LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer

Q&A
By: LeapFrog
Walmart #: 550568421
Rollback
$38.99
Was: $59.97  (You save $20.98)
FREE pickup
Care plan (optional):
Sold by Walmart store
 
This item is not available for shipping.
 
Showing options for 07095
Location
Buy online for pickup
  • The ultimate learning game system
  • Kid-tough design
  • Delivers high-quality gaming and fast-paced action
  • About this item

    Introducing what could be the ultimate LeapFrog Leapster learning game system, the LeapsterGS Explorer puts kids in charge of the action with new motion-based play, a built-in camera, kid-friendly controls and more. A library of more than 300 apps and action-packed educational games teach skills like math, science, social studies and reading. This interactive tablet even allows you to upload your own study lists in select games. Take control with personalized learning when you bring home the LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer.


    LeapFrog LeapsterGS Explorer:

    • Handheld learning tablet for on-the-go educational gaming
    • 2GB of onboard memory
    • Comes with 3 kid-friendly apps:
      • Pet Pad
      • Escape of the Sillies (LeapsterGS-exclusive)
      • One app of your choice
    • All-new motion sensor for LeapFrog Leapster Explorer gameplay
    • Navigate the LeapsterGS Explorer interface using D-pad controls, touch guidance or the included stylus
    • Built-in camera/video recorder
    • Works with LeapsterGS Explorer cartridges and apps (sold separately)
    • Learning games nurture over 2,500 skills with select games that auto-level
    • Enter math sets and spelling lists from school with select games
    • Parents can see and share their child's learning progress through the online LeapFrog Learning Path
    • Requires 4 AA batteries (not included)
    • Includes Quick Start CD, parent guide and USB cable
    • Ideal for children 4-9 years old

    Specifications

    Learning Platform: LeapFrog LeapsterGS
    Age: 3 - 4 Years ,  5 - 7 Years ,  8 - 11 Years
    Skill Set: Early Development
    Age Start: 4 Years
    Age End: 9 Years
    Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: 39700
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.5
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 13.0 x 9.5 x 2.375
    Assembled in Country of Origin: USA
    Origin of Components: USA
    Walmart No.: 550568421
    Show
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    5 stars
    111
    4 stars
    37
    3 stars
    4
    2 stars
    2
    1 stars
    5
    96%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Vast improvement from the Leapster Explorer
    7/30/2012

    Customer review by MarinoBambinos

    5.0 stars by MarinoBambinos

    I'm a big LeapFrog fan because I have seen both of my children learn from their products. My 4.5 year old daughter has a Leapster Explorer that she received last Christmas and she really enjoys playing with it. As a blogger, I had the opportunity to test out the Leapster GS and I was highly impressed with its vast improvements from the Leapster Explorer. The built in camera, video recorder, and 2 GB of internal memory are what make the Leapster GS a stand-out product. My daughter feels like she now has her own camera and video recorder (just like mama!), and can easily take photos and video on her own. The Leapster GS comes with free game apps, including her favorite one called "Escape of the Sillies". My daughter loves this app because she is able to become a silly monster character, by adding her own picture and recording her voice in the "silly lab". The game cultivates math skills, while face-morphing technology entertains and captures her interest as she is literally the face (and voice) of all the characters. I like the fact that the device is compatible with the Leapster Explorer game cartridges, so she able to enjoy all of her previously owned games on her new device. I also like the size and sleek design of the device because it is so easy for her little hands to manipulate and small enough to tuck into my purse. LeapFrog produced another great product that strengthens math, science, reading and logic skills all while having fun. I highly recommend this product for the parent who wants screen time to be educational.

    Was this review helpful? (75) (13)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    MarinoBambinos
    NYC
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Same great features of the LeapPad for less!
    8/4/2012

    Customer review by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

    5.0 stars by LifeSongsOfABusyMom

    My soon to be 5 year old daughter absolutely LOVES the new LeapsterGS. She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my daughter her LeapsterGS free of charge and my opinions above are honest and completely my own. If you own anything from LeapFrog, you'll probably agree that you love all of their great products!

    Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    LifeSongsOfABusyMom
    Eastern Shore MD
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    good learning toy
    11/22/2013

    Customer review by millash22

    4.0 stars by millash22

    I brought this for my two year old son and my 4 year old girl. They love it, but my only complaint is that you have to buy eveything. None if the apps are free. Overall, if you put enough games on it the kids will stay entertained.

    Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    millash22
    Texas
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    1-3 of 138 total reviews See all

    Customer Q&A

    Have questions? Get answers from experts and customers who own this product.

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    We have not been able to get the battery compartment open for the Leapster Explorer GS. We just bought it because our son's Leapster Explorer wasn't working properly anymore. The directions say to push with your thumbs upwards. It has been impossible. My husband whose hands are strong from working in manufacturing wasn't able to get it. Any suggestions??
    by Frustrated 12/24/2012
    • I did at first.but kept working at it...it got easyer
      by momofaAspie2/27/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • Yes it is hard. Just wiggle it open....once done it gets a little easier.
      by Clownfishred1/7/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    • i had that same problem..you have to push down on the arrows and slide out
      by bargainshoppermom3411/18/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    • my husband says to push down where the arrows are and then try sliding it off its much easier that way
      by Swenholz11/18/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • My husband had to use his pocket knife to pry them open.
      by pcraft12/31/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    • We had this same problem. We were able to open the compartment by using a screwdriver to pry it open. It seems like after it is done once it becomes much easier. We can now open it without prying it. Hope this helps.
      by Anonymous8907511/18/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    1-3 of 34 questions See all

    Policies & Plans

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase . Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: 3 months See details

    Supplier Warranty: This LeapFrog product is warranted only to the original purchaser for a period of three months from the original purchase date, under normal use and service, against defective workmanship and material. This warranty is void if the product has been damaged by accident or unreasonable use, immersion in water, neglect, abuse, battery leakage or improper installation, improper service, or other causes not arising out of defects in workmanship or materials of the product. All warranty claims are subject to: LeapFrog being notified of the warranty claim within the warranty period, LeapFrog verifying the existence of a defect in the product, Receipt of valid proof of your purchase date. Before returning a product for any reason, please notify the LeapFrog Consumer Service Department. If the service representative is unable to solve the problem, you will be provided with instructions as to how to go about having the unit repaired or replaced if it is under warranty. Return of a product under warranty is governed by the following rules -- you must return your product, shipping prepaid and with proof of purchase date, as instructed by a LeapFrog service representative. In the event that a product under warranty is repaired or replaced, the replacement will be covered under the original warranty or for 30 days, whichever is longer. Repair or replacement is your exclusive remedy, and LeapFrog's exclusive liability, under this warranty. Replacement may consist of replacing the product with the same product or with a different product of the same value. LeapFrog shall not be liable for any incidental or consequential damages for the breach of any warranty on this product. Any implied warranty of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose on this product is limited to the duration of this warranty. Some states do not allow the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages, or limitation on how long an implied warranty lasts, so the above limitations or exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may also have other rights, which vary from state to state and country to country.
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We strive to provide you with the lowest prices possible on Walmart.com as well as in our stores. However, sometimes a price online does not match the price in a store. Walmart.com's prices may be either higher or lower than local store prices. Prices may also vary between stores. Our local stores do not honor Walmart.com pricing or competitor advertisements from outside of a store's local trade territory.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list