See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 233 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Phone Without The Contract Headache! I have waited and waited for this day to arrive. I purchased this phone strictly for the features and the network coverage. The phone has endless features and Samsung did a top notch job in maximizing the bells and whistles for each function. The screens are very colorful and vibrant and the customization is endless using the Google Play Store. The 1 Ghz processor is more than sufficient for the apps I have used and the 2 Gb memory card (included) is plenty of room to keep you busy for awhile before upgradig your storage. The Proclaim uses "America's Most Reliable Network" and I vouch for this statement completely. I have yet to lose signal anywhere I have gone and have full 3G coverage 90-95 percent of the time. The battery life is pretty much self explanatory in that "the more you do, the more you charge". This is to be expected with any smartphone. Bottom line...GOODBYE TO CONTRACTS!!! 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone for a great price and fantastic plan This is my first smart phone and it was so easy to start using. I love that it uses Verizon towers. Straight talk and this phone are a great combo. Verizon wanted over $100 to use a smart phone on a simple plan. Straight talk is $45 unlimited use. So glad my contract ran out with Verizon. I am saving sooo much money!!! And I have a great phone. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value but some apps don't work. This is a fantastic purchase for people on a budget who want a loaded smartphone and no-contract service. The only drawback I have found so far is lack of autofocus on camera so it cannot scan QR codes and barcodes. I installed about 10 different QR code and barcodes reader apps but none worked because the camera could not autofocus to the point where the picture was crisp enough for the app to pick up the QR and barcodes. Also, the camera has no flash. Other than that it's a GREAT value and I have lots of different apps installed that work great. 08/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good phone ... This phone is a perfect entry level android phone! It might not have all the bells and whistles of the newest phones out there, but it's perfect for the average user who would like an android phone without a contract! The cell phone reception for making calls is fantastic for me. I haven't had any dropped calls outside of where i used to drop even with verizon as my old provider. Battery life is "ok" ...pretty standard for smart phones. The more you have it on and using it, the faster that battery is going to die. I would say if i'm using the net or playing games and such, i would get about 5-6 hours of battery life. So,it's highly suggested that you invest in a couple extra micro usb power cords. One for the car and one to just keep on you in case you're at a friends house or something and you need a fast charge. I also found all the button placements on the phone to be superb and haven't had the issue where a thumb or finger hits something and kills a call or shuts the phone down, like i've had with other phones. It seems there is always something with a button somewhere that is annoying on phones, but this one was great and i've had zero issues. So far, no lock ups or other goofy things using the operating system either. If you are looking for a no hassle android phone ,look no further. I thought this one was better than the LG Optimus, with the way the screen looked and the way the phone handled, but that's purely my preference. ** Oh and i believe this is the only phone straight talk offers that uses the verizon network for it's 3g service, which is probably why i get great reception most of the time. If you travel a lot, then knowing this up front could be a big boon, because sprint network is kinda meh in a lot of places that aren't close to big cities. Hope this info. helps. 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This phone would be a 5 if it had a good camera I love everything about this phone except the camera. Picture quality average but will not work with Bar code apps. It does not focus and will not focus on items closer than about 3 feet. Really diappointed in the camera. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Months in use later I will only post a review after I use a product for awhile. This phone has been the best for me in my area so far. And believe me I have been through a few on AT&T, T-mobile, Sprint, Boost Mobile, Metro-PCS. The Samsung Proclaim with Straight Talk on the Verizon network gives me the absolute rock solid talk quality that I am looking for. Any one who calls me or I call them on other networks I find myself repeating, "what cha say, say again" over and over in a conversation or dropped calls. And everythime I lose a conversation it's them, not me. But when I talk to a Verizon user the sound quality is Land line quality crisp and clear. Which is a major seller for me. I can tell anytime if a friend of mine has switched from Verizon to another, the quality is lost. Use to believe it was the phone, no more its the carrier you use. I get a signal no matter where I am or structure. Countless times friends of mine who are premium customers of AT&T, SPRINT, T-Mobile ask to borrow my phone due to no signals on theirs. Browsing the net on this phone is pretty snappy also. The phone is pretty durable having a cheap plastic cover and a screen protector, I have dropped it a few times and still no damage. The camera and video mode not to shabby either. Phone not too big, not too small, just right for me. Dont overlook this phone. 