Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Q&A
By: Gateway
Walmart #: 550902235
Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
You're spontaneous, social. Your on-the-go life needs an ultra mobile PC: The Gateway Intel Atom N2600 Netbook, LT4010u. Get noticed with the Gateway 10.1" Netbook PC in River Black that keeps you connected to the Internet so you can surf the Web, tweet at the local coffee shop, Facebook over lunch and enjoy non-stop fun all while flaunting personal style. With a 10.1" LED-backlit display, comfortable typing keyboard and great battery life you can accomplish more everyday wherever you are.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

You're spontaneous, social. Your on-the-go life needs an ultra mobile PC: The Gateway Intel Atom N2600 Netbook, LT4010u. Get noticed with the Gateway 10.1" Netbook PC in River Black that keeps you connected to the Internet so you can surf the Web, tweet at the local coffee shop, Facebook over lunch and enjoy non-stop fun all while flaunting personal style. With a 10.1" LED-backlit display, comfortable typing keyboard and great battery life you can accomplish more everyday wherever you are.

Gateway 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC:

Key Features and Benefits:

  • Windows 7 Starter Netbook with N2600 Processor
    1.60GHz, 1MB L2 Cache
  • 1GB DDR3 SDRAM system memory
    Allows you to do the computer basics of web surfing, emails and documents
  • 320GB SATA hard drive
    Store 213,000 photos, 91,000 songs or 168 hours of HD video and more on the Gateway 10.1" Netbook PC in River Black
  • 10/100 Fast Ethernet, 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN
    Connect to a broadband modem with wired Ethernet or wirelessly connect to a WiFi signal or hotspot with the 802.11b/g/n connection built into yourGateway 10.1" Netbook PC in River Black
  • 10.1" WSVGA LED-backlit display
    Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3600 with 64MB onboard memory supporting Microsoft DirectX 9

    Additional Features on the Windows 7 Starter Netbook with N2600 Processor:
  • Built-in webcam
  • 6-in-1 memory card reader
  • 3 x USB 2.0 ports, 1 x headphone/speaker/line-out jack, 1 x microphone-in jack, 1 x RJ-45 Ethernet port, 1 x VGA port, 1 x HDMI port
  • 3-cell lithium-ion battery, up to 4 hours battery life

  • Software on the Windows 7 Starter Netbook with N2600 Processor:
  • Genuine Microsoft Windows 7 Starter (To learn more about the features of Windows 7, click here)
  • Microsoft Office 2010 Trial (After or during the 60-day trial, purchase an Office 2010 Product Key to activate one of the following Office 2010 suites preloaded on this PC: Office Home and Student 2010, Office Home and Business 2010, Office Professional 2010)
  • Norton Internet Security Trial
  • Backup and Restore options built into Windows allows you to create safety copies of your most important personal files, so you're always prepared for the worst

  • Support and Warranty:
  • 1-year parts and labor warranty

  • What's In The Box:
  • Power cord
  • 3-cell lithium-ion battery
  • Quick Start Guide

  • To see the manufacturer's specifications for this product, click here.

    To see a list of our PC Accessories, click here.

    Trade in your used computer and electronics for more cash to spend at Walmart. Good for your wallet and the environment - click here.

Specifications

Platform: PC
Primary Color: Black
Processor Brand: Intel
Processor Type: Intel Atom N2600 Processor
Processor Speed: 1.60 GHz
System Ram: 1 GB
Maximum Memory Expansion: 1GB RAM
Hard Drive Size: 320 GB
Laptop Screen Size: 10.1"
Screen Type: LED
Resolution: LED Backlight (1024x600)
Graphics Card: Intel GMA 3600 with 64MB
Card Reader Type: 1 x Multi-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader
Battery Life: 4 hours
Battery Type: Lithium Ion
Network Connection: 10/100 Fast Ethernet & 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN
Connector Type: 1 x DC-in, 1 x Ethernet, 1 x HDMI, 1 x Headphone, 1 x Microphone, 3 x USB 2.0, 1 x VGA
Operating System: Windows 7 Starter
Accessories Included: AC Adapter ,  Power Cord
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Model No.: LT4010u
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 5.6
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 7.3 x 10.2 x 1.01
Walmart No.: 550902235
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 45 questions
1-3 of 45 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by maymargar 2/6/2013
8 answers
  • A. no disc drive on this for dvd or cd
    by missdesmoines2/18/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it does not. There is not a disc slot , although you might be able to hook up external drive with usb port. But I dont' know that the RAM would be sufficient to run it.
    by jodati2/18/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it does not play dvd's or cd's.
    by tlappert2/18/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, it doesn't have a disk tray.
    by Keystroker2/16/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, doesn't have an optical drive.
    by DecEx2/16/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You would have to buy an external USB CD/DVD player.
    by drewz212/16/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. If you purchase an external (portable) CD/DVD burner player & then download a video player such as VLC, you will be enjoying videos on this little netbook in no time.
    by moondiggitydawg2/10/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No DVD/CD; get a USB plug in drive. DVDs may be slow; music sound and photos are ok.
    by QualityJob12/8/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
If taking online college classes would this netbook have the capability to view and work with the online software?
by HB 2/5/2013
7 answers
  • A. yes i believe it would..i dont like it for what i do. which is mainly facebook or watching shows/movies
    by Kentuckygirl272/25/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it would be great for that. It's easily portable and can go anywhere.
    by JaxGatorFan2/25/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It is too slow to be efficient if work requires use of the Internet.
    by modernSFchick2/19/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, it comes with Windows 7 and you can always download options you need from the Internet.
    by Keystroker2/16/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It should. A RAM upgrade to 2GB or 4GB would be better. Plus since it has VGA out and HDMI out you could hook it up to an external monitor if wanted. I use mine to dial into work sometimes.
    by drewz212/16/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Absolutely !
    by PicTakingParent2/14/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Office Starter is good for basic doct and spreadsheet work; you can insert photos/and SMALL video (1-2gb will bog down). No PowerPoint or Outlook.
    by QualityJob12/7/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
1-3 of 45 questions See all
1-3 of 45 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-5 of 110 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Deal for the Money
1/3/2013

Customer review by Keith99

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Keith99
by Keith99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If all you are doing is using it for the internet, its great!!! If you want to use it as a regular Notebook and run some office programs, or watch DVD's you might want to add another Gig of RAM to it for it to perform adequately. This is not a problem, I bought a 2 GB ram upgrade from Kingston for $13.99 and added a 4GB SD card to use as Ready Boost. This improved performance significantly. The only complaint I had was the short battery life it has before requiring recharging. This is not a problem either since you can upgrade from the 3 cell battery to a 6 cell battery at the Gateway online store for $49.99. Kingston also offers some flash drive upgrade options for this machine that will greatly improve performance and use less power than the standard HDD. I liked this machine so much that I bought a second for my family. Overall, I don't think you can go wrong with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (108) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keith99
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much faster than expected.
1/30/2013

Customer review by seulater

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by seulater
by seulater

I just needed something to check several e-mail accounts. So i was looking for a 10" screen and low cost. I did not need speed. When i got it i was not expecting much for speed as i have had 2 10" ones in the past that were slow like molasses. When I fired it up i was shocked at just how zippy this actually is. I never thought in a million years that anything with 1Gb ram could be so zippy. Wireless signal was very good for how far away i was from the router compared to other devices i have. I liked it so much that i wanted to see just how far i could push the envelope and even get more from it, not that it needed it. I threw a 2GB stick in it and a SSD SATA hard drive. Slapped Win7 32Bit Pro on it. Boots in under 5 seconds ready to go. I then threw Win8 32bit on it. I just love this little thing with either OS on it. For anyone looking for a low cost unit dont let the cost and 1GB ram scare you off. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seulater
Rockton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice second portable PC
1/12/2013

Customer review by TazmanianTom1

4.0 stars 1/12/2013 by TazmanianTom1
by TazmanianTom1

This is a nice second portable unit for travel or home use. This will not take the place of a regular laptop, but is great for someone that just wants to do email, home work, school. You can add an external USB CD drive. Would have given it 5 stars and excilent rating if Gatway would have provided directions for getting to the memory bank so you can install the 2GB MEMORY. If you are going to use it for school or working on papers at home I would suggest purchasing the unlock key for MS Office home and student. The upgrade to the full version of windows7 (the next one up) if you want to play with photos or have a better OS abd suport for memory is a nice idea. Windows starter is ok for email and social networking. Gatway keeps changing their mind on Windows starter supporting 2GB memory. Documents indicates it does, but support from Gatway said you need to upgrade OS. Other than that this is a nice little unit.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TazmanianTom1
Near Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than an iPad
12/26/2012

Customer review by cetude

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by cetude
by cetude

THIS is actually more powerful than an iPad which costs $700. This notebook holds 320 gb space with 1 gb memory. a $700 iPad holds 64 gb, also with 1 GB ram memory. The notebook IS a computer so it does a of a lot more than an iPad. I got mine for $220 (on sale) at Wal-mart and it's very good! and is JUST AS PORTABLE. I really like this for portable work, studying, and writing papers and the keyboard is attached :-)

Was this review helpful? (191) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cetude
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Excellent Value in a Nice Little Netbook
1/23/2013

Customer review by moondiggitydawg

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by moondiggitydawg
by moondiggitydawg

I was looking for a very compact computer to easily carry around with me. I didn't need a powerhouse as I have a desktop and a very powerful Asus laptop for when I need a workhorse. I wanted something that I could use for email, to surf the net, save photos on and create documents. I also wanted something light and small to keep a version of Bible Explorer on, so I could keep my library or Christian books at my fingertips. I looked at many, many, netbooks and found that for the price you couldn't do much better than this little Gateway LT 4010u. Even with its little Intel Atom Intel Atom N2600 processor & just 1GB of RAM I find it to be plenty quick (for comparison my Asus has an Intel Core i7 processor & 8GBs of RAM). I should mention for those who want more RAM that the 4010u is expandable to 2GB RAM, but I wouldn't attempt to disassemble to get to the card. I also found the 320G hard drive a pleasant surprise. I'm sure the fact that the 4010u comes with just the (non-power sapping) Windows 7 Starter (of which I'm not a huge fan, but it is fine for a netbook) part of the reason I don't find this little netbook to be slow at all. I find the 10.1" display excellent, especially for a netbook at this price point, and the fact that it comes equipped with niceties such as 3 2.0 USB ports, a webcam, and a 6-in-1 memory card reader all pluses. The 3-cell lithium-ion battery is said to provide up to 4 hours of battery life, however you can purchase a 6 cell (which should provide about 8 hours per charge) from Gateway Accessories for just $49.99 plus tax & shipping. In short, for the money, this is a very nice little value-packed netbook and I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moondiggitydawg
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-5 of 110 total reviews See all
1-5 of 110 reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  1-year See details

Supplier Warranty: 1-year limited warranty
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.