HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Q&A
By: HP
Walmart #: 550963825
HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

With a sleek, tapered metal design, the HP 17.3" Envy dv7 Laptop PC is easy to pick up. And with a huge screen along with Beats Audio, quad speakers and a subwoofer, it's tough to put down.


Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store

About this item

With a sleek, tapered metal design, the HP 17.3" Envy dv7 Laptop PC is easy to pick up. And with a huge screen along with Beats Audio, quad speakers and a subwoofer, it's tough to put down.


Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store


HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC:

Key Features and Benefits of the HP Windows 8 laptop:

  • HP Intel Core i7 Processor Laptop, i7-3630QM Processor
    2.40GHz, 6MB Cache

  • 8GB DDR3 SDRAM system memory
    The HP Windows 8 laptop gives you the power to handle most power hungry applications and tons of multimedia work

  • 1TB hard drive
    Store 666,000 photos, 285,000 songs or 526 hours of HD video and more on the HP Intel Core i7 Processor Laptop, i7-3630QM Processor

  • Blu-ray Player and SuperMulti DVD Burner
    Watch HD movies, and read and write CDs and DVDs in multiple formats

  • 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN
    Connect to a broadband modem with wired Ethernet or wirelessly connect to a Wi-Fi signal or hotspot with the 802.11b/g/n connection built into your PC

  • 17.3" HD BrightView LED-backlit display
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 6502M switchable graphics with 2048MB GDDR5 dedicated graphics memory and up to 1664 available graphics memory

Additional Features on the HP Intel Core i7 Processor Laptop, i7-3630QM Processor:
  • HD webcam with built-in microphone
  • 2-in-1 memory card reader
  • 3 x USB 3.0 ports, 1 x USB 2.0 port, 1 x headphone jack, 1 x microphone jack, 1 x RJ-45 Ethernet port, 1 x VGA port, 1 x HDMI port
  • 9-cell lithium-ion battery, up to 5 h 15 min battery life

Software:
  • Genuine Microsoft Windows 8
  • Microsoft Office 2010 (Downloadable 60-day trial): Buy Microsoft Office to activate Office software on this PC.
  • Norton Internet Security (60-day subscription)
  • HP Recovery Manager allows you to recover, restore and create recovery media for your PC

Support and Warranty:
  • 1-year limited hardware warranty; 1-year free hardware technical support, 30-days limited software support
  • Restore discs are not included (unless specified by supplier). We recommend you use the installed software to create your own restore and backup DVD the first week you use the computer.

What's In The Box:
  • Power cord
  • 9-cell lithium-ion battery
  • Quick Start Guide

To see the manufacturer's specifications for this product, click here.

To see a list of our PC Accessories, click here.

Trade in your used computer and electronics for more cash to spend at Walmart. Good for your wallet and the environment - click here.


ENERGY STAR®
Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.

Specifications

Platform: PC
Primary Color: Black
Processor Brand: Intel
Processor Type: Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor
Processor Speed: 2.40 GHz
System Ram: 8 GB
Hard Drive Size: 1 TB
Laptop Screen Size: 17.3"
Screen Type: HD
Resolution: BrightView LED-Backlit Display (1600 x 900)
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 2048MB
Multi Media Drive: Blu-ray Player & SuperMulti DVD Burner
Card Reader Type: 2-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
Battery Life: 5 hours 15 minutes
Battery Type: Lithium Ion
Network Connection: 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet & 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN
Connector Type: 1 x DC-in, 1 x Ethernet, 1 x HDMI, 1 x Headphone, 1 x Microphone, 1 x USB 2.0, 3 x USB 3.0, 1 x VGA
Operating System: Windows 8
Accessories Included: Power Cord ,  Battery
Model No.: dv7-7247cl
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 10.7
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 16.38 x 10.79 x 1.39
Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
Origin of Components: Imported
Walmart No.: 550963825
Show
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-5 of 243 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Quality Desktop Replacement
1/22/2013

Customer review by Venomx296

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by Venomx296
by Venomx296

I really like this PC. I got it to replace my aging desktop. The graphics are really good. It will run any PC game out there. Windows 8 I have to say I really like. Once you learn the gestures you can use on the touch pad its a breeze to navigate. I find the touch pad much better to use in Windows 8 than previous versions of Windows I have had. I use this for work and with dual monitors, I now have 3 monitors running including the laptop screen. The processor is great. When you need the power it is there and when you don't it runs at slower clock speeds. I have found the Networking to be superior in Win 8 over my Win 7 PC. It is very similar, but picks up all my windows devices. All in all I am very happy with this product. I do have one complaint though. For the price similar mfr's have Bluetooth included. When I ordered I just assumed this one would too, but it does not. I had to buy a bluetooth adapter which now takes up a usb slot. I think for what I paid it should have included Bluetooth. That is only a minor thing though. As always Walmart had fast shipping and great service. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Venomx296
Bluefield, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lap(not)top - Watch out for the battery
1/5/2013

Customer review by evodude

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by evodude
by evodude

This is a very large laptop - definitely NOT made for laps. It is very heavy, so be ready for that. The included 9-cell battery is huge! It's one of HP's "oversize" batteries, which means it fills the battery bay and then sticks out about 1 1/2" more, creating a ramp of sorts, or a platform that tilts the computer up permanently. Again if you've got the computer on your lap, the battery digs into your lower thighs and cuts off circulation. I was watching a TV show streamed and had to physically remove the battery after 30 minutes because I couldn't feel my lower legs! Battery life is excellent, however, I didn't run it down, but after playing around with it and streaming TV shows for 3+ hours, it still had plenty left. The video card is OK, nothing to write home about. The screen resolution is very good, but not the 'knock your socks off' that some of the online reviews stated. It was only slightly better than my Samsung Satellite from a couple years ago - the brightness and detail/resolution was just barely noticeably better. Other reviewers are correct about Windows 8. Very different, takes a good bit of getting used to, but if you read the enclosed Win 8 start up guide, that will get you going with the basics. I don't think the speed of the processor was all that great; again compared to my i5 Samsung; which I think sucks WRT processor speed. My photo editing software ran a little better, but still not terribly quickly. Probably a great computer for someone who will keep it on a table or desk and not travel with it much. As a LAPtop - it's just too big and the battery is too bulky - deal breaker, I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evodude
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HP has gone way down hill
4/8/2013

Customer review by lldude

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by lldude
by lldude

I bought one of these in January. 2 days after I got it I took it to my bedroom, about 20 feet away from the modem. While the computer said I had max signal, and was connected to the modem, it would not allow me to connect to the internet. I went back to the living room, and searched that issue, maybe to find a way to fix it. What I found was pages and pages of how this was an issue with the Envy line of computers. So I go online with HP Tech support. After him doing a "Remote Connect" where they can operate your computer from their end, he determined that the WiFi Card was bad. So, skip forward to the middle of March, I finally get the new card in (you fix it yourself, you just get a card in a static proof sleeve, no instructions, nothing). So, I opened up the bottom, and found what I thought the problem was, the existing card had an antenna connector broken off. So, I replaced the card, and when trying to reconnect the antennas, I found the antenna connector cable was also broken. So, back on the phone to HP. It took about 15 minutes between the automated system, and trying to understand/be understood by the people in India or wherever (they transferred me 4 times to others) before I was transferred to someone in the US. Finally, after talking to her, I get told that I must send my computer in to HP. She tells me that the software I have downloaded and paid for, plus all my pics, etc. should be fine, they only have to replace a part. But, she said, just in case, there is a form you fill out to authorize them to back up your information, and transfer it back in the "unlikely event" that they have to do something that would erase your information. So, I made my own backup copies of CDs with all the pics and documents. Then, I sent my computer off to HP (they sent a box, packing materials, and shipping labels). They got it, did the repairs, and today I got it back. Eagerly opening it, I turn it on. Everything on it is gone. It is like a new, out of the box computer. All the programs, and pics, documents, etc. are gone. So, for the 4th time in as many months, back on the phone with HP. First I try the number that they sent with the computer, a "direct to Tech Service" line to avoid waiting since I just had it repaired. After 45 minutes of waiting, I hung up and called the other number. THen the rigamarole with the automated system and people that don't speak English. Then, when I get through to an English speaking person, I get put on hold several times while they "check the records". Then I am told that their standard policy upon receipt of any computer for repair is to completely erase all user information and return the computer to the "factory default". I tried to explain what I had been told, and was told repeatedly, "That's our policy. Sorry. Have a nice day. Is there anything else I can help you with?" So, out of the 3 plus months I have owned it, I have only been able to actually fully use it for one day. And as for the software that I lost, once again, "Sorry, that is HP's policy". Well, this was my 4th HP. It will also be my last. I recommend before anyone reading this make this purchase, don't just take my word for it, Google (or whatever engine you use) search it. "HP Envy wifi problems". Maybe you will be lucky enough to be one of the few who get a great product. But do you want to risk a thousand dollars?

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lldude
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!!!
12/26/2012

Customer review by tigermane

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by tigermane
by tigermane

Okay, it's Windows 8, it's a little hard to figure out, but come on, any new software is going to be a little hard to figure out, all it takes is a little patience. As for the setup, it's easy and fast, the start screen is a little weird though. You have tap the mouse pad before it takes you to the password screen, just a little FYI so you wouldn't be confused as I was. The picture quality is awesome and as for the machine itself, OMG totally not what I was expecting, it's huge, but the keyboard layout is great. Well, those are my thoughts, when I get the Sims 3 installed, I'll let ya know how it plays with an update, also just bought this machine for Christmas and haven't had time play around with it just yet to it's full potential.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigermane
Prestonsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Laptop is doing exactly what I want it to do
3/9/2013

Customer review by Moongar

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Moongar
by Moongar

I am not a fan of windows 8. If giving the opportunity to replace it with windows 7 I would before I purchased the laptop. I recommend that all future sales of laptops gives the buyer the option to choose the operating system. Thanks Mostly satisfied customer

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moongar
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-5 of 243 total reviews See all
1-5 of 243 reviews

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 16 questions
1-3 of 16 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 16 questions See all
1-3 of 16 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty: See details

Supplier Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list