Tramontina 5.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven with Bonus Trivet, Assorted Colors

Loading options...
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping available

 

Shipping

Choose your options
We will display shipping prices and delivery dates once you choose the options for this item.

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Choose your options
We will display free store pickup prices and delivery dates once you choose the options for this item.
  • Oven-safe up to 450 degrees Fahrenheit (232 degrees Celsius)
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Hand-wash only
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    Customers also considered

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
    Enameled cast iron is a proven performer in the kitchen for many cooking tasks, including the slow-cooking of soups, stews and meats, baking, frying and much more. Tramontina's 5.5-Quart Dutch Oven includes a matching seven-inch round trivet to elevate hot cookware from a counter or table, making an elegant and complete serving presentation.

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    Enameled cast iron is a proven performer in the kitchen for many cooking tasks, including the slow-cooking of soups, stews and meats, baking, frying and much more. Tramontina's 5.5-Quart Dutch Oven includes a matching seven-inch round trivet to elevate hot cookware from a counter or table, making an elegant and complete serving presentation.


    Tramontina 5.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven with Bonus Trivet, Assorted Colors:

    • Versatile Dutch oven is ideal for preparing all types of soups and stews, braising meats, baking, frying and more
    • Cast-iron cookware ensures even heating and excellent heat retention
    • Elegant design and matching enameled trivet are perfect for taking item directly from the stove to the table for serving
    • Vibrant exterior porcelain enamel finish is durable and scratch-resistant
    • Off-white porcelain enamel interior finish
    • Black phenolic knob
    • Compatible with gas, electric, ceramic and induction cooktops
    • Oven-safe up to 450 degrees Fahrenheit (232 degrees Celsius)
    • Lifetime warranty
    • Hand-wash only
    • 5.5-quart (5.20-liter) capacity
    • Model# 80131

    Explore this item

    Specifications

    Color: Red
    Capacity: 5.5 qt
    Condition: New
    Material: Cast Iron
    Manufacturer Part Number: 80131/532DS
    Model: 80131/532DS
    Brand: Tramontina
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 13.31 x 10.12 x 6.88 Inches
    Show

    Comparison Table

    Brand Image
    Cooktop Compatibility
    Cooktop Compatibility
    Ceramic Glass
    Ceramic Glass
    Electric
    Electric
    Oven-Safe Temperature
    Oven-Safe Temperature
    Induction
    Induction
    Gas
    Gas
    Specifications
    Specifications
    Lifetime Warranty
    Lifetime Warranty
    Knob Material
    Knob Material
    Capacity
    Capacity
    Prop 65 Approved
    Prop 65 Approved
    Available in Cobalt Blue
    Available in Cobalt Blue
    Shape
    Shape
    You are viewing
    Tramontina 5.5 Qt. Gourmet Cast Iron Covered Round Dutch Oven with Trivet - Assorted Colors
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    400 F / 204 C
    400 F / 204 C
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Black Phenolic
    Black Phenolic
    5.5 Quarts
    5.5 Quarts
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Round
    Round
    Tramontina Gourmet 24 oz. Cast-Iron Covered Mini Cocotte
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    450 F / 232 C
    450 F / 232 C
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    24 Ounces
    24 Ounces
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Round
    Round
    Tramontina 3.5-Quart Cast Iron Dutch Oven
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    450 F / 232 C
    450 F / 232 C
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    3.5 Quarts
    3.5 Quarts
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Round
    Round
    Tramontina Gourmet 4 Qt. Cast-Iron Covered Braiser 80131512DS/80131578
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    450 F / 232 C
    450 F / 232 C
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    4 Quarts
    4 Quarts
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Round
    Round
    Tramontina Gourmet 6 Qt. Cast-Iron Covered Dutch Oven 80131529/80131586
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    450 F / 232 C
    450 F / 232 C
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    6 Quarts
    6 Quarts
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Round
    Round
    Tramontina Gourmet 7 Qt. Cast-Iron Covered Oval Dutch Oven - 80131530DS/80131580DS
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    450 F / 232 C
    450 F / 232 C
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Yes
    Yes
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    Precision Cast Stainless Steel
    7 Quarts
    7 Quarts
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    Oval
    Oval
    Show

    Manuals & Guides

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    223 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    223 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    93%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    162
    4 stars
    39
    3 stars
    8
    2 stars
    6
    1 stars
    8
    1-10 of 172 total reviews
    93%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Why pay $300 when this is just as good?
    2/10/2014

    Customer review by Brokerma

    4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by Brokerma
    by Brokerma
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    I have other high end dutch ovens in different sizes and wanted an all purpose, everyday size. This fits that bill, no problem. But now that I've seen it and used it, it seems ridiculous to pay $300 for an enameled dutch oven like Cuisinart or Le Creuset. This one looks great and works well. I had a little more sticking while browning items, but still came clean easily. The included trivet was a nice bonus. This is an excellent value.

    Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Brokerma
    Bumpass VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Fabulous!
    2/24/2013

    Customer review by sondesara

    5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by sondesara
    by sondesara
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    I waited a very long time before finally deciding to purchase a cast iron dutch oven with the enamel finish. I didn't actually 'need' one and as a frugal person had difficulty justifying the expense. I did considerable research and read at least two hundred reviews/testimonials. I am a fan of America's Test Kitchen. ATK has never once let me down. ATK recommended Le Creuset as the number one and Tramontina as a very decent number two recommendation. I went for the Tramontina and for Walmart. On a scale from one to ten, I would rate the Tramontina dutch oven a number TEN! I have quickly recovered from the 'I-don't-really-need-one' issue. I use it at least once per week. I have cooked soup, stew, paella, arroz con pollo, congri, rope vieja, picadillo, fricase de pollo, black beans, navy beans, etc. etc. It is very easy to clean (I wash and dry it by hand) and I've slowly adjusted to the weight (it is quite heavy). I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful? (58) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    sondesara
    Coral Springs, FL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:5 - 6 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Everything I was looking for!
    2/19/2013

    Customer review by Mom2Littles

    5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Mom2Littles
    by Mom2Littles
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    I am in love with my new dutch oven. I threw out my old non-stick pots because the surface was beginning to peel away and really wanted something different. I could not be happier with the pot. I am the kind of cook who likes to use the same pot for everything; therefore, I have made hamburgers, boiled eggs, cooked soup, prepared rice, prepared a casserole, and more in this dutch oven. Each time it has cleaned up beautifully and looks wonderful gracing my stovetop! My one concern before purchasing was regarding the fact that the pot was manufactured in China. I e-mailed Tramontina and received a prompt reply. Here is a portion of their representative's explanation regarding lead & cadmium: "All of the Tramontina Enameled Cast iron is made in China. One good thing is that it is NOT farmed out to a Chinese company but made in OUR plant in China. They have to meet all of the same rules and regulations that our plants in the USA and Brazil have to meet, so there is a lot more control over our products. All of Tramontina products must pass the Prop 65 regulation regarding Cadmium and lead so that they are safe when taken to market."

    Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Mom2Littles
    Atmore, AL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Great Dutch Oven - Very easy to use
    10/22/2013

    Customer review by Redpot

    5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Redpot
    by Redpot
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    Used this dutch oven twice this first week to make dinner. It is perfect for one pot meals. Cooked a chicken meal one night - browned the chicken removed it, prepared saute and sauce in the pot after removing the chicken - then returned the chicken to the pot to finish cooking - no leftovers. Another night used the pot to cook pasta, removed pasta to drain in colander- made alfredo sauce in the pot, added shrimp cooked them until pink, then returned the pasta to the dutch oven to cook an additional 5 minutes with the alfredo sauce and shrimp - dinner was done. Tomorrow going to make a Coffee Pot Roast in the dutch oven. I have two of these pots one 3.5 quarts for soups or for cooking for two and this 5.5 quart oven for family meals. These are extremely versatile cookware.

    Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Redpot
    Tampa, FL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per month
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Only good for cooking soups, not making soups
    1/25/2014

    Customer review by EAbbey

    1.0 stars 1/25/2014 by EAbbey
    by EAbbey

    This enameled inside and out cast iron dutch oven must only be cooked on low heats and with lots of water/liquid. DO NOT think you can, on even lo-medium heat, pre-cook your chopped up celery, onions, etc. and then add the liquid to the pan. You need to do that in a pan designed to handle that. It is for wet cooking only either on the stove top or oven. You can not put a roast in for the oven without lots of liquid. What happens if you dont ? The inside enamel coating pops off with a horrible sound and voila, dutch oven destroyed in an instant. I had bought it primarily for my husband who had carefully read the instructions so he rarely used it. I didnt read the instructions, so while he was gone for several weeks, I decided to make some soup. I learned about it the hard way. Pay extra for a real dutch oven, with sturdy enamel or not, as there are ones out there that you can do it all in one pan and wont end up with a fake flower planter or doorstop. Also, this one you have to season the edges of the pot and the lid as there is cast iron exposed on the rims.

    Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    EAbbey
    Southwest
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:9 - 10 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Once per month
    Poor quality
    11/24/2015

    Customer review by jwtk57

    2.0 stars 11/24/2015 by jwtk57
    by jwtk57

    I bought this enamel cast iron dutch oven 1 year ago but it already looks like 10-20 years old. I've decided to bake a bread in it (500 F) and that was a big mistake. The inside got burned and I can't get rid of that ugly color on the enamel. Now food sticks to the bottom. Also you can't use stainless steel utencils because it scratches very easily. The piece is still useful but I expected better quality from Tramontina. Used to have their stainless steel cookware made in Brazil and it looked great even after 20 years of cooking in it. The stainless steel they used to make that cookware was excellent quality. Because of that great cookware from Tramontina I've decided to buy their enamel cast iron dutch oven and what a disappointment it turned out to be. Maybe if you are very, very careful it will perform good for years but I don't like to be extremely cautious with my cookware. After all it's not made from gold or glass and it's only for cooking.

    Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    jwtk57
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Great cooking assistant and a great price!
    11/24/2012

    Customer review by bonsai8

    5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by bonsai8
    by bonsai8
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    These pots ARE Good! I always heard they were ...so, decided to try one for myself. Everything I've cooked in it so far is great. I wonder..........could the pot be helping? Yes, I recommend this way of cooking. Don't forgret to season it though.....a little oil in the body and around the edge.....in the oven for an hour and its ready to go. Only thing the knob came loose but I tightened it up and its been okay. The Trivet is handy to have too.

    Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    bonsai8
    Laguna Woods, CA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Great value
    11/27/2012

    Customer review by AllsWells

    5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by AllsWells
    by AllsWells
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    Used right away and it performed perfectly (after "seasoning" it in the oven as recommended). Cooked pasta sauce with sausages for hours on top of the stove. I washed it by hand, but admit to bumping my sink and no chips! Can't imagine why anyone would spend hundreds of dollars on Le Creuset when this dutch oven was just as good. Can't wait to use it again. Got the blue color and it's really a nice shade of dark blue.

    Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    AllsWells
    CT
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    11/16/2012

    Customer review by OregonNonna

    5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by OregonNonna
    by OregonNonna
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    This cast iron pot is fabulous. I now have all the plusses of cast iron, and REALLY easy cleanup, without all the chemicals to worry about. I've wanted one for a long time, and this is as good, if not better, than the fancy french one that costs more than $250. Thankyou, WalMart.

    Was this review helpful? (88) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    OregonNonna
    Siletz, Oregon
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Excellent Dutch Oven
    4/6/2013

    Customer review by walkingencyclopedia

    5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by walkingencyclopedia
    by walkingencyclopedia
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    This is an excellent Dutch oven. I previously purchased a 6.5 quart capacity Tramontina Dutch oven because America's Test Kitchen's magazine rated it as a best buy. (Le Crueset is the best, but it's too pricey for my budget, around $300 for a 5 quart Dutch oven). I had to return that 6.5 quart capacity pot because it was way too heavy. I'm almost 60, and I found I had trouble lifting that one when it was full of water, never mind a pot roast. The 5.5 is much better. I can lift it. It fits evenly on my stovetop. It looks great and the matching trivet will come in handy. Make sure before you buy one of these enameled cast iron pots that whoever will be doing the cooking can lift it. You may be younger than I am, but does your mother ever come over and help you cook? If so, she may not be able to maneuver the pot, if need be.

    Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    walkingencyclopedia
    Littleton, Coloraddo
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    1-10 of 172 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 172 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 20 questions
    1-3 of 20 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by Wings 12/7/2012
    11 answers
    • A. No, it has rubber feet.
      by Vocabmom11/13/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, the trivet is also made of cast iron and enamel coated to match the dutch oven
      by Budro581/10/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no you cant use the trivet on the burner it has rubber knobs on the bottom that would burn
      by bettywit11/13/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. i would say no there are rubber stoppers on the bottom of the trivet to keep it from sliding. so they would melt on a hot burner
      by 4ncmom2211/13/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No that is not what is for
      by foxyroxy371/26/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No. The trivet has rubber bumper bottom. Sorry.
      by Bites581/26/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Not sure why you would put a trivet on the stove burner? I would recommend against that. It is intended to be used on a table or countertop to put the pot on to protect the underlying surface.
      by charclm041/26/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I used my trivet to place my hot dutch oven on after cooking stew while on the counter.
      by Recruit12/17/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No. The trivet sits on the counter & the hot pot sits on the trivet to protect the counter.
      by no1hogfan11/13/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Since a trivet is meant to put hot pots on to protect surfaces from damaging heat, I would not presume that any trivet, of any material, would be safe to place or use on a burner.
      by 72586981412/15/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by teps822 12/2/2012
    11 answers
    • A. It comes with instructions on it. Basically use oil to season the rim where it doesn't have enamel.
      by annab37310/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The only area that needs to be seasoned is the rim of the pot and the rim of the lid where the cast iron is exposed. All you do is rub some Crisco on and heat it in the oven. This keeps food from sticking to the iron.
      by ncstagger10/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You have to oil the inside of the lid and the inside of the pot and edges in a oven for an hour at high temp so it seals the ceramic coating.
      by bettywit7/30/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. you season the keep the iron from rusting and to form a nonstick surface.the tamontina dutch oven is coated on the inside already with a shinny tan coating.so you only need to season around the top of dutch oven as well as lid(just cast iron parts).just coat with light layer oil (vegetable) put in oven at 450 for 1hour then turn off and leave in oven til cool hours later.
      by 4ncmom2210/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it says you don't have to season the pot just the lid rim and the vessel rim.
      by foxyroxy3710/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Instructions with the item says it's recommended. The exposed area to be 'seasoned' is treated with oil and baked in the oven for a certain amount of time before use. It's an area not coated with enamel (a small portion of the pot's upper edge and a small portion of the lid which touches the pot opening).
      by Roll0She10/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The instructions that came with the pot said to season the pot and lid rims with oil. It's easy to tell where to oil it because it's where it's the "cast iron" color.
      by mimikaci10/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The rims around the top of the pot and lid are raw cast iron without ceramic coating (probably to prevent chipping when putting on and taking off the lid). (We're talking about 1/4" wide or less on each) These are the areas that need seasoned by coating with oil and heating in the oven for an hour before the first use. I placed the lid separately on the oven rack.
      by xarophti6/1/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. season means to put cooking oil or shorting on the product. Put it around the lid on the part that isnt painted. Also around the pot
      by wheelingnative12/4/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. When you buy cast iron, you have to "season" it so it will not stick. The lib and the top rim of the pot show the cast iron. You only have to rub some oil on those spots and put it in the oven. I laid the lid next to the pot so both could benefit from the heat. It is just tempering the cast iron. This is done on ALL cast irons pots. The handle on the lid willnot melt either, which is what I was concerned about. Rub some oil on the two edges that show the cast iron and stick in the oven for an hr.. ALL DONE!!!! You will like it. But it is heavier than the average pot.
      by outback840696/1/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by prayerwing 11/10/2012
    11 answers
    • A. Great! Just try not to slide it around as it may scratch the glasstop. Not deeply, just light surface scratches. My glasstop is old and pretty scratchy, so not a problem for me.
      by Vocabmom10/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Works great on glass stovetop. Heats well and holds the heat. This is heavy so you must be careful when moving pot to avoid damaging your stovepot.
      by An anonymous customer10/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it should be fine it has a flat bottom without grooves,it's smooth.
      by bettywit10/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. i have a glass top induction oven and it works great on it and in it. just remember do not push,pull,or slide could scratch glass top.also do not put on stove top while hot burner is hot.put dutch oven on stove top while cool and heat both up together.
      by 4ncmom228/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it should work very well just not too high of heat and no dry cooking and you are to lift it to move it from burner to burner on a glass top.
      by foxyroxy378/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Works excellent. I use mine on my glasstop and it cooks great.
      by howboutdat8/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It works great on a glass top electric stove. I have used it several times with no problems. I would be careful not to drag it across the stovetop.
      by charclm0410/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. From documentation enclosed: "When using cookware on ceramic glass stovetops, always lift (do not slide) to move to avoid scratching the cooktop."
      by xarophti10/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I had no problem at all on my glass top electric stove.......
      by louieeee8/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Per instructions, it is compatible to use for glass top electric stoves.
      by Child68/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 20 questions See all
    1-3 of 20 questions
    Customers also viewed these products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  Lifetime See details

    Warranty Information: Lifetime Warranty
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Returns

    Returns are easy at Walmart
    Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.