Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Q&A
By: Gateway
Walmart #: 550902168
Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Gateway 17.3" NE Laptop PC exists to fulfill one goal: To be just what you need. This any day, everywhere laptop boasts a stunning 17.3" LED-backlit display and is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. And it delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love.


Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Gateway 17.3" NE Laptop PC exists to fulfill one goal: To be just what you need. This any day, everywhere laptop boasts a stunning 17.3" LED-backlit display and is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. And it delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love.


Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store

Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC:

Key Features and Benefits:

  • AMD Processor Laptop PC with E1-1200 Processor

1.40GHz, 1MB L2 Cache

  • 4GB DDR3 SDRAM system memory (expandable to 8GB)

The AMD Processor Laptop PC with E1-1200 Processor gives you the options for surfing, video conferencing, documents, basic photo editing and simple computer tasks

  • 500GB hard drive

Store 333,000 photos, 142,000 songs or 263 hours of HD video and more

  • 8x SuperMulti DVD Burner

Watch movies, and read and write CDs and DVDs in multiple formats on the AMD Processor Laptop PC with E1-1200 Processor

  • 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN

Connect to a broadband modem with wired Ethernet or wirelessly connect to a Wi-Fi signal or hotspot with the 802.11b/g/n connection built into your 17.3" Laptop PC

  • 17.3" HD Ultrabright LED-backlit display

AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics with 256MB dedicated graphics memory and support for Unified Video Decoder 3 (UVD3), OpenCL 1.1, OpenGL 3.1, OpenEXR High Dynamic-Range (HDR) technology, Shader Model 5.0 and Microsoft DirectX 11
Additional Features of the 17.3" Laptop PC:
  • 1.3MP HD webcam with built-in microphone
  • 5-in-1 memory card reader
  • 1 x USB 3.0 port, 2 x USB 2.0 ports, 1 x headphone jack, 1 x microphone jack, 1 x RJ-45 Ethernet port, 1 x VGA port, 1 x HDMI with HDCP port
  • 6-cell lithium-ion battery, up to 4 h 30 min battery life

Software:
  • Windows 8
  • Microsoft Office 2010 Trial (After or during the 60-day
    trial, purchase an Office 2010 Product Key to activate
    one of the following Office 2010 suites preloaded on this
    PC: Office Home and Student 2010, Office Home and
    Business 2010, Office Professional 2010)
  • Gateway MyBackup Solution and Recovery Management

Support and Warranty:
  • 1-year parts and labor limited warranty
  • Restore discs are not included (unless specified by supplier). We recommend you use the installed software to create your own restore and backup DVD the first week you use the computer.

What's In The Box:
  • Power cord
  • 6-cell lithium-ion battery
  • Quick Start Guide

To see the manufacturer's specifications for this product, click here.

To see a list of our PC Accessories, click here.

Trade in your used computer and electronics for more cash to spend at Walmart. Good for your wallet and the environment - click here.


ENERGY STAR®
Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.

Specifications

Platform: PC
Primary Color: Black
Processor Brand: AMD
Processor Type: AMD Dual-Core E1-1200 Accelerated Processor
Processor Speed: 1.40 GHz
System Ram: 4 GB
Maximum Memory Expansion: 8 GB
Hard Drive Size: 500 GB
Laptop Screen Size: 17.3 inch
Screen Type: HD Ultrabright LED-backlit Display
Resolution: 1600 x 900
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7310 with 256MB
Multi Media Drive: 8x DVD-SuperMulti Double-Layer Drive
Card Reader Type: 5 in 1 Digital Media Card Reader
Battery Life: 4 hours 30 minutes
Battery Type: Lithium Ion
Network Connection: 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN
Connector Type: 1 x DC-in, 1 x Ethernet, 1 x HDMI, 1 x Headphone, 1 x Microphone, 2 x USB 2.0, 1 x USB 3.0, 1 x VGA
Operating System: Windows 8 64-bit
Accessories Included: Power cord, 6-cell Lithium Ion, Quick Start Guide
Model No.: NE71B06u
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 9.4
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 10.83 x 16.4 x 1.36
Walmart No.: 550902168
Show
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 21 questions
1-3 of 21 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8 because on this page it says ; Touchable. The new Windows 8 has been redesigned for touch but still works great with a mouse and keyboard.
by Tony 12/20/2012
8 answers
  • A. No, this laptop is not a touch screen.
    by gapmemphis3/15/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The Screen as Far as I can Tell is Not a Touch Screen
    by JTB2nKS2/23/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. NO
    by SteelOnTarget1/5/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it isn't
    by rperk4812/30/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, not a touch screen.
    by GrandmaKittie12/28/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I WISH@ NI IT IS NOT A TOUCHSCREEN,
    by mopsy52312/27/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. This model does not feature a touch screen.
    by TeamGateway12/27/2012
    Written by a verified representative from TeamGateway
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. NO THIS COMPUTER IS NOT TOUCH SCREEN
    by GOLFERSBEST12/21/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8 Toshiba Satin Black 17.3" Satellite C875D-S7120 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core E2-1800 Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System I WANT ADVICE AS TO WHICH OF THESE LAPTOPS IS THE BETTER ONE, AND WHY IS IT BETTER? THANK YOU
by RESA 3/5/2013
6 answers
  • A. do not buy this gateway- its as simple as that!!
    by addie547/8/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Toshiba's don't have DVD drive! Get the Gateway!
    by StudentMommyWife6/13/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Which laptop has a touch screen? Windows 8 works with a touch screen. If neither one has a touchscreen then I prefer Gateway because getting repair / help is significantly easier - IMHO
    by GeekTen6/13/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I would suggest the Toshiba, although I only have experience with the Gateway. I had bad luck with the Gateway and, after seeing the other reviews, it looks like others are having problems, too.
    by SouthWestOhioCustomer6/13/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The Gateway went down after month and a half, in TX now being fixed. Shipping cost 30.00 to send, was the price worth it if you go down constantly::::::::::NO, buy HP or DELL
    by Pattey3/13/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The Gateway seems to have the same features at a much better price, so why spend the extra money to get the same thing with a different name? The Toshiba does have a E2-1800 processor, but it really did not seem to be that much faster in my estimation.
    by DOCMEDIC86/5/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 21 questions See all
1-3 of 21 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
10
1-5 of 62 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Please don't.
11/10/2012

Customer review by Kaye007

1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Kaye007
by Kaye007

I bought this laptop last week. I thought it was a great value for the price/equipment I got. When I got home and tried to use the computer the mouse was incredibly frustrating. It did not follow what I was "telling" it to do. IE: moving to different areas of screen and/or being from one extreme to another in responsiveness. At first I tried to tell myself it was me just getting use to a new touch pad. but after a few days it got worse. Then the network connection started to act up. For no reason I will lose my internet access and have to manually reconnect. So I brought the comp back and exchanged it for another one, thinking I got a lemon. Eh...it happens, no big deal. Well, I was wrong. the exact same thing is wrong with this "new" one. So I looked "deep" into reviews and sure enough...bad reviews almost all around. I found several with the exact same problems. So beware: looks like a great deal price wise, but unfortunately, not so much.

Was this review helpful? (96) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaye007
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
New Windows version is extremely non-user friendly
2/9/2013

Customer review by AForOthers

3.0 stars 2/9/2013 by AForOthers
by AForOthers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I were excited to get a new laptop with a bigger screen, but the new Windows 8 is extremely frustrating. At first look I thought it would operate a lot like my Windows smart phone apps on the screen. But once you get into something it is almost impossible to get out. The invisible menus disappear and don't want to reappear and seem to be in a different place all the time. It is difficult to manuver. And right click menu is not much help either. Worst of all it came with no instruction book. It came with a small sheet of paper with about four cheats to go by. What a change from our other computers at home and work. There should be more visible and less hidden. Even minimizing a program to go back to another is not a simple task. It is crazy. Finding apps and even manuvering the screen was a little bit of a challenge. The screen resolution is great though. I really wish I had bought a Windows 7 computer. Sometimes change is not a good thing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AForOthers
sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it
11/25/2012

Customer review by marciainmichigan

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by marciainmichigan
by marciainmichigan

I only spent 398 so I was not expecting the best but it is awesome. Windows 7 gives it a very modern look. My pictures are in one of the squares and it scrolls. I can hit the window sign button and it takes me back to the start page in case I get lost. I can watch a movie on netflex and be online at the same time. You will have to buy the word package. The movie I watched was very clear and large. I have all my favorites in each little square and it is always up to date with the latest news and weather. I have had it for one week and I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marciainmichigan
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Bright 17" Lcd
11/23/2012

Customer review by WPOOH

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by WPOOH
by WPOOH

This Laptop is perfect especially the bright lcd screen. I bought this 2 weeks ago not one problem with it! everything works great. I usually do not write feedbacks on purchases I make but after reading the reviews I felt I should. The large screen and the large keyboard function fantastic. I have watched a few dvd movies and the picture was very sharp and vibrant looking this is the best laptop I have ever owned and believe me the price is hard to beat for all it offers.

Was this review helpful? (71) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WPOOH
EAST COAST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best laptop for the price!!!
2/23/2013

Customer review by Sdave121

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Sdave121
by Sdave121

I tried two other laptops in the last 3 weeks both were terrible. I gave it one last shot with this one because my last computer was a gateway and it lasted 5 years and is still going strong but, I wanted to get something newer. Processor is lightning fast. I just upgraded internet to time warner ultimate which gives up to 50mbs download speed and this laptop is able to break 28mbs even connected wireless. Our desktop doesn't go that fast and it is direct connected. Everything is fast and windows 8 wasn't impressive on the other two computers but, on this one I love it. Definitely buy this as I have never seen this good of a computer for under $400 and you will not find a better deal!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sdave121
Lumberton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-5 of 62 total reviews See all
1-5 of 62 reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?
Consider these popular products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.