Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Check out these related products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.


Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid:

  • This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $60/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan
  • 3.5" touchscreen
  • Android 2.3 OS
  • 3MP camera/video recorder
  • Bluetooth wireless technology
  • Multi-tasking
  • Instant messaging
  • Advanced GPS capabilities
  • 3G/WiFi connectivity
  • 1GHz processor
  • Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy features five home screens
  • Access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play
  • Skype
  • MP3 player
  • 2GB microSD card included
  • Supports microSD cards up to 32GB
  • Gravity sensor
  • Tilt and shake
  • 3.5mm headset jack
  • Speech to text
  • TouchWiz Lite 3.0
  • Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) Rating: M4
  • Phonebook with unlimited entries
  • Battery: Li-ion 1500mAh
  • Talk time: up to 5.5 h
  • Standby time: up to 16 days
  • Includes battery, charger, 2GB microSD memory card, activation card, service guide and user manual

Specifications

Video Streaming Quality: 320 x 480
Manufacturer: Samsung
Features: Bluetooth
Cell Phone Service Provider: Straight Talk
Size: 4.5"L x 2.25"W x 4.5"H
Manufacturer Part Number: STSAS720CPWP
Connector Type: 1 x Headphones
Battery Life: 5 hours 30 minutes
Operating System: Android
Screen Size: 3.5"
Model: STSAS720CPWP
Number of Megapixels: 3 Megapixel
Mobile Operating System: Android
Talk Time: 5 hours 30 minutes
Brand: Straight Talk
Assembled Product Weight: 0.50 lbs
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 4.45 x 2.32 x 4.45 Inches
Show

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 1168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 stars
102
1-5 of 971 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Loving This Smartphone
5/21/2013

Customer review by StormChaserChuck

4.0 stars 5/21/2013 by StormChaserChuck
by StormChaserChuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed to upgrade my phone to something better than I had. After much research, I decided to choose the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It was the best phone for the price, and had many useful functions. I am a storm chaser, so I need a smartphone that can run my radar programs, satellite data and much more, in a timely manner. I just got back from intercepting 8 tornadoes in Kansas this past weekend (May 18/19) and this phone worked phenomenally. 3G data, quick browsing, ease of use. Apps load quickly, they work efficiently, and multitasking is a breeze. The only real problem I had was sharing video clips in text messaging. I keep getting an error that the file size is too large when I shoot in full res. Other than that, this phone works like a charm. I love it and would definitely recommend it to someone else. The phone fits in my hand very well. The photo shows one of the tornadoes I intercepted while on the chase.

Was this review helpful? (227) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StormChaserChuck
Greenville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellant for the price
11/18/2012

Customer review by AndroidGuy

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by AndroidGuy
by AndroidGuy

This phone is awesome for the price, anyone on a budget and inside of a Verizon service area, this is the phone for you. It has excellent data speeds and very good call quality. The supposed limit for the "unlimited data" is around 2 GB a month (which is a lot!) but i have used much more than that with no service disruption. The only thing i could ask for is a front camera, and the option of stock android (instead of Samsung's "TouchWiz"). I have purchased the extended battery for this phone, which extends the battery by many many hours, along with the app "JuiceDefender" which manages power to get you even more battery life, i have no problem getting several days of use between charges. I have also added the app Go Launcher which replaces the TouchWiz UI and makes the phone very fast and responsive. I have also rooted this phone, which nobody needs to do, but anyone familiar with with the topic, it is very easy to do and lets you back up apps and underclock your phone for more battery. Well hope this review helps somebody and helps them choose the right android for them.

Was this review helpful? (176) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndroidGuy
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Android!
9/19/2012

Customer review by hellomisskitty

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by hellomisskitty
by hellomisskitty

This is my first android, so having said that, keep in mind some of these issues might be chalked up to inexperience. My biggest negative is lack of informative materials; the manuals included with the phone don't begin to assist any android newby with comprehensive instructions/tips. While some of it is intuitive, some of it isn't at all. Do yourself a favor and download a much more useful resource here: http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/SCH-S720ZKATFN#. Another problem is the overload of ads that pop up with the games. I'm not sure if this is a function of the game makers, Samsung, or Straight Talk. But it's aggravating! Could be that's just what you get when you go with free apps. I need to do further research on this. I've seen this phone touted as a good one for those new to the world of droids. I would agree. Even my boyfriend, a die hard iPhone fan, is impressed! I think it's a great value for the money, and expect this will be all I need for some years to come.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hellomisskitty
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/16/2012

Customer review by GarysGrlSydneysMama

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by GarysGrlSydneysMama
by GarysGrlSydneysMama

I originally purchased two ZTE Merits. One (mine) kept having issues so I returned it and upgraded to this. I love it! The memory capacity is vast compared to the ZTE. Its way faster loading things. Also, whenever you update an app on the ZTE it completely uses the rest of the available memory. Almost as if it creates another file instead of overwriting the previous one. I do NOT have that problem with the Proclaim. I have downloaded about 16 apps and have hardly touched any of the internal memory but with the ZTE 3 or 4 extra apps seemed to be the capacity even with everything transfered to the memory card. I am not sorry about paying the extra $50 to upgrade. I would like a better battery and I saw a review that said you could purchace one from verizon that was twice as powerful. Mine will last 24 hrs if I don't play games but hard pressed to last thru the waking hours if my kid plays app games. Other than that I am thinking of upgrading the other phone to the Proclaim as well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GarysGrlSydneysMama
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1st Android Phone for Wife
1/16/2013

Customer review by Jaxxxxxxxxxx

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Jaxxxxxxxxxx
by Jaxxxxxxxxxx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a phone for my wife that did Facebook, Took Pics, Email and most of all easy to use. Paramount was being on the Verizon Network which this one is. The camera is ONLY 3.2Megapixels and is not great in poor light or fast motion... but in daylight .. perfect for what photos my wife needs. This phone MORE than covers the above. My wife is in love with it and being a 1st time Smartphone User has completely grasped the operation of this phone within a few days. Menus and operation is intuitive, responsive and fast to load. Volume on the earpiece is great and the text to speech is pretty impressive. If you're looking for an entry level smartphone that's easy to use and not overpriced then this is the answer. I researched heavily before buying this ... and I am not disappointed. As a result ... I am intending on cancelling my $20 per month Cell Contract and $40 Vonage per month contract and picking up the cellphone for myself on the $60 International Unlimited Plan.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaxxxxxxxxxx
Bremerton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-5 of 971 total reviews See all
1-5 of 971 reviews

Customer Reviews | 1168 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 966 questions
1-3 of 966 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by tuesday35 7/5/2012
10 answers
  • A. YES-YES-YES!!! The Proclaim uses Verizon Towers! (I'm not sure Verizon wants everyone to know this because their Illusion is almost the EXACT model!)The Proclaim & the Illusion use all the same accessories--can't find a Proclaim cover? Illusion cover will fit--as well as other accessories.
    by BLL532/13/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (8) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. From what I was told when I asked that question was that Verizon towers are used BUT Verizon contract customers are priority, then Verizon pre-paid are 2nd, then 3rd party prepaid users (such as Walmarts Straight Talk) are last. So if the towers are being slammed with usage 3rd parties take a back seat........
    by dkalb2/13/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it works on verizon towers through straight talk. Has verizon coverage map on front of package
    by ThePhoneCollector7/20/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It does, I travel all around the state of Virginia and have signal everywhere. When I send a text to my email it comes from XXXXXXXXXX@vtext.com which means it is definitely Verizon.
    by T0nyNder10/11/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it does. Verizon is NOT Straight Talk. Verizon will tell you what they have to in order to sell you on their prepaid or contract program. Also the people at Verizon don't have the information regarding Straight Talk's contracts with companies. Call Straight Talk if you have questions like this, they actually know.
    by bugzie2411/25/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I did much, much research while trying to decide WHICH phone to get to switch to Straight Talk. Thru several online sources and directly from the guy at the Walmart Wireless Store, I learned that YES--THIS PROCLAIM USES VERIZON TOWERS.
    by BLL537/12/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. i HAVE THE sch-720c AND IT WORKS OFF OF A VERIZON TOWER.
    by SUPERGADGETGIRL7/12/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. When you order online thru Walmart.com you can check above the item info if this device will work in your area (there's a place to put in your zip code).
    by BLL5310/27/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (4)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, It works via Verizon tower. I was unable to activate this phone and to make phone call, because it uses only one tower in Toms River, NJ. I visited Verizon store and they checked phone number and informed me that my phone number was attached to those Verizon tower in Toms River,NJ and I live in central NJ and that is why I was unable to make phone call. I couldn't get dial tones on this smart phone. I returned it back. You will be able to use this smart phone, if you live near tower in Toms River, NJ.
    by Aviva1/9/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (4)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it does run off of Verizon Towers. I think they are just lying to you.
    by liztoni3/2/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 6/7/2012
10 answers
  • A. 3G CDMA, Verizon
    by elpumarine12/23/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Verizon
    by ThePhoneCollector7/20/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It depends upon the packaging/actual phone. I prefer Verizon, so I had to make sure the package label lists the code. Check your code if any preferences (I'm not sure how ALL codes look, but they ARE on the front of the package)
    by TechNeeds8/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Verizon
    by YahooMTDew6/14/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. CDMA-V It runs off of Verizon towers (pre-paid).
    by JoanMN6/18/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It runs on Verizon towers.
    by An anonymous customer1/14/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. CDMA-V (Verizon) 3G
    by NicoleNYG6/18/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. This phone is CDMA on Verizon. Sprint is also CDMA network, and would be indicated on bottom left of box with CDMA-S, AT&T and T-Mobile are GSM.
    by TonyTek7/23/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. CDMA -verizon
    by jaMES4016/8/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It's supposed to be cdma-v
    by sandrak129/15/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 966 questions See all
1-3 of 966 questions
Consider these popular products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.