Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new computer I am thoroughly enjoying my new computer. It arrived before the stated timeframe. The website was easy to use and understand. I liked the ability to be able customize it and order what I wanted. It boots up so quickly and I love the larger screen. I am finding that it doesn't seem to get "hung up" like my previous computer. It is a little larger than I am use to but so far that hasn't been a problem. For what I got, I felt the price was definitely reasonable. I would definitely recommend this computer. 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Laptop I had been researching laptops for quite a while, out of the need to replace my older, outdated laptop. I wanted something with a bigger screen, faster processor, and more storage - all within a college-kid-friendly budget. I found this computer, and it seemed to fit the bill. And so far, it has yet to disappoint. The display is large and brilliant, perfect for watching movies, playing games, and just general computing - it's nice to not have to squint while typing or reading. The CoolSense technology prevents it from ever getting more than a little warm, even when it's in use for several hours. The 9-cell lithium ion battery is a huge plus - it lasts several hours even when the computer is at normal settings . The audio is pretty decent - it brings my music to life without having to connect to external speakers. It has plenty of storage, and the processor speed and RAM make this a powerful multitasking machine. The final deciding factors in choosing this laptop were its very pretty outer finishes; the aluminum body is sleek and stylish, not bulky and cheap-looking. It also comes with a finger print scanner, which I was a little skeptical about at first, but it's actually quite convenient and hasn't given me any troubles. All in all, this is an excellent laptop, and I would highly recommend it to anyone seeking to upgrade to a stylish, entertaining, and highly efficient computer. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great performance This laptop is great. I can stream hd video and play games at the same time. (My little sister likes to sit next to me) The screen is a good size so I can easily split tasks. As usual, laptop keyboards aren't exactly "standard" as described. I dislike the half up and down keys so much i prefer to use the numpad. Also, the numpad should have a light like the capslock... The touchpad has already annoyed me a few times, very sensitive and can be annoying during web surfing. It will click, zoom, and there's this one where it keeps wanting to drag something.. so i have to double tap and it goes away. No idea what that function is. I also dislike the F keys, i wish the f1-12 functions were default instead of the various other things they do. However, this laptop has made me quite happy with its performance and that's good enough for me. Also, I thought my laptop had a scratch on it but it turned out to be a line of sticky glue... this laptop was covered in it. And it takes finger prints easily, nothing a soft cloth won't fix. And lastly, I hate this webcam. You always have to use it through a software program instead of just the webcam... still trying to figure this out. It is very light INsensitive. In a dark room, I use to be able to be fine with the light from the laptop on my face but this webcam will show complete darkness, and raising the exposure lags the camera too significantly. I could do without it. My delivery was also a week early so I was happy about that. The customer service wasn't too helpful however. I didn't get any of my questions answered about the laptop so I believed in the reviews and the description. So far so good. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product!!! I brought this Laptop for my daughter and she loves it! It's great and has great features. It's definitely built for performance. The customer service tech was very helpful and informative as he helped me make the choices to customize the Laptop for my daughter. The Laptop came a few days early and everything was just as it was supposed to be. My daughter was happy, which made me very happy. I recommend this performance machine to everyone. Thank you HP... 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expected More. No numbers lock key light. Remote connection unstable at distances. Somewhat quicker than 9000 series, however expected more. 07/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything good but So two days after I recieved my computer I got the blue screen of death. A brand new Laptop right out the box delivers the blue screen of death is this the quality that HP puts out? 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 dvt-7000 QUAD Edition An EXCELLENT PC, great on performance, sleek design, lightweight, and FAST. An excellent price as well so such a great performing pc 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by super duper laptop My first Pavillion laptop was defective, which was a great disapointment, but HP stepped up to the plate and really took care of business, and was very generous in compensating me for the hassle. Second laptop arrived way earleir than they promised, and I would heartily recommend them to anyone looking for a high end customizable laptop. 07/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoying this laptop I've only been using my new laptop for a couple of weeks, but love it. The design is great and the sound is very nice. I only have two cavils: one is that I got used to having a memory card reader and miss one on this unit. The second is that the action on the trackpad keys is very stiff - hard on someone who has tendonitis in all fingers. 07/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of features, not so good performance Yes, it's fast, has lots of memory and a big screen, but it crashes (blue screen of death) constantly and the bio scanner won't recognize my fingerprint (even though they're successfully enrolled) on startup. 07/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hardware, horrible bloatware I wasn't going to buy another hp computer because of bloatware issues on previous hp products. After talking with an hp rep a costco I decided to give hp another try. He told me that a windows 7 premier experience meant that I would get a clean install. My bad. Pros: great hardware, fast,good display, good keyboard, tech support really tried to help with my issues (not on a script)! Cons: Massive bloatware , all designed for sales or product promotion. FOUR tool bars on internet homepage. Fingerprint reader has link to over 20 stores. Worst of all, uninstalling some these programs corrupted the registry to the point where I was unable to load other software that I bought this computer to run. In order to fix the registry I was forced to restore the computer to it's original condition and keep all the distracting system slowing junk. Bottom line: I will not be buying another hp computer and I will be advising others to run away, far, far away. 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great screen and size. I love the big screen. It has been easy to use, especially since I had an older model that I used before this one. That is one of the reasons why I bought this one. But, I still have not been able to use the finger print part. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beats Audio is AMAZING Not only is this the fastest laptop I have ever owned, the coop with Beats Audio is spectacular. The screen size also adds to the experience of the entertainment system in your lap. I would easily recommend this to anyone based on its overall performance. 07/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by the product overall was good i really like the pc but there are some feather i dont like 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great computer many excellent features on avery fast computer 07/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spoilt by one big letdown Bought this with 160gb SSD - because I needed solid state drive for speed and robustness, not space. That is largest SSD HP offered [competitor offers 250gb SSD but around $500 more for same specs]. When I got it the drive had 86gb free. If I had know Win 7, HP recovery, hidden files etc took up 74gb I would not have got this. 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is wonderful TThanks for offering me a product with such technical quality 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Performance Runs Games that my other laptop had problems with. I ordered the back lit keyboard. I am not an expert typist. So the back lit keyboard is a plus late at night, not as annoying as others say, light does glow around the edges of keys.....still a plus late at night. I should have ordered the SS Drive. 07/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Performance for sure ! I have saved and researched laptops for years now , not wanting to be dissapointed. I am Very happy with my choice . It is Lightening fast and I Love the HD screen. I feel like I have a superior Laptop to anyone I know, It feels Very sturdy , which is important to me . I will use it as a Desk Top that I can carry around the house. I dont have a lot of experience with a touchPad but I am surprised at how well it works. I was affraid of the finger print reader , fearing I would lock myself out of the computer . But I just Love that thing. I had the impression that Laptops were getting really Cheap and Flimsy. This thing is Solid and I am Very happy. Ive had it about 2 months now . 07/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Fine Machine I have been building my own desktop and laptop systems for many years now and finally got tired of the extra legwork it takes to piece a good machine together. So, after much research I decided to use the HP custom laptop builder to design my new business/gaming rig. Although HP could certainly include more component choices for each element of its laptops as you customize, it would be very hard to beat their price for each component if shopping for them individually at - say - Newegg or similar. The customization process is also very simple with decent Q&A along the way if you are unsure about a specific hardware or software choice. My laptop came with all of the components I had chosen, it came in the time-frame HP said it would, and it came without a huge amount of bloatware to uninstall. One issue that I had and many others have written about is the tendency of the finicky fingerprint reader to become unrecognized by windows and/or the HP Simple Pass software. Mine initially worked but then quit - possibly after an HP automatic software update that - I believe - may have updated the Simple Pass software but not the validity sensor drivers. At any rate, HP technical support was unable to solve the problem after 2 chat sessions and one phone call - although they were very nice and really tried! >:) - so I uninstalled the SP software and the VS drives and downloaded the newest versions of each from HP's (very easy to use) self-help updates pages. After a bit of tinkering and a few reboots this fixed the problem for me at least. Other than that, the machine is beautiful to look at in full 1920 by 1080 (get the higher res screen, really!), runs like a cheetah, and has handled everything I have thrown at it so far. So overall I give the machine and the buying experience 5 stars but if asked to rate tech support I would give them about a 2.5. 07/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good laptop but lacks build quality Cons: -Build quality issues with keyboard, its feels notched. -Laptop body feels fragile, feels like it may crack like a glass, specially when you open or close the laptop screen lid and while picking and placing the laptop. -Blue ray tray has some fitting variations which bothers while carrying around. -Touch pad acts weird sometimes, -No LED indication for Num lock ON/OFF. Pros: -Great features at this price point,(i7 ivy processor, 1TB hard disc, 8GB RAM, blue ray, nvidia ,17.3 hd screen, beats audio etc) -Screen looks good. -Audio is good. -Laptop styling is very good. I recommend this to people who takes real care of their laptop, this is not for those who handle it rough. You need to handle it like a chauffeur not like a rally driver. Hope this helps. 07/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Upgrade from prev versions I like the fact they got rid of the touch buttons at the top and placed them in the keyboard except I use F3, F8 and F9 in the program I use everyday and now I have to hit fn & then the button. I also went to install my second hard drive that I use for back up files and the slot was there but no cable to plug into. 07/13/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by fast but crashes on the fourth day, it wouldn't load until I did a ctrl/alt/dilete twice, and tried several other ways to get past the white screen at start up. The touch pad is to far right and it gets touched by your right hand/thumb area over and over. 07/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with my new DV7 Laptop Overall I'm very happy with my new laptop. The HD display is beautiful and I'm very glad I specified the illuminated keyboard and the 'audio out' jack being on the side of the laptop leaves me with more useable desk space.. The 3rd Gen i7 processor seems to make everything effortless, with fast boot-up times, rapid file-opening and quick downloads. The only thing that I still have to get used to is to press the 'fn' button to select the relevant 'f' button functions. One of the applications I use regularly uses 'f2' to enter an edit mode. On the DV7 keyboard the default function of the 'f2' key is 'screen brightness down' so I'm still learning to hold the 'fn' button first. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase. 07/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Dream Computer Purchased this to use exclusively as a laptop. Yesterday the Vista PC I was using in my home office crashed again. So tired of using system restore on it. I brought my new laptop into the office and hooked it up to my 23 inch monitor. Worked like a charm. Moved my QuickBooks and Microsoft Money files over and I now have both a new laptop and a new desktop computer. If I need to take the laptop , it is a matter of pulling out two cable/plugs and I'm ready to go! As to the computer, I have only been using it a little but so far, I love it. It is fast, and the turorials have helped me a lot. I am new ti this fingerprint stuff but I have mastered it so far. 07/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply breathtaking. I've had this laptop for 2 days now and am absolutely amazed at how fast this thing loads pages and media! This laptop has so many upgradeable specs and features, you just can't beat it for the price. I love the 1080p anti-glare screen, it is a must-have! There is talk of this laptop coming with lots of bloatware. However, this comp is fast enough for the average user with little to no lag in loading times. It has a very user-friendly interface and is a joy to use. Typing on the keyboard is marvelous. The Beats Audio speakers sound good and can be turned up pretty loud. I was impressed. The Fingerprint Scanner is also another feature that is just amazing and quick to access your personal files. Options I'd suggest: 1920x1080 Anti-Glare Screen Backlit Keyboard Dual Hard Drive (if you need it) Simply put, buy it, you won't regret it! 07/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased with the Laptop Overall like the laptop. Second one I have owned... still using the first one. A couple of things not corrected still. Should have indicator light on NUM LOCK key. Also all the idiot lights to tell if the thing is doing right with the DVD, etc, are all on the right side of the machine and not visible unless you look over there to see them. Could have been better located. Other wise I like the new laptop, just having a hard time figuring where everything is. Seems like volume control does not work and also changing size of text with the ctrl+ doesn't work all the time without futzing with it some. Those things comes and goes, so don't know if I'm doing something wrong or not holding my mouth right. 07/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Fast! Bought this for my husband to replace his 5 year old laptop. He loves it. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Wife Loves Her New Computer Love the Audio Beats and the no glare screen. Processor is fast. This computer stays much cooler than old HPs. Very Happy! 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far, so good! Love the backlit keyboard, love the speed, love the screen clarity - really nice! 07/08/2012
91-120 of 207 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw373
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp