See All Reviews
Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
$248.00
List Price: $299.99
You Save: $51.99 (17%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to opertate This little unit is fantastic, you can record for hours without a blank dvd, if recorder is on it automatically records the channel you are watching so if you miss something you can play back, I would highly recommend this it's great 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST VIDEO UNIT SINCE VHS! My VHS/DVD recorder broke down & I have been searching for weeks frying to find one with a tuner but with no avail since video units with VHS decks are becoming obsolete & hard to find. I saw this recorder & after doing research on it & it was exactly what I needed. For me, it was very easy to set up with the right connections for the set up that I have. The DVD deck records extremely excellent & so does the HDD 320GB drive which pretty much functions like a DVR. If You have a Dish Network Duo Receiver {TV1 & TV2} & although this unit does have a tuner, you will still need a RF Modulator to make the proper connections for TV2. The following set up is for TV's & Rf Modulators that use RCA cables that are yellow, red & white. Step 1 Connect the antenna to IN. Step 2 Connect a RF coaxial cable to OUT & connect the other end of the cable to the back of the RF Modulator ANT IN. Step 3 Connect another RF coaxial cable to the back of the RF Modulator TO TV & connect the other end of the cable to the TV ANT IN. Step 4 Connect RCA cables {red, yellow & white} to back of the video unit VIDEO OUT & AUDIO OUT. Step 5 Connect the other end of the RCA cables & connect them to the back of the RF Modulator VIDEO IN & AUDIO IN. Now you can set up the video unit according to your needs & the kind of TV you have in the manual. I hope this is helpful. 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd one I have one from the last genereation as well. This has some nice teaks, but I am keeping both of them so I can record shows competing for the same time slot. this is the only 'No Fee' DVR available so it is nice that they put out a really solid unit. Clear picture, easy to use the basic features although it takes a while to understand all the features because there are so many. I like being able to pause live TV, skip through commericals, or record it for watching later. And all of that is available just by turning the unit on. Or recording a weekly or daily show just by programing it once. But you can do a lot more than that, as i mentioned. 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magnavox MDR533H HDD/DVD Recorder DVDR Hi! I have only owned this DVDR/DVD recorder for a few days and am still learning about all its features and capabilities....and I must say,I LOVE it more every day!! I am using it as an "Over-the-air" recorder as I no longer have satellite and haven`t had cable in decades.This is one of the VERY FEW DVD recorders that includes a built in tuner available these days..( most have NO tuner and MUST be connected to either a satellite receiver or a cable box).The tuner in this machine must be "top-of-the-line" since it picks up EVERY available channel in my area.I live in a city where there are 5 stations broadcasting 3 or 4 channels each and this machine "located" and tunes them all in flawlessly!The built in HARD DRIVE (or HDD) is amazing! This is like a TIVO..but with NO SUBSCRIPTION fees!Set it to record your TV shows...play them back...edit out commercials and record them to EITHER DVD+r,DVD+RW...DVD-R,or DVD-RW...AND dubbing from the hard drive to DVD is done at a high speed....Only takes a few minutes to dub a 2 hour recording!..I can`t say enough about this machine...There are 2 or 3 models that have larger hard drives as the main difference in this one.....This one(the 320Gb version can record 371 hours on the hard drive before it gets full...I doubt I will EVER need any more space...but if you do,there is a 500GB and a 1 TB version...As I said earlier,I am still learning about this machine...and I am LOVING it...I hope to be able to buy a second one soon,if that tells you anything! 10/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product I have had this HDD DVD Recorder for just a short time but it seems to be a very good choice. Setup was very easy and it is performing well. One drawback for some might be that the remote has no controls for the TV. I am thinking of buying a second one for use with another TV. I wish they were available in the stores so you could see them up close and personal before making a purchase. 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looked everywhere for a DVR with a tuner. My house has a cable box in the living room but I wanted something for my bedroom. Perfect for a renter without adding extra cost to my landlord. Though it is from 2002, I was able to get assistance with set up from Magnavox. It arrived quickly from Walmart.com. No freestanding store had DVR's with built in tuners. I am more interested in recording from television networks. 10/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This equipment is exactly what we were looking for and more. I hope you keep offering. Great useful product. 10/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by works as advertised Pretty simple to program and use, if you're familiar with how to program a VCR. It works just like that. Perfect for time-shifting your favorite TV shows. I wish it had better fast forward capabilities but other than that it's a good replacement for your old VHS recorder. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Much better than VHS recorder, easier to use This replaces my old VHS over the air TV show recorder. Much better than VHS, easier to use, can skip advertisements, it is all that I was hoping it would be. Excellent value 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow; I am amazed at this new tech stuff. I have been buying a VCR recorder for 25 yrs or better and they last a yr at best 2 yrs. When they break it's usually cheaper to buy a new one then to fix the old one. It doesn't matter the brand, I've tried them all and even some their more expensive models. this new technology blows my mine. Had it for only 3 weeks, so time will tell. It is easy to set up and picture is great, even when paused. I rec. 5-7 hours a day and watch at night. Don't worry about running out of time, the Hd drive will handle 300 + hours of rec. You can also use the DVD and save it. So far it has been very user friendly. Grizzly 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This device will do an incredible number of things that I doubt I will ever use, however, as a basic DVD recorder it's very easy to use. I must say that the directions are replete and reasonably easy to follow. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally found the right device to replace my old VCR. Wish I had found it some time ago. I don't use all the features that it has but for recording OTA television it can't be beat. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this recorder in Oct-2012 and this one works much better than the Toshiba DVR670KU I bought in Jan-2011. Once you program the shows you want to record, you can forget it; no need to remember to turn the recorder on and set the timer, then remember to turn the timer off and recorder back off after it is finished recording your show. Would heartily recommend this product. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We use this machine to video athletes (works for any coached sport)...a timed delay (simple) is programmed in, then the athlete can get the correction and still have time to go and see how the performance they just did actually looked. Simple to hook up, and great to use. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This device is Great! We had been looking for over a year for a DVD/HDD recorder with a digitial tuner. Absolutely no one sells them anymore until we came accross this one. I just wanted to record regular TV and didn't want to pay a monthly fee for a service. The recordings look great and there is plenty of space on the hard drive to record many hours of shows. We had a DVD recorder with a digital tuner that broke but this one is so much better. I don't have to worry about how much space is left on the DVD when recording a program. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the second one of these I have bought. I absolutely love these. I never use the DVD recording part of this. I love that I can essentially pause live TV and it will record it. I can hit the record button several times and it will record 30 miniutes for every time I press it, so if I need to leave I can quickly have it record what I was watching. It also lets you do timer recording. It is so easy to record shows on the hard drive without messing with DVD's. I record on the highest quality setting and have never run out of space on the hard drive. Great product. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I've been looking for I spent the last few years looking for a DVR that doesn't require a subscription to any provider. Until I found this unit my 1996 VCR limped along while I held out for a new unit (with a built in tuner) I could use the same way. Finally Magnavox came through. So far I am thrilled with my purchase. It has features I may never use but it was easy to set up and learn to use for my simple purposes. So much better than the VCR ever was, because the hard drive can hold way more recordings and allows many many more recording settings. Important for me to make this purchase was a review for the unit by some guy who really understood the features and described them well. Otherwise, I might not have realized this unit was for me. I thought about getting the higher memory (I got the 320) but for my purposes this is just what I need. Thank you Walmart and Magnavox! 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great machine While the 134 page instruction book can become confusing, for just the basic recording and deleting use this is a great piece of equipment. Since it replacing another makers machine I would recommend an extended warranty. Anything can happen and repairs that are required out of warranty can be expensive. But do not hesitate to purchase this unit if you require a built in digital tuner. the HDD gives 61 hours of record time in the standard, best quality mode. I believe that Magnavox is the only company still making them new? 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best DVR Deal Available I got rid of my satellite subscription due to cost. I missed be able to watch shows on my own schedule. I was very happy to find this product. I use it to record off air HDTV broadcasts and play them back when I want to watch them. The unit works great and except for some minor quirks is easy to program. For the price and capabilities this unit can't be beat. And no monthly subscription! 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect This unit does what it is suppose to, and delivers excellent picture and sound quality. The DVD drive accepts all types of discs for both record and playback. Programming to record is straightforward. What's not perfect is the response and sensitivity of the remote. You must point the remote directly at the unit, and make slow and deliberate button pushes. It does not respond sometimes, and / or has a delayed response. Once you learn to be patient is okay. Also channel changing is slow. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great The picture quality is great. I got it to hook an antenna to it and make an older tv work. I got one of these for each TV set. Both work great! 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Have had this Magnavox a few weeks and really like it. It does operate like a VCR for setting the recording but operates like a TiVo with pause, fast foward & rewind in HDD with no monthly fee! I have not recorded on a DVD but the DVD player is easy to operate. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! It's great. Better than paying monthly rental fees for a DVR. Had mine for 2+ years now. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Neat product I received the DVD recorder sooner than expected and had a great site to store experience. Set up was intuitive and easy. The manual was a little difficult to wade threw though so I just put it aside and winged it. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This recorder is so nice. We purchased a previous model over 2 years ago and it has been great, so, we bought this one for another TV. We don't use all the features, but, mostly record TV shows to the hard drive and play movies that we rent. We are very satisfied with both machines so far. It's great to watch one program, while recording another. 10/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It has already paid for itself this is a great dvr player. i was too cheap to order dvr thru my cable company. why pay an extra $20 a month to be able to only record a show. with the magnavox i can play dvds, record tv and then record dvds. it is so worth the money! 10/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by loving it! I was tired of trying to find a vcr that has a tuner when I found this and started reading the peoples reviews on this product and decided to buy it. I am very happy that I did it. I am going to buy another one in a few weeks. 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product works well I chose this product partially to avoid monthly fees associated with similar systems. Easy to use and dependable. Records live TV, plays DVDs, can transfer a recorded TV program to DVD. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works as advertised Works as advertised. Color output is not that greate and programming seems a little flaky. If the timer is set to program one channel between, as an example, 7-8 PM and then another channel between 8-10 PM, the recorder stayed at the previous channel. So far this happened once and I am observing further. 10/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome DVD recorder The first one I ordered had to be taken back due to the DVD lazer inside not working, once I received the second one, it work perfect....very happy. The instructions are easy but their is so many options that it is taking me awhile to learn. 10/14/2012
31-60 of 69 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw96
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp