Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fully meets my needs I am pleased with the ease of setup, and readability of the screen. 05/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by met expectations except for one minor defect Overall, an excellent product at a competitive price. But the product had one minor defect: The screen was unattached to the cover on the right side of the screen (the left and top were fine). The separation was only about a millimeter and didn't affect machine performance, but the sloppy workmanship was still annoying. I ordered the product the second day after it was publicly available, so this minor defect in workmanship can probably be attributed to having a very early production model. HP was happy to ship me a replacement product or repair this very minor defect if I sent it in for repair. But I had already moved my programs and data to the new machine, and I couldn't do without it for more than a day or two, so I've decided to simply live with this minor, non-functional defect. Otherwise, the product met my expectations. 05/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall great I got the new 3rd gen i7 processor, 8gb ram, 750 gb hard drive, 2gb dedicated nividia geforce gt 650m (it also has intel graphics 4000hd I dont know why). Gaming is why I got this, the graphics are great, runs relatively fast, audio (beats audio) not bad for a laptop was a definite step up from my compaq laptop. Backlit keyboard is awesome, off or on with a button. F1-11 buttons are the fn function key. Seperate number pad. Cons the keyboard is slightly curved upward as with previous reviews I had read on previous models, disappointed. In front of the touchpad the lower part doesn't mesh with the upper, only noticeable when you look down at the touchpad area. Other than just getting used to the touchpad its great. If using this for gaming a chill pad is needed. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by worth the wait~ I've waiting for this new dv7 with intel ivy bridge cpu & new graphic card from Nvidia (GT 650M). this is definitely one of the best top class desktop replacement laptop you can buy. This laptop can pretty much do everything you can throw at it, even high rez games. Beat audio is good with external speakers/headphones. some minor issues are small up/down arrow keys & speakers. HP better upgrade speakers cause sound is just loud with no depth to it. But, overall this is good laptop and anyone looking for desktop replacement or some powerful portable pc, make sure to check out dv7. 05/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Computer EXCEPT the Keyboard HP did a great job on everything EXCEPT the keyboard. They have all that real estate and the arrow keys are TINY or should I say tiny. The top row of keys are almost as tiny. I have to get my reading glasses out to find where the F3 key is when I am doing a find next. I can't recommend this computer to anyone. Just like I can't recommend their netbooks. Next time you are shopping for their netbook try to find the HOME key. There isn't one. 05/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Touchpad works poorly Touchpad is far too sensitive. Cursor moves when I try to tap. No adjustment. Have to use a mouse. Help? 05/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast Computer Very good computer, but the two things I wished it had is dual band WiFi, my old DV-7 has Dual Band. And wished the hard drive light was in the front to see what the computer drive was doing. Everything else is Perfect. 05/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Laptop w Some Awkward Features This laptop has good components and performs well, but suffers from some bad design choices. The USB ports and the AC adapter plugin are located on the sides (some near the front), which is extremely awkward when the adapter and a mouse are connected. Their cords get in the way, and I have resorted to plugging my mouse in on the left side and running its cord all the way around the laptop to keep the cord out of the way. The AC adapter seems heavier than necessary. Its cord is very long, which is both an asset and liability (it gets in the way as well). Since the display is widescreen, its height is 1/2" less than a standard (non-widescreen) 17" monitor. HP installs some bloatware, which takes a bit of time to remove. The audio quality is good, and the keyboard is comfortable and efficient to use. The webcam and fingerprint reader are nice features. 05/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great investment Love it. Great features and very fast. 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best laptop I've owned I purchased the dv7t Quad Edition a few weeks ago and absolutely love it. It's by far teh best laptop I've ever owned. My only concern/issue is that I feel the DVD drive feels a little flimsy. Other than that, I have no issues with it's construction. While installing some software I had issues with the Windows Installer, but was quickly helped by HP tech support to work around it and install my wireless printer. I was able to eventually resolve the installer issues. After searching for several hours and try solutions that didn't work, I stumbled across the following command which resolved the issue: sfc /scannow. Hope this helps anyone having similar problems. 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Loved it.. Really good.. There's just one thing thing that bothers me, it came with a lot of software and basically I don't need or want them... But that's OK.. 05/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Great laptop Love this computer had i wanted in a laptop at a great price 05/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Laptop but quality problem I always found HP products to be good, reliable and of good quality. However, this laptop came with poor manufacturing quality. The performance was fine but I had to get it replaced to correct the problems. This process did cost me some of mine personal time. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal Great price for a great laptop. Upgraded from HP sister PC Compaq. Glad I did. Better build quality and more features than I will probably ever use. Needed a large storage space so upgraded to the two terabyte HD. Should never fill up in before it goes out. 05/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I have had my DV7T Quad Edition for about 2 weeks and so far so good. It actually seems to be better than our desktop. This is my first laptop and I am very pleased with the performance thus far. I read some reviews about the fan being loud, but it doesn't seem to be that bad at all. Of course, I upgraded the hard drive to the 160 GB SSD, so possibly mine is not generating as much heat as it would have been? That upgrade is well worth it, also got the 1080p display and it looks great. I also love the fingerprint reader, it makes logging in so easy. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with a backlit keyboard. 05/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice, so far.... Nice looking box. I'm not liking the touchpad thing, but I never like any one else's either. I'm finally replacing my Dell. The keyboard takes some getting used to, and isn't backlit. The key feel is a tad different. as there might be less travel on the key stroke. Sound is good! I loke it! 05/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worthwhile Purchase Finally purchased the HP Pavilion dv7qte laptop with Windows 7 home, 8G of memory, high def screen, MS Office 2010 (and yes, Explorer 9) and am very happy with its performance so far. Super beats audio speakers with stereo sound, excellent display and extremely fast at this time. Runs super quiet and cool and compatible with Verizon's 4G LTE broadband for traveling. My first windows 7 laptop with likeable features for photography and video. Compatible with Canon camera, HD camcorder, GPS Tomtom without having to load software. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because it disappointingly does not have a dual band wireless card, so am limited to accessing the 2.4 Gband only. The order took less time to build and deliver. 05/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Technology The performance and features are great. Do not like the finish. Looked great until it was touched. Fingerprints do not wipe off easily. The finger swipe feature is awesome!! 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continuing to be satisfied with HP Computers The whole experience with the putchase of this computer was as good as it always has been, which is why I continue to go back to HP for their products and customer service. I would rate the product, the ordering and design phase, delivery and customer service support as 'Excellent'. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best portable computer available in the market Geat computer. Very fast. Can handle heavy multi tasking. Only disadvantage was the backlit keyboard was not available for this model when I ordered. However, the newer models include a backlit key board. Obviously, with time, the advanced processors are being introduced. Now 3rd generation of the Intel processors are available. 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My awesome HP Pavilion dv7t Having owned a HP Pavilion laptop for 6 years without a single problem, I went shopping for a new faster laptop for my wife and I to use. The competition was not significant, considering the quality and price for the performance offered by the dv7t. I could expand on my happiness on every feature and component on this product, but that would be too much typing. I combined the dv7t with HP Wireless TV Connect and the setup is just .... completely spectacular !!! Both my wife and I would HIGHLY recommend these products. 05/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Machine Good apperance: not thick and not heavy, normal size Fast speed : can play game fluently Shortage : sometimes can't connect wireless router 05/04/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat disappointed Unit does not process files as quickly as my other HP laptop with just an I3 processor.. Time to startup is much longer and it seems to have a lot of nit-picking small problems and quirks that my pavilion dv6 does not have. I like the 1920x1080 screen, but nothing else is as impressive as I had expected. Battery life is also shorter than I had expected with a battery upgrade. 05/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than expected I've had other lap tops but the performance of the DV7t Quad edition exceeded all others. 05/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by dv7t Quad Great Machine The Core i7 CPU screams, and the rest of the specs only make it better: 8GB RAM, 1080 screen, USB 2.0 and USB 3.0, fingerprint reader, camera and microphone, Blu-Ray. This dv7t replaces a Toshiba that is 66 months old (and still works great!), but the increases in technology in the last 5+ years just simply dictated that it be replaced. The Lithium-Ion batteries (I ordered 2) seem to be very robust and last for around 6 hours (depending upon what the dv7t is being asked to do). Big improvement over the NiMH batteries of 5 years ago! The dv7t arrived with only a minimal amount of the pre-loaded crapware, which was easily removed in the initial setup session. I am unable to think of anything that could improve this product. 05/02/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok, not very mobile, limited dock options As much as I like HP, this laptop was a step backward. A huge feature missing is the ability to have an expansion base/docking station/port replicator that can charge the laptop when you get back to wherever you keep it when not traveling. So the lack of an expansion base means you HAVE TO unplug/replug everything each time you move away from your desk. Yes, they have a USB port replicator that covers many of the expansion ports but it's a far cry from having an Xb3000 like my dv9500 has which can be charged from the dock. I believe some earlier models may have had a port connection but the newer ones don't The power brick is, well, a brick literally. It's nearly twice the size of the ones from my dv9500 and dv5000. Yes, it pumps out more wattage (120w) and it may be a necessity because of the laptop specs but it's not very mobile friendly. The system itself didn't seem very snappy and I couldn't tell if or when the CPU kicked into overdrive even though I could here the fans on constantly; annoying when trying to watch blu-rays or stream from online services. Basic specs: dv7t quad 17" Display 2.5GHz Intel CPU 16gb RAM 2Gb video card 750GB Hdd 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Laptop for the Money This computer can handle just about anything you throw at it, as a college student i think its the perfect size. i carry it to classes daily (i have textbooks that way more than this laptop) The sound is most definitely the greatest sound to ever come from a laptop all other notebooks sound like nothing compared to this. Ive never needed external speakers all the sound power i need is right there in the computer. Best buy for a college kid in the computer fields of study. 03/06/2012
181-207 of 207 total reviews
Previous 3 4 5 6 7
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw246
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp