Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Smartphone

$59.99
$59.99

Out of stock

Loading options...
Care plan (optional):
Sold by Walmart.com

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
  • This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $65/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan
  • 3.5" touchscreen
  • About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
    Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.


    Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone:

    • This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $65/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan
    • 3.5" touchscreen
    • Android 2.3 OS
    • 5MP camera/video recorder
    • Bluetooth wireless technology
    • Instant messaging
    • Advanced GPS capabilities
    • 3G/WiFi connectivity
    • 600MHz processor
    • 5 home screens
    • Access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play
    • MP3 player
    • Supports microSD cards up to 32GB
    • Gravity sensor
    • Tilt and shake
    • Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) rating: M3/T3
    • 1500 mAh lithium battery
    • Talk time: up to 5.8 h
    • Standby time: up to 10 days
    • Includes battery, charger, 2GB microSD memory card, activation card, service guide and user manual

    Specifications

    Manufacturer: Generic
    Features: Bluetooth ,  Wi-fi Ready ,  GPS ,  Camera ,  Full Web Browsers ,  Music Player
    Cell Phone Service Provider: Straight Talk
    Size: 4.5"L x 2.5"W x 4.5"H
    Manufacturer Part Number: STZEZ990GP4P
    Battery Type: Lithium Ion
    Battery Life: 5 hours 48 minutes
    Operating System: Android
    Screen Size: 3.5"
    Model: Z990G
    Number of Megapixels: 5 Megapixel
    Mobile Operating System: Android
    Talk Time: 5 hours 48 minutes
    Brand: Straight Talk
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 4.45 x 2.32 x 4.45 IN
    Show

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

    3.5 stars

    284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

    3.5 stars

    284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

    60%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    86
    4 stars
    69
    3 stars
    35
    2 stars
    31
    1 stars
    63
    1-5 of 263 total reviews
    60%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Love, love , love!
    8/22/2012

    Customer review by clb112085

    5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by clb112085
    by clb112085

    I've had this phone for about a week now and I absolutely love it! This is my first smartphone and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The phone is easy to use, but does a lot! Everything is so much easier with this phone. I have had no trouble with it freezing or resetting as I read in a few other reviews. I went with straight talk (and with this phone specifically) because a very helpful walmart associate said that of the straight talk phones, this one got the best service coverage. He could not have been more right. The service coverage is awesome and the phone itself is fantastic. It makes social networking, texting, browsing, and anything else you may need simple and fast. Activating my service was quick and simple. I did it online and within 10 minutes the service was active. I have not had to contact customer service for anything yet, but I have read several reviews stating that the customer service is horrible. I guess we'll see...the phone, however, is worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    clb112085
    Maryland
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Beware! Internal storage is ONLY 160MB!
    1/16/2014

    Customer review by medicineheart

    1.0 stars 1/16/2014 by medicineheart
    by medicineheart

    Pro: Good phone if you do not wish to install apps. Great for phone calling, texting, social networking. Con: Very low internal storage of 160MB. This is only < 20% of a Gig. If you download any apps do not get anything higher then 10MB or your storage will be low and you will need to dump the apps. Bloatware on the phone cannot be deleted. SOME downloaded apps can be moved to the sd card but that is fruitless because those same apps will take up space on the internal storage so having a sd card is useless. There are MANY MANY complaints of this phone on the straighttalk forums. In the Samsung forum every inquiry has a mysterious canned request from straighttalk to take the privately with them thru email. The other thing I had noticed and did my own research on straightalk that the phones that are listed only the iPad phones list their internal storage on the website. All the other phones that they offer DO NOT list the internal storage space. Wished I known this before I purchased it from Walmart.

    Was this review helpful? (67) (7)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    medicineheart
    West Union, OH
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:3 - 4 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    ZTE Merit--Great Phone for the Price
    7/24/2012

    Customer review by Sweetpeacm06

    5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Sweetpeacm06
    by Sweetpeacm06

    I researched this phone before I bought it, I also went and entered 93 zip codes from SC, NC NY and NJ and all but 3 said that this phone worked in those areas. So I bought the phone, then went on a trip from Myrtle Beach, 'SC to New Jersey and I never lost coverage or data use. So far it has been a great phone. I was worried about memory, but I simple went and bought a high MB MicroSD card(problem solved#. Took photos while on my trip and they came out great. #FYI: You do not need a high pixel camera (on phone or regular camer#, unless you plan on blowing them up for a poster or are on a crime photography team. Just an FYI) Browsing has been fine. No problem there. Downloading apps thru Google Play Android Markert. No problem there. Since this is a GSM ATT phone I foresee and have had no problems. So if you are wanting a good Android for a good price and one that works very well on the East Coast #that I know for a fact) I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? (193) (17)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Sweetpeacm06
    TooHotMyrtleBeach
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    A "dumb" smartphone?
    4/1/2013

    Customer review by rebel260

    3.0 stars 4/1/2013 by rebel260
    by rebel260
    Top 500 contributor

    My first android (WOW!) phone and bought it blinded by starry eyes that blinded me. It failed about 8 months after purchase when the back button broke inside the circuit board - no repair. Here's what I learned while it worked: This phone is handicapped by grossly insufficient memory and while it claims you can add a micro-SD card, you can't really USE that card for loading many aps because the phone comes with a ton of pre-installed google based aps that can't be uninstalled and they use all the VERY small internal memory needed to download or run other aps. Basically, the Merit could've been a good basic "android for beginners" choice but instead, they made a "dumb" smartphone that can run the mostly useless google aps that come with it. To use this phone, you will NEED to learn very careful memory management skills. I gave this phone 3 out of 5 only because I bought it as an education and it taught me all the things that I wanted and it wasn't. I definitely would NOT recommend this phone to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    rebel260
    South Bend, IN
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:7 - 8 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Top 500 contributor
    DO NOT BUY, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE
    8/19/2013

    Customer review by Deano22

    1.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Deano22
    by Deano22

    I did not want to pay Verizon's prices anymore, so I purchased this phone. It has been nothing but trouble. Let me first say, that I'm very careful. Have never dropped it, got it wet, etc. You cannot get rid of the preinstalled apps. or move them to an SD card which leaves you vertically no space to download any additional apps you might want. I have put on 2 and get messages that my phone is out of space. Phone now rejects incoming text messages due to no space which forces me to have to delete pics and messages (even if I have no messages, I still get incoming texts rejected). Phone #1 began rebooting itself over and over. Only way to get it to quit, was to take out battery and wait on shipping label to return it. Phone #2. doing same thing PLUS now when I make a call, I can see they've answered, but I cannot hear them. Sending the phone in again, but may just use it as a back up or give it to my son. Going back to Verizon. I travel and this phone is not reliable at all.

    Was this review helpful? (28) (10)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Deano22
    Pittsboro, IN
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:11 - 12 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    1-5 of 263 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 263 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 284 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 351 questions
    1-3 of 351 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by an anonymous customer 8/21/2012
    6 answers
    • A. Yes, it states that right on Straight Talk's website, under the SIM card section.
      by EWSHEDS9/5/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. if you have an unlocked phone that uses a SIM card, you should be able to buy a SIM card from straight talk, it should work.
      by micklooking11/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Unlocked, with SIM Card, you should be able to, you will have to upate the APN info, look in the app store for APN Update ( Tweakker APN INTERNET MMS works great ) this will set the connection correctly.
      by micklooking8/28/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, you can use your phone, and you will get 4G. The previous person said you would not. If you go to straighttalksim.com you will find this answer. But only if it is a real tmobile phone that had 4G to start with. att phones will work, but no 4G. Most people, probably 99% do not know that tmobile phones have a extra band(1700mhz) that att does not have, thats where they get the 4G from. Let me know how it works, I have a tmobile I am thinking about switching.
      by Ledguy10/9/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, you can with Straight Talk's Bring Your Own Phone program. All you will need to do is buy the proper sim card(unlocked or T Mobile). You will not get 4G though through Straight Talk. You will be limited to 3G for your net services. More information can be found at http://www.straighttalksim.com
      by Jarryed8/30/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yo hsve to contact straighttalk to get a straighttalk compatible sim card. I suggest going to their site so you can get one specifically for your phone. They also have simcards for other carriers too. Also I believe that is a smartphone and any that need a data link will only work with the $45.
      by chatrage8/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    Is this true? I need to know because verizon is the only carrier I can get a signal where my home is. Already had the precedent and it uses sprint towers and absolutely no signal in many places so I sold it. Thanks!
    by an anonymous customer 8/22/2012
    5 answers
    • A. Walmart associate told us the same thing! We found out after the purchase & phone activated that it was AT & T.
      by katieme9/26/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. NO! This phone runs off of AT&T towers! On the box for the phone look on the bottom left hand corner. There it should say GSM-A, which means it runs off of the GSM network through AT&T. (AT&T usually has about the same coverage area as Verizon, but if for some reason your home isn't covered, just return it before the return period runs out.
      by EWSHEDS4/14/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This Phone uses AT@T, most phones with a SIM card or GSM is going to use AT@T towers, the CDMA phones use Verizon ( non sim card) , straight talk phones currently use either Verizon, Sprint or ATT, You have to pay attention to which phone your looking at, best to go to the web site and enter your Zip code it will only show phones available in that area.
      by micklooking9/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Uses AT&T towers in my area. The phone I had before used Verizon Towers and was much better.
      by Alliecat45610/25/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They told you wrong information. This phone uses AT&T.
      by Jarryed10/25/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (3)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 351 questions See all
    1-3 of 351 questions
    Check out these related products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    The following available options may be selected during checkout:
    Gift message: Add a personal note that we'll include with your gift.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Returns

    Returns are easy at Walmart
    Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.