Similar items in stock

Boxee TV

Q&A
By: D-Link
Walmart #: 550841730
Boxee TV
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Connect Boxee TV to your cable outlet or a digital TV antenna and get the major broadcast TV channels from ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC and more all in HD and surround sound. Connect Boxee Box Tuner to your Wi-Fi to get the best Internet apps including VUDU, Netflix, YouTube and more on the biggest screen in the house. Additionally Boxee Box TV plays nearly every popular video format you throw at it... Lastly, your Boxee Box Tuner offers No Limits DVR for just $9.99 a month in select markets - check availability at boxee.tv/dvr. With the major TV channels, an amazing DVR and Internet apps, Boxee TV offers all the entertainment most of us ever need so you can watch what you spend and still watch what you love.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Connect Boxee TV to your cable outlet or a digital TV antenna and get the major broadcast TV channels from ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC and more all in HD and surround sound. Connect Boxee Box Tuner to your Wi-Fi to get the best Internet apps including VUDU, Netflix, YouTube and more on the biggest screen in the house. Additionally Boxee Box TV plays nearly every popular video format you throw at it... Lastly, your Boxee Box Tuner offers No Limits DVR for just $9.99 a month in select markets - check availability at boxee.tv/dvr. With the major TV channels, an amazing DVR and Internet apps, Boxee TV offers all the entertainment most of us ever need so you can watch what you spend and still watch what you love.


Boxee TV:

  • Delivers major broadcast TV channels in HD from any digital antenna or basic cable subscription
  • No Limits DVR in select cities - see boxee.tv/dvr for availability
  • Netflix, VUDU, YouTube, Pandora, Spotify and more
  • Share favorites on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr
  • Play your own video, audio, and picture files
  • Easy, intuitive setup
  • Includes a digital antenna

Specifications

Depth: 3.8 in
Height: 1.6 in
Product Type: Digital multimedia receiver
Width: 6.7 in
Sound Output Mode: Stereo
Power Consumption Operational: 4 Watt
Connector Type: 1 x Ethernet ( RJ-45 ) - rear 1 x HDMI output ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - rear 2 x USB ( 4 pin USB Type A ) - rear
Model No.: DSM-382
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.61
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.69 x 3.78 x 1.57
Walmart No.: 550841730
Show
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 40 questions
1-3 of 40 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by MBprinceton 11/7/2012
6 answers
  • A. Yes. But your TV may be able to do this already. If you have a TV with an ATSC tuner (any recent HD tv sold in the USA), all you really need is an antenna. If your TV has HDMI ports but no tuner, than this box would be a really good choice.
    by Geek13371/16/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes, but you can use an antenna for that instead.
    by ivymike123451/16/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes.
    by bdowell1/16/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, however nearly all modern TVs will allow you to receive the same channels as the boxee tv without having to buy hardware. For your purposes, it might very well be a waste of money.
    by SmartAlecKid1/16/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, it has a built in HD tuner and it comes with an antenna. I get around 5 channels but I heard in other major cities you get a lot more. I have an amplified antenna and I am going to try to hook it up tonight to see if I can get more channels. Free TV for live...
    by electronicmasta11/9/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yep - it comes with an antenna you can plug in to watch TV right outta the box. If you've already got an antenna, you can use that instead. Once you do, you'll get a full program guide for what's playing in your area, which is a nice change from just plugging an antenna into the back of your TV. You could use this feature on its own along with YouTube and several other apps with no monthly fee.
    by BoxeeAndrew11/27/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by #1builtyourhome 11/3/2012
4 answers
  • A. Yes. You hook the rabbit ears into the boxeeTv and then connect the boxeeTv into your TV via an HDMI port. The boxeeTV will act as a tuner for the Over-The-Air (OTA) digital tv signal (in the usa this is ATSC). This assumes that you have a tv with an HDMI port and that you live in an area where you get good digital tv, over the air. Also, in order to record TV with the boxeeTv you have to live in a supported are. Check with boxeeTV website for details.
    by Geek133711/13/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Boxee will duplicate the functionality of your "rabbit ears" on your TV. You will need an HDMI input on your TV to get the high-definition signal from the Boxee. Also, you will need a network connection to access the internet apps, Netflix, Vudu, etc, and the DVR functions.
    by marcesq11/6/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You can connect your rabbit ears directly to the back of Boxee TV, and then plug Boxee TV into the back of your TV via HDMI.
    by BoxeeAndrew11/6/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The input is coaxial, so you will need an adapter (assuming you have 2 wires).
    by SmartAlecKid12/4/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 40 questions See all
1-3 of 40 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

64 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

64 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

28%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 stars
34
1-5 of 61 total reviews
28%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Does Not Work At All
12/29/2012

Customer review by ThaBiGGDoGG

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by ThaBiGGDoGG
by ThaBiGGDoGG

I just bought Boxee TV yesterday from Wal-Mart & it has not worked once yet. Every time I turn it on I get a solid RED SCREEN. A few times a solid BLACK SCREEN. That is all I have seen so far. Very very disappointed in this product. I was going to buy an AppleTV but I used to love the Boxee software on my PC & this has live tv support so I went with Boxee. Wow this seems like a huge mistake. I did some interwebs searches & I keep finding this very same problem happening with the Boxee Box. How could a company push the release of this product when it clearly don't work properly. Seems that more testing should have been done. Called Boxee customer support yesterday after 2 hours trying to get this to work stayed on the line for 10 minutes waiting for service & gave up. I think this weekend it will go back to the store. I will request the Wal-Mart manager & suggest he pull this product from his shelves & return it to Boxee.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThaBiGGDoGG
Uhrichsville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great idea, Poor execution
11/6/2012

Customer review by austriak5

1.0 stars 11/6/2012 by austriak5
by austriak5

I really wanted to like the Boxee TV. I use an antenna to get the free tv channels and thought that it would be awesome to be able to record shows and watch them on my phone or ipad later. The best thing that I can say about it is that the interface is really nice. It looks good and it is nice to be able to see what is going to be on later on each channel. That is about the only positive that I have to say. With antenna hooked up to my TV, I get all local channels except for ABC. With the exact same antenna hooked up to the Boxee TV, I only got 4 channels and only 1 of them worked well at all. This means that the TV tuner used in the Boxee TV is extremely weak. The cloud DVR did not work and Boxee's excuse is that it is "beta". The most annoying part was that the Boxee TV would freeze and require me to restart it many times. However, pulling the power or pushing the restart button doesn't work the first time. It takes multiple times to get it to restart and start back up. As the title says, it really is a great idea, just poorly executed. If Boxee upgrades the tuners and updates the software, this could be a killer item. However, for now, it is just a piece of junk. I do appreciate that I had no issues returning it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (63) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
austriak5
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Pathetic
11/9/2012

Customer review by Sundown224

1.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Sundown224
by Sundown224

I have used Boxee for several years and was very disappointed with this product. It has none of the features that made Boxee the best in class. It has Netflix and VuDu clients, but so does my TV, BluRay player, and Western Digital media player. My Samsung BluRay player has all the same apps plus several more. You can only access your personal media from an attached USB device. It has no support for DLNA or SMB shares. It takes about 30 minutes to setup. The unit requires and immediate upgrade out of the box and then you have to register with Boxee, using a PC or other device, and provide way to much personal information. The internet integration is excellent. Once registered you can use an iPad or tablet to control the device and select content to view. Overall it is no replacement for the cable box and it does not have enough features to justify the price asked.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sundown224
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No.
10/7/2013

Customer review by ClaymoreHf

1.0 stars 10/7/2013 by ClaymoreHf
by ClaymoreHf

I wanted a streaming media player for my new TV, and noticed Boxee offered a device which claimed to deliver broadcast TV channels as well. Pricier, but with that tantalizing bundle, fine. Ninety-eight bucks it is. The antenna failed to retrieve any signal at all, though placed in an area with known and reliable signal strength. The streaming device itself failed to establish a connection with my router, although my laptop in the same vicinity had no problem with signal strength. After failing to connect, Boxee simply entered a loop of shutting down, powering up, attempting to connect, and repeating. Worse, each time it rebooted, it displayed the Boxee logo...a five-second annoyance that was especially galling since it was the only screen this product managed to produce. It's back in the box and it's being returned to the store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClaymoreHf
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Big disappointment
11/23/2012

Customer review by tfdots

2.0 stars 11/23/2012 by tfdots
by tfdots

I have had this device for a week and it's painfully obvious that it was rushed to market for the holidays. I live in an area where the DVR is supported- but in reality- it's completely unusable. Even with the latest firmware update, recordings buffer every 5 seconds. Regular live TV watching works fine, as long as you have a roof antenna. However, you cannot pause live tv or set recordings from the remote. All video recordings must be set from the web interface on a computer. Unfortunately, the Boxee TV cannot be controlled by most universal remotes or extenders. It uses a remote control protocol (RCMM) that is not supported by the following Logitech Harmony models: (620, 628, 655, 659, 670, 676, 680, and 688.) I have my entire system hidden behind a cabinet, controlled by a Harmony and an unsupported Next Generation extender, so this alone is a deal-killer for me. If you don't mind dealing with multiple remotes and having your Boxee TV and wires dangling all over the place, then maybe you will not mind this. Netflix also played back without a problem for me. However, be sure you have internet access with no monthly data caps. The Boxee TV is constantly uploading data even if you are not recording anything. In two days, my Boxee uploaded nearly 80GB of data! I will be returning it soon to Wal-Mart, and I'm sure many others will be on Dec. 26th. (Check out the Boxee TV Facebook page- the majority of people commenting on there are returning it.) Very frustrating that a device with such promise can fail to deliver so badly.

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tfdots
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-5 of 61 total reviews See all
1-5 of 61 reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  1 Year Limited Warranty See details

Supplier Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.