10/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No 3g signal Most of the time, I have no 3g signal. I have called StraightTalk numerous times, and they give me the runaround. I have to turn it off, and power it back on so many times a day to get any bars that it's crazy. Sometimes I have one bar, and I cannot receive or make calls with only one. My other phone, a Motorola, never had this kind of problem. StaightTalk's blog on their website has so many complaints exactly like this that there must be something they aren't telling buyers. I thought I was getting a good deal by not having to pay AT@T a large fee for their data plans. However, what good is a smartphone from StraightTalk that one pays a lot less for and gets the whole deal, but you can't use to make or receive calls? 10/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you want a smart phone, this is for you. If you want a smart phone, a REAL smart phone without the $100+ a month, this is for you! It does everything a more expensive plan does. There are a few apps that are unsupported, but all the good ones are available. I would recommend some sort of case though, with no insurance you want to make sure not to break it! 10/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an outstanding product Not only are the updates over the Samsung Precedent great improvements, but the Proclaim uses the Verizon network which in itself makes the purchase a great choice. The phone is very fast, application downloads are almost instantaneous. 09/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by New to Smart Phone My wife wanted to start texting and browsing the web/do email on her phone. We had a discounted phone from AT&T. After discussing the increase to $75-$80 for a discounted plan with limited data I started looking elsewhere. My son has used Straight Talk for years and told me he was quite satisfied with them. He and our grandson both have phones that are running on the Sprint network. We learned that the Proclaim runs on the Verizon Network AND it was sporting a 92% approval rating. I did not need anymore trouble setting up my wife's phone as I haven't played with smart phones even though I am an IT guy! Found that this phone works great, does everything it says it does and my wife even likes to play with the GPS. Only downside is the battery life. I plan to search for a better battery after we try it out in the upper midwest on vaca. Another indication that this phone is pretty good is that it is hard to get in the stores. It is always out even for the expensive price tag. 09/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I originally purchased two ZTE Merits. One (mine) kept having issues so I returned it and upgraded to this. I love it! The memory capacity is vast compared to the ZTE. Its way faster loading things. Also, whenever you update an app on the ZTE it completely uses the rest of the available memory. Almost as if it creates another file instead of overwriting the previous one. I do NOT have that problem with the Proclaim. I have downloaded about 16 apps and have hardly touched any of the internal memory but with the ZTE 3 or 4 extra apps seemed to be the capacity even with everything transfered to the memory card. I am not sorry about paying the extra $50 to upgrade. I would like a better battery and I saw a review that said you could purchace one from verizon that was twice as powerful. Mine will last 24 hrs if I don't play games but hard pressed to last thru the waking hours if my kid plays app games. Other than that I am thinking of upgrading the other phone to the Proclaim as well. 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome !!! LOve It ! This is my first smart phone and I am in love with it ! It uses the Verizon network; live in Florida and get great coverage. I wouldn't go back to a contract phone if you paid me to. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the phones! We were very surprised and pleased about the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. We purchased two phones for our use. We gave up an EVO, although it's not the same size, it still packs a punch. The speaker is very loud, which we like. This phone has all the features our old phone had except a contract, which we didn't want. Now our phone bill is cut in half. I would recommend this phone to anyone wanting to dislodge yourself from a contract. 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A straight Talk must buy. Dont waste your money on other Straight Talk phones. The samsung battery is a great performer. Too many features to name with this phone. It will take you weeks to discover all of the features. Great Ringtones and text features. It has Swype and auto correct. The most impressive feature on this phone is the voice command. Samsung knocked it out of the park with this feature. It will dial the number you tell it to. The voice command will text your messages for you, and its accurate. However if you talk like an alligator hunter it could be challenged :-) Luv that show. 09/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good phone-great price-inexpensive service I've been with trac fone and straight talk for years. Moved to the Galaxy Proclaim from a great Nokia E71 (move faster Nokia, you're being left behind!!# and am pleased with the phone and Android 2.3. Ported number over in one hour with ST's web site. Better coverage with the VZW network for my area than ATT also. Have to watch the battery drain by using minimal apps #email only) while mobile. Keep a car charger handy or plug in to computer to keep battery topped up. WiFi is a lot faster than the "3G" connection and will keep you from getting spanked by ST for hogging bandwidth. Would highly recommend a skin for the screen (Zagg is the best) to minimize scratching. No problems with Android 2.3, just have to patiently learn and note limitations (very few) and various quirks. Overall no major problems and very pleased with phone & ST service. 08/23/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Maybe I got a Dud?? I will be exchanging this phone for a new one in hopes that I just got a bad one. My problems are that my phone conversations lose connection and not in the "dropped call" sense. I can hear the other person just fine, but they can only hear me cutting in and out. This gets very annoying as it seems to be happening with more frequency. I've also noticed the battery getting very hot, sometimes during charging and sometimes with mobile data. It's a little glichy with the screen during phone calls...usually it is intuitive and goes into sleep mode while in a conversation and the screen pops back up when you take it away from your ear....occasionally it doesn't do this and I am left pushing buttons and tapping the screen to no avail and unable to end the call. Other than thaaaaaaaat... I really want to LOVE this phone. The talk to text feature is great! It's super fast, I've downloaded plenty of apps and have yet to buy a bigger sd card for it. It's been difficult to find covers and accessories for, but it seems like they only make them for iPhones now :( I am really hoping that the new phone solves my problem with the call cutting out and battery issue, because I specifically chose this phone as it uses Verizon's towers. I will update you when I get the new one! 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone for the money! I've had this phone for two weeks. It's a wonderful phone for the price, and you almost can't put a price on the freedom you feel not having to be in a cell phone contract. I've had absolutely no problems with the way it operates, and it has not frozen up even once. Battery life is a little disappointing, as even with minimal use you'll be down to about 30% battery left the end of the day. But that's typical for an Android. Overall, this is the best phone I've ever had for the money spent. It's one of the most worthwhile and useful purchases I've made in the past couple years. 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by runs of Verizion network Being a prepaid phone this phone is great...I get good service just about any where and the phone works very well!! I would recommend this phone for sure! 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LUV my new phone I love my new smartphone from Straight Talk. Glad they finally were able to get smartphone service in my area. I have a vision disability and use the accessibility features of the phone. I also downloaded apps from the Google Pay Store to make the phone more accessible to me. This is my first smartphone so I was not sure what to expect. I use a stylus with my phone. You do have to charge the phone each night like any other smartphone. The screen is sensitive, it took me a little bit to get used to it but don't let that deter you from the phone. I luved my last Samsung when I was with Verizon and glad to have one again now with ST. I used to use ST's LG 511C. The Proclaim is definately a big step up from what I have had previously. I purchased the protection plan for the phone and made a few recomendations below for you. I purchased a stylus and a car charger and an extra travel charger for the phone and using my old phone case but going to get something different for this phone. I hope that you enjoy your phone as much as I am. 07/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I Loved the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim, But.... .....I had to return it. I bought this phone because it was an Android and it uses the Verizon network. The phone itself was great! I loved it! It worked great, and it was responsive, and the Apps and things you can do with an Android phone are a lot of fun. The problem was I didn't realize at the time that the Prepaid coverage you get with Verizon is not the same as Verizon's regular contract coverage. So to anyone who is looking into getting Straight Talk, particularly this phone, I would highly recommend going to the Verizon website and looking at their Prepaid map for coverage. It could save you a lot of time and frustration. I wish I had known this before I wasted time and money on Straight Talk. 07/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by No 3G access Having spent literally hours using Straight Talk online, dealing with a 'support person' who seems to have difficultly grasping basic English, I have to give both the phone and the service a very low rating. I like the phone, it can send and receive calls, access the 'net via wi-fi but despite claims to having 3g in our area - It doesn't. That's misleading and was the sole reason I selected this phone / carrier. 10/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect!!!! Love this Phone, I Recommend this to everyone. It is not only user friendly, but does everything I need it for and more. I have my schedule, E-mail, Camera, Voice Recognition and with the apps I even have my Grocery list It has everything at the palm of my hand!! I was surprised with the quality for the money. I was considering going to a contract and getting the Iphone. Not even a suggestion anymore. Don't want it. This phone is perfect. I live in a limited reception ( Very Limited) area and have had NO issues with service at all. The best part is I get unlimited service with no contract and an AWESOME phone. The only down side I see about this phone is the battery life. I use my phone all day long and I do need to charge it every nite. I could save some energy by limiting the back round light and others settings. 09/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Superb Value for a Prepaid Android Phone This is a great phone from Samsung for the Straight Talk serve. Unlike all the other Straight Talk Android phones which run on a patchy limited network, this Samsung Galaxy is on the Verizon network and has excellent coverage. The phone itself is easy to use and has all the features I wanted but could never get on Straight Talk. Excellent value for the money! 08/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best phone offered by Straight Talk..... So far I like the phone and it meets my needs at this time. I wish the screen was a bit larger but it has seemed to operate perfectly for me so far. I traveled the east coast and the reception is great. Connnecting to Wi-Fi really, as you can imagine, speeds the processing to mirror computer like strength. 10/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone! Excellent value! This was my first purchase of a touchscreen, smart phone, and I must say I was HIGHLY skeptical of buying a phone like this. Great phone straight out of the box, no issues as far as dropped calls or lost signal. Internet is fast and easy to get to and the phone is loaded with features. If you want to conserve battery power I would recommend going into task manager and closing all apps that are not being used. Touch screen works excellent but spend the money on screen protectors and a case; this will protect your phone immensely in case of a dropped phone on the ground and screen scratches. I highly recommend this phone for someone looking for a great phone, packed with features and on a budget! 10/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAST performance, AWESOME service, Excellent value Feeling richer already! The Proclaim is a fast phone with awesome cellular service in my area. My previous provider ($print) had spotty service, but this Proclaim gets 3G nearly everywhere I go (Veriz0n). I bought one for the wife too! 10/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent phone, great coverage I switched to the Straight Talk network from Sprint because I was tired of the poor coverage I got in my area with Sprint. I waited until ST offered a decent android phone that used Verizon towers as Verizon has the best coverage around here. Even though I gave up a few features by switching to this phone from my 2 year old HTC Evo 4G (front-facing camera, camera flash, auto focus camera and 4.3 inch screen) I'm still pleased with the switch because I have yet to drop a call or have text messages not go through due to poor coverage. Also, saving over $20/month is a nice change too! If you're a phone tech geek that wants a ton of features then you should look elsewhere, but if you want a solid, modern phone that won't miss a beat doing normal things (calling, texting, playing angry birds) then this is the phone for you. 10/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really like this phone I've been using this phone about 2 weeks, and so far, I REALLY LIKE it. It's the 1st smart phone I've had, but everyone else in my family got I-phones, and to me, this one seems more user-friendly (can take out the battery if needed; can add bigger micro memory card (it comes with 2G); connecting it to my computer was a snap to add music and ringtones to the phone; etc.) My greatest frustration so far, and maybe because Idk how to do it right is sending and receiving attachments. They don't seem to want to open up and then will open HOURS later or received by others HOURS later. I don't get that at all. When I have time I'll call StraightTalk and see if they need to update my phone. Also, I have international calling, but cannot send international texts. That's kind of weird, but ST says they have only 2 phones that can send international texts. It's hard for me to believe that a smart phone can't do that. Btw, this is the ONLY ST smartphone that uses Verizon...which was critical for me...and I'm SOOOOOO HAPPY, after many, many years with ATT, I finally HAVE RECEPTION and can use my phone ANYWHERE...even at HOME!!! We're going to finally be able to cancel our home phone service! 09/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great phone! I ordered this phone from Straight Talk's website (would have gotten it sooner if I knew not to include a PO box), and as said in that commercial for the S II, "This phone is amazing." I got this phone yesterday, and I am completely hooked on it, because it's my first smartphone. I've already got quite a few apps on it. The reasons I'm only giving this phone 4 stars are because the camera doesn't take very clear pictures, and that I had to create a Gmail account in order to gain access to the Android Market (now known as Play Store/Google Play). Besides, my dad once told me to always give the number just before the max rating, because that is what keeps people driving for perfection. Other than that, if you've never had a smartphone, but don't want to get or can't afford an iPhone, the Galaxy Proclaim is great choice for first-timers. The Android may be a copycat of the iPhone, but it's a copycat that's more affordable than the real thing, and it does a really good job. 09/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for This is the first Android phone I have had. Normally I just want to talk, receive a call, text and that's it for me. I have had the phone for a month or so and I really like it. I'm not much on games and constantly using the web and I haven't tried those yet as I am out in the sticks and the wi-fi signal is not very good. I got this phone from the folks at Straight Talk as I really do enjoy the no contract part. It's $45 bucks a month and if you have auto pay, it's $2.50 less. So far near town now, it works very well. Sound and call quality is very good and the appointment feature is easy to use. The manual that comes with it rather skimpy in my opinion, but there is a place online where it can be downloaded. This phone comes with Android 2.3 not the latest and greatest 4.1 Ice Cream Sandwich, but I don't care. For me, it does what it is supposed to do. I am going to try the GPS feature next, and would recommend this phone and plan to anyone who wants a good phone without all the many bells and whistles, and very good sound quality. 09/25/2012
61-90 of 210 total reviews
Previous 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew275
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp