Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Build Quality and Performance I've never had anything against Gateway like many people in the last few years. Especially considering they use to compete with Dell in the "build your own computer" market. The first thing you will notice either from the pictures or if you see it in your local store, is the build quality. The screen is tightly constructed and even though it's glossy it doesn't show finger prints. The body itself is built 10x better than anything in this price range or even some of the higher end models that you will see at wal mart. It doesn't feel like cheap plastic, it's very firm and feels like the old days when computers could take a beating. As most know when you buy this you're buying an Acer, now that they own Gateway. So you'll see attributes of both. Most of the insides are Acer parts, and some of the outside. They have taken Gateways keyboard and made it much more flexible and the keys aren't quite as close together as they use to be. So it makes for a nice bouncy typing experience. The touchpad is the best i've used, and that's saying a lot after working on computers for years. It's not overly sensitive and the scroll bar line is smooth and moves with hardly any effort. Also the mouse buttons are tight and make very little clicking sound at all. The silver mixed with the black is also very attractive i might add. 6 Don't be thrown by the fact this has a Celeron in it. It's a Dual Core based on the Sandy Bridge Technology just like the upper scale Intel models. I convert a lot of video, game a little bit, and also just multitask quite a bit as well. NOTE: I upgraded this with a 4 gig stick of RAM, now having 6 gigs. So yes it runs very fast and pages load up great. The computer itself boots up as fast as my gaming Desktop. I rarely "brag" about a product but i'm extremely impressed how Acer has helped this company stick around and made it better. So don't go for the hollow plastic Toshiba's or the classy built (problematic) HP's. They won't take you anywhere different than this thing. Another plus is for this price you get 3 USB ports, and an HDMI port. Which is unheard of for lower priced laptops. The sound is loud, very good, but tiny at times. The picture for HD video is some of the best i've seen. And that really IS saying a lot. So get yourself one, or maybe 2 of these babies and use it how you want. I thought it would be slow but was i ever wrong. I've converted videos on here quicker than what some of the A6 AMD systems do. Even though this isn't for heavy gaming etc. It utilizes both cores no matter what program your using. Unlike AMD. So i'm very happy with this, and i'm sure it will stand the test of time. Just like my Acer Gaming Desktop, going on 4 years now. And runs like new. Two words, buy one. :) 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by absoulutly love this laptop....meets all my expectations and more! I love the quality of the camera and the keyboard well worth the money! Dont hesitate when it comes to buying this! <3 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGH QUALITY LAPTOP!! I bought this laptop because I figured it was a gateway and I couldn't go wrong. I am very happy with the purchase. It is a high quality laptop. It has a great keyboard that is full size and easy to use. It is fast and looks great. This is a very well made computer and the price is excellent compared to what is out there now. This computer looked and ran better that the other 4 lap tops on display for more money, Dell, Toshiba, etc..... Great buy can't go wrong. 07/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Laptop I came online and seen this gateway I seen this review so I read the review so I went and brought the laptop it was best decision. This has a good looking laptop and perform better than I through it would if you looking for a regular laptop this is the one ! I'm well satisfied with this purchase 07/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SOLIDLY BUILT AND RESPONSIVE COMPUTER. FOR THE MONEY THIS COMPUTER CAN'T BE BEAT. SOLIDLY BUILT AND VERY RESPONSIVE. WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. 07/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good laptop, only some small problems. I love this laptop. I am a teen, so I am constantly online. I wanted a laptop that would be able to play games, like Sims 2, 3. I have not tried sims 2 (too lazy to install it). But sims 3 works great and theres no lagging, and the loading is very fast. As far as the internet, it runs fast too. My router is on the other side of my house and currently I have a 4/5 bar signal. Sometimes, when I go to open another page and type the web address in too fast, it says it cant display the page. This gets annoying because it seems to happen every time. The cam is great! I love taking photos on it. Everything is so fast compared to my old computer. This is cheap, but good quality laptop. :D 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great computer I ended up buying this computer only because my card had a 500 dollar limit. I had went in to Wal Mart to purchase a Toshiba but walked out with this. I do not regret this decision at all. I was expecting this computer to be a low spec pc because of the low price, but it manages to do everything i expected and far more. It loads web pages almost instantly, it can run multiple tabs with no problem at all, and the built in camera is pretty good quality. The keyboard is very easy to type on and has a 10 key as well, and the mouse pad has a scroll slider on the right side. I bought a computer so that i could play WoW on my slow days at work, and anyone who is looking for a computer to play WoW or any other mid spec games will be happy to know that this runs them with absolutely no problems. I highly recommend this computer to everyone. 07/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love my new Gateway I bought this for school, this will be my first of year of high school so i needed a new laptop, I used to have a 5 year old HP, Don't get me wrong i loved my HP but with it being 5 years old it was horrible slow. I went to my local Wal-mart store to look at new laptops. I was either going to get a Dell or a HP or the Gateway, My school uses dell laptops and they have been crashing alot lately and they are only 3 years old. I said no to the Dell. So it was down to the HP or the Gateway. HP is a amazing laptop and computer company and they make amazing products. I think i just wanted something different. So i got the gateway and i have had it for little over a month now and i am in looooovvveee. This is a amazing computer. I only have two problems. 1 the battery isn't the best but it will get you through the day, and 2nd the Microsoft office is not free anymore, the cheapest one is $17.56. I just downloaded a outside word app for free. I 100% recommend this laptop. :) 08/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent initially when i purchased this, even after several hours of research i thought this was going to be a cheap laptop boy did i guess wrong. so apart from what it says on the box and online, the webcam is actually HD, im not sure if it downgrades it for online chat (im sure it would but its still awesome) the processor even though it isn't marked as dual but it is, its a dual core processor so it can process things much better and quicker then a single core processor. my only complaints are that it doesn't come with a restore disk and the touch pad isn't as sensitive as my old laptop, a repair disk is vital to a computer (nearly as vital as a power cord) and seems kind of wrong to not include it, a repair disk is around 14 or more gb worth of data so it would take on average 40 or more disks to make said repair disk unless you can purchase the double layer disks. this beats my old dell inspiron 1545 by a landslide, my dell cost around 5-6 hundred after taxes and such and fell apart after 2-3 years, charging port fell apart, frame for the screen was missing screws so when i shut it after the warranty had ended the frame broke and cracked all around the screen so that it didn't set right. not to mention that it took almost 3-4 min to open Microsoft word, and supposedly the processor was better then this one, as if, it only takes me at most 1 min to open word on this computer and after opening during the day when i reopen another word file or create a doc it takes less then 2 seconds to pop open, now when my professors jump into the lesson i don't have to rush in getting my laptop out. the charging port feels extremely tight, my inspiron even when it was new was very loose and would fall out if i had the slightest bit of weight or resistance on the cord and that included the weight of the cord, the screen feels really tightly snug against the housing unlike my dell which always felt like there was a lot of air within the frame and when i would open it it would wobble on the hinge, this one goes where you want it and stays. so far i love this little laptop and am happy i found it, i hope it lasts me some time, i bought my dell for 5-6 hundred thinking it would last at least 5-10 years only to be screwed at 2-3 so i truly do hope this laptop lasts, but it feels like it will. i would not recommend a dell laptop to save you're life, all the issues i had including others that i didn't post on here where all considered dell products because dell knew there where issues but continued to sell to the public. at this point i would recommend this product one hundred times over, granted ive only had it for about a week now. if i do have any kind of problems i will update my review or add another but so far so good. 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by switzer review •3GB DDR3 SDRAM system memory (expandable to 8GB) Gives you the comfort for multimedia videos and images, video conferencing, basic gaming and all the other upgrade the memory the laptop is everything for a simply casual user or student. Nice to navigate online and very easy to setup and get online from out of the box. 08/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent laptop for home and business. Runs good and solid. Not for high end game play. I added 4gigs more memory which makes a total of 6gigs and this made a great improvement. I use it for business 90% with no problems. Once it is set up and running it will notify when updates are available and ready to install. Very nice webcam. Plays movies good and burns DVD's with no errors. 08/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This computer exceeds all my expectations. The keyboard is so much larger than any previous computer I've purchased. Speed is wonderful and you can't beat the price. If I had the money I would buy several just to have back ups just in case. Love, Love, Love my computer. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied! Very satisfied and highly recommend! Excellent quality and sound. The volume could go a little louder but overall it is of great quality. Very happy I invested in this laptop! 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Value This machine is a beautiful piece of equipment. The computer is fast and the screen is brilliant. Now if I can only find where to purchase an extra replacement battery. 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome laptop vary happy that i bought it. it is vary well put together. fast and easy to use. 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY NEW BABY!!! THIS COMPUTER IS BEAUTIFUL, I LOVE IT. THE APPEARANCE AND THE INTERIORS ARE SUPER. THIS IS A VALUE ITEM. STILL KNOWING TO USE IT...I RECOMMEND IT. 09/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great computer for a great price!! This computer runs smoothly, fast, and efficent! Very good price as well. Great screen quality. Perfect for everyday use (internet, light gaming, school, ect.) The keyboard is also very functional! 09/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a personal pc I bought this for my grandson and he loves it!! It has quick response time and the features a teenager wants. 08/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The laptop is beautiful in appearance. Every time I use it for awhile, the mouse freezes and the only thing I can do is turn the power off. When I reply to emails, it won't let me send them. I can only send emails if I initiate them. Sometimes when I'm looking at a page, it disappears. These things are very frustrating. I haven't used it as much because it is such a pain. I've always heard that Gateway had good products, but I'm very disappointed with this laptop. 09/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for business and occasional web surfing. This Celeron system is faster than I expected. I had anticipated adding memory but so far the 3 gigs it came with are more than good enough. Speedy on the Net and lightning fast with business apps. Excellent display that renders videos very well. Much quicker to boot and shut down than my previous HP business notebook, which has a faster AMD processor and more memory. My only complaint is that the screen has a slightly unforgiving vertical viewing angle; however, this is a very minor issue doesn't detract at all from the value of this machine. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great laptop for a student with a family. I love my laptop. I got it to do my online college schoolwork on as well as visit social sites, store family pictures, and play games. My only complaint is trivial; it does not have a calculator shortcut button lol. 10/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great laptop for the price! I was looking for a decent laptop yet affordable for school. I needed something that could stream video nicely as well as having internet access and a decent amount of space. I have a Gateway desktop and have never had any issues with it (have had it for 4 years). So, I knew I wanted to stick with Gateway. Love this laptop! The keyboard works nicely while having a full numeric keypad. The volume of the speakers are a little iffy at times, sounds nice with Youtube but is low with Netflix. Pretty fast all around too. WiFi runs great and I have been able to install programs in a decent amount of time. Screen size is just perfect. 10/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and well worth the money. I was a little leery as the price was low but it turns out this is a great laptop. The number pad on the right is a huge perk. I'm actually going to return this one and get the model above it (ne56r20u) just because right now it is only $7 more on walmart.com and it is 4gb memory and 500gb hrd drive instead of 3gb memory and 320 gb hrd drive. Don't really see a need to get the newer model right now but I figured why not for such a small difference in price and such a great product. 10/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic I ordered this online so that I could compare laptops and prices alone without being hassled or rushed, and also read reviews of them. I was able to pick it up the very same day I ordered it. Excellent, no complaints. 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Computer! This is a very good computer it don't have a very good battery life but it works for what it needs to and i will say it last me for about 4 1/2 hours Plus the price was great! we now have 2 of these laptops in our house within 3 week period 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased for my granddaughter, a college student, and she loves her new laptop!! 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good laptop for beginner. I love the fact that the keys are bigger and it has a set of numbers on the right. 09/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my 1st gateway/acer fast,easy to use,lightwieght,i luv my new laptop!!!!!!!!!!!!! 09/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new Gateway Laptop would tell mevryone to purchase it if they need one . Have a gateway desktop too great computors 09/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by does what i need it to do I like it and it works great for a college budget priced laptop, but can be slow at times. 09/08/2012
1-30 of 42 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw148
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp