, sound, and a phonics song.

Fridge Phonics Magnetic Alphabet:Teaches

  • Letters
  • Phonics
  • Learning songs

Develops
  • Exploration and creativity
  • Motor skills
  • Lanaguage development

Features
  • 26 magnetic letters with magnetic letter reader that all attach to the refrigerator
  • The letter reader recognizes which magnetic letter is placed inside of it and identifies the letter name and sings a short song about the sound it makes
  • The child can also press a song button that plays a phonics song about the chosen letter
  • LeapFrog Fridge Phonics alphabet requires 3 AAA batteries (not included)

Awards

  • 2003 Gold Seal Award, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio
  • 2003 Parenting 2003 Toys of the Year Award
  • 2003 Toy Wishes All Star, Preschool Category

Specifications

Age: 2 Years ,  3 - 4 Years
Battery Type: AAA
Age Start: 2 Years
Age End: 5 Years
Language Options: English
Multi Pack Indicator: No
Model No.: 20305
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.5
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 2.0 x 9.75 x 10.75
Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
Origin of Components: Imported
Walmart No.: 753052
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 375 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

375 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

375 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
310
4 stars
41
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-5 of 296 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A Great Toddler Product
8/15/2007

Customer review by Taurusgirl422

5.0 stars 8/15/2007 by Taurusgirl422
by Taurusgirl422

I got this for my son last Christmas, at the time he was turning 2 and needed something to help him identify letters and numbers. This product is just what we needed! It comes with a reader that says each letter or number when inserted and also sings a song that helps identify the letter or number and also helps teach the sound each letter makes through the use of phonics. When there is no letter inserted the reader plays the alphabet song or counts to ten and encourages your child to sing or count along. The only problem we had with the unit was that several of the letters were mis-programmed and when inserted in the reader said the wrong letter. When we contacted Leap Frog they asked us to simply exchange it at Walmart and we did. This one works great and I have given them as gifts to ALL of my friends with toddlers.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taurusgirl422
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOOOOVE this!!!
11/12/2007

Customer review by coolmawmy

5.0 stars 11/12/2007 by coolmawmy
by coolmawmy

My 2 year old LOVES this set! It is so fun for her and though kind of annoying to me it is great. This has really helped her learn her ABC's!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolmawmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very educational
11/5/2007

Customer review by Beadlady

5.0 stars 11/5/2007 by Beadlady
by Beadlady

This is a must for 2 yearolds. Not only does it teach the alphabet but the songs are helpful in remembering!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beadlady
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful toy!
11/18/2009

Customer review by Onsted

5.0 stars 11/18/2009 by Onsted
by Onsted

We bought this for our daughter when she was just a year old. By the time she was 2 years old she could sing the alphabet song and knew all her letters by sight. Although we worked with her too, this toy helped reinforce her learning.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onsted
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
My Daughter Loves it...
11/10/2009

Customer review by MommaNIC

5.0 stars 11/10/2009 by MommaNIC
by MommaNIC

My one year old daughter plays with it daily and loves it. I don't think she quite gets it though. She never lets the alpha song or the letter sounds play through and the letters end up scattered all over our apartment. HOWEVER, she plays with it all the time and has fun with it. That's all that matters to me...the alphabet side will come later. OH..and the pieces are big enough that she can't fit them in her mouth. Another plus is the magnets are enclosed in the letter casing so you don't have to worry about your kiddos swallowing the magnets.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaNIC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-5 of 296 total reviews See all
1-5 of 296 reviews

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 13 questions
1-3 of 13 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
For example, can I set the barn on the table and let him place the letters on there? Will it still work?
by SHOP1245 12/18/2010
12 answers
  • A. It works everywhere it has magnets in it so it sticks to anything metal but you can play with it anywhere
    by tinyman119/24/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. My Grandaughter put it on my entry door in the front room and she play with it all the time.
    by An anonymous customer12/28/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes. It plays the same regardless where you put it.
    by An anonymous customer12/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes- the main "block" obviously won't "stick" to the table, but the letters will stick magnetically connect to the main block without it being on the fridge
    by CouponerChick12/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It works no matter where you place it. We have a steel door and my daughter will sometimes lug it into the front room to play with or just carry it around and sing along with it.
    by LydS1712/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, my daughter carries it around and plays with it room to room.
    by match2212/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, it will work anywhere really. The magnet doesn't need to be engaged for it to function.
    by EmmaCadencesMom12/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes it just lays flat
    by MommyTabba12/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes
    by 44vols12/26/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, you do not need the frig in order to use this toy. It travels well any where in the house :-)
    by Mariposa2612/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
I was wondering, because I'm teaching my daughter to read and although she knows the basic sounds of all the letters, it's still difficult to read the pre-reading and level 1 reading books that have words with the variation sounds of letters.i need something that will help THOSE stick so that "sounding it out" will work efficiently.
by makaylasmommy312 11/7/2010
11 answers
  • A. Yes. As in "c" making the "ch" sound as well as the "kh" sound. The "y" is also distinguished among others.
    by Fibrowoman2/21/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it does.
    by skodie12341/21/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It does. It goes through the normal routine and says whatever letter and then the other sounds it makes.
    by Newmom7151/16/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes and also like the C makes the sound in Cat and Cycle.....ect
    by LalyBravo1/7/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. This toy does two sounds for A, C, E, G, I, U, and Y.
    by EVail8/12/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I guess I didn't pay enough attention when my daughter started playing with it because YES, it does make all the sounds that a letter can make. My mistake
    by EmmaCadencesMom12/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes! When it plays the song for the sounds it will use both short and long sounds of the vowels and other letters that apply.
    by LydS1712/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Each letter has only one "song" that goes with it and teaches only one sound for each letter.
    by EmmaCadencesMom3/26/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, one sound per letter
    by teachingGrandma3/26/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, if the letter has two sounds it will say them both. My 2 year old loves to repeat after it. Great toy!
    by littlelogan12/24/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
is it bad or good as far as developmental appropriateness
by fruit37 4/16/2010
9 answers
  • A. I bought it for my daughters first birthday and she loves it. she loves listening to the sounds of the letters. I think from 12 months to 36 months or when the little one starts learning to read, this toy is a great way to learn the abc's!
    by Dnolson2/14/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Honestly this came in handy when my kids were 2 years old. They would push it and listen. Just by listening they learned all their ABC's. It comes in handy when they get a little older if struggling with sounds of letters.
    by skodie12341/21/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Probably ages 1 to 3. My 4-year-old doesn't play with it, but my 22-month-old loves the song and the music. He sings along to the alphabet song.
    by 4LittleAngels1/3/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. my kid is 22 months old and he loves it
    by tinyman1112/29/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Its good but its Not a stand alone or replacement for parent interaction its a complement, a tool for parents to nurture their child's/grandchild's development
    by IssiahsGrandMa12/28/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It's never to early for a child to learn and be exposed to educational things. I would say age appropriateness would start at 1.5 years but it all depends on the child themselves. If you have a child that is farther in their development at a younger age then it would be just as appropriate. If you have a child that is developmentally slower for their age I would say this toy would still be fine and may help them development cognitive thinking, problem solving (for putting letters in and taking them out) and exposure of sounds of letters.
    by Mariposa2612/27/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. 2 through 5
    by kindy12/8/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I bought when my daughter was 16 months it is great she knows alot of her ABCs
    by 010810/1/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. This is great for any child once he or she learns how to walk or crawl. The letters are appropriately sized for little hands making it simple for a child to handle. In terms of educational value I give it 4.5 out of 5, not perfect because the N, M, and F sounds are a little muffled to my standard, but just an exceptional device that even introduces both sounds of letters that have 2 sounds with its catchy little tune. I think that this is very appropriate for children under 2 and older.
    by LizzleRizzle12/2/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 13 questions See all
1-3 of 13 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list